(2013/01) Jan 2013

I am going for my OGTT but having read so many versions on what went on during the OGTT test, can any mummies who recently went for the test enlighten me?

Photoshoot

angeliqueous: i dont know which photoshoot is good.. cos i didnt check out much.. but brief check with other vendors, it seems ashley low's is affordable for me.. so i signed up.

actually also bcos my SIL also booked her.. so i just do likewise

I just went for OGTT test. Basically you are supposed fast for 1st test after 12 midnight don't eat. Next day they will prick your finger to test the glucose. Then after that drink 75ml/100ml sugar drink. After drinking 1hr later prick your finger and test the blood. After that another 1hr prickle again to test. Basically is to test the tolerance of the glucose. 1st hr after you drink the glucose will shoot up then next hour 2nd the glucose need to come down to the Optimal level. Which I dunno what is the optimal level given that the drink is super sweet.

Averie: before meal result must be within 3.3-5.5 and aft meal result must be within 5.5-7. My after lunch test was 8.4 haiz

Ctrus & bdmummy: Wah.. your lunch so happening... I don't even dare to try loh... One bowl of foodcourt ban mian already 'killed' me before... 8.4 after 3 hrs!

Mummydt, as long as your result is less than 7 after 2hrs drinking the drink, it's considered pass!

Averie, Mine is different...Sometimes after the snack (usually I will take 3 pcs of wholemeal crackers and 200ml unsweetened soya meal), the result is barely 4-4.9....If I eat Teochew porridge ordering steam fish and 3 different of veggies, result also 4.5-4.9 after 2 hrs... Not even 5 and I wonder low sugar is healthy or not?

Just now I told my hubby I will not take insulin jab no matter wat. So crazy everyday prick finger I already very fed up already. I told him if continue like I rather dont eat.

My score seems to be not good leh. Today start with 4.4 before breakfast. 2hr after breakfast 8.0 after lunch 7.3

When I submitted my readings to my gynae, some were just borderline fail (7-8). He said no need to continue the blood tests but just follow the diet. I noted that the reading taken after some walking and yoga class was much better. So if you want to lower the reading do some light exercise. Gynae said so as well.

So it seems like only those with consistently high readings like 9 and above need to take insulin jabs??

Sauces tend to contain a lot of hidden sugar. So now I avoid foods with sauce too.

My test after jap lunch was 8.7, already tried to avoid sauce except for the sesame salad one.... So far the worse failure is jap food so will really avoid from now on!

Dinner was Tom Yum white kway teow soup - conf that no sugar added to soup first before I dare order! And so past the test at 4.9.

Aspialle,
What type of curry did u eat? When I took curry only took abt 1 palm size portion of chicken thigh, 1.5 small potatoes n abt half slice of bread and managed to pass. But I understand that Thai curry they always will add palm sugar into the curry so cannot take.

Ctrus,
Apple pie got sugar added so I dun dare eat wor... Haha unless just 1-2 bites maybe will just close 1 eye

Averie,
Altho > 7 considered fail but I think most importantly is not to overly stress ourselves as well with all these testing. Haiz understand how u feel... Now I also very sian to prick myself.... Blood seems to be flowing out more easily n pricking also more painful! Btw what did u take for bf today which failed the test?

Friends,
Dietician say cannot take ban main at all wor...

Freesia,
Thanks! Haha wondering if KKH will include the binder in my bill so I can claim medisave instead of paying $

Bdmummy, Re: bian mian... Don't know mah.... That was my first day pricking... Gynae never send me to dietician leh... He roughly explained the potions I shd be having for the day and just passed me a few photocopied pcs of info and a diet plan to follow... Still charge me $60 for the extra consultation Loh...!

OGTT
That's what I'm interested in too.

Basically you are to fast from 10pm the nIght before if appt is at 8am. Then after fasting blood is drawn (not prick leh), and sometimes urine sample taken. Drink that orange thingy. Then one hour later draw blood again, then second hour again. Urine sample can bd taken at hourly interval too.

What I'm interested in is this. For preg women, glucose level after 2 hours is not supposed to exceed 140ml/mg..

Mummies who are borderline, what was your level? Mine is pretty high at 135, but the range is really narrow at 125-135...

The gynae mentioned I def don't have GD but some women will develop late GD so I must keep my wt gain low. Also after delivery best to do ogtt three yearly.. Coz some women develop diabetes just a couple of years after pregnancy despite being just borderline during pregn.

Question: anyone fall within 130-135 range and gynae still ask you to do prick test?

My gynae sent me to dietician lo. I already communicated with my hubby. I am not going prick after tomorrow then Saturday see Dietician and say good bye to him because is waste of $. Talk only and see the the blood test chart need to pay him $85. I can everyday monitor my blood no need him to tell me also. If he want to put me on insulin my hubby will tell him no at most I eat plain food. Last time I got a diabetic fren very poor thing, I see her jab twice a day at her stomach lo. Aiyo... I don't want to torture myself and give myself phobia... I tell hubby if I need to go thru suffering to have kid likely I won't give him anymore kids.

Today I eat very healthy leh morning breakfast I had 2 bread bun a few digestive biscuit and a cup of milo with fresh milk.
Then lunch I had sweet potatoe porridge with egg and some pork. Dinner I also had porridge. But my test turn out 4.4, 8.0, 7.3 and 7.8.
I think maybe I am bed resting now not moving around also on the pills which probably cause my glucose not reducing.
But very contradicting. My gynae ask me bed rest dont move around to prevent contraction but dietician ask me eat and exercise. I really don't know how.

Averie, when you walk more, it helps in lowering glucose level. But your case is really not easy. Hmmmm...

I understand what you mean by wasting $ when seeing the dietician. I had GD during #1 and was seeing dietician 2-3 times. I told my gynae I had enough because we are paying her so much just to hear her talk. Not as if we don't know.

Anyway, I fail my GD test this time too. Not a surprise 'cause I did my own monitoring sometimes and the reading shot up to 8.2-8.7 after meals, depending on what I have eaten.

Just cut down on carbo, white rice, meals with gravy, etc.

My OGTT test is the same as what Fullhouse has described. No pricking at all. Straightaway withdraw blood. Anyway, I went to babycentre and read about OGTT test before. The prick test is to look at glucose tolerance level. The withdraw blood and send for lab test is to see if you confirm have diabetes. My gynae sent me straight for the withdraw blood one already for both pregnancies. Guess different gynaes different practices.

Jiayou everyone!

Nickole, not yet a member at megababy store. But will be soon once I decide whether to buy freestyle or Pisa pump. Hard to decide leh.. Anyway if u not hurry, can loan mine to get 5% as membership will get immediately once I pay. Let me know.

The night before my self-test day, hubby and I alighted 2 stops earlier and walked hm. But still failed the nx morning before bfast test. Nv eat supper at all. Aft failing the aft lunch test. Totally no mood. Luckily the reading for before dinner test is within ideal range but dare not eat too much. Only had sliced fish soup (clear type) and chicken for dinner. No carbohydrate. Very torturing cos I'm not full at all.

Good morning mummies,
Bdmummy,
I got the binder from my gynae. The brand is DALE Latex free abdominal binder for after surgery. I got it for $70 and used for 2 C-sects. You can check with your gynae and if need be, he will bring it to hospital and get the nurse to put it on for you before your discharge.

Piscean33,
My gynae was asking if I want to do ligation together since I'm gg for c-sect and I'm more than happy cos only additonal charge at $1,200. But in the end comes back that Mt A does not allow ligation. He wants me to go Thomson but I refused.

I do see that most of my friends do it together during c-sect. If it is more effective to do it after 6 month, I'm more than happy. It mean I can have it at other hospital. The only thing is kena cut 1 more time.

Wasabe,
I think so far only me and Sunny are the only 1 in the thread that dun know about our bb's gender.

Sunny,
I think pimple outbreak and morning sickness got nothing to do with gender. For #1, I got very bad outbreak and was super bad looking. For #2, there was totally no outbreak and in fact ppl was commenting that my face is always glowing and bright and I was kinda expecting a different gender but I got 2 gers. This time round, it is same like preggy with my #1's situation.

Averie, understand how u feel cos during the first week of my diet plan, i was very moody. My tongue was bland with all the 'no taste' food.. All meals were boiled/steamed stuff, meat at only 100 grams for the 3 main meals (Yes, I packed my ingredients to cook by weight) and lots of vegetables since gynae said boiled veggie no quota and I need to keep my stomach full. I'm totally off from fried food. Now I take it more easy.. Just treat it as a detox programme... For biscults, I only take wholemeal ones. No taste at all. Bread is wholemeal as well. No milo and even gave up my bubble tea even with 0 percent sugar. Only drink plain water and I make it a effort to carry one bottle of plain bottle when out... As for Rice, porridge and all the white noodles, I only allow myself not to exceed 8 tablespoons. Restrictly no desserts, cakes, potatoes. Only max of 2 apples a day. This is how I managed to keep my readings below 7.

@BBLove,

really, have been hearing from myths etc that outbreak is due to hormonal imbalance etc.. that causes us to have these outbreaks..

thats sth delighted to know though ...

My gynae refer me to see endocrinologist. The endocrinologist actually wanna refer me to see dietician lo.
I told endocrinologist I don't want to waste money to see dietician because my weight is within ideal BMI weight and my baby is not big so I don't need to go on diet. He also agree with me and he said I can continue my with 1/3 carbo in my meal else during pregnancy my baby can't grow. But continue with my normal usual diet I fail test leh. Haiizzz... Then I remember he said about the insulin jab. I very scare this Saturday he will insist to put me on insulin jab lo. Sobsob...

All mummies w GD: Jiayou!

OGTT:
My OGTT also straight away draw blood, take glucose drink, 2 hrs later draw blood again. not prick test. But blood test result was 8.4 2hrs after taking the glucose drink so fail coz cannot exceed 7.

Averie,
KKH dietician say try not to drink milo coz it is sweet in itself even without any sugar added. Breakfast recommended to take 2 slices of wholemeal bread with tomato and cucumber (these 2 veg will help lower glucose level) and the protein can be cheese/ham/hard boiled egg/2 tablespoon tuna/small sardine. I just cannot be bothered to think so same breakfast w cheese/ham every day haha... Hmm, thought insulin also comes in pill form?

Ctrus,
I was given instruction must take at min a glass of milk 10 min before sleeping coz otherwise nothing in stomach, the body will actually product more glucose as a natural reaction to the low glucose level next morning. Not sure if that could be why you failed the morning test? So generally I take 3 snacks (milk w wholemeal biscuit or milk w fruit) in 1 day - between bf & lunch, tea time, before I sleep, each with a min of 2 hr gap between the main meals.

BBlove,
Thanks for the advice, will ask my gynae about the binder at my next visit in mid Nov

Angeliqueous, hmm... when u buying? my orders is tagging together with other mummies and Shice will be delivering in Dec, so hopefully we are able to get the things before she go deliver.. if u buying soon, then can wait. otherwise, we buy ourselves liao. our orders above $200. so that 5% is quite substantial. haha. thanks lots for ur help!

Aspialle
Wow, mine is 1.2kg at 30 weeks! I was still very please ;)

GD
Thing is we always have wholemeal and always on multigrain or brown rice. But I have a terrible supper habit, which I will cut now lah. No loses. I had supper nearly everyday, terrible!

Though not GD I'll still take GD test every other year. The prick test won't pick up early onset of diabetes, so by the time your body is haywire too late liao.

I'm just wondering if my gynae is too lax? Maybe I should be on a stricter diet plan since my level was 135, just slightly below 140, wondering if any of the mummies at around my range and gynae still put them on strict diet plan?

I'm not worried about now, but in future
I still want to grow old with my hb wor ;_( dun wanna get diabetes

Even the dipped stick test which we do at clinic during check-up doesn't show I'm GD. Protein and sugar level is normal. So best is to do a thorough GTT test aft delivery to re-assure ourselves. Detect early then we can control our condition (if any) *touchwood*

Aspialle: wow ur bb's big.. Mine onli 1.6kg at 31wks..

All mummies wif GD, jia you!! Heard my collegue last time had GD she oso super control diet.. Heard she no eat rice, bread, noodles.. As long as carbo no eat.. It's the last stretch!! Endure few more weeks onli!!

@ piscean33, maybe we are stress over the upcoming delivery of the babies thus we dreamt of delivery.. hehehhee

@ Averie, better follow gynae instruction to continue the pills and have bed rest

Aspialle, haha... I think you are right, I've been thinking & hoping to have full-term & natural delivery.

BBlove, best to discuss the pro & con with your gynae. For me, first choice is natural delivery & Mt A, so if I want to do the procedure, it'll be in future. U prefer Mt A also ah?

LM/Sylvia, is the magic cream from Avent? Is it easy to wipe or wash off? So far, I like the Desitin creamy.

OGTT Test

Hi all mummies, many thanks to ur replies. Had mine done from 8.30am..

1. urine test
2. Drew 3 tubes of blood; take glucose drink (within 5 mins)
3. An hr later, urine test again
4. Draw 1 tube of blood
5. An hour later repeat step 3 & 4

So hungry during the wait cos have to fast since midnight..

Test result will only be forwarded to my gynae so I can only wait till gynae call me regarding the results.. Not sure P/F..

Anyway also had my 28th week gynae appt.. Bb gal already 1.4kg with her little feet measuring 5cm.. Gynae also commented she's bigger for her "age" may have to opt for C-sect (no natural) if she continues to grow at this pace...

BBlove wow then u can get a surprise on gender when bb born!

Aspialle your bb v chubby!!

Mummies my Gynae didn't ask me to do GD test this time round though I got do for #1 .. Is it ok to not do?

Aspialle,
Wow, your bb is of good weight. Mine was only 1.1 at 28 weeks. The only thing you got to be concern is if bb's too big during full term if you are gg for natural birth.

Actually,I also dun know how gynae assess, my friend managed to go for natural birth with a 3.9kg (Gynae Dr Paul Tseng). But another 1, gynae advise c-sect cos bb too big @ 3.7kg.

Since Mt A does not allow ligation, and I dun want to go Thomson for birth then I wont do it this round. Maybe next year, do it at KKh?

Wasabe,
Yup, Sunny & I will get a surprise when bb born. Was telling hubby mystery will be disclose when gynae cut open my watermelon.

Bb love I hope for natural delivery.. Gynae shows me graph, my bb's weight is the furthest on the higher side.. Though not overweight now but have to control so that the gain is consistent

Piscean,
Magic cream is from avent. Ive not tried it, only used bottom balm, which is a lot easier to wipe off than desitin. Don't really like desitin cos it's so difficult to remove but must admit it is really good when bb gets diaper rash.

Photo Studio:
Nikole, I havent really did a lot of research just that I like Studio Loft's style. For some reason there are quite a few studios out there but the pics just lack something?

If you are considering Bloom/Maternity shots, there are a few photo studios I was looking at:

1. Tomato Photo (this one very ex or so my impression la - cos actually may be similar to Studio Loft prices BUTTTT!!!! photographer is male. So if I do nude/semi-nude, a bit self concious and I tink most of our hubbies will *shake head*

2. Studio Loft (www.thestudioloft.com.sg)
One of the very early photo studio or at least IMHO since I fell in love w thier bloom shots back in 2008. Photographers are all female. So no shy, u have they have just whose bigger/smaller only... haha. Price wise I guess is reasonable not as expensive as Bloom.

3. Little Miss Rabbit Photography (http://www.littlemissrabbit.com/)
My friend used this photographer. I dunno leh, but I feel it just lacks that feel and angle? BUT it is confirm cheaper than Studio Loft. :>

New Born Photography (back then there was one by Kelly? It was really nice. But I heard no more liao). I will stick back to the one by Studio Loft cos I see their outdoor one super sui. Just have to discuss with them how to prevent bb from catching a cold. Maybe garden will be nice.

Older babies/about 6 mths and above:
Studio Play: By Sean. Very popular back in 2008. But the style and pattern hasn't changed much. Like very common? But the colours are really nice.
Price wise I not didn't compare cos I not interested.

Baby U (http://www.babyu.com.sg/): Photographers are Korean and style is Korean. For the very clean, bright coloured photos. My first gal took her own photo shoot with them at 8 mths and also with us (family potrait). It's taken at a landed property with the props. My gal was a bit cranky la so the shots not really that nice...
http://snowiesnowiegal.blogspot.sg/2009/10/update-on-baby-u-photo-shoot.html

Firefly Photography: Outdoor family photography. My friend recently took and quite not bad la... :p

LM, I think I've tried bottom balm for DD before but cannot work for bad rash, then desitin cured the rash.

Re: Leg cramp
Recently I tried, everyday some stretching exercise for legs (calve & thigh muscles), & no more leg cramp at night for me.

Barrier Creams: Desitin is actually mildly medicated. The purple one confirm got medication in it for rash. so use sparingly.

Ctrus, I also feel torturing when I any eat freely and dun feel full at times.. During my no1 I really follow v v strictly and bb is not heavy at all 3.24 kg after many "cuts".. So now v hesitant to follow leh...

Piscean

I used magic cream from avent and it worked very well for diaper rash n dry skin. I practically used whole body, face, bottom, feet.
it's absorb into the skin, I dun like destin, find the smell n the result nt as good as magic cream

Aspialle
Eh sorry but can I assume you have GD and is to follow a diet plan? My personal opinion: think try to follow ad closely as possible. It may not even have to do with bb's weight (even though a fat bb born from GD mom will have higher chance of developing diabetes later in life), but your own health. You do want to watch your children grow up, grow old with hb, then go for whatever food you fancy later in life, wouldn't you?

I'm paranoid coZ I see my fil with diabetes. Very well controlled but still it makes him so miserable. For him he is old, but around 40% of GD mums will develop diabetes in 20 years after delivery! That's super high.. so take care, follow the dirt plan closely and if possible fo ogtt once every three years, after delivery...

But like I've said I'm paranoid. So don't take offence.