(2013/01) Jan 2013

Averie, the WIW actually quite small .. but still bigger than our existing wardrobe, hehe :p

aspialle, we are using dryer so we didn't have laundry area ... have been practiced in this way for few years, we are lazy to hang the clothes so just getting a dryer. It's my husband idea to convert the service balcony to a study room, it's also the purpose of buying the house with this kind of layout.

BBlove, thanks .. Due to budget constraint, we didn't engage ID so we have to design everything by our own. Not easy, as I not good in visualize .. sometimes also not sure if the tiles we choose match the design we want, I like the Zakka + Scandinavian design. Yesterday my husband went to see the reno progress, still very messy .. hope next Friday everything will be completed, we are moving in on that day ~

friends, oh dear, pat pat.... get well soon.

BBlove, serious? Happened to your friend as well? Which hospital is that? When they push bb into room, must check the tag every time. Cos really, most nb looked the same. Some more, just see bb for few minutes, can't register the look yet.

pocketpig, all nbs will be tagged upon delivery. Tag will be s/o or d/o Mother's name. Rmb they ask my hb to check. So must ask daddy to open eyes big big.

Your house layout is very nice. Like it that your WIW is not directed connected to the toilet. Otherwise very wet and humid. Did you all do up the drawing yourself too. Looks pro.

Pocket pig, I see... My hubby dun wan all clothes to be tumbled dry as he is afraid of high electricity bill... Certain clothes we hand wash also thus for us we will need laundry area. Gd for u can save a space for study room.

Wow.. Scary to hear the wrong bb case. Lucky my #1 confirm my daughter coz pple say she look alot like me. Haha!! Guess like tat in jan muz b extra careful!! Coz delivering in KKH!! Muz take long looks at bb so can recognise.. And get hubby to make sure they tag properly. Bt i rem tat time they did tell me to check the tag b4 discharge.

Aspialle: how's ur boy now? Mine when have prolonged fever temp oso will go up during the night. I'll sponge her down wif a towel. Of coz will be sleepless night, n she'll keep complaining coz the towel cold mah, bt better than fever don come down rite? Coz i find the ibu thingy to put in her butt onli works for a few hrs. Right after inserting body temp will drop very fast till she'll shiver, bt few hrs later the fever will b back. So i'll do the sponging and the fever patch lor.

Bblove: tink ur SIL juz wanna hao lian she gt boy la. Some pple juz so old fashioned. Tell her wat's impt is bb healthy n filial. Wat's the point if u have the only boy in the family bt this only boy is ah-beng?? Coz tat's wat happened to my aunt. She nt hao lian la, coz other aunts oso gt boy. Bt guess wat? All the boys in the family in sec sch is in normal stream bt all gers are in express stream. Nt say normal no gd, bt if u wanna compare, know ur child well. Comparing may make things worse as in the child may feel very stress mah.. Like my grandfather, he's very traditional n prefer boys to ger, my mum side onli 2 boy grandchild, the rest all ger. bt onli 1boy is same surname, so he especially sayang this 1 boy. Bt this boy oso never reli chup him 1.. Poor thing..

<font color="119911">Was telling my hubby about the KKH incident this morning and reminded him must check that the tag got put correct name.
He then went on to say must also check for birthmark so as to recognise. Then I quickly beat him and went "choi choi choi! Ger-ger wont have any birthmark la!"
LOL...</font>

Dragongirl: haha!! Tat's funny. Or when born u call him take marker draw a heart on the butt la. Everytime nurse push to u make sure the heart still there..

Piyoz,
You're near srrangoon north as well? Next time we can meet up liao.

My close friend's friend gave birth in TMC. Happened in late 2010. Ppl usually dun check for leg tag when nurse push in for bf. What more in the middle of the night. If ppl like me having c-sect, getting up to sit already a problem, dun think i will even have the energy to check n make sure it's my bb.

Bblove: wow, scary.. My #1 oso in TMC, n is early 2010!! Mayb the nurses are tired.. Bt we pay so much, of coz expect them to be more alert than us rite.. 1 nite more ex than stay hotel..

Julie, LittleDragonGirl - hahaha.... like the heart shape on butt!!! But must coordinate colour/position hor, later all draw hearts, then every baby also have heart shape at butt.

BBlove, not Serangoon North, I stay Sengkang. Cos Rosyth one of the premium school there. But no chance la.
TMC!!! I delivering there leh. True, bf at night, probably our eyes also not opened.

Julie,agree sponging is better, after inserting bullet,temp drops v fast n will shiver. Cross my fingers, seems better now but hard to say.

piyoz, yeah .. must ask husband to check carefully, he must remember our IC and name correctly : )
Thanks ~ I used floorplanner (it's free online tool) to draw, took around 2 hours .. quite fun. We changed the layout design many times, the walk-in-wardrobe initially is not like that ..

aspialle, yeah ... the dryer might not be good for some clothes, but so far we didn't face any problem or may be we didnt care so much :p Our monthly electrical bill now with aircon and dryer is around 150 dollars for 3 of us staying in the house, my husband said one time dryer usage is around 50 cents or less? Not sure ..

Just now was planning on my maternity leave :p ... aiyo, December and January so many holidays ... So hopefully baby wont come out in December time, then I can start my maternity leave on 2 January (EDD is 7 January) ... Will start to work from home in December.

Aspialle: take care n hope ur boy gets well soon!!

Pocketpig: i oso tot dryer uses alot of electricity. Bt 150 nt bad leh. Coz last wkend i saw my mum's electricity bill, oso 3pple is 200+. Cant imagine during my confinement time, plus another 4pple (me, hubby, #1 n newborn) how much would the bill balloon to?!!!!

Wah, u still plan maternity leave ah? I gonna take onli when i get hospitalized to give birth.. Don waste mah.. I oso don wan dec.. Waste the ML on hols.. Yest when bathing told bb don come out too early. Coz too early if in dec later cannot bring her go c fireworks. Coz if come out early kena confined at hm liao... Hopefully she listens.. Haha!!

pocketpig : high 5! I was planning my maternity leave as well. Will be starting my ML on 09Jan, my EDD is 14Jan. However, i will be clearing my this yr annual leave starting 22Dec. I will be taking 16wks straight and come back to office on 02May13.

By the way, it is definitely NOT 50cents for each dryer usage! My electricity bill is around 250 to 300/month for hubby &amp; me + our son + maid. We use the dryer almost daily or alternate day.

My hse $300 plus leh , 2 adult, 1 maid and 1 kid... Always tell maid how to save water etc but she never follow one la, when I'm without maid it's cheaper... No choice.

Pocket pig , do u use air con every day? $150 really low must learn from u

aspialle : i oso think that my bill will be cheaper without the maid cos i didn't wash all my toilets everyday, i didn't cook everyday etc.

canopyhaze, you coming back work 1 - 9 Jan? Haven't decide whether to start ML straight on 2 Jan or work till delivery.

pocketpig - floorplanner? Interesting, must go take a look. Previously I manually draw till I siao.

bblove,

ur SIL ... faintz. so proud to hv son? next time son will run away with wife loh! :p still daughter better if eldest. :p

the hospital.. power! wrong bb to breastfeed &amp; pte hospital.... nw I scare. but dun mum recognise? I can even when #1 crying in nursery, I can hear n telling hb crying already, then door
open, yes, was my #1!! LOL!!

Rosyth only want not working mum as PV?
wah.........
like that I have to think if I will get the nearby one. maybe I go back old sch.

Julie,
You are right. I do find Tt my sil love to compare. What's worse when my #2 and her #3 are born in the same yr. Was telling my bestie Tt i pity the poor gal from birth till old will kena compared by the mother. Her gal taken care by mil sinxe birth plus the parents bo chap kind is a tyrant yet they seem to be so proud of it.

My sil is those kind that she leave her kid at my mil hse from Mon to Fri. On Fri, she will have mahjong time or couple time and only pick up yhe youngest on sat noon. By sun mid-noon, they send back to mil hse and bring back the 2older kids. Yet she always love to brag how close she kids are to her.

bblove

ur SIL is weekend parent or part time parent lah!
the kids close to her?

Eh... the 2 older kids stay all the way in ur MIL hse? or fri to sun is MIL hse?

Bblove: wah seems like ur SIL know how to enjoy life hor? Make bb liao throw to others to take care.. Tell her muz educate herself. Don later next time (choy choy!) gt prob she go back blame the MIL.. Coz my collegue is RC member, heard him over the fon advising some1.. Say wanna report n send the son to boys home coz she cannot handle him liao.. Not say all boys will be bad, ger oso can.. Bt as long as educate properly, love n care, shd b no prob.. Bt oso nt ur kidz, u oso no say la.. Juz live with it lor, wat to do..

Pocketpig: mayb i shd go try the floorplanner too.. Play play wif it. Sekali design myself no need get ID next time!! Save $$!!

I also used floorplanner when renovating my house, it is FUN!

7787921.jpg

JuLiE, now I'm staying in 3 room flat. Future moved to 5 room flat I guess the utility bill will be increase much more with more ppls staying too.
Ha .. I also want to tell my baby gal dun come out so early. So that I will prepare a xmas gift for her :p I have plan to do a small xmas party at my new house too, exchange gift with my close friends .. I hope this plan still can go on if baby not out earlier.

canopyhaze, wow .. u want to use 16wks straight ar .. I planned to separate the ML into 2 stages instead of taking the whole 16wks else will be wasted with a lot of holidays in between. I heard from my husband is 50 cents for dryer .. in that case, we will need to monitor how much does it cost already. Really need to save money especially with another new born baby, the nanny fee already 700 per month.

I hope to have maid but noone at home when we out for working, so only can opt for nanny to take care of my new baby .. With maid, you can get her to do all the household stuff. For us, we have to do by our own or may be will hire part-time cleaner.

aspialle, I on aircon every night (from 8pm to 7am) but only 1 room on the aircon, my sister didn't use aircon as she didn't like aircon. We have all the 3 laptops on when we are home, I thought our utility bill is considered quite high ...

piyoz, wow .. u manually draw with pc or handrawing?
U &amp; JuLiE can try the floorplanner ~ easy to use and fun to play with it.
Getting contractor is much cheaper as compared to get an ID, our house reno with contractor is 50k but ID quoted us for 70k to 80k ... If have money, getting ID to do will save you a lot of efforts and time la.

purple rain, you also getting a new house? Wow .. your living + dining room is big ~
I like your foyer area ~ more privacy .. is it a condo?

pocketpig
I already moved in nearly 5 years liao.
It is 5I HDB, 122 sqm. The foyer area is actually balcony, my main door is there too. =)

Maternity leave
If i wan my last day of ML is on 30 Apr 13, when should i start my ML? Dun wan lugi labour day PH... =P

Pocketpig: yeah, guess i'll try it then. Anywaz hubby already said leave the reno to me.. Coz we both wan simple simple 1.. Simple simple call ID do sure waste $ hor? Haha!! Still rem last time when younger (now still young ok).. Wanted to study ID.. Coz very interested, bt end up never coz i know myself.. I no artistic talent.. Haha!!

Piyoz: nope, aint coming back to work on 02Jan to 08Jan. I am clearing my remaining 2012 annual leave from 22Dec12 onwards to 08Jan13. And starts my annual leave from 09Jan13 onwards for 16wks till 30Apr13, since 01May is a holiday, hence, coming back on 02May13.

Purple Rain : u can take your ML starting 09Jan13 just like me.

Pocketpig : yes taking 16wks straight as i think it will very be disruptive to my co-workers if i take 2-3mths of ML then the remaining ML take later in the yr. As i still have 24days of annual leave and 6 days of childcare leave for next yr.

My piles are back!!!! Urgh.....

purple rain, layout very nice leh.....
pocketpig, ok ok, I want to go play with the floorplanner. Not that I have new house to deco... haha, just for fun

canopyhaze, I see, sounds good, you can start counting down already, today 20 Nov, roughly one more month of work. Good for you!!

<font color="119911">Don't feel like working, so went to play with the Floorplanner...
It's difficult to use!
pocketpig and purple_rain, you 2 are incredible!</font>

piyoz &amp; pocketpig : am ok with lugi of ML due to holidays as i am in sales, need to get back to work asap to meet my sales target.

canopyhaze: My boss also only allow me to take one shot of 16 weeks. Lugi a bit is fine.

Anyone has the list of things to pack for hospital bag? Think must start packing soon.

Sylvia/ Julie,
My SIL stayed with my MIL after married since 2000. Their 2 kids born 2000 &amp; 2001 sleep with MIL right after birth. The couple had their own flat in 2008 (tt's why I mentioned they had full month celebration for #3, hse warming n #2's bday within 3 month till MIL also paiseh.

After they had their hse in 2008, initially SIL wanted to be a SAHM to look after her kids. MIL was upset then and I told her if she wants to bring all the kids back, I will get a maid, leave my 2 for her to take care and I go out and work. I'll bring back to and fro daily. After SIL is awared, she changed her mind and said she decided she wants to continue working. Therefore from 2008 - 2010 all 3 kids stayed with MIL while couple stay at their new hse, They visit the kids 3x per week.

After 2010, she changed school for the 2 older kids and they followed her back. After school, they stayed at hse by themselves while parents were at work and #3 all along at MIL's hse. With the reason that kids need to go school, they dun even visit #3 at MIL hse during weekday. On friday, they will get FIL to fetch the 2 older kids from school and all 3 kids stayed with MIL. Every friday will be her mahjong time/ couple time. Sat Noon, bring #3 back home while #1 &amp; #2 stayed with MIL. Her reason: she cannot cope with 3 kids and sun noon, bring #3 to MIL hse to exchange for the 2 elders. Now school holiday, all 3 just simply stayed with MIL lor. The 2 older kids dun even go back home till school reopened.

I'm aways sharing with hubby if I were to take her attitude, I can even give birth to 10 kids cos simply pregnant for 10 months after that leave to others to take care. But I'm too hand-on to even leave my kids to other while I go shopping. Will feel so guilty over it. In a way also good, our gers are super close to us.

Bblove: wow ur SIL reli cmi ah.. Tell her la, cannot handle 3 kids than don give birth to 3 lor. I find #3 very poor thing leh. Gt parents like no parents. I oso guilty if leave my ger at hm.. There was once i went mj wif frenz, bt late at nite after my ger slp. Bt dono y she woke up kept crying for mummy.. My hubby oso cannot handle.. Haha!! After tat incident if i go out i'll bring her.. My frenz still say bring her along can play mj meh? Bt we tried once n was ok leh.. Bt onli tat once la.. Now seldom play liao.. Hard la, my ger like super glue.. Wan go out run errands oso muz find a day when she's in sch, so either muz take leave or mc than can do my own things. Haha!! Bt this than is family mah.. When she was younger, still nt so sticky, hubby did suggest goin overseas for a break, leave her wif my mum. I know my mum can handle coz tat time still young, still nt so sticky, bt i cannot leh. Even if She don miss me i'll miss her leh. Haha!!

piyoz : my company &amp; boss are flexible, its upto me to decide on how i wanna take the ML. I was the one who decided to take 16wks straight as i don't want to disturb my co-workers with too many slots of taking leave.

bblove

same view as Julie.

Within 3 mths #3 full mth , hse warming &amp; #2 birthday!
best!!
LOL!!

cant combine meh??

ya.. this type is really like cow leh. just give birth :p

Evening ladies!!!

List of herbs
Are you mummies getting them or getting the CL to buy for you huh?

I rem someone posted the herb list somewhere?

KK mix up
Interesting hor! Real life drama!! Lol who knows how many more mix-ups were never discovered. Time for DNA tests!!

Main care giving
I still believe the mother's job is not that of providing the genes only. We are not living in 1984 or the Brave New World...

I dont think these children will necessarily turn out bad lah. I was a surrogate chd myself and i didnt turn out too badly.. Maybe a lot depends on the grace and mercy of our Maker loh. :p

Butmy advice to mummies who are thinking of weekend parenting is, DON'T! If you want to give birth, you take care. A child's love cannot be bought with money;) A chld normally will not 'mind' not being brought upby own parents. But it is still our responsibility to care for our own.

Just my thoughts on this.. We don't have to be sahm to do this, but as long as the child is HOME everyday, with parents, it matters. that is an anchor you know :D

@BBlove, I am not so near Rosyth. I am staying at Serangoon Garden. But is still nearer as compare to my new house in Hougang.

@Piyoz, if they want non working mother actually I don't mind be SAHM provided my hubby also don't mind. Haha

Although I am staying with in law, my house utility bill is paid by my husband. Very ex. I think about $600 to $1K( at peak) because beside staying with he two elderly, I am also staying together with BIL and SIL. Both all not married thou my husband is the youngest. The house living room almost everyday on aircon and at night all bedrooms will also turn on aircon. The house also got three fridge. Two in wet kitchen (one for keep gorceries and one for dog food), one in dry kitchen. So electricity bill super high.... The water utility also super high until one point of time receive a letter from PUB to remind us to save water and check water leakage lo.

Julie,
Actually I also dun know what my SIL is thinking la. Seriously if I think if cope/ handle that there should be proper family planning. Guess what she even posted on her facebook 3 months ago that if govt were to introduce 6 months Maternity leave, she will sure go for #4. Without commenting, I simply show her post to hubby and his 1st reaction is "Tell her tolong la, dub take mama as a maid"

Sylvia,
She said #3's full month in sep, hse warming they got consult fengshui, can only do in Oct and #2's bday in Nov. Anyway they like all these kind of event de. MIL was so paiseh tt she asked me softly if I can forgo my #2's full month cos SIL has too much events and if I were to do full month, it will be in Dec and relative might think that we are out for angbao with all these. Can feel her big relieve when I told her my style is to have 1yr old bday bash and the next will be when each kid reach 21 yr old. Won't have party every year but just get cake and simple affair with immediate family every yr. Image if party &amp; buffet every yr till kid 21 yr old like no meaning liao.

Purple rain,
Really? I tot I'm the one 1 out there. So long she dun step on my toes, I dun bother what she do to her kids cos end of the day it is her own kid. The only thing I'm not happy was kena play out by her for my previous confinement.

Back then in 2008, she told me to move back to MIL's hse with my family for confinement. She told me she will take 2 months ML, when I gave birth, she will take another full month and take care of all her 3 kids at her new hse.

Who knows she took her kids home for 3 days only when I was in hospital. The 2nd day I discharged, she sent all her 3 kids for permanent stay at MIL's hse the 2nd day I was discharged from hospital. It was during school holiday and she gave the reason that she decided to 'save' her ML so that she can plan for a Taiwan trip in 3 months time. So MIL was stuck with a 8 yr, 7 yr, and her 3 months old kids. Not forgetting my 16 months #1 and the newborn (plus mine was c-sect). The couple only came twice a week for dinner and went back on their own) Back then I forced myself to get out of bed after 1 week from operation and take care of my #1 &amp; #2 on my own at MIL's hse. Physical hands on from bathing both #1 n newborn to feeding to pumping and sometime washing my own clothes. I cried every night without failed and whenever my mum called, tear rolled even before I speak. Till now I still have aching here and there and my mum said it becos I never had a proper confinment for #2. 4 yrs have passed, I was never really angry with her but will not forget how she play me out then.

Fullhouse,
Agreed that not all mummies have to be a SAHM to nuture great kids. In fact with this high standard of living in SG, not many can afford to do so too, thot friends and colleagues I knows of dun mind to be 1 if they can afford to.

I do think that both SAHM as well as FTWM are equally great. SAHM works 24/7 with leave, mc. hse to be span and clean and piping hot dinner served on table when hubby reach home, not forgetting laudry, dishes, putting kids to sleep at night are all duty expected of a SAHM.

FTWM have to strike a balance between work and family. Expecting to meet dateline, project, target of management, not forgeting to be the 'expected role of a SAHM' for kids despite job commitment and expecting to take urgent leave if kid is unwell etc....

I used to be a SAHM for nearly 3 yrs till I settled my kids in cc 1.5 yr ago before joining work force. For #3, I will not be able to be a SAHM to take care and therefore we are glad that we did check with MIL if she is willing to help even before planning for 1. I keep telling hubby that MIL's duty is to take care of her children, which is him and his 3 brothers and her duties are over and done with. She is not oblige to take care of her grandchildren, espcially the way my SIL leave the kids with her as if it is her duty.

It is true that parents need not be the main care giver for the kids but will will never agree to leave kids' discipline in the hand of grandparents too. Maybe becos they do feel 'guilty' for neglecting their #3, so just give in whenever she whines. Now #3 is a tyrant and never fail to get her ways so long she whine to her parents and grandparents. We do get concern espcially when we realised that her #1 &amp; #2 started telling lies. Bestie was telling me if their parents bo chap, what can we do. kinds sad right?

Averie,
Is there any other school around this area other than Rosyth? My nighbour's kids couldn't get in thought they are sure within the 2 km scheme. In the end, their kids goes to JingShan Pri located in AMK. Like so far from here.

Bblove/Fullhouse,

I think FTWM is sometimes more tough as afterwork they hv to do what SAHM is doing unless with help. Orelse I know a mum more stress than SAHM.

If the parents spent quality time with their kids and discipline even if both are working, instead of just leaving everything to PIL/ parents, then I think is wrong.

I know some kids stay with grandparents but parents always go over for dinner,etc,etc, so at least there are bonding.

I cant afford SAHM , but kid needs me more than my career, so I 'downgrade' lifestyle so that can be SAHM.

List of herbs... can share again?
I need as I totally forgot what to buy
only rem 红枣,枸杞子,杜X , 黑枣,当归,淮山,whatelse and quantity??

Ermm... I have no idea. I only know Rosyth is good. Singapore top 3 school rank after nanyang primary and raffles primary

Eih now no more announcement of top student leh!

Top schools
A friend told me the society in top schs even more 黑暗 than in China! Lol.

Actually a child that is easily neglected in a good sch could be better nurtured in a neighborhood sch

List/Sylvia
What's that third item?

Fullhouse

cant find the chinese character or maybe I rem the pronunciation wrongly. It's good for stomach and look like tree bark. Should be du dong....

I agreed on the part on society in top sch.

Yes, I also hope can go good neighbourhood sch, but look like PV very hard to go in.