(2013/06) June 2013

missy
My mom cannot cope with too much washing so normally she will do the washing once in the evening when i fetch my sons home. My mum insisted me to bf and gave fomula at the next feeding time, so i need alot of milk bottles.

I used a lot of bottles too, cos I exclusively pumped, so at any time, there are 6 150ml bottles in the fridge, and standby more in the sterilizer for me to use for next pump!

Missy, suggest you just buy a set of 6 bottles to use first and then after ML ends then get more if necessary when your mum takes over.

Agree with your hubby's view. I think you will find that the savings are not that great at baby expos. It is no different from the usual departmental storewide 20% discounts which is held quite frequently.

By the time you need to buy more, there's all the National Day / Hari Raya sales later on in the year so no need to stock up now bah.

As for sterilisers, suggest you get a big one first, then after you go back to work you can pass it to your mum and get a smaller microwave steriliser to use at home as baby will prob only drink 2-3 bottles when at home with you on weekdays. wOr you can always get another big one if you see the need by then. There are always sales everywhere. If I'm not wrong there will also be another baby fair organised by Motherhood magazine later on in the year.

No point planning so far ahead when the cost-savings not that great

Wy-june,
for swaddles if you get those Aden&Anais gigantic muslin cloths its more versatile. Can also use as baby blanket, to place on diaper-changing stations outside, use to cover the stroller when bb sleeping or as a breastfeeding nursing cover.

The ready-made ones can only use for a very short time and your baby may not like swaddling anyway.. It's quite individual one. Maybe can get 1-2 to standby or for hubby to use if he's not so adept at swaddling with the blanket but not nec to spend too much.

I love the A&A muslins, still using them even now for my 2 girls when they sleep in the stroller. Also good as a blanket in aircon malls.

To use as a nursing cover, just tie two ends together and hook over your neck. It is much softer and airier for the baby than traditional nursing covers - they get hot and sweaty when breastfeeding even without a cover!
Or you can just buy one of those bib-clips and attach to the muslin cloth. Even easier and cheaper is to just attach a ribbon to two baby safety pins. :p

Morning mummies..

absentmama > Thanks for all the great advices! I am on Aden&Anais and they look so pretty! Do u buy them locally or online? Yeap.. Outgrowing it is my worry too. Actually, I already bought some muslins to act as swaddle wraps, light blanket (for hot spells in June) and face/bath towels. Just not sure if we need to stand-by few pieces of those "ready-shaped" for NBs. BTW, do you find any drastic differences btwn normal vs. bamboo fabric muslin? I read that it is softer, lighter and more breathable but yet to have a feel as mine are all cotton..

Oohh the rompers from Marks & Spencer UK are so tempting! Saw so many nice items for boys too haha!

for mummies gg to expo fair this weekend, note that this weekend also have NATAS travel fair hor... so parking wise, will be crazy. +_+|||...

my guess is that babies outgrow clothes very fast. my mum and i only bought NB clothes estimated to last during confinement.... the rest will be 3-6 months...

Wy June - I have the cotton A&A muslins and they're very soft after washing. Have felt the bamboo ones and they're even softer, but otherwise not much difference. The good thing about the A&A is that they're huge, around 1.2x1.2m so can draped over the stroller very well.

I bought mine at Morhercare here, its prob cheaper in US so if anyone is going you can ask a favor? If not the price markup here isn't too unreasonable, thinking whether to buy a blue set for my baby this time round..

For the ready-made swaddles suggest you try getting a 2nd-hand one since most ppl only use for a few weeks the condition should still be very good. No need to spend too much lah. It's very easy to swaddle with the muslins, and the nurses can show you in hospital too.

Oh for mummies stocking up on bottles, got to bear in mind that some babies are quite choosy about the bottle/teats so you may want to buy just 1-2 to try first?

You'll often see ppl selling baby bottles bnib online or those just used 1x or 2x cos their baby refused that particular brand

Although can still be used to store pumped bm..

Thks absentmama for ur advise.
1st x mummy n completely clueless. N seemingly frenz ard me r either not married yet or no kids. Depend alot on forum mummies' advices n pointers.

Hav a great day ahead, all mummies.

thanks absentmama for all the great tips!
ytd was a crazy day....fighting fire in the office.

on rompers, i got mine from Old navy and osh kosh...and i got 2 shoes from mothercare! so pretty!!!

Janiz: i booked my post-natal massage too!
how much on avg do you all pay? also i heard u must have ang-paos to give them?

Missy - when I had my no.1 all my friends were just getting married and no one having babies yet. My colleagues all single or their kids already my age, lol. No one to give us advise on stuff. So we spent a lot of money buying various useless baby things which ended up taking up space in the storeroom cos everything seemed necessary to us first-time parents!

Now 3rd kid liao so more relaxed. And also find that if you buy as you need the savings are actually better than over-stock during sales and cannot use.

Maybe it's just me but I find it a hassle to re-sell things online, so I would rather just buy when I see the need.

Btw ime these kind of baby expos are good for getting massage packages, maternity clothes and nursing stuff as the discounts tend to be higher. For items like playpen or baby cots also worth taking a look.

Diapers usually not very cheap though. Again easier and prob just as cheap to buy those at supermarket promos

Yes A&A muslin swaddles r v nice n breathable. ..we also use it...as first time mum then i bought many types coz wasnt sure whats gd or wat baby will use but found aden n anais the best. ..n when kid was older n didnt want to b swaddled..I change to grobag slp bag coz he slps in aircon but using blankets was a no no...the sleepbags though expensive was totally worth it n the 2 wr bought n used frm 6m..he still using it now at 15m...I recently bought 2 more frm 18m sizes to upgrade him
also gd slp habit..go in slp bag he knows bed time liao..morn will ask to come out of the bag..

Btw I haf 2 strollers to let go off..if anyone interested coz gonna buy double stroller since its #2 for us..I have a bonbebe stroller blue colour n a black limited edition quinny zapp...let me know if interested...price neg..jus wanna free up.space in my hse n boot if not hubby will nag when I get the double..thanks!

Mummync, you really getting the double? Is it the baby jogger city select? Managed to convince your hubby already? :p

Btw how's Elijah today, is he getting better?

Oh my kids all use sleeping bags too, starting from around 2 mths old. this way they know its night time and cannot wake up anyhow during middle of the night! Haha..

But I buy my kids' sleeping bags from Ikea.. Cheap and good

Sleeping bag really good? I did buy 1 before but scare they will be too hot so i never use after 2 mths. Maybe this time round i can try out.

Kome, i find that using sleeping bag helps my kids get into a nighttime routine from a early age. So normally when they are around 2-3 months old I put them into pajamas, sleeping bag, feed them, read a short book, sing a goodnight song and then put them down to sleep. They learn very fast this way. My eldest was sleeping through the night from 7pm - 7am at 4 months old.

Mei mei took longer to train, but by 7 months old she's also sleeping through from 7pm to 6-7am and they both don't wake up for milk. If they do wake up its usually cos they're teething or ill.

At least as parents we get more rest when the kids go to bed early.

You might want to try again your bb girl this time round?

But if using sleeping bag must be in an aircon room otherwise they might get overheated with just a fan.

Or can try the A&A brand of sleeping bags they have super-thin muslin ones for summer weather so prob can use it without aircon

Thanks mummync & absentmama!

I wanted to get the sleeping bags initially but some friends was telling me that it is not really required so am hesitant. Think I will get some muslin sleeping bags to try first since we are not using air-con..

I'm from Jan 13 MTB forum group. I have an extra bottle of Clarins stretch mark oil - Huile Tonic Body Treatment Oil 100ml, retailing at $78. It is brand new in box, not opened before and purchased in late 2012. My hubby bought an excess bottle and hence unused. Am looking to sell it at $65. Self collect in Tampines hdb or Tanjong pagar mrt. Please PM me if you are interested.

Thanks absentmama. I am not using air con also but my ceiling fan super strong. Maybe due to low ceiling also. Think might go and find 1 super thin sleeping bag to try out.

absentmama: thank you for your advice! I almost wanted to get more newborn clothes as I was worried the 5 sets that I have are not enough hehe..think I can start buying those fm 3 mths onwards. I must agree the A&A muslins are nice! Gonna get some =)

mummync: My hubby is thinking of the Quinny Zapp Xtra 2012 where the bumper bar can be affixed to it. Is yours the same model?

on the post natal massage, my colleague who delivered early last year recommended this lady, Makcik Su - 96353627 but we were unable to contact her. She might have changed her mobile. So I am still looking around for other contacts

I'm just planning to buy one pampers NB and that's it. Cos' not too sure if baby will get used to the diaper. Some babies have ahem high-class bums and may get rashes. I tried huggies and nepia before and he had rashes. Can only take either mamy poko or pampers. So try it out first and after ascertaining what your baby is comfortable in, then can buy in bulk.

lilac
There is an offer for 4 packs of GOON diapers at qoo10 but they don't allow mix sizes, so am considering if i should get them or not.

Chewie

i bought at 55 or 59 from Mothercare west coast plaza. Other branches selling at around 65 so prob not worth getting from Amazon?

Do check out the SMH bulk purchase forum, I've seen ppl selling A&A by per piece at around $15 each also

Lilac, totally agree! Some babies are very fussy can only take certain types of diapers / bottles / formula etc so its better to buy in bulk after confirming bb's preference, haha.. They are like little emperors whom we live to serve

Oh that's great, I'll pop by Mothercare to check it out then
Is West Coast branch cheaper? OK I'll also check out the BP, thanks!

I ordered a bunch from Mothercare UK cos I feel Mothercare rompers/ pj quality is really superior to Gerber/ Carters etc and it's so overpriced in SG. Does M&S have good baby stuff as well?

Chewie, yes the marks n spencer uk baby stuff is fantastic! Cheaper than mothercare but same quality. nicer designs too. Like a set 7 rompers only costs £9... And esp the girl's stuff all so pretty. Too bad I'm having a boy this time.. Can't resist baby girl clothing

Do you use vpost for your Mothercare UK order? I thought the shipping seemed rather ex..

I'm not very sure but I think local Mothercare branches don't have fixed prices, as in the price for the same item will differ a bit depending on location. West Coast plaza a bit "ulu" so maybe things cheaper there. also noticed before that diff branches have different sale items.. iirc their catalogue doesn't list any prices right..

absentmama, I run sprees and I have a UK counterpart so I mail it to her and she charges S$3.50 per 100g. Actually Mothercare does direct shipping to SG as well, and if the order is big enough, it is more worth it to ship direct by Mothercare cos the per kg charge is GBP3-4 but there is a base charge of around GBP28. I just received a Mothercare order so will try to see if direct is cheaper

I didn't know about pricing differences at Mothercare... will drop by and check out the A&A price cos the BP price for the design I'm looking for is quiet exp

mabelths, it might be easier to ship to your hotel then. Same for your US trip. Let me know if you need any 2 day shipping from Amazon or Shoprunner (Drugstore)

windy: hm...based on my travel dates, i will reach Singapore just as i am 35wks...haaha..so technically speaking i am still allowed to travel

i'm trying to see if i will eventually be travelling..but for now it is still on my radar

chewie: thanks! for US may be abit easier as i will be going in march and i may still have the energy to shop around one 1 of the free days which i do not have a conference going on. in may i'm nt sure though as i'll be 34wks+..haha

just to ask, is it ok to deliver to the hotel? will it get lost? i've emailed the hotel but they did not reply to me, so i'm still skeptical abt asking them to ship to my hotel. my current arrangement in US is to pre-order online and collect at a designated outlet.

oh btw, just to share, Cold Storage having promo for Huggies Ultra Super Jumbo Pack at $34.45 for any 2 (Up $42.5)

but that said, i think still best to test if baby is suitable to use which brand of diapers first?

sorry for ad hoc posts, i think previously (some time back) we had qns on what to pack for delivery bag?

Here's a helpful list! (not sure if this has been shared though..i may have missed it if someone shared already, so apologies if this is duplicated!)

http://www.************/pregnancy/itemstobring.doc

mabelths,
you can definitely deliver to the hotel. as long as you give the hotel 1-2 days to notify you that the packages are here. cannot expect them to know immediately. however, some hotels do charge a fee per package, so it's best to email hotels to find out their policy.

Mabelths its definitely cheaper to ship M&S to European destinations. But I dunno if the hotels will accept the package for you.

We tried doing that in London and were rejected by the concierge, they say for security reasons they won't sign for packages for guests - maybe afraid of someone sending a bomb over?!?!

But worth checking with the Swedish hotel lah. They may be more flexible. We went there in summer last year, lovely place and very cool baby and kid clothes!

Hi mabelths, yup what och is saying is right. You can specify your name (guest from xx date to xx date) so they know when you are coming. I specify the guest portion in the Last Name field of the mailing address and it works. For big chains in big cities, they charge US$5-10 per pkg. In the suburbs, it is usually free. I sent 1 pkg to Hyatt in SF and was charged, and 20 pkgs to Sheraton in San Jose and it was free. Usually I just use Skype to call up the front desk and ask during US hours. The good thing about US shipping is that most of the time it is trackable so I know exactly when the hotel received it, and who signed for it!

I haven't sent to UK or EU hotels before though...

absentmama, ok I will take a look at MS tomorrow and let you know

chewie, let me know if you are organising sprees from anywhere else. n thanks for offering to organise. i used to organise, n i know it's a lot of work.

Hey people, pupsik studio website is selling the A&A swaddles 4pc pack for 55.90!

So no need to go down to Mothercare - that's probably the cheapest you can get in Sg le.

Hello everyone long time since I popped by as I have been busy and tired.....

Went for my detailed scan today and #2 is a little girl... today my #1 shocked us by pointing to the screen and say there mei mei... hopefully she understands that there will be another companion soon.

But then she can be really sticky at times too ...

Felt relieved that all was well and #2 was seen sucking her thumb, first time I seen this !

Nothing much to buy I only gotten mittens and booties only. Perhaps buy a new set of clothes for mei mei, the rest will be inherited from her sister..

Later on when the Taka fair is up, i will buy milk bottles.

Absentmama - haha no we r prob going to get one of those.more umbrella like ones frm toysrus sale..coz we dont need a heavy duty one for our purpose since we drive even to heir childcare. ..elijah seems to b better after the antibiotics..now jus hoping he is fit for sch tmr..thanks for asking

Kome - ya u shkd try..like absentmama I tink it promotes gd slp habits...my son starting slping thru since 4mths ..in recent times he has stopped but tts a diff story..more so since I found out I am preggers. ..

Yes if not in aircon may b too hot given in aircon but when my kid is runnin a temp I will use a&a insteaf of grobag coz thinner n more breathable. ..n I like tt it prevents them frm climbing out the cot

Kome and mabelths - i'm paying $50/day for 1 hr massage. Think this is the market rate for freelancers. Must give ang baO meh? I nv give leh

For NB diapers, i bot a pack of petpet when i saw it was on offer a few mths ago. V kiasu i know coz that was the 1st time i saw NB siZe at ntuc! Hehe..my no.1 is using petpet and its cheap n good. But nowadays i dun seem to b able to find NB size anymore. Anyway for my no.1, as she was a big baby (3.7kg), i only used 1 pack of NB size and after that, upgrade to size S liao.

Vivi> congrats!! ... ya...doctor say BB can suck thumbs/fingers from week 16 onwards...heehee...during my detailed scan, my gal was yawning away and squirming... (maybe because i woke her up for early apptment)...