(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Bbjourney, dim sum cravings satisfied? I still haven't satisfy my craving for laksa. Actually I miss the laksa at Raffles Hotel...

Angel, good idea to drive thru. I will avoid going out when it is raining cos scare i the floor slippery. Yes craving satisfied. I was eyeing the durian at cold storage just now. Hiak hiak hiak... @winkz winkz@

Raffles laksa nice ah?

Baby journey, yup it's raining.

Angelxuan, ya luckily now not so bad. My place has koufu and kopitiam but food so-so.i just took lrt to compass pt again to buy food instead. More convenient since all the way sheltered from my place.
Good to drive thru and buy macs instead of venturing other places.

Yah, I find it very nice. I miss it... :p

Pierced, I don't know what to eat at Compasspoint anymore.

j03- congrats on the birth of ur bb twins!. sorry i lost my HP, in case you sms me and i din respond. have you been discharged? ur bb are good weight, sure they are doing fine now. =P

your wish has finally come true, after so much hard work and effort. enjoy your bbs and try to rest more. your back has been through alot of strain and stress. try not to bend too much. i had some backache for quite a while before it subsided.

Angelxuan, ya quite boring there too it at least a better choice than the coffee shop food downstairs. Hee...
I didn't know raffles hotel Laksa is nice. See if have chance to try it some day.

Tanny, I love the beef horfun, fried rice, xin Zhou mi fen at Amoy st.... But the q v long. The uncle give extra Helping to preggy woman. That's my personal view. When I was preggy the aunty let me cut q. I agree tanjong pagar food is not interesting

Where, Catherine? Which part of Amoy - Amoy market?

Angelxuan : wow u sure hv good appetite - nuggets n cheese burger!

Pierced, talking about ba zhang, I've frozen quite a few and eating on and off when I'm too lazy to go out for lunch. Other frozen 'delicacies' are pizza, fan choy and buns. Been getting lesser and lesser motivation to walk outta house now lol...

Ribs pain today was quite bad, on and off, napping and woken up feeling the ouch and some needles pricking pains too. Just give mummy 2 more weeks dear baby...

Luv, I took an tai yao too, just swallow it all down in 10 seconds normally, holding my breath. It's better to take after meals and have to trial and error which part of day is better for you. For me, I can't take during late afternoon, will cause 1 off LS, so I usu take at night or right after lunch. My SIL ised to throw out her an tai yao too but bo bian, continued with it too. Tough...mind over body.

luv...i puke after drinking an tai yao most of the time but dr zou say its ok cos the amt u puke is definitely lesser than yr intake.

btw, i decided to go with PEM..hope i will be heng to get a gd CL..

Tromso, me too, really too lazy sometimes to step it of the house just to get lunch. I will eat bread, pizza, etc in my fridge. I have pasta too just that sometimes lazy to warm up the sauce as well, esp it's just me alone eating,

Mine is the left ribs, and left lower back pain... Must have strained it somehow, just hope it will get better soon.

Today I went to see Dr M & she say it not water leakage cos if it leakage it will still leak and not dry. Yest the nurse use her finger to poke rite into my V then I hv some light brown discharge then just now also hv. I wonder is it due to her poking my V that cos the light brown discharge.

I also book 17/07 for my c-sec but if my bag burst before that then I will go try natural so nw all leave to my bb to decide what she wa le. Today also mark my last day of work for the next 4 mths. I really hope my bb can wait till 17. But don't kw why I got the feeling she will come before 17. I am like 1 week more to 37 weeks.

Tromso and mc, thanks. I still didn't have the courage to take the an tai yao today. Maybe tomorrow!

mc, let us know how ur experience with PEM and the CL goes!

Faithfully, I tried not to take too much ginger during my last confinement cos i read that it'll tax the baby's kidneys and increase the risk of jaundice. I also avoided wine in my food,tho it's said to be good for the mum.

Faithfully, can still take ginger , but not in large amounts if ur bb has jaundice at the start.
Anyway, breastfed babies are prone to jaundice due to something in bm, plus coz due to infrequent feeding at the start. So it's not the ginger alone,
For #1, starting I didn't take much coz of her jaundice, after her jaundice cleared, I eat as normal for ginger and rice wine during my confinement and she was ok. Rice wine is cooked with food.

Tanny, haha..I felt very hungry during lunch. Ate too much! Still felt full when dinner came and only had half a bowl of porridge.

Catherine, talking about horfan..feel like eating it..hehe..Aiyah.. I worked at Shenton Way near Amoy hawker centre for many years but never tried Good Day before.

Ladies, this afternoon I spoke to an insurance agent and found out that it's easier for a new born to be accepted for H&S insurance coverage if he/she is born after 36 weeks i.e, more difficult for pre-mature babies unless have a good weight (at least 2.5 kg if I am not wrong). All proposals will still be subjected to underwriting of course.

FYI, Taka baby fair starts on 18 July!
http://www.takashimaya-sin.com/events_promotions/

Catherine n Angel, Hmmmm... Horfan... But i bought ingrdients for my lunch tomorrow liao...

Just now hubby ask me can buy clothing for baby already cos he saw a romper he likes very much just now. Cos earlier i told him i will start buying only after 28 weeks. I told him to go ahead n buy ifhe really likes it. Heheheh

MC, u still seeing Dr Zuo? Been 2 weeks since I saw her. Am thinking whether shld go see her this week or not. Heard from Throll that you are going for Oscar scan tomorrow. What time is yours? Mine is at 10.30 am

Bbjourney, it's rare that daddy would initiate to buy clothes for bb. Yr hubby is great!!!

Angel u should try gd day. The hor fun make me drool.... That uncle start preparing around 7+ cook rice slice beef, soak her hoon etc. I have my breakfast at Amoy st too he always smile at me and give me seat. V v friendly uncle. Must go b4 6.30pm to tabao if u want to buy dinner. Heehee Chris and I were talking about bb fair. I m gg on 18th during lunch time.

Bbjourney, yah just go ahead and let him buy.

Catherine, where exactly is Good Day stall har? Level 1 or 2? At the end or middle? I am planning to go Taka on 18th to check out the fair too! :p

Good day? Sells what type of food? Beef noodle only? Hmmm must go n try then while I still can walk to Amoy. Which floor? Which end? The lor mee end?

Hmm dunno when my bb will come but I hope at 40 weeks or 41 - hahhaa.. Feeling she will be overdue but I dun wan her to be too overdue! Now feeling a big of stuffy nose - bad bad! Hope its not running nose.. Should i start drinking some ginger tea or what?

Wanting for bb to come later then I can return to work after Xmas which my boss prefers not to cos wan me to go back and rush for year end.

Faithfully : hope bb stays in longer for u..

Hmm wonder should I start to buy fernugreek and that sacred tea (to help boost nursing)? By then sure not free to buy..

Babyjourney so you havent buy anything? Me too planning to buy only after 28 weeks, same time as you. Now i am doing research and compiling the list of over 100 items needed! Giddy liao~

Tanny, i thought fenugreek dr can prescribe and hospital pharmacy can get when you birth? Or am i wrong? Thanks for mentioning, i gotta add this to my shopping list too.

Mummies, re eating cordyceps, how do you all cook and eat? If grind the worms to powder and just take spoonfuls per day can? How much to take per day?

My birdnest is bottled kind, is that ok or better to really get the unprocessed kind?

Heartbeat, if u grind powder n take daily then quantity is the size of the plastic disposal coffee/tea stirrer. I took both fresh n bottled bird nest. Bottled one I took EYS brand as no preservative n caramel n I can take as often as 4-5x a wk! Cooked one once wkly or bi wkly. I took coffee daily too! FYI, belle was v rosy when born n now she is v fair!

Baby warmer - SG is too hot! Swaddle up the bb n sleep in non air con room for first mth r gd enough. Well, bb will still get colic even if u keep tummy warm, Ruyi oil, etc...,

Fenugreek get fr dr Loh after delivery. Tell him n ask hub to walk over to his clinic n take. He will generally prescribe another supplement too.

My mum cooks cordecypts with pork. I will eat everything Including drinking the soup n "worm". My mum will put abt 7-8 worms. Dun use stainless pot to cool any herbs hor.. If not the gd effects all neutralized.

Pierced, the play mat is coming tomorrow! I m going to get more toys for belle too. So that she can play on the mat! Hehehe

Oooo thanks Hazel, then thats convenient! Cordyceps powder easier than have to cook, bottled birdnest i have tonnes due to gifts, will keep in mind the EYS when i finished, fenugreek just ask dr Loh, how convenient!

Is it too late if i start cordyceps, birdnest after 28 weeks? I intend to alternate them, one day eat one item.

Ok, noted about the cooking method for cordyceps, thanks!

Catherine and Angel, yes i already asked hubby to buy the romper since he likes it so much.

Heartbeats, yes i hv not buy anything yet. My sis will give me some hand-me-down too, which i hv also request to be pass to me after 28weeks. :p

Heartbeat, the best time to take cordycepts is actually is in final tri if u wan the gd effects to go to bb. Earlier than that mummy will absorb more. Increase the frequently to weekly a few wks before ur edd. I swear by the goodness of cordecypts.. Even my friends Who took for 2nd bb said so when they compare to no 1 where they didn't take. Continue with cordcyept after bb is Born and menses hv stopped if u r nursing for the first few mths. It not only nourish u but all bb. But having menses dun take coz the nutrients will be lost thru the bleeding.

Make sure u get a reliable tcm/physican to grind the cordcycept. Dun contaminate them.

Pierced, just receive a SMS, the mat is coming tonight!! Super fast n good service! Thumbs up!

Hi Heartbeats, actually our body absorbs the cordyceps better (or any tcm herbs) when brewed in water compared to powder form. Cos as you can imagine the water 'particles' are much much smaller than powder, hence body absorbs the 'essence' better, that's what I've heard from few tcm shops and my tcm dr.

For myself, I just brew cordyceps alone with pao sheng. Cordyceps good for immune system and lungs, liver, kidney. Pao Sheng is for bu qi. Can add pork too if find it too awful just herbs water alone but bearing in mind some of the effects will have gone into the pork. Hence if brewing it with pork, best to drink and eat it all up.

I usually brew at 11pm and wake up at 2am to drink it. But can also take it before going to bed.

kikigal...i am still seeing dr zou weekly..still having ms so still need the an tai med. she says once i can eat normally den no need take med le.

my oscar appt at 11.15am but the nurse ask me go earlier..hope to see u there and hope gd results for both of us..

i have no hand-me-down.. already bgt some NB clothing from kiddypalace coz they were having 20% discount.. yday, one colleague from hr divn saw me and exclaimed "wow, so big!! wow, really big! twins is it, is it??"... hate it! need to exclaim so loudly meh.. never consider my feelings.. wanted to shut her off she still pursued "twins is it?".. i told her "hey, dont keep commenting v big, bb will feel 'hurt'"..

i am looking fwd to taka bb fair and baby expo... i am getting too heavy to move around too much liao.. btw, i v lazy to eat tonic.. u gals v hardworking..

told my boss i'd like to take 3mths NPL after my maternity leave.. (she cant say "no" coz she took 2 years' NPL a couple of years ago).. my big boss came to know abt it and started her cheap bargaining with me.. to cut it short, she concluded for me "all in, 6 mths enough!" that means, after 4 mths' maternity and clearing my annual leave (b4 i can take NPL) maybe the most can only take 1 mth's NPL? u think its too much to take 3 mths? she "forced" me to say OK but i will stand firm... if she raised the subject again, i will tell her.. each bb mother gets 4 mths' ML.. me two bbs also 4 mths, and i make up the other 4 mths with my own leave also cant ah?

Tromso, how come u have to wake up at 2am to drink?

cock cock, stand by your ground. Hope your boss will understand eventually.

mc and kiki, good luck for your OSCAR!

heartbeats, regarding tummy warmer, if u really wanna buy, be careful abt the size. I bought one and realised that it's too small for baby's tummy. End up wasted!

thanks luv. she is like that one... she may be happy for me, but in the end, she views work as the most impt thing.. she is a workaholic and control freak.. i think she depends a lot on me (sorry hor, this one is "self-praised") so she want me to go back early... i used to put high priority on work.. but work got to take a backseat now (i dont have the energy which i used to have in my younger days, sacrificing my wkns for 2-3mths, working v late into the nights and occasionally overnights).. if only hubby can earn enough to support family, i really dont feel like working, at least for a few years... but no choice, expenses will jump dont know how many folds.. got to save for future too..

Haaa...Luv, stomach most empty then mah...technically best absorption. My cousin in law does it and recommended to me, so I follow suit, since I usually get up around this time to pee too.

Re alcohol in food right (saw someone writing about it earlier), I heard on radio yesterday that, latest research shows that alcohol added to food that's been cooked together for about 1 hr, still retains about 70-80% alcohol. Cooked for 3-4hrs, alcohol content about 5% left. I'm still in 2 minds about alcohol in confinement food or not.... Also the Dom thing, to drink or not...

Any advice ladies?

LuvNhope, our body absorb better in the wee hours! I always take cordycept first thing in the morning, with an empty stomach. Same reasoning, absorption is better.

If take powder form must drink lots of fluid! Yes, for better absorption too... Same with an empty stomach where possible

Faithfully, I also get the brown discharge each time I get scan via V
I've asked dr and was told it's fine. But if you are concerned, like becomes red discharge, do consult dr. JY to your 17 Jul goal

As for ginger....gosh, hair splitting dilemma
I've spoken to my TCM dr, she recommends 1 piece of ginger in the red dates drink if concern about getting rid of wind, but nothing more. I'll see how the jaundice condition goes, may even go without ginger for worst case scenario...*touchwood*

Ok, noted Hazel, i definitely will take cordyceps later on in 3rd tri. I usually buy my tonics stuff from Hock Hua.

Thanks Tromso. I wish to brew too but i am totally clueless how to. Maybe just boil water, throw in some pork ribs then cordyceps powder and drink like soup?

CockCock, your boss knows you have twins so ya i also feel stand firm and can hint to her you have double handful to manage and nobody can help thats why need longer leave first 6 months. Mine also very dependant on me, i wanted to quit then she relented and let me telecommute instead. Now i thinking to quit after ML. Hey, you be delivering before me, so when you in ML, i will probably be shopping for bb, anything you lack, i can help you buy!

Orh thanks Luv for the belly cover note. Your gal very chubby! Too small means cannot velcro but can tuck in her pants mah, why wasted?

MC, hope to catch you at KKH. Good results to you too ^^

Thanks Luv for your well wishes.

Does anyone have motion sickness during their pregnancy? Any way to ease the motion sickness? Think BB hate car rides, esp traffic jam. Had a tough ride getting here today.

Hi Luv, where do you get the tummy warmer for baby? Looks more useful than beanie

Angel...I find it very weird that lighter than 2.5kg babies are considered lesser for insurance too. Actually many books and resources say that babies below 2.5kg are considered to have lower immunity, etc. But these are USA prints, Asians are normally lighter and have seen so many 2-2.5kg NBs, no issues whatsoever. Looks like the insurance companies have decided to adhere to the Caucasian NBs standards

Bbjourney, my mentality with baby purchases is, if in the end realised that have bought in excess, can use as gifts for friends' first month gifts heee.....especially baby clothes
I'm mostly getting preloved clothes fr sis, has over 200 pcs baby clothes and many are brand new. Unfortunately my 'bad eye' had caused me to acquire some Carters rompers and when doing my final stocktake other day, I've decided that there is way tooooo many 0-6 mths baby clothes
ok, first month gifts it is....heh....

Btw I really like the Carter's hankies
Larger than Gerber sort, slightly thicker and softer than the grocery shop ones. May be slightly larger than the grocery shop ones too.

Faithfully, the nurse put her finger in yeaterday n today dr M did some checking at the vagina also? And u saw some brown discharge? Pls watch out for contractions or any other sign of labour then. Based on what u describe, seem like VE. That may bring forward the arrival of bb for some depending how deep the check is. Thats why I say try not to be overly Gan Cheong that bb is arriving. Coz the dr n nurses will do VE check n that can induce labour in the next few days after the check for some. Thats why Under normal circumstances, VE is done only at 37w or after when bb is full term.

heartbeats, my gal wasn't very big at birth leh. Only 2.78kg. But babies' tummies are usually bigger, heheh.. Oh yeah hor, how come i didn't think of just tucking it in?? Silly me...

Tromso, bought at Kiddy Palace if i remember correctly? Or if not, Robinsons? But get bigger size if u can. I think mine was Tollyjoy brand, too small liao.

Wow!! 200 over pcs of baby clothes!!! Hats off to you!

cock cock, if u're valued by ur company, they will think of ways to keep you! Dun worry!

Hazel, thks! Will take note to drink on empty stomach when the time comes.

Kiki, would sucking on a sweet while travelling help?

Mustered the courage to take my an tai yao. Hope it stays inside me!!

Btw, ladies, does your an tai yao change as you progress in your pregnancy?