(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

bbshower, i took an tai yao during 2ww, but after MS started, I couldn't keep the med down so gave up taking liao. May not continue too. Will see how. Like Tromso says, it's okay not to take any TCM. A healthy, balanced diet and the supplements from ur gynae will be good enough. Dun worry!

Bbshower, remember to try and drink more water. Sometims headache can be triggered by lack of fluid in our body esp when we r pregnant as our body is working doubly hard now. U can see ur GP for your morning sickness symptoms, normally they will give u some pregnancy safe meds for vomitting/nausea n paracetamol for headaches. Even with migraine, u can only take panadol. Let ur gynae know during ur next visit about all ur MS symptoms. I also c my GP during my first tri for all my MS symptoms, save time n trouble.

Was reading all the posts on the Manduca baby carrier n did my research last night on the pricing...n found out tt it's alot cheaper in UK and Europe as compared to Austraila due to the currency exchange. So ladies if u hv any frens flying frequently to UK/Europe for biz of staying there, can get them to help ship back for you. Between UK and Europe, the price in Europe is cheaper than UK.
I'm checking with my air-stewardess fren if she can buy for me from London heehee...

tromso,
for the premier rate, is it only the bed rate increase of $100? what about the other charges? gynae, miscellaneous charges like supplies and delivery ward/OT charges all the same as deluxe? i don't know the rates at tmc but i know usually all the other charges also increases with upgrade of ward.

i heard that the public cordblood bank don't accept donations from ivf pregnancies... that's wat i found out during my first pregnancy. was contemplating whether to store my #1 's cordblood but ended up i didn't cos read that if it's hereditary diseases most likely own cordblood cannot be used also and the uses for cordblood is very limited for now.

Angel, the milk savers pouch looks interesting and useful
Are you getting it? If so, what swings your decision to this, compared with say, Avant's breast shells?

The avant one can be reused and put into the sterilizer, not too pricey too

Cordblood....sigh, controversial topic. Dr Loh's expectation is that it's only enough blood/ stemcells for baby up to 8 yrs old, so not to mention for the parents I guess. Cannot be used for curing hereditary illness, diabetes still under research and even the companies don't think will find a breakthrough in the years to come. I'm more interested in diabetes cure as my hubby's side has strong history. Don't feel can cure many cancers too and only certain very specific sort of a cancer is curable. The only plus I feel is, better match if use own cordblood for treatment but the 8 yrs limit doesn't appeal to me considering the high costs and very low possibility, plus we already have access to public cord bank and can use own steam cells from bone marrow anyways.

I'm planning to take up term insurance upon birth plus child illnesses cover, which will only costs few hundreds a years.

Not sure what the others' thoughts on this is.....

Pierced, we are still debating to donate to public cord bank or not. Sometime back, we discussed with Dr Loh the possibility of pushing more cordblood into baby before the snip, so that baby can get about 30% more oxygen and nutrients, as some sources purported. Dr Loh says can do that but if have jaundice condition, may worsen if baby gets more blood into e system, so it's up to us he says. Hence, if we decide to 'empty' the cordblood into baby, will not donate, otherwise, will definitely consider donating. What are your thots on this?

eskimo, why? Cord blood from IVF preg shldn't be any different right?

Yeah, that's why if u store cord blood, can also take it as "insurance" for baby's siblings too.

luvnhope,
i also dunno why... there was a ivf mummy who wanted to donate at that time and was rejected.. i don't know wat's their protocol.

tromso,
i agree... especially need a comprehensive medishield plan and insurance coverage which can be used as the child's education fund in the future.

Im not considering cordblood banking. I donated #1's cordblood too.
depends on the parents preference. Plus if really anything, there's the SCbb to fall back on

Like tromso mentioned, there's different thoughts on it. After all, if your kid has an illness, it will not be advisable to use back the cordblood. of course maybe sibling's one can help too.

Tromso, wow, ok, I didnt know about this pushing more cordblood back into baby. But probably, I might not do it since nowadays babies might have jaundice too, based on my #1 case.
But up to you and hubby whether you decide to do it.
Just thought since im not keeping the cordblood, will donate it like #1.

Eskimo, yes everything else will be more costly for premier, I'm trying to find out by how much. Arghhhh.....this is very mind boggling. Is this why Tanny's c section bill is 10k (premier) whilst Faithfully is about 7k...(deluxe)??

Sigh, why can't accept IVF cordblood?? Are we that diseased...??!! Even insurance companies shun away from us, angry!!

Eskimobaby, is it? I didnt know they reject IVF babies donations. My #1 wasnt thru IVF so not so sure. Ok now must go and find out again. But ya, i thought there shouldnt be any difference between IVF bb and normal preg bb mah.

Juvi, thanks for the input on europe being cheaper for Manduca.
hmm, now to try to find people going there!
Sadly, my hubby's not flying up to europe anytime soon.

Tromso, i just picked the normal single bedded room when I went to admission. After all, they told me first come first serve. thought if normal don't have, then get deluxe.

gg for cardiac test later...hope everything will be fine..

i bank my boy cordblood with stemcord last time as it's the only one available in the mkt previously..for this round, shld i stick with stemcord or bank with cordlife? not sure can i jus store one for my twins?

Tromso, it's the first time I saw the milk saver at Expo..haven't done comparisons yet that's why didn't buy.

Re donating to public cord blood bank, my Cordlife consultant told me that there's no guarantee in getting back own baby's cord blood (even if not used yet) if touchwood needs it. Have to join the queue like anyone else.

Tromso, no one can tell for sure how medical science will advance in the future.. Have you spoke to any cord blood banking consultant yet? Do get more views than solely from the gynae. We are the parents afterall and the ones that want to make the best decision for our kid(s).

Eskimo indeed, will be getting medishield plan as first priority and also accident plan too since they are so accidental prone and only extra few tens $$ a year.

Pierced, I may decide to push more cordblood into baby as jaundice seems to be quite common these days and not too detrimental. Like what Joanne did, I'll closely monitor jaundice level during hospital stay and if required, will go under light immed rather than wait till day of discharge. My niece didn't have to go under the light, I think jaundice must be very low, she didn't have to sun too. Actually my sis also didn't get all emo and cried during confinement, baby didn't get sick, no engorgement, etc. I'm starting to feel sis is very very lucky after reading about all the difficulties in the forum..... Getting a bit worried for myself somehow haaa.... Dunno if it's an age thing....

mc, I preferred Cordlife over Stemcord. Can't remember why too. Oh, PEM has promotion together with Cordlife right?

Think u shld be able to store for one twin only bah.

Btw, is this cardiac test a routine test for mummies with twins?

Tromso i also wish cord blood can help in diabetics coz both my side n hubby side got diabetic history
I thk cord blood is really amazing if can save lives. I guess ivf shld also be the same at natural pregnancy ba just that we get more needles poking:p So they shldnt shun us away.

Catherine, I guess will need to settle with this one first then think of second one hehe. But thinking of the long labour make me hesitate too haha. We shall see ba.

Tanny, after my massage I feel much more better. Feel very light, even never sleep at night cos got to watch my baby which is under the light now. But day time still feel energetic. I have shown the shields size to LC, she said size ok. Yeah, latching indeed is more tiring bcos baby always sleep in between.

Baby and Faithfully, how long / often must u put baby under the light at home? Hope things have been getting easier for both of u!

Thanks Angel
I've actually spoken quite extensive to the consultants, even the speakers themselves. Many times, they were unable to answer my questions which left me feeling unassured. Have also read up on the research, etc. developments in Singapore and USA. I guess it's also a bit of luck with this sorta thing *touchwood* but with an extra budget, def the more 'insurance', the better it may be

Actually just sharing my thoughts on cordblood banking, for those pro it, definitely go for it, don't be overly concerned by my little spill above
At end of day, most impt is to satisfy our own sense of security, little thing else matters

Hi Juvi, thanks for the link, it's about S$200 for the standard Manduca in London. It the same price in Oz I think. Wonder how much cheaper in Europe.... Do you know where the physical shop is, in London? Or are you planning to get it delivered to your friend's hotel?

Faithfully, my baby feeding time also very messy now. Just like last nite, every 1 or 1.5hr will cry for milk. After milk always poo. But Dr said poo more is good to clear away jaundice.
Maybe she is eating not enough, that's why seldom poo. Must wake her up whenever she fall asleep drinking milk. Remember to burp her in between too as sometimes too much wind inside they will stop drinking. Then we will think that she is full, but not actually.

me too, for me I didnt store it as there were not many reasons for me to do so, so no point wasting it and put it to use by donating it.

It all depends on the parents. It's additional insurance for your kid, if you have the budget for it and you feel assured by it.

Tromso, ya i worked out the limited ed in Oz around same price depending on exchange rate.
Euro dropped again so maybe europe side is cheaper?

Pierced, oops, I meant if one-bedded not available, will go for premier. Just checked the website, Delux is $1,000 per night haaa.... I quoted wrong name.

Joanne, thanks for asking. My baby is fine, still gaining weight, I'm hoping she'll decide to come out soon as my tummy is really not stretching a lot now (many thought I'm in early 3rd trimester) and the upper tummy ligaments are quite painfully stretched. I've actually not put on weight since 3 weeks ago, quite surprised baby put on 600g, about 3.5kg now.

You are doing montage for your full month, wow....ambitious mummy you
I'm sure your guests will love it too but don't over-exert yourself ok. So did you end up using the photographer at TMC for for babies photoshoot?

Hi Tromso,
Here's the link to e website for Manduca Europe.
http://www.manduca-baby-carrier.eu/

For me, if I'm getting my air-stewardess fren to buy from London, she will go to the shop n buy for me. If I'm getting my godsis's hubby who is coming to sg in AUgust from Germany to bring over, then I will purchase online n deliver to his place. This way, save on shipping.
Still waiting for reply from my godsis loh..I also hv frens staying in Germany n Spain so now finding out abt the shipping costs....

Hazel, the 6k includes medisave?

Tanny, do you know how your bill gets to 10k including medisave?

If it's this kinda price, I'll choose 2 bedded....

Tromso, if u want 2-bedded, a "trick" is to request for 4-bedded. If the 4-bedded is full (which it usually is, cos i think there's only one room?), they'll give u free upgrade to 2-bedder. That's what i did last round, hee... But of course depends on luck lah... skali really get 4-bedder then oops...

Tromso, if you are talking about collecting dripping milk, it's breast shell (not shields)
Don't buy wrongly.

J03, breast shell is something like breast pad, but made of plastic with small container inside to collect dripping milk. Just place this shell inside the bra n we can move around without worrying it will wet our bra, unlike breast pad which will wet after sometimes n will waste the milk too.

Today, another massage session. She taught me how to empty the breast till no more hard parts on it. Bcos last nite I pump till no milk coming out I thought it's empty. But she told me, it's wrong. She taught me in between pump need to stop to massage n the massage also must start from outer part of breast so will entirely clear the milk.

Thanks Juvi. I'm thinking to ask my sis bf to get for me in London but I'm not sure if the shop is in downtown London city. I could have it delivered to his parents home in London too but most times he would stay in hotels for his biz trip there. Wow...like very troublesome
Do you happen to know if the shop is far from London downtown?

I have a pilot friend who flies to Europe often too....dunno worth the while tracking down where the shop is, lol...pulling all sorta strings to get a Manduca carrier. Why is there no decent markdowns in Singapore....sigh....

Luv, heee....that's what my sis did too leh, her package is 4 bedded but got upgraded to 2 bedded for free. Her c section bill only came up to 4k+ (Inc medisave) 1.5 yrs ago, tmc. The free upgrade was specified in her gynae's package then.

But I've checked with tmc, they say free upgrade has never existed
I dunno it's special arrangements with some gynae only or it's their New policy for the dragon year....'milk the dragon parents' lol....

At end of day, I'm still hoping for standard 1 bedded, if not, will see how generous my sponsorer is on day of delivery.

Do you know if your gynae package has this free upgrade feature?

Tromso, har?? Free upgrade doesn't exist meh?? Cannot be what... Dun think it's specific to gynae leh.

Hahah... ur sponsor aka ur DH?

I'm also thinking of getting a 1-bedder this time round. Previously tot shld save $$ but this time round think i wanna pamper myself a bit, hee...

Hazel, then 6k exc nicu not too pricey then as yours is premier. So I can expect about 5k premier for natural birth is it (price inc baby's stay if no other issues)?

Not sure if I'm comparing apple to apple.....

Luv, cross my heart, I've asked couple of times, over the phone and in person, they say no free upgrade leh
Cos initially we had wanted to put in 2 bedded too, then hope for upgrade to 1 bedded. Haaa....but now even standard 1 bedded is a problem, horror...

Sponsorer is actually my in laws, so I don't dare to be too extravagant. I would much prefer we pay ourselves cos have more flexibility, like not paiseh if decide to go for better. But it's like a loving gesture they extend to all their grandkids, so I obliged.

Wah Tromso, u're lucky to have such great in-laws!

Maybe they can't explicitly tell u that there's free upgrade but there is? Strange...

Thanks Baby Me, yep, I'll remember it's breast shells, not shields
I'll see how my bm goes post delivery, maybe not as lucky, no dripping
Did you get the Avant one? You place inside the bra for entire day and empty on and off?

Gosh, your massage lady is a legend
No wonder the pricing. I must remember to ask my massage lady to teach me these tricks too, hope she knows.

Ya, my air crew friends mostly all quite already, still have one or two but dont like to trouble them to track down the carrier there. Frankly speaking, though this manduca from Germany, i didn't even see it selling there when I was staying there last yr! Haha

Luv, think your scheme of free upgrade was few yrs ago, maybe coz this yr very packed so not much chance of getting the free upgrade. I heard my friends who gave birth at Tmc telling me about this too last time, even the counter staff or nurses advised them to choose 4 bedder first.

Just hope the standard one will be available. I wonder if the package can we just stay for 1 night if normal delivery and nothing happens? Coz the package is it 2 nights?

The Avent breast shells good? Coz it should be cheaper than the mumsfairy one. After all, same function, so would be worth while to get Avent ones instead and can sterilise and reuse.

Indeed Luv, in view of the current situation, best to state your actual preference.

I was quite delighted to hear about the P1 balloting results days ago, only 12 schools need balloting instead of 28 last year. But I guess come Dragon year, the massacre will start again
oooooh.....and yours isn't even Dragon year, lucky you!!!

Pierced, that's my worry too. I've done some googling in the past of Manduca in London and Europe, but couldn't quite locate the physical shops, a bit fathom. Maybe our best bet is still our cousins living in Oz heh.....

Tromso, hahah... pierced and I will experience the trials and tribulations of P1 registration next year.

Dragon year or not, think we're all just happy and glad to have our babies safe and healthy!

Luv, yes, have to pay more for the upgrade. That's why I'm calculating the potential damages for upgrading to premier now, then submit to my hubby for approval...if too much, I think I'll be getting the 2 bedded treatment
My in laws are ok, my hubby is the tough one, very stringent on money....for gd reasons too I guess

LuvnHope, thanks for your reminder
Forgot to mention to sisters here on this important point. It's actually highlighted in the box, so I will use the breast shell only when I feel milk dripping, but after pump I will not wear it. Just put breast pads.
I also didn't use the dripping milk for feeding. I'll use it for my face hehe

I've checked out Mt A's rates b4. Their jump from the most basic 1-bedder to the next grade is not as big as TMC's. Wonder why TMC's jump is so big.

Luv, but your child going to your reputable primary sch right, same for Pierced
My primary sch no longer exist and hubby's is iffy, so we will be the poor PV parents

I see some parents volunteering for 1 school each, very smart haaa.... I'm thinking SCGC and CHIJ pri, cos not too far fr my place but I'll need to check out the recent P1 registration results to see if these are very hotcake. Not that I can do much now, just curious

Tromso, yes, shld be sending her to my alma mater. Takes away the headache of balloting thankfully. *fingers crossed*

There's talk recently of calling for the almuni priority to be scrapped. I'm hoping hard that doesn't happen!!!

Do u mean SCGS? I have a gf whose girl goes there. Seems quite happy there.