(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Tried but wasnt consistent on it as didnt like the taste. Then tried lactulose which made me very thirsty. Hmm .. maybe i should try prune juice again. Currently on yakult every other day which is high sugar but i like the probiotics, can prevent yeast infections which i heard pregnancy more prone.

Luv, Dr Loh's clinic circled the option to go for Oscar+Detail Scan for us on the orange form n its a bundle deal so can save some money plus i hv further discount w FBI card. For our Oscar scan, the FAU was fully booked, so Angel n I walked in before 830am and we were the 2nd n 3rd in Q to be scanned. After the Oscar test, Dr Loh's clinic will book the Detail Scan appt for us.

Heartbeats, i also had bleeding when i had constipation, scary manz... Fybogel helps but it may take abt 12hours to 1 day before it takes effect. Normally i will take one sachet in the morning but I m not taking it on a daily basis. I only took when i hv constipation. These 2 weeks, i hv no constipation n i feel great!

Heartbeats, i Also dislike prune juice, but i drink it out of desperation. Now i m taking yakult n yogurt on every alternate day n eating fruits everyday. I also use feminie wash every day n especially after clearing my bowel which can prevent yeast infection too.

heartbeat..admire yr courage to do the test cos the risk of miscarriage for twins is 1:50...

Camden jus called me and say no slot....hopefully someone will cancel their appt next wk so that they can slot me in..else baby might be too big for the scan..

hope someone will cancel the appt...

Hi Jude, I think d milk intake depends on ur bb weight.
Lower limit: weight x 150
Higher limit: weight x 200
That will give u the lower n upper limit of d daily milk intake requirement

Tromso,

The alternative to Mothercare's hole-ly blanket is the one in Robinson that you mentioned. Wanted to get the latter, too bad that Robinson don't sell that anymore. Just yesterday, I also saw such blankets sold in Kiddy Palace. But not much info on size & whether organic or not. Forgot to note down the brand, will check again and post here.

Heartbeats,

I didn't get Babysafe latex mattress as the cot I bought comes with a free OekoTex foam mattress already. Both my hubby & I think it's good enough.

I really admire your courage to do amniocentesis. I can understand it must have been a very difficult decision for you to do so given the risk involved. Glad everything is alright for your babies!

I had some complications so we needed to know whether bb affected. And if so at least we are prepared how best to care for special child.

Thanks for your tips Babyjourney.

Angel, good thing you found in Kiddy Palace, I didn't see it there
ekotex is normal foam mattress? I think there is also this fibrelux mattress (made in Malaysia) the mattress textile is quite interesting
Lots to choose from out there.

Quite surprising the crowd for Oscar/ detailed scans at tmc. During my time, we even get to choose the days and timings. I was at the WBB breastfeeding talk Tues just passed, actually I should have done it 1 mth plus ago but missed that. Again very surprised the SCGS theatre couldn't hold the influx of parents to bes...wasn't like that last time we had our doctor's talk there. Same goes for the kkh seminar we went last Sat, only me and another mtb delivering in Aug, all delivering later. Maybe there will be a larger mtbs delivering year end...

Put in your ward preference early ladies, hope can help secure your preference.

It's the dragon year after all, Tromso! ;P

Bbjourney, I see. I'll check with the clinic then. How much did u save with the bundle?

These few days as i comb thru the things needed really headache, so many things to be chosen wisely.

Like bottle warmer - Pigeon one seems can prevent killing BM antibodies but take very long. Avent one faster but say nothing about preserving the BM antibodies. Any opinion ladies?

Then bottles - Avent ones cant fit NUK teats. I am thinking get Pigeon ones (maybe FOC if i buy Pigeon steriliser) and then use with NUK teats. Read also all still depend on bb preference so cannot too many. Any opinion too ladies?

heartbeats, wow, u all really do big research! Hahah... I didn't think so much abt which preserves BM antibodies when I did my shopping previously. I think all the bottle warmers serve the same purpose. They warm the BM to a preset temperature that's just nice for baby. So most shld be fine.

Actually Pigeon teats are highly recommended too cos they mimic mummy's nipples. Good for breastfeeding babies. Btw, there are wide neck and narrow neck Pigeon bottles, so be clear on which ones u get.

Maybe can stand by enuf teats and bottles to last u reasonably for a few days then if babies like it, send ur DH out to buy.
Anyway, over time, still need to change cos need to get bigger hole teats as babies grow.

Happy researching!

Heartbeats, tried to PM you but I think you don't accept PM?

Tromso, the blanket i saw at Kiddy Palace seems soft but i didn't check out the size..not written on the packaging, and I was paiseh to open the pack to see. Oeko Tex mattress is high density form mattress and made from natural cooling fibers. It is anti dust mite. I saw the interior of fibrelux mattresses and thought it looks scary.

When is it better to do a hospital tour? If I wait till 28 weeks, is it too late?

Angel, i dont know whats wrong with my PM, its never changed leh and i did activate it. Need to figure out. In the meantime i PM you first.

Heartbeats, dont mention. I m just sharing wat i am going thru.

Luv, i forgot how much is the savings liao... :p Maybe Angel remembers?

Ladies, I heard that pigeon and NUK bottles are compatible with Medela pump (I.e., can pump directly into the bottles). Have any of you tried and is that true?

Bbjourney, Luv, I don't know the separate cost of Oscar & detailed scan in TMC, and the bundle savings, as I got the package too..

Luv, you can call up to enquire. TMC Fetal Assessment Unit: 6250 7442/3.

Angel, I got the Avent ISIS pump cos it allows me to do electric pumping n manual pumping (in case I dun have access to electric point). I find it okay, but it's definitely not as powerful as the pumps they use at TMC ParentCraft for sure! I went there once for LC advice and the pump there was super powerful! Maybe that's hospital grade pump.

Actually if u can, get a dual pump to save time. Mine was a single one, sometimes find it a bit wasteful cos the other side that u're not pumping is also leaking milk during let down.

For warming up breast milk, what I read previously was that as long as not using boiling temperature water and not too hot, the antibodies will not be destroyed
But I couldn't find recommended temperature range online, I guess less than 90 degrees maybe?

Angel, I also find the fibrelux texture quite off putting, think it's coconut husks of some sort, promotor said it's what they use in the kampong, very cooling and treated to have anti this and that effects. Furthermore, it's made by Malaysian company, not sure if enough R&D has been done, etc heee....better avoid unestablished brands

Hospital tour can be done anytime I guess, the TMC personnel hinted that even if we put down our ward preference, it's still on a first come first serve basis but some claims if put in preference earlier will be given priority. I'm also not too sure how it all works there...

Thanks Luv! I was quite torn between Avent or Medela...I think I would like to get a more powerful pump. Most likely will be getting Medela dual pump. Now the choice is down to PIS or free style.

Agree with Luv, everyone advises me to get dual pump too. In fact, if budget is not an issue, Medela seems to be the best. My sis used Avant then, she says not good plus malfunctioned at 1 point, so have to send back for repairs. Have heard few Avant bp malfunction cases already

Angel, let me forward you the email that Tan Leng Leng wrote to me comparing PISA and Freestyle, see if will assist with your decision making
TLL has been selling Medela bp for many years in the SMH forum, I bought mine from her, just collected last week

Tromso, my sis will pass me her Medela pump, if i want to buy the parts from TLL, may i know normally what is the delivery time like?

Heartbeats, thanks for the PM and I have emailed you.

Tromso, TIA for the email comparison! My concern about buying from TLL is warranty issue, the warranty is only applicable in the USA yah?

Bbjourney, good for you
Saves precious dollars!! I'm not sure what's the delivery timeframe for spare parts, maybe you can query with TLL in her spree forum?

Heartbeats and Angel, I've just pm you both the PISA vs Freestyle comparisons from TLL
wow....TLL blog...heee....

Dual pump is good, but sooooo exxxx!!!! Think that was why i settled for single pump back then. Looking back, if budget allows, getting the dual pump may be worth it esp if u use for next few kids.

can medela double pump be used,manually? or it runs by battery? i am jus afraid i hv no access to electrical point if i pump in the toilet.

baby journey, i tried asking but no slot...really hope they can squeeze one for me..if not, i will jus leave it as it is and wait for the detailed scan.

Angel indeed, the warranty is for USA only. But so far have not heard of Medela bp malfunctioning yet, amongst friends, forum, and TLL, unlike Avant bp. Of course if have such concerns, can always get from Singapore, good to have a peace of mind

mc, believe Medela dual pumps run by battery. They claim battery can last for 3h.
I had the same concern as u. That's why i got Avent ISIS which allows electric / battery / manual pumping.

Tromso, by malfunction, do u mean the valves lose their effectiveness? Usually the valves which are crucial in the pumping effect need to be changed periodically. Or did the mechanics of the pump spoil completely? Mine didn't break down thankfully. Just needed to replace the valve a few times.

Tromso, i m glad to hv hand me down from my sis, really can save alot of money.

Mc, hope u can get a slot next week.

Luv, malfunction....say for my sis's and friend's Avant, motor problems, so need to send back to factory for repair. The valve needs to be replaced periodically is it? Ok, I must make it a point to read the manual sometime this week, thanks for the pointer

I'm not sure for others, but for my sis, when she sent her Avant for repairs, she borrowed Medela from her friend, said she felt Medela was much easier in extracting milk, hence she advised against me using hers. Actually after the repairs, her Avant still isn't not working well, I'm not too sure what's wrong, so I thought I'll better get brand new. When I see her next, I'll ask her what's the exact issue.

I guess for those who has good experience with Avant, can stick to it, sometimes it can really be luck at play.

Tromso, if u have the budget, then worthwhile to get a better dual pump like Medela. Since I got mine already, a bit wasted to buy another one. But also gotta check whether it's in working condition!!

Back from Dr Loh, bb only put on a little. Still on the small side, 1.35kg at 31 wks. Hmm... Anyway, dr loh just did a ctg on me too just to check, so far everything is fine, he said most prob bb will be 2 kg plus at birth but as long everything healthy, doesn't matter about weight., so he said just monitor movements as usual and rest. Extended my Leave again for next wk bef my next appt with me,

Re medela! I only have the single medela mini electric. Lasted me for that period. But then again, most of the time, I do latching and pump to empty breasts usually.
But heard the let down for this pump is not that good. Doesn't clear the breasts well.

Double pump really saves time, ESP for those who are going back to work or pumping exclusively instead.
I got a dual pump from my friend called Unimom. Korean brand? Saw it in kiddy palace. Haven't tried it yet can't tell if the brand's good. But it lasted my friend for quite a few months even after she gone back to work so guess it works well too?

As for Avent, lots of good feedback too but heard it breaks down easily. They say the shield helps let down well and can fully milk the breasts.

Guess pumps really depend on individual.

Yes Luv, just collected my medela bp....it's sitting there waiting for us to try it out... This weekend I guess, so much to do. I'm reading the baby care books and parenting books now, gosh, info overload...seriously why is it so complex lol... I miss rearing a puppy, similar temperaments but def feels less complicated.

The Gina Ford feeding routine is mind boggling, hubby read the section too and we both surrender bif time (too multi layered). Sincerely hope baby will settle in fine, then can throw aside these confusing techniques

Hi Pierced, I've pm you earlier, about something not important. About your baby weight gain, I have another suggestion, I'll pm you. Just letting you know in case the pm goes to your spam mail.

Hahah... Tromso, I haven't even heard of the Gina Ford feeding routine. And I survived!
So you'll definitely do well! Just enjoy the moments as they come.

Btw, trust you're not thinking of testing the pump out on yourself?

Hi Luv, haaaa....I'll test out on my hubby
No lah....hee Hubby has tested at TLL place and it works but I'm keen to learn how to operate it, the diff phases, just let it pump air I guess.

I heard quite some problems from new mummies re feeding, sleep routine, crying, so thought I'll suss out the books. I'm hoping to be able to help baby sleep through the night better/ longer, and its looks like can be achieved through certain feeding methods. Then was reading about why some babies cry a lot, keep waking up at nights, etc. All can be better managed by establishing a good routine and/ or altering the amount of stimulations in the daytime etc. Interesting read I suppose but quite a bit to fathom for my lousy brain power now lol...

Actually my baby will be sleeping and sharing same space as niece, will be only 18 mths apart, so can't say I'm not worried about the conflicts that may arise. Hence trying to see if I can read up more now and preempt things or help baby settle in better. If baby disturbs niece constantly and both gets cranky all the time, I think will be great chaos, my poor mummy will be the one suffering most during that confinement month. This is probably my biggest fear now. Fingers crossed...

That's why, anticipation and same time, trepidations...