(2013/01) Jan 2013

Re: Dental visit

Can still go... and good to go for oral hygiene... my gynae says.. pregnant woman tend to have swollen and bleeding gums very often.. So, dental visit frequently is good... =)

i just did mine last wkend.. this will be my last one prior delivery...

on coconuts.. i cant take them. last round, every time after taking them, i got lots of discharge and had cramps too.. only took twice last round. so probably not taking it this round.

Re: Coconut

Many various sayings leh... my friend who delivered last year.. her MIL told her that she did not drink enough coconut water so, her child tend to be not so 'clean'... as in she will have lots of eye dust etc...

dunnoe how true it is... but, prior delivery my friend drink only once a week..

if so, meaning... we should drink more often prior delivery?? ahahaha.....

julie > Last round, I asked gynae on brazilian waxing. He adv against it as it might trigger contractions. If I remembered correctly, I was > 30 weeks when I asked him on this. It is best for you to check with your gynae, as I heard before from some mummies it is ok to go brazilian waxing.

Moonchip,

are you in your last trimester?? if so, clear discharge and cramps are part n parcel right?

clear discharge is the release of some mucus plug etc.. and cramps like braxton hicks contraction? are in preparation of your forthcoming labour..

I walked like a duck last evening, waddling away.

I booked for brazilian waxing on 3 Jan, even if trigger contraction and/or delivery I'm ok because already Jan.

pfshi > ya, last trimester.. but the discharge increases after taking coconuts. if I didnt take coconut, lesser discharge and lesser cramps.

Going for my 37 week check up today - nausea is very bad today. Seems like it is correlated to my level of energy - could not sleep last night as I could not get a comfortable position. I was also perspiring profusely through the night though the air con was at 20deg.

Dental - yes, just cleaning and polishing should be fine. Just do not do any major works that involve the nerves. I did mine abt 2 months back.

Ctrus - I waddle a fair bit too...so you are not alone.

Aspialle - the breast discharge that you have is likely to be colustrum. Some mums to be get it towards end of pregnancy. I don't - my breast milk comes rather late, around 4th or 5 th day...my gynae said that this time, she will give me something to start earlier...hopefully it works. Cos usually i have no choice but to give FM a few days before giving BM.

Moonchip, ctrus: oh no... Like tat dono shd go for it nt.. Coz tmr will mark wk37.. Like tat better nt? In case trigger contraction? I don wan b4 jan!!! Ctrus i cannot coz edd is 4jan.. Cannot go so late haha!!

Hi Chin,

for 1st timer pregnancy, how to know if our colostrum will come in late?

So, if come in late then have to feed baby to FM first... i plan to do exclusive bf if possible so did not buy FM for baby...

haha... can pre-empt a not? meaning to ask gynae to prescribe something etc. and to standby it? hahaaha

julie > as said.. it is best to ask your gynae for advise. my gynae was against it during my #1's time. he didnt even request nurse to shave down under during labour..

Julie,
I just went for waxing ytd. But I've done it before and the pain is minimal for me. I didn't do a full Brazilian in case I'm too sensitive, but it was all right.

If its first time for u then really better not.

Sunny,
I feel bloated everyday!! Hahaha and the heartburn at night is quite bad too. Have to take gaviscon almost nightly.

LM,
im not better than u. but it appears that the swell worsen this am. normally i do not have the "swelling syndrome" in the am.

btw, i was not told to shave or do any waxing from my gyn. is this a must?

Ermm... i had brazilian all off last month when I am week 30. Although hubby and frens all against it, I still go ahead. Everything ok leh... I think it depend on your pain treshold la. If you have done it before then is ok but if you seldom or never then better not as it probably will trigger contraction. I also not sure.

End of this month I will still go do one last time before give birth next month.

Sometime i do have contraction pain but good thing is my gynae already prescribe me some medication to standby. It is actually some kind of relaxer pill to stop contraction. I feel quite safe to have the medication keep in my bag every where i go. But of coz if serious contraction he said need to go hospital put on drip.

Actually if anyone havent full term yet can try ask your gynae prescribe some medication to keep in your bag. If dont feel good just pop the tablet.

Sunny,
At this last stage of pregnancy will have all kinds of funny problems. Main thing is no major pains and contractions. Let's hang in there!

Waxing is a personal preference. I want to be reasonably clean down there for post delivery discharge when it's really messy and bloody for a while. I had the discharge for like weeks after #1, then followed by actual menses. So I was wearing pads for several months! Sian.

Went for gynae appt on Tues which was 34 wks 4 days, baby wt is 2.7kg.

Gynae said normally for #2 baby, one will not know when the head is engaging til labor.. Am clueless abt it...

LM: i did brazilian b4.. I nt reli concerned bout the pain part, more concerned bout whether will trigger contractions coz don wan a premature bb.. Somemore bb very active these days.. Like hinting say wan come out. Haha!! Bt i still keep telling bb to 'tong' till jan.. Hopefully bb listens.. And oso coz pre preggy i already have a brazilian package.. So wanna do oso do brazilian all off.. Anywaz i now still undecided if shd go coz scared will trigger.. So i now sitting at mac looking at forum 1st.. Anywaz shop haven open oso.. Haha!! How many wks are u now?

Sunny: its nt a must.. Juz a personal preference..

Bliss: reli? Coz my last appt at 33wk i asked and doc said nt totally engaged, about 50%. Went appt again yest at 36wk and i asked again. He said still nt totally engaged.. Still bout 50%.. Bt no need worry coz shdn't turn back up already.. Mayb they oso don wanna give u a definite answer..

Bliss, my gynae said mine at week 34 already engage in position. Because mine is #1 so the muscle is likely tight enough to hold the position until labor.
But for mummies having #2,3... baby will still be able to stretch the muscle and turn so you wont know when it engage til labor

Aspialle, the other day u mentioned abt the rotating sleep pattern of babies, erm.. i dun see the correlationship between cow milk allergy and rotating in sleep leh.. actually some adults oso dun wake up from the same position mah.. haha.. i think most of the babies does rotate in their sleep and some of them on 100% bm. haha. so is it allergic to mummy's milk? sorry, no offense. just sharing =)

Averie, where u go for waxing? u got package huh?

Julie, actually for me, i did my first waxing during i was week 37 for my #1. 3 days before my scheduled csect. i would say my threshold of pain is quite high, so luckily nothing happened to me after bw lah.. haha.. if u r worried, better check with ur gynae..

Canopy, i dunnoe how to attach it here, but a suggestion, how abt attaching the spreadsheet to fb? i think eventually we will move to fb right? haha. can add in columns for where we staying, etc.. haha. cos next time easier if we want to organise playdates and getherings.. what do u think?

Hello mummies!!

Today ms v bad.. Puke in morning Liao .. Hope the day will get better!

On waxing i never try before Le.. I diy self trim (tmi lol) .. But belly in the way a bit difficult now..

My Gynae appointment this weekend.. Removing my cervix stitch.. I think after that will be anytime Liao.. *jitters*.. Wish me luck!!

Moonchip
since u r having cramp & more discharge then better dun drink coconut as it is a sign that ur body might be too cooling. Not the last tri signs!

Waxing ar..... u can try but prep for early delivery loh. I know some mums still doing it.

Bliss,
mine is already engaged leh!!! no wonder gynae said might deliver earlier o_O but I dunna dec bb leh!! Today gng for heartbeat chk.

Bdmummy,
see u at carters!

Nickole: wk37?? Hmm.. Tats like now.. Bt guess wat? Tok so much end up nt doing liao.. Coz they're fully booked for today. She wanted schedule me for tmr bt i c she like very bochup.. Somemore i keep forgetting the nice ger who do for me is wat name.. Haizzz.. So guess will wait till after delivery than do lor..

Julie,
Not sure exactly, but I think the triggering contractions is because the pain from waxing causes the muscles to tense? So my theory is if you find it painless, nothing else shd happen. Like my bb didn't even move during waxing.

The therapist did say most pregnant women find waxing during pregnancy more painful. They also can't press down when removing the wax strip cos the big tummy might be in the way.

I'm almost 36weeks. Tmr is gynae appt.

Strep b swab test,
Has anyone done it already? Which week was it taken? I can't rem for #1. But I had it, so think this time probably still have?

LM: nt doing already.. Coz fully booked. And the ger like very attitude.. Worse is i cant rem the name of the ger who did for me the last time.. Haiz.. Thou she say can book tmr bt i c her face i oso don feel like doin liao. So guess will do after delivery liao.. As for the swab test, i did it yest during my 36wk appt. i had it for #1 too.. And thou had antibiotics pills till delivery and the antibiotic drip during delivery, this time round doc say no need pills if positive. Onli do drip during delivery. Results will be out next wk during my next visit.

@ Averie, yes yes.. first one normally will engage so gyane can cmf it..

@ Julie, yes.. i do agree that gyane dont want to give a definite answer

@ Sylvia, wow... urs engage... We hoping for dec bb but gyane said most prob will be in Jan...

Nichole,
The rotating is 360 degree , specialist term as dancing, the list of food to avoid is not just cow milk alone. My son sleeping pattern really weird, his head can be anywhere ... After switching goat milk dun have already, although he still turn but his head is always around pillow not 360 degrees. Other symptoms are wheezing sound when sleeping, if child takes 3 to 4 weeks to recover from normal flu, longer than norm, could also be due to allergies of nose

Brazilian waxing, I just did mine last week... still bearable.. so those who are thinking of going, go lah! the therapist should know how to handle ba!

Strep B, I did mine 8 Dec (34 wks long) and sad to say I kena the virus again.. have to go on antibotics lor....

huh? Bb engage means will give birth soon.. coz my hb keep on asking my gyane if the bb is engaged.. then my gynae says it is not good to engage so early, hahhhaha!

Tres: reli? So shd feel lucky bb haven engage yet.. Haha!! Coz i wan a jan bb nt dec!! Thou my n hubby both dec.. Bt jan bb better.. Bt like tat all bdaes ard the same. Coz my #1 bdae in feb. will be fat n broke fm celebrations fm dec to feb!! Haha!!

Averie: doc will insert a small strip below and swipe a few times. that's all.

Tres: i heard from a friend saying that bb engaged does not mean labour soon. my friend said that her sister was engaged for a long time, but did not go into labour after much later.

Tres > My #1 was engaged at 36 weeks but he didn't come out until he was induced at 39w5d.

Went for my gynae check up yesterday. Bb is 2.3+ kg at 34 weeks, think should be about average. Not engaged yet. Haiz..I've also started having morning sickness again. Gynae also said I have low red blood count, so must take iron tablets.

Haiza: can take red meat too.. Helps in iron intake.. Last time i oso.. Than took quite abit of steak..

Averie: swab very fast 1.. Yest when doc do, tink 1second onli.. I didnt even know he done.. Than saw him take out his gloves, i ask him done? He say ya.. No feeling at all.. Haha!!

Just back from doc appointment, baby head down. Tom 37 weeks, baby 3.3kg. Gonna be one chubby baby alright. Also took the culture for the Step B test, not painful at all - totally different experience from last week with the replacement gynaehh - it was so painful at both attempts. My hubby is away next week, so asked doc to check if any risk of early delivery. She checked my cervix - no dilation, and baby not engaged...so likely to be no action for at least 1 week more. Phew.

Moonchip - ya..bag is half packed. I just throw in things as and when I remember. I stay v near TMC, so worse case can get my helper to bring over.

PFshi - i do not think there is a way of knowing when your colustrum will come in.. today, the nurse ask me to start the breast massage to stimulate production of milk.