(2013/01) Jan 2013

Sylvia, I like the way you said it..."downgrade" lifestyle...my goal is to do that next year...hahaha...I hope I can do it...my hubby and I are spendthrifts! *sweat*

Fullhouse, I should be joining you for NPL after my maternity leave next year. My principal actually advised me to think about my career development and go for childcare arrangements in 2014 but I see how. My agreement with him is after #2 is 6 months, I will help him out in school for special projects on part-time hourly basis while on NPL till end of 2013.

Ladies, primary school ranking is not fixed. Every year is changing due to top scorer, total aggregate score in cohort, etc. Many factors are involved. In fact, the primary school ranking list is never available in the ministry but I know there's an unofficial list in KiasuParents.

Hence, it doesn't mean that Nanyang Primary, Raffles Girls Primary and Rosyth Primary will always remain the top 3 every year.

Sylvia,
You are a SAHM? Not easy too. Tt why I think both SAHM as well as FTWM are equally great

Fullhouse,
So true. We also think that a kid could do so much better in a neighbourhood school compared to a top school. Sourcing around my area as I need to register #1 for school next yr.

Pauline,
I saw the list in Kiasu parents. want to faint! Your bb should still in infant care if you were to consider 2014 right? Mine main care giver will be MIL. Once reach 18th month, I will send to childcare.

Finally managed to go and dig out my marriage cert last night. However the irony thing is we have yet to think of a name for bb. Anyone has good suggestion for bb gal name starting with Q?

purple rain, I think I viewed the similar layout before, foyer is balcony area .. not bad ~
When's your EDD? If not early January then you may have chance to end your ML on 30 April ..

Thanks elp_mum for the great link ~ it's really useful for planning maternity leave.

JuLiE, now you can be your ID of your house .. when u going to get your new place? Is BTO? I also have thought of becoming a ID before, think think only :p I also have no artistic talent.

canopyhaze, yeah .. I guess might be not so convenience sometimes for other colleagues. But for my case, I guess my boss hope I can shorten my maternity leave coz one of my colleagues have serious illness and will be back to work probably six months later or even longer.

piyoz, enjoy playing with the floorplanner ~

My house is in matured estate so the floorplan is very 'old school' layout. Squarish~~ But the rooms are defintely bigger than the new flats now... hehe... Actualy, i have 4 bedrooms, the living area is suppose to be a study room but i hacked off so the living area is bigger...

My edd is 21 Jan 13...

Time to gossip abt my SIL liao~~
She is my hub's elder sis... SIL & her mum are very close, she does not have any close friends due to her character thus always stick around with her mum (my MIL). When she is preggie with 1st son, she is still staying with her mum then waiting for her flat. When her son was born, is my MIL who handle everything on bb. Feeding, bathing, coaxing bb to sleep, change diapers, etc...She is like a helper instead, like if MIL needs help, she just help a little bit. Sames goes for her 2nd son born 7 years later. As such, i feel that her sons are much closer to their granny. Cos everytime go out, is MIL who carry bb, feed bb... But SIL still feels that her bond with her sons are very close...
Sorry for the long post... Just want to vent out... =)

When SIL got her flat, her 1st son was still staying at MIL house every day/night... never go back to their new house. SIL will go to MIL house for dinner aft work, den go back to her house w/o her bb then she will stay over at her mum's house from fri night to sun night, leaving her hub at home. So her son even enrolled into kindergarten & pri sch near to MIL hse.

When my hub & I got our flat, hub shifted out then she sold her house & stay PERMANENTLY at MIL house till now. Her 2nd son is 2.5 yo, also taken care by MIL. Since i'm preggie, she nv even bother to packed any preloved items for me. Not say i yao gui, but sure she will have some left. Though mine is gal, her is boy... Luckily, i have my sis & close friends who always asking me if i need anything...

Good morning ladies!

Another of my friends have just given birth yesterday. Her bb is overdued and kenna induced @ 41wks! Her son weighs 3.295kg, her tummy was twice the size of mine. I thought her bb will come out at least 4kg!

purple : its ok la. I oso never get anything pre-loved clothes or items from my sil or cousin in law; tho i am ok with them. All my stuffs were bought brand new for my #1, and now for #2, he will be using gor gor's stuffs plus some new items we have bought for him.

@ Julie, ggezzzz...... our same situation leh.. mil will wash her family clothes etc plus her precious youngest son clothes then hang for few days, leaving no poles for me to hang mine.. plus hang clothes in room... funny ppl..

Plus she very on, wash her youngest precious son and her own bed sheet and blanketevery 3 weeks... thus leaving no poles for me to hang again.. she is very conscious when it comes to her bao bei youngest son (my BIl) stuff.. will wash twice and then hint to my hub that water bill is high after we come to stay.. chey...!!!

For me , I got a mother who does not like to be tied down to take care of kids... A mil who is hoping to gain possession of taking care of bb and expect me to be weekend mother, because she is living in west and I'm in east.. Thus, decided to stay home n take care myself till bb is older then return to workforce. Not much choice , dun trust maid to take care of bb.

Morning all!! I just did my big business.. was reading the post while on the toilet bowl.. now back at my table to start gossiping!! hehe!!

bblove: Confirm govt wont implement the 6mth maternity leave la.. like tat during interviews, which bosses will employ those women not married or without kids one? in case next time gt pregnant than 6mths no1 to work how? As for the part on her playing u out for ur confinement the last time, hope u have a better plan this time. juz in case she does the same thing again. Tat's y initially wanted stay at MIL place for confinement, thou she did not mention anything bout helping out. wanted stay there coz nearer to my #1's cc, but my mum insisted for me to go back coz say need to have some1 to help if not later old liao body sure rot if no 'bu' body during confinement. Own mummy still the best!!

Y do u need marriage cert? for registration of bb birth cert issit? i forgot liao.. haha!! i had a fren whose name is called Queenie. Other than tat no more Q liao...

@ aspialle, oh no... how son nw..? I was told by my PD that i can use another type of "bullet" only meant for fever which is 37.5. U can check with your doctor. Maybe mine hard to eat med in wee hrs so was given either oral paracetamol or the paracetamol bullet.

@ bblove, ur sil is a moo moo cow.. If I am like her, giving birth to a dozen also nvm... whahahaha

Pocketpig: yup, mine is BTO... waiting super long for it to be done.. it's a sept 2009 project but onli started construction in 2010. So they say finish construction is 2014, keys onli in 2015.. faintzzz... but hopefully will earlier la... coz recently went to kapo kapo, they build till 21st storey liao, when the highest is 23/24 storey.. hopefully by next yr can get. Yest was telling hubby bout the floorplanner thingy, he havent heard of it b4.. but we decided to DIY and juz get a contractor, since both of us prefer simple plan. and simple no need ID one lor.. anywaz all new flats the layout about the same one.. now juz haven decided whether to make 4rms or 3rms.. coz if onli 3rms than at least hall will be bigger. coz hubby say hdb will make 3rms, if u wan the 4th rm need get contractor to build the partition wall.. not so sure bout tat thou...

Purplerain: wah ur SIL hubby ok to stay wif the in laws? seldom hear guys ok to stay wif inlaws.. but i gt a fren, his sis hubby did move in wif them la.. but tat one can understand. coz me fren family super rich kind. stay in 3/4 storey bungalow. recently bought the land behind their bungalow to build yet another bungalow, so now 2 bungalows connected, with a swimming pool in the middle. if me i oso don mind staying la.. somemore his parents very nice pple.. whenever we go there for party or gathering, the mother forever shoving food to us call us eat. haha!! but i don like me fren's wife la.. already a rich taitai forever complaining this complaining tat..

hub and mil also expects me to be a weekend mummy.. I suspect that hub wants #2 to be closer to his mum.. I shoo him back by saying " oh didnt it just so happen in ur case whereas ur grandma is #1 in ur world whereas u only start to take side of ur mum after ur grandmother passed on in yr 2010? He just kept quiet......

They are not pleased when my gal is closer to my mum.. Words of mouth was not pleasant to be heard at that pt of time when my gal was born. I thought since when mil cares abt my gal (gender bias).. sheee........... just an act to show the son that "I care" as a grandmother...

Bliss: same same but different la.. at least mine is she washes clothes onli thurs onwards. i need wash #1 CC clothes everyday so no choice, but onli using 1 pole. if i wash my own clothes + #1 home clothes, will sure use at least 2 poles. So norm thurs onwards i wont wash liao, coz she start washing she'll use all the poles.. and take down my ger's clothes.. there were a few times when she wanna use the pole than take down my ger clothes put in the rm. I still tot, wah so nice. but guess wat? the clothes haven dry... faintzzz..

Aspialle: my mum oso.. coz she working, tat's y when i was preggy wif #1 back then she said, aiya y never wait till i retire? but wait till she retire how old liao?!! and in laws oso working, but i don wanna let in laws take care oso la.. gt anything i oso cannot say them.. like my in law like to give her eat sweet.. which i don like leh.. somemore everytime after giving her things to eat never clean her hands or mouth after tat.. so dirty...

anywaz... i'm looking at the clock while typing.. coz leaving early fm work today for my gynae visit!! finally!!

Bliss: well, i was a weekend baby too.. last time when young i stay at grandma place.. i liked it coz alot of cousins to play wif... but tat was till kindergarden onli.. coz once i started primary sch parents brought me back home. I still rem i didnt wanna go home, alwaz crying to go back grandma house. mayb coz at hm alwaz so quiet, onli me n my sis when both parents working. As young as primary 1, after sch go home to 4 walls.. our neighbour, a granny, will pop by and make sure we're fine, and she prepares our lunch for us as well. so i grew up in tat environment.. but i hope my child wont grow up in such lonely environment la.. so i tell myself, thou i'm a FTWM, i wanna spend quality time wif my ger after work. tat's y i very long no watch tv already. haha!! but guess my ger prefers my mum to my MIL oso.. thou we onli go back mum's place on wkend and stay in MIL place on wkdays.. but i doubt MIL cares la.. haha!!

Tried playing wif floorplanner. So fun!! but cant continue.. coz cant rem the layout of the flat. haha!! tink gotta go hm dig out the floorplan hdb gave and start fm there. coz dono where is where. as in dono where is the door, where is the room, where is the living. cannot be i plan everything liao, end up the main door is at the place where i draw the master bedroom!! haha!! but seems fun...

BBlove,

yes I'm a SAHM.

Pauline,

with single income that is nt a high income, alot of consideration & budget to think and see how to spend wisely. How to go shows, performance,etc within budget. Setting priority too.

Actually due to kid's rejection to FM, I save alot $$, plus she partially self toilet trained by 20mths and fully trained by 23mth, so I also save alot on diaper/pull up.

I stock up pamper when they have promo 4 packs for $25-28 ( size L,XL) the last time, so I get to use ex diaper cheap. & due to sensitive skin, hv to wear 100% cotton, I buy from usa spree cheap due to choosing clearance items. That's like wear branded but is so cheap. ( gap legging at USD2.99, excluding discount & shipping).

Still surviving well. :p

I'm gonna collect my keys for BTO in 2014 too.. Going downgrade from my current 5 rm to 4 rm cos I think it's the same with 3 rooms and I dun wan to rely on maid forever, easier for me to maintain and clean. Most likely also paying off the whole housing loan after selling current resale flat, then free frm interest!

Bliss,

I laugh when I saw the clothes nt dry! LOL!!

Hmm... think ur hub als subconsciously ok as he's nt taken care by mum.

My laundry days are fixed... Fri for #1, Sun-Mon for HB, Wed for mine. So washing #2 items will be trying to find space to wash & dry. LOL!!

Aspialle: wah, so envy... i gonna be a housing loan slave for the next dono how many years!!! we actually planned on getting a maid once i deliver, but decided not to.. coz now staying wif in laws, already space constraint liao, no space for maid. n if in future gt own place, both working, no1 at hm to monitor, oso cannot work in peace. so decided not to.. anywayz my #1 CC gt infant care, and the price is the same as if get maid, so gonna send infant care lor.. anywayz same place.. juz drop n fetch together. juz tat household chores still need DIY la.. but shd be no prob la.. last time my parents oso handled everything themselves without a maid. if they can do it, y cant i?? and the good thing is my #1 is a ger. tat day my mum was cleaning the floor, and she see the mop like so fun, so took it and kept mopping the floor. till floor sparkling clean already i call her go bath, she say she wanna clean the floor!! hopefully when we get our own place she'll still wanna clean the floor!! haha!!

Purple rain,
All these ppl love to lie to themselves that their kids are very close and they have a strong bonding when that is never the case. Sad right?

My friend simply dun understand why tthis kind of ppl can be a parents yet she tried 5 yrs without success for a baby.

BBlove

有些人想要到发疯,有些人却不珍惜。

Pity those kids.

I know a mum age 18 with 3 kids ( 1 yr each), like so easy popping.

Julie,
yes, I also agreed Tt 6 months ML should not be implemented. It will only jeopardy working mother's career n performance just because she has a kid. I rather they give more monetary incentives.

This time round,I've got a CL to take care bb as well as to cook for me. Hubby knew that I'm always sick n health not so good after #2. My mum was saying Tt because I din even have a proper confinement. In a way, he feels guilty for not standing up for me back then. I told him luckily never develop depression.

Marriage cert is for registering birth cert of bb.
My #1 was name Qweii (pronounced as Queue - E)
#2, wanted Queenie but too common so thinking of Quinny but it happens to the the brand of bb stroller, so in the end I removed 'y' and add in 'Lyn'. So #2 was named Quinnlyn.

#3, will get a boy n a gal name starting with Q but run out of idea for gal's name.

Bliss,
Sil is not even a cow cos she has never bf any of her kids. Before discharge from hospital, she will ask for pill to stop bm from even kicking in.
My mum says she is like a cat. Give birth liao leaves to others to take care. Wakaka.

@ bblove, hehehehehe... true true... but then cat will also take care of her kids lor... ur sil worse than that... whahaha

@ Julie, so bad... not even dry then take it down ur clothes... slap her....hate this type of ppl..selfish...

@ sylvia, in the end the bonding also not close lor for the child and mum..

Bliss: cannot slap leh.. MIL leh.. Later kena sue how? Haha!! End up i hang them back.. Bt limited space left coz she washed her clothes.. So some i juz hang in the rm hoping to air dry lor.. This her house mah, wat to do..

Just been told by my friend who has delivered @ TMC last week. She just went to make payment today as the payment queue last saturday was about 3hrs wait. TMC has photocopied her credit card and asked her to come back again today to make payment. To her shock, her bill is closed to 10K!!!! She has booked Single Room but since Single Room was full, she was moved to Single Premium Room. She thought that it was an auto-upgrade and she should be charged as Single Room rate so she didn't use the computer in the room. But the hospital has charged her Single Preimum Room rate instead. On top of that, she was in the observation ward for 2 days; they oso charged her the cost for the Obersavation Ward + Single Premium Room Rate as they reasoned they needed to reserve the room for her so that she will have a room when delivered. What crap! She is paying the Single Premium Room for 2 days even though she wasn't staying in there. In additiom, she was given epidural late so she felt a waste of $$ as she still could feel the pain; and they got to vacuum her bb out. And her bb stayed in ICU for half a day. In total, she has stayed in TMC for 5 days (2 days in observation ward + 3 days in Room).

By the way, her gynae was crap as well, didn't come to visit her during her stay @ the observation ward, just asked her clinic nurse to come down & check on her, and the gynae didn't manage to deliver her bb as she was stuck in traffic jam!!!!

purple rain, wow .. 4 bedrooms. No wonder your living room is so big ~

aspialle, I wish to be a housewife too. Then I can do something I like at home rather than going to office doing something for sick of money.

JuLiE, I see .. so you will stay with your parents first before getting the house? Will need to make the 4th room by our own for new flat, but nowadays new flat design is very nice ~ condo style. I guess it will be finished earlier, then you will be busy on reno things again : )
And enjoy playing with the floorplanner, you can upload your floorplan and draw with it .. easier.

My mom also one of the mother who didnt want to take care of kids, so I have to find a nanny ... cannot believe maid as noone at home.

Canopy: wow!! Tat's scary!! 10K!! Than she gt complain nt? Can reason mah, say they oso never tell her properly upgrade need $.. Bt the part on gynae no check on her during observation is reli nonsense la.. Shdn't the gunae b on high alert n standby when her patient is in hosp? Still can say traffic jam.. Nonsense. Lucky mine was ok. Tat time delivered at TMC too.. Bt gynae did check on me la.. She was the 1 who broke my water bag when she was doin 1 of her check. When it broke she still opps!! I tot wat happen. Bt epidural tot the nurse would ask as soon as u're warded? Coz mine was given quite early. Tot those give late is due to pple who wanna try to deliver without it, when cannot tahan than ask for epidural. Coz tats wat happened to my cousin wife. She took epidural late too and delivered less than 2hrs later. Oso say waste $.. Bt wat to do...

Julie

nt sure if it's due to the page too.

I copy n paste over here.

Exact from what I read.
Never heard of this before until I read this news article ~ "PREGNANT WOMEN WITH FLU MAY GET AUTISTIC KIDS" via Relaxnews dated on the 17th of November 2012, Saturday.

DENMARK - Women who had the flu or ran a fever for more than a week during their pregnancy face a greater risk of having a child with an autism spectrum disorder, Danish researchers said.

The study was based on a survey of mother
s of nearly 97,000 children aged eight to 14 and born between 1997 and 2003 in Denmark. Only one percent (976) of the children were diagnosed with autism.

Researchers said that mild and common respiratory, sinus, urinary tract or genital infections, as well as feverish episodes or use of antibiotics in mothers during pregnancy were not a strong risk factor for autism.

But children whose mothers reported experiencing a bout of influenza during pregnancy had twice the risk of being diagnosed with autism, while those whose mothers had a fever lasting more than seven days before gestational week 32 were three times more likely to be diagnosed with the disorder.

Pregnant women have a weakened immune system during the nine months of gestation.

The study, published in the US journal Pediatrics, also noted a small increase in the risk of autism after the mother used different antibiotics during the pregnancy.

However, the researchers stressed that "we do not know whether the antibiotic treatment itself caused the observed association or whether the antibiotic use functioned as a proxy variable for an underlying disease."

They also stressed that the link between fever during pregnancy and autism could be a "coincidental finding," and required further study.

Given the link found between autism and fever or the flu during pregnancy, the study’s authors recommended that pregnant women get a flu shot.

aspialle, your previous 5rm also a BTO? This was also my second home but is upgrade from 3rm to 5rm :p Both the house are resale, I haven't tried BTO before as I didn't want to wait ... may be next house I will try the BTO.
Me too envy you will be free from housing loan .. We took a 40 years loan of 430k, just going to start soon. Will be loan slave for another many many years ..

Pocketpig: u mean take a pic of the floorplan n upload to the website n draw? Ok.. Will try tat. Eh, staying wif in laws till get house lor.. Considering to go back stay wif my mum, bt doubt hubby will agree. My reasoning is there more spacious n gt washing machine for me to wash clothes. N of coz poles to hang clothes. Haha!! I know my mum would love to take care, bt she's working, so cannot. I did get a nanny for my #1 fm 3mths till 21mths then she went into CC. Bt this time will send infant care coz my #1 CC gt infant care services.

Bliss: bt of coz nt all MIL like tat la.. Bt too bad ours like tat. Haha!! Create a horrible MIL group. Hahahaha!!

I also read some articles about mother feeling of having kids .. some initially didn't want or not keen to have, but once pregnant the feeling changed. I cried when read this one because initially I also not really want to have kid, I feel it was a burden and I cannot proceed some dream -e.g. going New Zealand to work and play, or travel around the world and at the sametime working, or go oversea to study some courses about art ..

妈妈:遥遥妈 answer:失去过才知道珍惜   其实我在没有生遥遥之前,并不是很喜欢小孩的,觉得宝宝乖的时候是挺可爱的,可是吵起来的话,真是很恐怖的一件事情。所以,当时的想法是能不要就不要。
  当我远离家乡准备一身一世跟着认定的那个男人时,不知是不是水土不服的原因,竟然开始闭经了。在这次检查中,我得知我不会排卵,这也就意味着我不会怀孕了。这个对我来说似乎并非不幸的消息,当时却让我整个人懵了。那时,我强烈底感觉到自己多么渴望有个宝宝啊,要是这辈子不能当妈妈我有多么遗憾。幸好医生又说可以治疗,于是在接下来的半年时间里,我被埋在了成堆的中药里度过。
  奇迹在我结婚一个月后发生了:我怀孕了!我恨不得告诉全世界,宝宝在我肚子里了!在后来的怀孕过程中,我也吃了不少的苦,胃口不好,呕吐,但伴随我更多的是心理上的幸福感,那种生命在我肚里跳动的幸福感。当刚出生的孩子在我身边啼哭的时候,我感到母亲的自豪,他长得很像我,神情却酷似爸爸。这一切,还需要问我为什么要生这个小天使吗?

Sylvia: wah, scary leh.. When i preggy i keep getting flu 1 leh.. How?!!!! I tot preggy cannot take vaccinations? Coz when i had my #1 my office gt sponser give flu vaccine, bt it stated tat if preggy cannot take.. So i didnt take then..

bliss : yup, agreed totally!!! Their standard has dropped!

Julie : she can't complain la, just gotta pay lor. She actually wanna take the epidural early but it was too late as she only had the contractions when she woke up in the morning. It came fast & furious. She had a placenta abruption! Her placenta & baby came out together and the umbrical cord was having a knot! Her bb's heartbeat stopped and was rushed to icu!

Pocketpig: yeah.. So touching!! Bt i love kids.. So doesnt apply to me. I even did sacrifices for my kid. Coz all along wanted upgrade n get a degree. So finally when wanted to get it, i gt preggy, so delayed it. Than when my ger turned 1+, decided to go for it again. Applied and started, bt dropped out 1mth later due to job n kid. Coz the lessons were like 4nights a wk.. Missed my ger soooo much during tat period.. Wonder when will i ever be able to get my long wanted degree.. Haha!!

Canopy: wow!! Tats scary.. Bt since fast n furious coming out liao no need epidural liao lor.. Or they didnt know coming out liao? Coz heartbeat stop sure muz take out asap mah.. Still give epidural n wait meh? Cannot b mah..

pocketpig: Thanks for sharing the article. This year is a eventful year for us. We held our customary wedding, house renovation and pregnant with our first child. I heard dragon is good for rooster (my hubby's zodiac) and hubby yearn to become a dad so we TTC. 并不是很喜欢小孩的,觉得宝宝乖的时候是挺可爱的,可是吵起来的话,真是很恐怖的一件事情 is so apt to describe my feelings. Felt deprived as we did not go for any honeymoon/holidays for almost 2yrs. Envy those frds travelling ard the world.

Julie, nope .. I meant just upload the floorplan given by hdb then start drawing using the floorplan. You can use it as a background for reference, I do this way too .. have fun playing with it.
Oh, I have thought of infance care too but far from my place and we don't drive ..

After talking about house, now want to ask about car .. wonder if anyone of you taking public transport and dun have car? I was one of them, wonder if this will be troublesome when have kid? But nowadays car so expensive ..

Julie : yeah, if only her gynae could come to check on her during her stay in the observation ward, as her symptons of having a placenta abruption were shown! She was given epi when she felt the contractions, she delivered less than 20mins later. So it wasn't enough time for the epi to take effect or maybe the nurse didn't give her strong dosage. And no gynae was around, they gotta search around for any gynae available there!!!

Link to placenta abruption :-
http://www.babycenter.com/0_placental-abruption_1425791.bc

Ctrus: y didnt u go for honeymoon earlier in pregnancy? I was 5mths preg when i went for my honeymoon.. Could have gone short trips to nt deprive urself too. We went genting last mth.. So as nt to deprive ourselves of the overseas trips.. Next plan for hols would be when #2 is at least 6mths old already..

Sylvia,
So true. There are so many couples out there hopping to get a bb yet there are others who dun appreciate. My friend tried ivf twice but failed. Both time miscarriaged at 7weeks. She said if she do be blessed wiyh 1, she will resign to be a sahm.

Re: SAHM
I missed my time then. Get to witness every single milestone of kid and bond with them. The strange thing is no matter how bad you scold them, at the end of the day they will still look for mummy. Sweet right?

A bit sad Tt I wont be able to witness every milestone for #3. But we will at least make an effort to bring bb back every night to bond with us n the Jiejie. Hopefully I can cope.