(2013/01) Jan 2013

ctrus

mine too. was carried to slp by CL. so after she left, we gt to carried her to slp for a month or so.

may b u can try slowly to reduce the time to carry her to slp.. my rule of thumb is carry 10 -15min to make her slp. after that to put in the cot. mine gt the help of pacifcier.

so gd yr hubby wake up and help u carry..mine slp thru and onli on weekends, he is a full time dad..wahaha..

ctrus, me too. will be pumping during lch..no choice..bb come first le.

btw i would like to know how much u all pump too?

My yield varies throughout the day, ranging frm 60-100ml each session. Plus eating those tt food/drink tt heard can help increase supply e.g. oats, fenugreek, milk. Anw my supply is not alot to begin with. Stime demand more then supply.

I have already back to work, pump at 7am, 1pm and 7pm. I will let bb to latch directly at night which is 10pm, 1pm and 4pm to maintain the volume. I able to get 240 - 300ml each time, but my bb drinking 130ml - 150ml for 3 hrs interval.

my yield varies too..i able to get 200-250ml per session..my gal is a small drinker @ 125ml at 3 hrly..

went to the doc and her weight is not at 25 percent onli..

Ctrus,
You can stuff cotton balls into the bottle teat then let bb suck it instead of pacifier - this is done in KKH and the cotton balls prevent bb from sucking in air.

Bdmummy: Oic... Thanks for the good advice. So remove the teat frm the bottle and stuff cotton ball? What we usually do is put some milk for him to suckle.

When shld we bring bb to see PD? My 3mo bb is showing sign of coughing. Initially we thot he got choke on saliva. But nw the cough is more frequently heard.

Cyrus,
Yes just need to remove bottle and stuff teat w cotton balls.

If cough persists for 2 days and more, better to bring to see doctor in case there is wheezing and also not to risk developing asthma in later yrs. FYI Abrilar cough syrup was prescribed by pd for my boy at 3wks so will be safe and it was effective too.

Hi Jan mummies, may i know if you have good malay massage lady to recommend? I will be giving birth in Sep.. thus, would like to book one in coming may..

With the dengue epidemic going around, wanted to let you know that AIA has a Star Shield insurance plan that covers for outpatient & hospitalisation claims for dengue, HFMD and food poisoning on top of the usual accidents, among other benefits. Very low cost starting from below $10 a month.

Do PM me if you would like to find out more

Aspialle,
I find tummy binder quite effective. Can buy from BP.

Jerlyn,
No plans to give fm unless bm is not enough. Fm lasts longer coz harder to digest so bm still best for baby - if possible continue to feed bm.

hi bdmummy..

i plan to give partial bm and partial fm at night only so that can last longer thru the night. n i will be going back to work soon..

these few days very tired adn i can pump and doze off in the middle of night.

Jerlyn,
Can understand how you are feeling... At least u still pumping middle of night. I am too tired to pump even at 6am and so will even stretch to 9am sometimes (prev pump ard 11pm or 12mn)! Hope can still maintain pumping schedule when I start work in mid May. But coming home after work will be madness - having to finish dinner, feed baby and my elder boy, bathe them, play, pack their things for next day in childcare/infant care etc. plus still need to do some household chores... think I will be super tired at end of each day!

hi bdmummy..

understand too.. mummies are superwoman..get your hubby to help you with the chores or playing with bb..

can i ask does your bb wake up in the middle of the night as in bb fidgeting and kicking..like gt wind in the stomach de..how to prevent that?

Jerlyn,
My bb does wake up between 4-6am for milk not due to wind. U can try the cycling method recommended by LeesStreet. Also can use Ruyi oil.

Bdmummy
Nowadays mummies have to juggle so many things, last time out parents where got sit down with us to do homework or pack our bag?? Haiz now we have to be teacher, maid , career woman, wife, daughter, cook, nurse and much more

aspialle! bdmummy! Still remember me? It has been ages since I last login.. How have u been?

Lol.. Things were simpler back then. Now, pace of life is different, thus the multiple roles.. Sighhzz

aspialle, u r one great wei da mummy! Jia You! U can do it!
been silently reading sin the start of this thread. I am also a Jan mum. Been v quiet her lately, guess most r not working yet or too busy to log in.

Aspialle,
Well said! I cannot agree more!

Xinyue,
Nice to see u here again! How hv you been? Everything well w baby n r u returning to work soon?

Xinyue
Glad to see u, I'm fine looking after bb myself , maid went off before cny and if u follow the thread I'm one crazy woman. Hehe

Bdmummy
We share same feelings

Sade
Thanks for the compliment but I think most mummies here r like me too.

bdmummy > I am ok, still fat lor. Didnt manage to lose all the weight gain from pregnancy.. Generally baby is ok. Just that he vomits quite frequently at the beginning. It is better now. I started working already and Monday was my first day. How about you?

aspialle > Glad to know that you are coping.. Yeah, on off will come in to take a glance. Even though I have a maid, but she is driving me nuts at times.. GRrrrrr.. She likes to question whatever I do..

Hi Aspialle,

Read from previous post that your boy having undecent testicle, how it going? As my boy also having this, doctor said that if it didn't come down, might need to go for surgery.. quite worry about this.

Tnqhome
Yes , during last check doc can feel testis already coming down but not totally in place yet but doc says most likely no need operation

R u too busy at home n hv no time to go shopping? Why not do online shopping.. I do sell cute bb clothings & products from Fisher price, Lamaze, Popular WINK products for mummy in facebook with great prices.. . Come on in to my fb n shop now.. Is always good to hv another choice to shop.. The reason i create this page as am a twin mummies and know tt saving is very impt for us especially standard living so high now..
Visit www.facebook.com/precioustotcloset today...or search for Precious Tots Closet (bear icon) fr facebook to find out more.
No harm to take alook right?
enjoy your time with your baby..;)

Hi Mummies..
Been a silent reader since preggy time..
really got to know and learn a lot of things through this forum page.

Baby Boy is 3mths old now..drinking 125ml of ebm per feeding.. recently dun like me to bottle feed him.. want to latch on when he knows i'm home after work.

Any babies here have problem with hearing? My baby's left ear is not responding well since birth.. Right ear is perfectly fine.. KK's ENT specialist have arranged a few test since birth, he will need to check again in June which he will be sedated during the test.. hopefully he will pass the test.

Hi aspialle,

My baby has fail 3 test including the first one after delivery..
Although the docs say that the test fails, but Baby is responding well to us. Whenever we talk to him he knows to respond back.

My baby also fail hearing test when he was tested in hospital after delivery. Went back to retest after 1 mth, he pass but his right ear responded slower. I was so worried then. 1st month baby slp most of the time, so they tend not to respond too much to sounds. If your baby respond to you when you make sounds, it should be alright even if your baby did not pass the test. The test uses waves instead of normal sound.

Yup. Also dunno issit because he is hearing with his right ear which is the good one that's y he can respond back to us.
As for his left ear, we gotto wait for the June detailed test. Which is said to be 99% accurate.

Bdmummy
Past few days is chaos, my elder son got stomach flu, he got high fever, vomiting n diarrhea. My hubby took 2 days leave to help me so he felt I can't do without maid. There are times both sides are crying and I'm cooking halfway ... Tough

aspialle > glad that finally ur hubs agrees to a maid.. though at times, a maid can be more of a hinderance then help. is your boy better now?

with regards to hearing test, SIGHHH.. my boy fails the hearing test (done together with developmental assessment at polyclinic). We did not send him for the hearing test for newborn... As for the testicles, my boy has hydrocele.. meaning water in his testicles.

SIGHHH...He needs to go back for review next month.. Hope all is ok.

Brandon_mummy > can u elaborate on the hearing tests done? as the hearing test done on my boy is just the doc shaking a bell
at the back of his ear.

my maid has FB account and she likes to post pic of my sons. saw a few suggestive photos of her too.. she likes to post comments during her trips to the loo.. what can i do about this?

Reactions: Wxl

Xinyue,
During the test @ kk, they will stick some probe on his forehead, back of the head also. Then got 2 covers for the ears.. Then let him hear the sound. If he hear then his brainwave will transmit a signal to the machine through the probe. Then they will know whether he can hear a not.
The first few is done during normal sleeping.
But the detail one need to be done under sedation.