(2012) Planning for Dragon baby?

Zzz : don't worry ya, have dragon baby or other zodiac baby is fine as long as baby is healthy. I may or may not hav a dragon baby too.
Firstly cos my girl is pretty "sticky" to me right now and I foresee a lot of problem if I hv a baby now. So I would prefer that she is older then maybe i try? Not sure... hahahah
Secondly, I need to sort out the caregiver part. My nanny may not wan to take care of 2 children lei. And then also if both put at nanny, it's a huge sum of $$$... :s

Dairy : hehehe, ya we call her "小牛妹".... My hb and I always tease her that she is "Oxtail"...

Reira : U probably may want to regulate yr mense 1st b4 trying for a baby. My mense was super irregular after I stop bf-ing. I needed to go to gynae for medication. Still on medication now, so may or may not try for baby this yr

T_T : wah big celebration for yr bb full month huh?
for my girl's full month, we only go distribute cakes to relatives. I too tired to have big celebration so told my hb and MIL that we will only go deliver cakes, then if those too far I only send them the cake voucher.... :p
I'm a lazy mommy ba....
But then cos I was taking care of my girl all by myself since day 1. I need not engage Confinement lady

But we did make up and did a 1st yr b'day party for her la

I am also planning for a dragon bb but this is my 1st one. I also have PCOS with irregular cycles and am slightly overweight so have been advised by my gynae to try to lose some weight to "reverse" the effects of PCOS and to O naturally. Maybe ladies with PCOS can try?

Also, noticed that some of you ladies were mentioning abt where to buy OPKs online? I know there used to be 1 BP spree but not sure if there still is but have to wait 2-3 weeks and her pricing is not far from this online seller I am using www.bbshop01.blogspot.com I compared both and realised only maybe 10cents difference per strip so decided to use her. She is quite fast and reliable and cheap. HTH...

Btw, it is not tat ex per month for OPKs. I was advised by my gynae to start testing from CD16-26 coz of my irregular cycles so I use abt 10 strips per month which is like $5 per month and I only confirm my results with Clearblue digital when I think it is positive, so 1 box of Clearblue digital lasts for 2-3 cycles so still quite ok. Maybe you can consider doing what I am doing or just stick to normal OPKs which is still quite cheap.

Happiness&Bliss - hihi, yar, caregiver's the main concern and the cost of it.. coz tt's the excuse tt hb gives, ex childcare, lack of caregiver, if preggie nw, then no one to tidy pl up for CNY etc..

so if tt's his concern, the last one, can avoid the high cost of CNY CL, if I get preggie in the later part of the yr loh.. haha..

sama sama, I also din have CL for #1, the find it v v v tiring and health's not too gd too.. so determined to have a CL for #2 (if I manage to get #2..heh heh..)

nb01 - hihi.. =)

I have gained quite a bit of weight during the pregnancy, so hope to shed some weight 1st in the meanwhile, since hb's not too keen on #2 now..

wah, heh heh, I only used those normal OPK to test then din buy clearblue coz find them ex.. then still fumbling with normal ones, so still trying out 1st..

I shall wait for my health screening results next wk to see if the PCOS are gone etc, coz T_T's post made me quite hopeful.. heh heh..

bluehime : my 2 sisters have 2 boys each and myself, 1 boy. Not sure if diet plays a part but we longed for girls but keep getting boys.

Happiness&Bliss and Zzz : same here, no CL for #1. I'm a SAHM. Found it tough when he was a baby as he had reflux and does 30 min catnaps. Lost weight very quickly but now the weight is climbing back up cause my toddler boy is a breeze to take care of now

Zzzz : but then after i think think hor... i think I will try later ba... cos I just change a new job, and my nanny is $650/mth... imagine if 2 go to nanny it will be $1300 lei ... gasp...!!!
Mine girl was delivered quite near to CNY last yr. I did not engage a CL bcos it's too ex.... It cost abt 2K plus to 3K.... I only cater my meals lo, then the rest of the stuff, I hands-on...

dairy : I'm a FTWM. My girl was difficult to take care during the first 2 months... it was horror.... she will not sleep at nite... she can stay awake frm 11pm till 4am still dun sleep when she was like 2 months. N i always thought babies does nothing but milk and sleep :s
Thats y now even when i suggest #2 to hubby, hubby 1st reaction is "HUH!!!"...he still shudders at the thoughts of my girl babyhood...hahahha

hihi all mommies.. haha.. not say very big celebration nah.. just that i started my jamu massage too.. coz on the very day of her full mth had to go mani places and evening had celebration at my parents' place.. so mani guests.. den entertain until very tire.. my gal oso.. being passed ard everywhere until i duno who carried her away.. hehe...

Zzz: haha ya hopefully miracle happens on u too.. hopefully ur PCOS are gone for good.. i am oso not sure if i still haf PCOS if i go n do the next scan.. i hope mine are gone for good.. coz that time my body was still developing..

Happiness&Bliss - wah, near CNY ar? Mine at the end of the yr then no CL coz we were thinking since MIL's staying nearby then can help to cook meals and bring over etc..

think we totally forgot abt the looking aft baby part.. haha!! then turned out bb's super clingy and I cldn't really rest wor.. faint.. then most of the time, hafta put bb on my chest before bb will wanna slp..tiring sia..

so tt's why I told hb tt I want to have a CL to totally rest and recharge body.. maybe tt's also what scares him off? coz of the cost of CL, cost of gynae, cost of delivery, lack of caregivers, cost of childcare etc..

Like to find out, hw'd ya find ur nanny? Hw to determine if ok to put bb there? Coz we contemplated getting a nanny a while back and even made enquiries but then hb said, y nt wait a few more mths then place bb in childcare? in the meanwhile still let MIL look aft..

Whoa, ya just changed job? Hw long's the probation? Am also thinking of changing jobs but like, abit slack leh.. din really get ard to the sending of resumes and all.. =p

haha, ya can tell ur hb tt nt all babies r night owls.. ;)

T_T - mine was detected like maybe 3 yrs back or so, think I was way past the growing up stage ler.. ;) then heard fr others tt PCOS may clear aft deliver, so was hoping tt mine's gone too! =)

Zzz : ya i deliver 2 weeks b4 CNY last yr.... My girl is also super clingy... i dun knw is it bcos i breastfed her... she is still super sticky till now.... i cannot bathe in peace, have to leave door open for her to see me

I also told my hb i needed a CL if we have #2.

I look for nanny for the longest time till 1 month b4 delivery then i found my this nanny. I ask around my neighbours, then my neighbour help me ask her frd staying same block but different level. My nanny's grand daughter went off to pri sch alr, and mommy is taking care full time. So she is quite free. So my neighbour ask her to help me since I cannot find nanny. Initially i went to see her, I was skepticle... after all our babies are precious to us. But she invite us into her house and we walk ard, her house is very clean. N she cooks well too.
So when my girl is 10 weeks old, I leave her at nanny (2 weeks before i went back to work). N surprisingly my girl was ok... But of cos, 1st week everytime bring my girl there i go home and cry la...hahaha
But fast forward now, my nanny and her family spoils my girl... to the extend my girl gets what she wanted :s I usually will punish her if she is at home... but having said that, if they spoil my girl that also means they love her. So my hb says they spoil we teach lor. Better then nanny who dun even bother abt the child they are taking care off.
How to determine if want to put at nanny ? Hb and I do not really want to put our baby in infant care. We rather she grow up in "family" who loves her and give her attention. So we decide to have a nanny. How to knw if the nanny is suitable? Its usually base very much on instinct. But we did not want to take the chance so we go through word of mouth like frds of neighbours etc.

Ya just change job 2 months ago. Probation is 3 months. My office is withing walking distance from my house ... hahaha ... its better that way, i leave my house later and can have more time playing with my girl b4 i leave .... hehe
My ex-co wasn't very pro-family. So when I take leave when my girl is not feeling well, vaccination etc, my boss and my partner wasn't happy abt it. Can see their face black black lo. So I was under tremendous stress when come to taking leave.N work load is also very very heavy. And bcos of baby I cannot really stay to late in office. So I weigh my options, and decide to resign and do part time. But who knws, thank God. My frd recommended me this job. Full time but near my house so I thought give it a try. SO far so good

haiz.. i oso hope i can change job.. but i suppose all firms in my industry are all heavily loaded.. =( and since im alr in this industry for quite some time alr, it's difficult for me to change and oso $$ wise.. onli i continue then can get higher $$.. my office is at Raffles Place.. i really wonder when i go bk to work, what's the work load like.. haiz..

yst i went back to visit my colleagues n bosses, my boss alr start asking me abt those files i alr completed before i left for ML.. n my boss alr said when i come back, he wants me to oversee a grp of cases. Zzz.. it's good that he see me well.. but i would also wish to finish work on time n rush bk hm to see my girl. if not next time when she grows up she will cling to my parents more than me n my hubby..

But feel fan to plan for baby. cost of living is an issue when comes to planning for baby.

So stress... how i wish i can be the man and not worry about whether the baby is healthy or do we have enough money to bring up the baby or not...

Hi Tweety.. is it ur first child or u alr haf a kid?? true enuff. sometimes can be quite a headache. esp now my #1 is onli 1mth old.. sometimes keep crying yet duno how to pacify her. esp when me n my hubby is alone with her..

hi william: good luck for ur next mission!!! hehe.. actually to create another life is really by fate n luck!

T_T : i wnet back to work after my maternity leave. I only took 10 weeks of maternity leave as my work will pile if i take too long. But can see people not happy lo.... so after so many months of seeing "people's face", i decide to be kind to myself.

Yr baby is only 1month old, she is still getting use to the differnce of day and nite. Have to slowly tune her. My girl was also very very unpredictable and difficult during the 1st few weeks....

Tweety : I lost my 1st baby too... I was abt 11 weeks that time. But time will heal all wounds. Once u r ready, go on and try for another baby. I went on to have a healthy baby girl and she was born at a very good weight too....

HappinesS: huh no one will cover ur work?? or back end work haf to do urself? actually i am fine with gg back to work.. but with the tots of pple start throwing files back to me when i haven even settle down will turn me off.. but then i cant leave my job.. coz i intend to haf #2 next yr.. so i dun wanna leave so soon n gotta endure with it.. =(

Happiness&Bliss : must be terrible when yr girl don't sleep at night. My boy got day n night mixed up initially but adjusted quickly. After full month, keep waking after 30 mins nap cause of sleep jumps. Bean sprout pillow don't work. Put him to sleep on tummy but he still wakes and worse, push head upwards n puke on bed! Lotsa laundry for me. Fully outgrown reflux at 15 months.

Both of us also didn't want #2 when my boy was a baby. I had a terrible pregnancy. Appetite was poor, backaches and pelvic pains. After birth get a rude shock. Guess we were not prepared. Now our boy is so cute and can tell he's lonely, we don't mind going through the whole process again.

Tweety : Scan at 7 weeks no heartbeat for my 1st pregnancy. Reconfirm few weeks later still the same and did a D&C. Went on to have a healthy boy who is 22 months old now

Happiness&Bliss - Thx for the detailed clarification.. =) True too, better to have a family envt for baby than the infantcare (ifc)..

when we sent bb to ifc prev, really kanna all sorts of cold and cough.. sigh..

Was hoping for babysitter, coz then can get undivided attention for bb, then easier to nego on the timing with nanny.. =p but the list that I compiled, the charges are pretty ex.. sigh, so just waiting for bb to turn 18 mths, then go childcare..

but if have #2, then hafta revisit the issue again, to have babysitter or to ifc..

haha, eh, ur hb v funny, nanny spoil, yall teach.. interesting thought.. haha..

oh, for me, it was still ok here, tt's why was thinking of having another one while still in the current coy.. but only thg is pay's pretty low, so was looking out, but nt actively sending out resumes.. hmm.. hb also said tt if we have #2, then I change job aft tt, it wont b ez for me to find a job, coz the new employers will have concerns that I have 2 kids, one so young etc, then will need to take leave often etc?

So, think hb has a pt too.. hmm.. maybe will try for search for new job prior to having #2.. =)

T_T - heh heh, ya've bb just 1 mth old, still got coupla wks before gg back to work, so dun tink too much abt work.. =) just enjoy! ;)

Tweety - did the gynae identify any reasons why? Stay positive and all'd be gd.. coz noted tt stress's really nt gd for the bb.. just relax, enjoy and all'd be fine.. have faith and trust.. Good Luck and Jia You! =)

zzz: hehe... ya... 2 more mths.. waiting for my june holiday!! gg BKK...!! cant wait.. but leaving my baby with my parents to take care.. gonna miss her for 2nites.. hee..

tweety : the past pregnancy will caused some negative feelings for sure. I was pretty worried during my 1st trimester when i was with my girl. I was worried for every and anything.... but just have to take very good care of ourself and leave the rest with God to do his work

My last preg ended at 11 weeks. It was a painful decision to terminate the pregnancy. But we do not have any other choice having seek 2 professionals opinions

during my pregnancy i was quite worried oso.. esp at my 1st trimester.. coz i din haf ani symptoms at all.. n i read so mani failed pregnancy.. i keep worrying but can onli wait for my next gynae followup to ensure everything was okie.. until when i can feel her movement.. i felt safe.. but sometimes i dun feel her movement i oso worry.. lolz..

T_T : after our fail pregnancy, it takes alot of courage to try again. And we will be super cautious during the pregnancy too. There will be negative thoughts looming... especially when it reaches the same stage when we lose our last baby.... it is very traumatic.... thus usually for mommies like us, we are super careful, super cautious and pray super hard to pass thru the pregnancy safely.... and we only feel "safe" when our baby is in our arms...

hmmm i can understnad that kind of worries.. even though i did not went thru that period u went thru before, i oso feel safe onli on the day after my gynae carry my gal out frm me.. =)

Thanks gal... hehehee..

actually I think mine may not be a dragon bb.. cos EDD is 15/1/2012 according to the chart.. However Hubby calculated 40 weeks should be 26/1/2012..

Hi ladies, can I join you gals here? This is the first month I'm TTC and its the dreaded 2WW. Testing this weekend. Fingers crossed, though I don't feel pregnant at all now.

Can I join you girls here? was trying for a rabbit bb but i miscarried in march... so now hoping to get a dragon bb.

Hi ashley... I'm in the same boat as you. Actually was trying to avoid the dragon year but now I'll settle for a healthy baby from any year!

Ashley, sorry to hear about your miscarriage. Must have been difficult. Let's hope we get our wish soon! Anyone else waiting to test now? Any symptoms to share? I really don't feel any different, so perhaps no luck this cycle. Although, I have done all my BBT charting, ovulation kits, pre-seed etc...so will be quite sian if nothing. Also since first month TTC-ing, also don't know if have any fertility problems; I'm 32 this year.

tethysea
i'm so sorry to hear that. i was from the nov mtb thread. me too, i was so happy to get a rabbit bb but now, as long as a sticky one will do.
still waiting for my AF to come.

hi olivia
thanks, much better now. now, i just want to look ahead. when i got my bfp, i got sore boobs and slight lower back ache. but all these can be AF symptoms too so don't think too much into it. you're now which cd?

We have started another TTC thread for 2012 dragon babies so do feel free to join us there!

P/S: Sorry abt the thread heading but for those 2nd timer mummies, please do feel free to join us there too! I cannot seem to change the thread heading!

ashley >> I was from dec mtb thread. Waiting for my AF to come too. We jiayou together ok?
*hugs*

Olivia >> Agree with the sore boobs. Also had increased appetite and sense of smell became hyper sensitive. But at the early stage, everything might just be pms, so it's confusing and hard to say. I know first month TTC is very kanchiong one, but just keep relaxed and take care of your health. No cold drinks and don't over-exert yourself!

I am on CD22 now, DPO9. Keep wondering if I should get the preg test kit and test. But I'm not sure if I can bear seeing BPN, especially since i have no implantation bleeding, no other pronounced symptoms. So perhaps wait till AF comes? But the anticipation is driving me crazy.

Tethysea and Ashley: I wasn't so concerned about the zodiac but I was hoping for a first quarter quarter baby, so postponed TTC until this cycle.

tethysea
yup, we hold hands and jiayou! now still chilling cause gynae says must wait till 2nd af come then can ttc. now just taking vitamins and folic acid, remember to take those too!

nb01
maybe can ask the moderator change for you?

olivia
why first quarter baby? i also same lah, was as kanjiong as you and i tested at DPO12 and got positive. but of course, wait until AF late then test will get a more accurate result.

Hi Olivia!
I am younger than you but not by much. Hope we can join each other in TTC. Is this your first one? Do join us in the other thread to make chatting easier.

As to whether to test, it is entirely up to you but some pple do not recommend testing so early in case it is a BFN as you say and then there is greater disappointment. Coz sometimes it takes a few days for HCG levels to rise. But for me, I am a bit like you and will go crazy with the waiting so I will just test using the cheap test strips so as not to waste money. Whatever you decide, good luck!

But just to add, I think DPO9 might be a bit early to test. Think you should test at DPO12 and if you really want, DPO10 but that is the min as doubt the HCG levels would have rose yet.