(2013/08) August 2013

Anyone took papaya and felt better?

Chirpy: I m still ok during weekdays but come weekends, I will lie in bed or sleep the whole day except during meals, loo and bath times.

i am craving for cockles a few weeks back before i discover my pregnacy .. everyday thinking of laska n chay kuay teow ..

now no craving n appeitite at all even though my tummy is rumbling ...

Sheepy, my #1 is 13mths old n clings to me whole day. I go toilet she dun see me also cry. Throws tantrums, climbs everywhere, dig drawers, mess whole house. I've since given up on stopping her. She climbs she falls she cries n learns the consequences of her acts then she reduces her dangerous stunts. She sleeps at 10pm+ but still wakes up for milk at 3+ in morn. Wakes up at 7+. Because I'm sahm, I do the night duty coz my hb simply snores thru the night.

Initially hb never help in anything. I was quite pissed off n 1 day i simply act invisible n let him experience the challenges i faced then told him straight what he has to learn, what duties he has to do. Now he does help out when he's home, and that's because I ignore my girl n tell him I'm off-duty. And bec he can't stand the noise she's making he'll guai guai go settle her. My girl also knows to switch clingy target to daddy in evenings. These days I feel so tired I just go to sleep w/o bothering with whether #1 has had her feed, changed diapers, gone to bed. And bec I bo-chup, hb is forced to take over.

I Thot of stopping at 1 too coz it was tough with #1. However we felt she'll be lonely. With the amt of attention she needs now, I wished i had waited till she's 2-3yrs old before trying for #2. Now I'm constantly worried about how to manage a toddler & newborn on my own, as childcare centers are full. I told hb no more #3 even tho he wants 3 kids.

It's not easy to manage on your own. Maybe it helps to have a gd chat with hubby on what u expect from him? I hope things will improve for u soon. Cheer up! We r all here to listen n give support.

ttcing: i think fruits are generally ok...just eat in moderation? u are one strong mummy, hope your wishes will be granted in 2013

weiwei: welcome! wow u got spicy appetite.. my diet has totally changed for this pregnancy, become healthier and totally can;t eat any fried stuff.. very good actually!

chirpy: tired also bo bian.. still gotta work!

usha: i admire u for being able to travel that distance to work! i think i would have given up! I can't peel myself off the bed every morning too..

i think most of us are struggling with food intake at night from what i read.. i dun think is heartburn, but just MS. dinner time is so dreadful for me, its like i dun even know what i want/feel like eating though i may be hungry.

P: thanks for your reply! I like bread with philadelphia cream cheese but duno safe or not, so eat with sandwich cheese slices instead which just isn't as nice coz too salty.

p: thanks for the reply
Now I truly understand the meaning of the song 'Mothers are the best in the World''! Hope to welcome my 1st baby safely in August and wish all of us here the same too

After seeing some of the ladies' food cravings here, I feel like having fried kuay teow for lunch later!

I have been having rather healthy food lately like yong tau foo, fish soup with rice and ban mian at work. But there were 1 or 2 times, I ate fried prawn mee due to sudden cravings

But I will try to pop folic acid and a bottle of Brands Chicken Essence every morning and at least 1-2 fruits every day.

Can't wait for trimester 1 to end soon!!

usaginoko: Dr Cheng told me that I can eat everything in moderation and he only prescribed folic acid for me, nothing else. But I think Kraft and Philadelphia cream cheese should be fine. Only raw or blue cheese are not advisable. Same for raw food like sashimi, raw oysters and other shell fish for fear of food poisoning.

When will be ur next gynae appt?

weiwei: I crave for sambal a lot too.. And i eat sambal with curry everyday at least one meal.

p (bbreeze): I wish i can stay home too.. Waking up in the morning on weekdays at 7 is a problem but sat and sun i can wake up at 7 without my alarm.. =S
Standing all the way in the mrt is giving me backache by the time i reach office.

I tried napping in the afternoon but cause i sleep sitting, everytime after waking up, i'll feel extremely giddy and it'll last lik an hour. So i don nap anymore.. =(

usaginoko: Great! U can see ur beanie real soon! Excited for u

My 2nd appt will be next Thursday and he will be explaining the Oscar/Down-Syndrome details to me then. Just hope next week's scan will be fine

i think today is the first day i managed to eat rice! i've been eating bread, noodles in small proportions so far only. finally feel a bit more normal.. but then the dreaded night ms will come soon! sigh!

Usha,

Just go ahead and ask for a seat in the MRT. I do that all the time cos I'm usually very tired and nauseous. I just pick the one that seems to need the seat the least (eg, a young guy), and say "excuse me, (look him in the eye), may I have the seat please. I'm pregnant and really need one." Once I sit down, I give them a really nice smile and say thanks. They will let you have it with a smile. Never been rejected yet. :D

totally refresh after half hr of nap! thanks for the tip wei wei =)

any experience mummy care to share how do they do the oscar scan? will it be like the normal scan? i will be doing mine in 2 wks time ..

weiwei: i feel so paiseh and scared. you see la every little thing people take photo and put on stomp or newpaper.

Just last week, a young gal gave up her seat to me and the lady who was seated in the priority seat asked ' r u sure ur pregnant?' i got so pissed i replied ' u don expect me to hang a signboard around my neck that says im pregnant do you?'. So frustrating! Maybe i shall try tomorrow morning.. Luckily evening i got no problem cause usually at Lavender the train has seats everyday. It's the morning from Jurong East.

Chirpy: Oscar scan is like normal scan, just that it takes a little longer as gynae tries to take measurement of the neck thickness. Then there is a blood test too. The 2 combined will give u the Oscar result which is actually a probability only. For my #1, based on my age grp the average result is 1:500 but my result was 1:248. So I was given option to proceed with further test or leave it.

usaginoko, thanks for the prompt reply .. so u mean ur oscar result was not very positive?? den what happen??

i will be taking the blood test first this wed n the scan scheduled 2 wks later .. hopefully everything is fine ..

My gynae only adviced me to do the scan and told me to skip the blood test as im below 30. Im just going with my gynae's advice..

Chirpy, my risk was considered higher than those in my age group. I had a 1 in 248 chance of a bb with ds. I wasn't comfortable with this risk so I took cvs testing, which is extracting cells from placenta for details on the chromosomes.

Chirpy, ya the Oscar scan is jus a normal scan to detect if baby has a possibility of having a DS. So if results r not favorable more test can b done also to find out more..

However U hav the option not to do the oscar scan also.. i hav fren who didn't do it cos to her whatever ithe result is, she ll still keep the baby so she didn't find it a need to do the Oscar at all.. But of cos is up to individual..

Sheepy: like u, I wasn't very happy when I 1st found out abt my pregnancy of #2.. Cos to me it was a very stressful thing having to deal with a toddler n being pregnant n of cos having a whole lot of things to worry also when #2 arrives.. N of cos I always hav conflict w hubby over parenting issues but I guess it is really common problem for everyone haha after hearing all the mummies here.. But I think u jus have to bear w it n pull thru this tough time n definitely seek yr hubby's understanding to help w yr #1.. Quite a few mummies hav tried hard to in ttc before they get Preggie so since u managed to conceive naturally, take it as a blessing (that's what I told myself).. So stay strong and positive, Jia you!

Can some kind mummy add me to the fb grp? Thanks! [email protected]

My 12mth old boy recently loves to pat me to sleep during my afternoon nap. He will take out his pacifier and attempt to put in my mouth. When i say "don't want", he will smile v sweetly to me and swing his pacifier in front of me, trying to hoax me to eat it. Then he will try putting it in my mouth again and pat me. v funny.

He looks like a good nanny. hope i can depend on him to help me take care of #2 nxt time.

tonite, im going for my nxt gynae visit. hope everything goes smoothly.
nxt visit will be oscar test liao. stress....

Hello to everyone. Just went for my 1st appt with Gynae yesterday and realise my Due is on National day .
Its my #2 and I am having all the MS you all talking about and the bloated tummy .
But still can't stop eating.
I just had a miscarriage last Aug , so I really hope this will be a strong baby, although I had no planning for #2 actually. But I am really happy that when gynae told me its a healthy one this time.
Fighting...

im just feeling so hungry the whole of today.. i just ate a whole packet of the $1 nasi lemak finish.. Its been weeks since i ate like this.. =P

Catherine: your boy so sweet! My girl will just continue playing or roll around on mattress beside me. On bad days she will cry until I get off the bed. She's very rough when playing, hits n throws her toys. I had better keep her far away from #2!

me too.. less so when i'm resting at home but now that i'm back to work.. i am always hungry! nasi lemak ahhh, i wished i can eat too but doubt my tummy can take it after my chicken rice lunch. not going to risk it, at least for today!

I new to this thread. I currently expecting with my #2 at 6 weeks. Experiencing bleeding since yesterday, went to my gynea yesterday. Was given medication and jab to prevent miscarriage... Hope everything will go well for this trimester.

I just came back fr genting 2days ago.. went w my in-laws n #1..

Journey to n fro is tough.. 6-7hrs plus e nauseous feeling plus I have got motion sickness.. but it is worth it seeing #1 enjoying himself at e rides..

Took the chance to remind him I can't carry him anymore.. n he has been v cooperative.. ask him don't press on my tummy, he will ask me bcos I got baby isit. . V sweet indeed..

Seen my gynae b4 e trip.. saw lil beanie n e heartbeat blinking.. e moment e gynae on e volume.. e joy indescribable..

Catherine,
Ur boy so cute!! mine coming to 23mths gal stil want me to put my hand on her b4 she willing to slp.

Anna
Feel u totally! Had a miscarriage after my #1. Subsequent pregnancy, i always afriad again. Only after seein bb heartbeat again during visit then feel better... keep worryin if bb growing healthy inside or not.. -_-"

Sheepy. find a family member or close friend to talk to n c how to improve condition. Man dun hv the instinct to place bb in first place, like mommy. Thus sometimes, hv to close one eye to give way n keep ur sanity. If need to, better to consult a family consultant then to bottle up urself. rant ur emotions here! i sure all the mommies here r willing to listen n offer their experiences!

cravin. hmm,, b4 i know i was preg, crave for pineapples!!! now suddenly crave for Htwo0. previously i dun drink gassy drinks at all. but GD goin to set in soon. must stop drinkin Htwo0!!!

Hi all! I'm at Week 8 now and expecting my #3. First one is coming 5 years old, and second one is 37 months(4 this year). It's an unexpected pregnancy. Nevertheless, every child is a joy and I am still excited to have this baby!

I haven't vomited at all. BUT, I am constantly hungry. I'm eating so much I feel so bad about it. I also keep drinking sweet drinks when previously I only drank plain water. I guess the sweet drinks help in easing the nauseated feeling. I put on 24kg in my first pregnancy and 28kg in my second. I'm starting off much fatter this time round so I sure hope NOT to hit my previous records!

Sheepy, sorry to hear what you are going thru now. As a mum to two extremely active boys now, what I learnt is just learn to "BO CHUP". Really. Nowadays I have no energy to scold them so they are sleeping late too and they are hyperactive so I've long gotten use to them climbing up window grilles and stuff. I think I behave more like a "hubby" haha. I used to be more uptight but after time you may realise that no need to stress yourself so much, especially now that you are pregnant.

Anw it's been a few years since my last pregnancy so probably need to refresh myself, learn and share experiences with all of you here!

Sorry to read about the MCs.

I had spotting last week... Bright red blood so I was worried and saw my gynae. She gave me a jab and some meds. That was when I realised I may be taking this pregnancy too lightly and decided to be more careful. Many ppl are still quite superstitious about not talking about your pregnancy in the first trimester, so I have been struggling with keeping all the discomfort to myself. I had to tell a few people about the pregnancy, in fact quite a few people cos of my job. I'm not sure if I am supposed to, but I hope we can quickly get over this dangerous period soon.

I went to see gynae last night, & he measure baby as 11 weeks, edd from 4 aug change to 29 July based on baby size. So he arrange me to go Oscar this Friday, which is in 2 days time. Stressssss...

I have this issue and wanna to check whether u ladies have the same issue too. I realised i am always wet below especially after i went bk to work since 2 weeks of leave. Therefore my pantyliner is alway wet and i need to change my pantyliner every now and then. I am wondering wat the wet wet tingy is? Urine? Sweat? or Discharge? Sometime when i feel my below, i can feel the surface is moist moist. i dun hav any leaky feeling. just dunno y i am always wet. i think i m not wet when i am laying down sleeping. Do you ladies have this issue too? I dun remember being so wet when i had my no1.

My sense of taste and smell is usually quite sensitive, particularly to foods that off or spoilt.

I find my sense of smell and taste now especially heightened! Alot of food that i taste tastes spoilt! Then i dont know if its really spoilt or what, so to be safe, i throw.

During my first pregnancy, i was fine with fish oils.. Now i find it a bit yucky tasting cos i can taste a bit of the fishy taste..

Urgh..

Serene: i have that too, notice more discharge than uual. But i know for 1st pregnancy also have. Cos i remember being totally paranoid if its amniotics fluid leakig etc..

pls update me with the missing info.

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>Nick Name in SMH forum</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Expecting Child</TD><TD>Hospital to deliver baby </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Poky</TD><TD>2-Aug-13</TD><TD>caroline khi</TD><TD>#3</TD><TD>Thomson Medical </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Usha RajKumar (usha_rk)</TD><TD>4-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr. Khoo</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>soulffle</TD><TD>4-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Tan</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Thomson Medical </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Thiasy</TD><TD>4-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Thomson Medical </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Babyxi</TD><TD>6-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Thomson Medical </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>chirpy </TD><TD>6-Aug-13</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Bam</TD><TD>7-Aug-13</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Thomson Medical </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>jeslynx87</TD><TD>7-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Lee Keen Whye</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Gleneagles Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>sheepysheeps</TD><TD>8-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Edward Lee</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Mount A Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Annpaul</TD><TD>8-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Tan Kim Teng</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Chocpockie</TD><TD>13-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr June Tan</TD><TD>#3</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>diorly</TD><TD>15-Aug-13</TD><TD>Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Thomson Medical </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Babys</TD><TD>15-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Ben Choey</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Mount A Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Skymummy</TD><TD>16-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Mount A Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Monmav</TD><TD>18-Aug-13</TD><TD>KW Lee clinic</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Gleneagles Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>ttcing</TD><TD>20-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Mount A Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Von</TD><TD>20-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Edward Lee</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Mount A Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>princessgx </TD><TD>22-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>#3</TD><TD>Eastshore </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>bear bear</TD><TD>24-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Mount A Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Qin83</TD><TD>26-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Mariam</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>joyful</TD><TD>27-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr CH Koh</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Mount A Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Yippeeapple</TD><TD>30-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr John Tee</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Amanda</TD><TD>2-Sep-13</TD><TD>Dr. Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Thomson Medical </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>littledevil82 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#2</td></tr></table>

Hi Joyful,

Thanks for updating my details into the table. I m expecting my #1 but have not decide which hospital to deliver. currently seeing Dr Karolyn Goh from Raffles Hospital.

hope everybody is coping well with the MS! looking forward to trimster 2 soon!

hi babys, joyful, my discharge is more like water tats y mi afraid is amniotics fluid leaking. i went google and most saying is normal to be wet during pregnancy. guess i m getting too paranoid.

"It's not your imagination. It's quite common to have more vaginal discharge during pregnancy.

What you're noticing is probably normal leukorrhea – the odorless or mild-smelling milky discharge that you may have noticed in your underwear before you were pregnant. There's just a lot more of it now, partly because of increased estrogen production and greater blood flow to the vaginal area. This discharge is made up of secretions from the cervix and vagina, old cells from the walls of the vagina, and normal bacterial flora from the vagina."

Got this from babycentre. Remember my previous gynae saying during preg will have more discharge one..

Hi Joyful

Kindly update my details into the table
Nick Name in SMH forum
Javier's_mum

EDD - 09/08/13
Gynae - Dr Lawrence Ang
Expecting Child - #2
Hospital to deliver baby --Thomson Medical

Hi Monmav, i have filled up the form previously but have not been added to the group. should i fill up the form again?