(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Oh ya, Tromso, i checked with my mum and her confinement bk about the dates. think the only difference is that the dates have slightly different properties that's why they reco 3 diff kinds. You can drink the 3 different dates tea daily from day 1.
I think it's only certain foods/herbs that might be reco to take only 1 wk later or 2 wks later etc

I took photos of the description and the recipes for the tea. will whatsapp u in a while.

Thanks for the food tips Pierced. Really lotsa nice dining scenes popping up in Serangoon area. I heard Arbite at Serangoon Gardens is quite nice, American breakfast and fantastic for chilling out. The cake (something like My Wife's Choco Cake) is quite a hit I heard. But thinking about parking situation there, already puts me off, not been for soooo long, not sure if situation has improved.

Indeed, some kids don't bite and chew the beanies (gid sent!!) then this is very good. If my gal is like this too, I'll consider husks cos the natural latex ones are very ex especially if needing a few of them. The worse is, for the beanies that are filled with saliva, brought outdoors and kids drop them on the floor, pick them up and put back into mouths, sigh...for kids with low immuned system and often sick sort, really doesn't help I feel.... Heard H1N1 is back again, south America...

Very wet weather today.. Thinking if I should travel out for yoga today...?

Tromso, yes can get foc husks fr bean seller. My MIL is going to make a husk beanie for my son. Actually I also like the Babysafe natural latex pellets beanie - more hygienic. For newborn latex pillow, I am considering between Babysafe or Bebe Mignon.. Have you heard of the latter before?

Tromso, no prob. Im always looking out for nice places to go, of course now must be places that can bring kids. hee..
yup Arbite is good. It's opened by my bro's former classmates, the chef too. The cake is very nice, made by chef's wife. Havent had breakfast there before but their dinners are great.
parking is a pain there indeed. I also try to avoid going there now.

yes true. so luckily my gal don't like pillows or toys from the start, maybe coz i dont introduce her to it. better this way so i don't need to remember to bring along her fave pillow when travelling. can be a pain if u forget.
As for the latex beanies, is it with fine pellets as well? not like those beanie pillows used for neck rest while travelling right?
coz my gal was fiddling with one small bolster i had in the car with tiny little beans and the threading came off. so was afraid she might inhale the tiny beans.

Angelxuan, you will be driving down? just be careful if you are going for yoga.

Me going down Dr Loh's later. Going for lunch first.

Angelxuan, just be careful if using pillow for baby. actually they don't recommend pilows for kids below 2. coz might flip and have suffocation.

When my #1 slept in the cot, it was just on the mattress, without anything, no pillows, bolsters, blankets.

MC, icic. Mine is 1:2891. Don't worry. It will be fine for your Bb2 as the test is not accurate for twin which most sisters here pointed out

Btw, what time you left? Not sure if got bump into you or not.

Pierced, I was planning to drive down. My mum just called me not to go yoga today..think most parts of SG are raining. She's afraid that Orchard might "flood" and i might be trapped there if I drive or if I take public transport, floor slippery..blah blah..so asked me not to go today. Haiz.. You are going for lunch now? That's early.

Angelxuan, hee, then better not go since your mum says not to etc.
Not yet going for lunch, slightly later. Going to meet hub for lunch since he has half day. Dunno what to eat. First time he's going down to Dr Loh and TMC. haha!

Pierced, I thought those NB pillows with a depression in the middle are quite safe? And latex pillows are breathable.. For blanket, I intend to buy the hole-ly types, been looking out for those with softer material. For bolster, don't think that's necessary to be in the cot, but I have seen my friend placed them on each side of her newborn.

Pierced, so all these while you have been going to Dr Loh's by yourself? You sound so happy that your hubby is going with you today. Enjoy your lunch and appointment! Hope your baby is gaining weight nicely!

Angel, agree with pierced. Newborns don't really need pillows yet cos the pillows might be too high for them anyway. Suggest you fold a cloth diaper (clean one of course!) thinly and place it under baby's head so that baby's saliva or reflux *touch wood* will not dirty the mattress or bed sheet.

pierced, hope your review today with Dr Loh goes well!!

Angelxuan, i guess the flatter infant pillows are fine, just practice precaution.
i read in articles the common assumption of parents is that babies need pillow to be comfortable but they don't really need one. beginning stage they are swaddled and they don't really move so ok, but when they start moving, can be a bother too. Can go read up more to find out which you prefer and what is good.

here's one FYI
http://www.cyh.com/HealthTopics/HealthTopicDetails.aspx?p=114&np=305&id=1697

Angelxuan, yup all along Im going alone coz hubs on course this yr and he hardly can take leave. Anyway, Im ok with being alone.
Hee, coz he better be going today otherwise when I give birth, he don't even know where's TMC, Dr Loh's Clinic, etc...keke

Thanks Angelxuan, Luv! i do hope bb puts on weight too after all the durians food, etc.

Pierced, Luv, thanks for the advice. Makes sense to me now.

I think my hubby is quite keen to buy an infant pillow with a depression in the middle, he said that it helps to shape the skull after natural delivery, but we will see how it goes first. I find Bebe Mignon NB latex pillow is much flatter compared to Babysafe, so will most likely get Bebe Mignon if he wants. Otherwise, I like Luv's tip about using a folded clean cloth diaper.

I was so tempted to drive out to yoga just now when the rain stopped. Luckily i didn't! Now raining cats & dogs again!

Pierced, i m sure your baby will gain weight. Enjoy your lunch n appt.

Angel, think today better dont go to town, at the rate the rain is going, may flood orh...

Juvi, yes there's a cheap diaper shop at fernvale point. Should be the medical hall if I recall correctly. Walked pass it once and my hubby pointed out to me that his colleagues buy diapers there. Didn't compare prices though. Think someone told me that Ang Mo supermarket also sell cheaper diapers.

Bbjourney, yup not going liao.. Lesson has started anyway. Been talking to my baby about going for yoga and this morning he moved a lot, more than usual..maybe excited too. Now he's very quiet.. Oops! Not sure if he's disappointed or not..

Angel, maybe baby is sleeping. explain to baby that you cant go for yoga due to rain n safety reason. Eat something nice to perk baby up.

Thanks all for your opinions. Yea, hygiene more important. I will get the latex one then, thanks Tromso for the Babysafe recommendation!

Actually my latex pillow for bb is more to pat pat for security. When i was little, my grandma used to have a pillow on my chest too, for comforting. Is it safe to continue this practice?

But i also thot a pillow for bb head is good so that the head dont flatten and can support bb neck. My relatives bb dont have a pillow, end up the kid sleeps on 1 side of his head mostly and end up his head cant turn fully to the other side for quite a while. I scared the same thing.

Haizz so sad, hubby is gone again for another 3mths. Hope can seek comfort & company from the sisters here.

Kiki, congrats on your Oscar test.

MC, I know how you must be feeling but dun feel so bad cos my results was worse 1:154; mostly due to my age. I still have to time to decide if I want to see Dr Ananda but hubby is against it. He keeps telling me its just stats & that we have to stay positive. I am trying very hard but it is really not easy. Feel like just go without telling him...

Angel, maybe he is sleeping! I read that they can move alot 1 period and then sleep alot 1 period. Otherwise might be the way he is facing inside, if face your back then less movements, if face your tummy sure can feel his stunts!

Hi Lynn

i hv jus make an appt to see Dr Ananda on 17Jul. I felt that mine is a borderline case so might as well go seek 2nd opinionto an xin.. Cost wise, i check with the nurse is $380-480 per baby, so for me is x2... dunno can ask him jus do for baby2 only..haha..anyway, i can't do the amniocentesis test

how many weeks are u now? single or multiples?

MC, i think you can just do the camden scan for 1 baby. They raised their rates? When i last enquire in my 1st tri, they told me $360 per baby. Anyway in the end i also didnt go.

I am expecting only one & since we have been waiting so long for this miracle, we decided to keep no matter what. I am now 13 weeks 3days. I wish you all the best but am sure your babies are fine & healthy. If I really decide not to go for the camden scan, I will wait & hope the detailed scan will give us a better hope.

MC, your baby will be ok, like what others say it is only statistic. Just do further test @ Camden for better ease of mind. Also see what Dr Tan will advise you next week.

Tromso, Angel, then are you gals also getting bb mattresses from Babysafe? I havent research whether are cots all standard size like adult beds. If standard size then should be able to fit any cot.

Hi heartbeats. You mentioned that you didn't go for camden scan. Did you go for Amnio? Sorry if it's a bit personal.

Lynn, ya i did amnio instead last month, not so much just for down syndrome but for other genetic concerns.

If its just down syndrome concern, i will normally recommend the camden test first then amnio if the risk is still high.

Hi Angelxuan, I previously did some reading up on the baby latex brands offered in Singapore. Apparently only Babysafe is 100% natural latex, the other brands don't state this, meaning high chance could be synthetic latex. What's the issue with synthetic latex? Well, there's a lot of chemical used in producing the products being synthetic in nature. Hence, I personally don't prefer these.

I've also bought Babysafe latex mattress, probably about $100 or so more pricey than those other brands anti-bacteria, etc mattress. Same reasoning behind it, the latter will have been treated with more chemicals to achieve the 'anti this and that' condition, unlike 100% natural latex. Of course, most uses normal mattress and are fine with it. For me, I guess I just wish to prevent any allergies (sensitive skin if unlucky) and recycling of germs from baby's beddings.

Until the baby's immune system is build up and more settled, I'm gonna be a bit more kiasu

Of course nothing wrong with normal mattress too

Oh btw, the natural latex beanie is a bit smelly, latex smell loh.... I air them for about a week, under the shade (cannot sun them), so more bearable now.

Wish I could get my hands on the latex pellets and make them myself lol....cut throat pricing

Wow Tromso, u really do your homework!! Very diligent!!

Bbjourney, thanks! You mean u booked both scans together?? Like a bit too early to talk abt detailed scan leh.. The clinic only asked me abt OSCAR one so far. And only because all July slots taken up. So gotta act fast and book early Aug slot.

Pierced, the latex pellets are not tiny ones, about half cm long, round shaped, def can't be inhaled. Looking at the packaging now, it says:

- weighs 175g,
- pellets when tossed make no noise (unlike other bean husks) so baby can have uninterrupted sleep.
- Size: 15cm x 36cm
- made from molded 100% natural latex pellets that are cooling, lightweight, malleable and safe for NBs

I got it rrp $35 (before applying all sorta discounts) from Robinsons.

Disclaimer heee...can be bit smelly, latex smell, really need to air it....

Lynn, the pain is bearable, like ants bite. And you can go home same day, its outpatient. Results were out within 2 weeks. Cost i think about $600+ (i havent receive the invoice).

Same here Tromso, i also rather be more KS especially the first few months. Ok i shortlisted the whole bedding set from Babysafe!

heartbeats, u're very brave to do the amnio test. You did for both babies or just one? What can the test reveal other than Down's Syndrome probability?

Luv, lol....I'm very kiasu hor....actually fact is also that I have a lot of time on my hand, so with the convenience of iPad, I just spend my days reading and researching....either I kill time or I kill myself bored heee.....

Heartbeats, the Babysafe mattress should fit the standard size cot, 2 sizes for cot in general. But best you take note of the measurements too
Can shop around for these items too cos all Babysafe can costs a lot too, just sharing my read ups and views, may not be conclusive

Luv, the test reveals all chromosomes so as long as 23 pairs + gender pair and no translocations etc .. most major disorders can be ruled out. I have some genetic concerns thats why.

Yup Tromso, will look around also but already made a note of Babysafe series in my bb items spreadsheet.

Angel, luckily you didn't go yoga, Forum shopping mall's basement carpark is notorious for flooding
That's why I never drive there.

I've also bought a Babysafe pillow (with the dimple in middle) and I'm aware may not be appropriate for NBs. I'm just gonna use it as standbys in case baby decides to sleep only on 1 side then can use pillow to reposition head after 2 mths old. Happened to my niece, her head was lopsided very badly
We thought may need to wear those head gear to reshape head (otherwise may affect growth of brain) but luckily dr deemed no need yet. Babies are really a handful grrrr.......

For bolsters right....there is this theory (my FIL's) that, after baby has been swaddled, inside the cot, can cover the swaddled baby with a light clothe, then put 1 bolster on each side of the clothe to 'weigh' it down. Aim is to give baby more sense of security - tightness. I may try this out if baby doesn't settle well.

Angel, I've bought the Mothercare blanket with holes. Is there other alternatives out there? Robinsons used to have it under the Core Kids bedding range but not anymore, supposed to be softer and better, organic too, same price some more. I feel the MC one is so-so, actually the sides fray a bit after wash, I half expected this cos I read the mummies reviews in MC uk and Oz, both said same thing....

Just to share on Bean husk pillow. Try to get a longer pillow. My boy is very active during sleep and will kick until the pillow cover his face. Finally found one brand Bon Bon at Taka about $18+ (beads I think) that is of the right length and weight. Pillow cannnot be too light.

I started with just folded nappy for my boy but as he has sensative nose, cannot sleep well until we got a donut pillow for him. With the pillow, he sleeps better and additional bonus he got a nice round head.

Mothers, my boy is 4 mths old and takes 140ML 5-6 feeds a day. Is he taking too little?

Luv, my amnio results were ok, all cleared. Thank God!! Erm, sorry i am not comfy revealing in a public forum, especially not before consulting my hb first whether can reveal. And but anyway its not something common so generally not a concern for most people so i also dont want to cause undue worry here.

Same lor Tromso, my relative's kid can only turn head to left for a while cos always sleeping 1 side, very scary. Though it was corrected as he grew, i think we need to help bb position their heads, take turns to sleep both sides.

Heartbeats, thanks for sharing. It keeps me at ease knowing it is not as painful as others had said if I decide to do the Amnio. I think the scariest part is knowing the results.

Lynn, there is an express option that will reveal partial results within 3 days instead of 2 weeks. But since its partial, it wont rest all our worries so best still to wait out the 2 weeks to get comprehensive results. Why 2 weeks is becos they need to grow the amniotic sample in lab and culture before genes can be tested.

heartbeats, sure, no worries! What's most important is that your results came back good! So you can enjoy the rest of your pregnancy and look forward to motherhood now!

Yeah, my doc did mention about the 3days results (FISH) but like you said it's not very detailed. I hope the test has made you & hubby's heart at ease about the health of your lovely babies.

Heartbeats, good to know that your test results are good
Twins do present a bit more challenges but not forgetting twice the joy too

We did try to reposition her head but will always auto sleep on the preferred side, we felt quite helpless. Then relatives and friends visiting will comment on the lopsided-ness, wow...very heart pain
She also has colic then, so we were quite soft hearted, didn't want to disturb her sleeps. But now luckily all nice and round, through my sis's strong intervention, phew!!

Jude, thanks for sharing. Now that you mentioned, my mum also combines 2 bean husks beanie into 1, making it more compact and longer.