(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi Sue, you can buy waterproof & breathable fitted cot sheet at Mums R Us at United Square or Marine Parade. The brand is Cumfysafe. For the standard size, I bought 2 for $36 during the last Motherhood Fair at Expo.

Tromso, hee actually i tot switz was lovely bef i visited but after driving around, i prefer austria, many lovely places to visit like switz but cheaper and much more to see compared to switz. just that we are not really exposed to austria compared to switz.

many of the germans always wonder why we sgporeans like switz while they prefer austria. i now understand why.

I don't fancy PP here much too coz i find the prices quite steep. overseas its much cheaper. but must take note of the cutting coz my gal on the bigger side and she cant fit alot of the clothes.

Carters my hubby bought a lot of the bodysuits from Bandung from his last visit. I have too many liao! I dont use so many of the bodysuits! Think i can start passing around next time. Also, carters having online sales now!
Next time we can start spreeing together online! i bought 1 batch the other time.

No problems Sue

Hi Angelxuan, if don't do shopping now, I'm afraid no more shopping soon
It's also nice to loiter around, enjoy the no crowd and guilt free air con, take it as exercise too, may help with delivery
But stamina really getting quite lousy now, resting every hour or so. How are you? Haven't heard fr you for a bit now...feeling the movements and kicks more?

Yes, I've realised it's so much less pricey to buy bb/ kids clothes online, I just saw Carter's rrp is $50+ too hmm....

My gf says durability wise, Fox and Carter's are better. Baby Gap tends to get outta shape and Pumpkin fades faster. I bought some tees at Gap earlier (for confinement use) and indeed outta shape after wash but not too obvious fortunately (if lay down the tees flat, the sides don't line up, out by abt 1 inch).

Hi Tromso, I had a busy last week cleaning & tidying up my house and converting my spare room from a "warehouse" to a proper guest room for my friend to stay over. Feel pleased that the spare room is now well cleaned up to be my baby's room in a few months time.
. Now free to laze around and shop around too.
Maybe we can go shopping together. :p

Can feel baby movements better but don't feel that I experience real kicks..the best is just gentle poppings.. Maybe it's because my placenta position is anterior.

Hi Luv
Reason of bringing pump there so tt hope the LC there can help to check is the breast shield suit me and also to stimulate the milk to come earlier since first 2 days usually no milk for bbies, oso worry due to csection wound n may not be able to carry bbies first two days to let them suck.. Not bec worry of premature bbies n cant suck nah.. ;) Thks for ur advise on sterilizing it though.. Will see how by then..

Hi sasha
I did my first ctg scan on wk34 scan too n takes around an hr plus..;) just wonder will Doc Loh do ctg for ever scan now or only depends on situation? Any advise fr experience mummies like Hazel, Chris who r under Doc Loh?

Hi tromso
Feel like u r a rich tai tai n can go around shopping.. Hee..me now is home bounded as both leg easily get water retention after walk for half hr..
Btw, i already submit the preadmission form to the first floor counter, but didnt get anything fr them, is it correct? Find it funny as hv no document to give to them when i want to admit neh.. N some say get the form fr Sf loh who will write our preferred pd on it but my form is get fr the hospital after the tour.. So is it the same form? Puzzled..

Oh, btw, need medical record mah, thot hospital shd hv all our record, is it really necessary to still get fr Doc Loh separately?

Hi cock
No worries, bbies will grow well.. Dun care how much weight u hv put on k.. We can slim down via bf later..;) i start get HL fr Doc Loh fr wk33 onwards to rest well since getting too heavy to walk around..;) soon will be ur turn in thurd trimester.. Excited huh..;)

Hi pierced
Ya no worries, ur bb weight will increase in ur next scan.. Btw, when is ur next scan? In the mean time, eat more n rest well ya..

Jo3, I see. But dun worry too much abt no milk for baby at first. The colostrum that comes b4 the milk is very good nutrition for the baby!! Shld let them drink it too!

Hi Joanne, no rich tai tai, not even tai tai...lol... most shopping trips are mere window shopping, njoy air con, eat and eat
But must admit I overspent today at Tangs, as I really like their fashion wear, very gd materials (like Robinsons) but 50-70% off so couldn't resist de, bad eyes. Have to go hawker/ foodcourt food for the next few weeks

The pre admission form, it's the same as the 1 we get fr hospital tour. You should have received a letter fr tmc (after 1-2 weeks I think) after submitting the form post your hosp tour. It's the same form as what dr Loh's clinic gives to patients.

For medical records, I simply followed what Hazel/ Catherine/ Chris etc. batch does then. I don't think tmc has our medical records unless dr Loh's system is linked to tmc. You may also like to confirm with dr Loh during your next visit.

Btw the ctg, will we all be doing it during our scans to come or only during labour??

Hi tromso
No.. I didnt receive anything fr tmc by post leh.. I even go to their counter to confirm with them n they say we wun receive any form neh.. So i really confuse why u gals can get Doc Loh chop while i dun hv? I even asks doc Loh before whether they need to do anything for admission purpose n he n sandra say no need.. Puzzled now.. Think will check again on my next checkup.. So urs gonna be biweekly scan fr now on?
For ctg, usually will do it near to labour time to check on bbies hb rate.. It check on contraction n whether there is any contraction too. Then labour time will oso do.. . Am just not sure for doc Loh, will we be doing it for every checkup now since i already start doing it??

Dear Tromso,
I also wanna go shopping cos haven't finish buying stuff yet. But walk a bit, tummy will tighten. Still, tmr I wanna walk a bit, lol. Mothercare still having sale or not huh? Do u know?

Dear j03,
I requested for ctg every time I go from now on and dr Loh says ok if I want. I kiasu la. Lol. Usually ctg if we sense less baby movements I think. But for me, I just wanna do every time. I think it's abt $40 plus per ctg.

Did any of u get any 3d photo from dr Loh free huh? I wonder which week is a good week to get such a photo? I'm 33 weeks going on 34 weeks now
seeing him this Friday. Every Friday from now on, in fact.

Hi Luv
Sure.. Will still try latch bbies on, hope i wun miss any colostrum for them too...;)

Hi sasha
I see... Wonder if u no request, will he make it a must for every checkup near to delivery? Ya, my hb pay around $40 for last week ctg.. Doc Loh got try to scan 3D for one of my bb few wks ago but too cramp inside so he didnt print out any photos for me.. Luckily my hb got take video down thru out the scan using camera...

Joanne, Tromso, what pre admission form is that? I dun have any and din submit Any form. I juz tell gynae nurse my room pref that's all. On day of delivery i m ask to go labour ward, hubby does the admission, and i juz give my gynae card and ic to him. U gals sound like its v complicated... mayb my gynae nurse did all ....

Joanne, thanks for clarifying ctg. Alrigh will be looking forward to it. The pre admission form, I did receive snail mail reply from TMC and my edd was incorrect so I call up to update it. If in doubt, you can chk with TMC if indeed have your records in the system, this should do the trick
btw when I was at Dr Loh's clinic last night, the recep passed me the same pre admission form and stamped on it but it's redundant for me since I've already submitted previously. Maybe Sandra knows your pre admission records are with TMC now, so suggested you don't need it? Good to confirm with TMC...

Sashamama, no shopping for you de....tightening already, must rest ample at home
I'm not too sure if Mothercare still have sale, last I checked was weeks ago, maybe you can call up and check with them before you head down. Try asking them specifics, like what discounts for NBs, babies etc products cos last I saw, very little discounts. But as GSS progresses, maybe discounts have gotten better

Angelxuan, kudos to you!! Successfully transformed your 'warehouse'
My place is still a bit stuck, still looking for rooms for the extra items, think will have to wait till post delivery then I'll start work, now really can't do/ move much. How long will your friend be staying with you?

Shopping sure
But I'll be 35 week this Sunday, if I'm still mobile after that, I'll certainly come along

Sashamama, you may like to request for 3D scan asap especially if the baby's head is down. I had mine done 2 weeks ago and was already quite hard to scan cos baby head was very close to pelvic area. As baby is already quite big, can only get 3D pix for the head, not the entire body.

Actually took us a while to get the scan done cos baby was initially back facing the scanner, then we waited for her to turned around, then dr Loh reckons looks scary cos front view captures the skeleton structure, so waited for her to turn to her side and voila!!

Hope you'll manage to get a good 3D scan on your next visit, remember to tell your baby to be corporative

Sashamama, you may like to request for 3D scan asap especially if the baby's head is down. I had mine done 2 weeks ago and was already quite hard to scan cos baby head was very close to pelvic area. As baby is already quite big, can only get 3D pix for the head, not the entire body.

Actually took us a while to get the scan done cos baby was initially back facing the scanner, then we waited for her to turned around, then dr Loh reckons looks scary cos front view captures the skeleton structure, so waited for her to turn to her side and voila!!

Hope you'll manage to get a good 3D scan on your next visit, remember to tell your baby to be corporative

Catherine, that's the one loh....stating room preference, also states emergency contact other than hubby's contact, etc. Maybe Dr Loh's procedure not in place yet, so much running around for us, trying to get info

Tromso, your baby weight is same as mine when I was in my 34wks. Dr Loh said it's good weight

I also didn't get any post from TMC. Have submitted my pre-admission form for quite sometimes already, they only made a copy n passed me the copy form. Two weeks ago I checked with the counter again, and they said since I hv submitted then it's already confirmed.

Sasha, I had the 3d scan in my 32wks. Can see bb face side view only. Two weeks ago, asked Dr to do 3d scan again. He said can't see bb face as she is facing back hehe.

Dr Loh also gave me a form with his handwriting on it. But not done yet he said, he will fill in somemore info during my next check up.

Joanne, Dun worry about no milk coming in yet. I didnt have too for #1, but still manage and i didnt even bring pump during that time. Im seeing Dr Loh next week, so it's bi-weekly from now?

Sasha, u seeing dr loh too next fri, Mine is next Thurs noon. hee!

I don't like to be hooked up to the CTG... esp during labour time so u cant move around freely anymore and u are stuck to the bed, waiting for the time to deliver. everything done on bed, pee etc. sian...

Tromso, looks like next visit I must start asking for the pre-admission form then since i didnt go for the tour. So the counter admin will give us the same form and I fill it up and pass to the TMC side??

Hi Baby, we seems to be on the same page
same baby weight, settled pre admission form and medical records (I think the handwriting form is medical records, pink color form right...), same side view face scan pix...lol
I think he charges $10 extra for 3D, so I probably won't request for another. You should be 36 weeks now right, 1 more to go, JY...!!

I realized I had burning sensations in the throat other night, I thought it's sore throat. Ended up it's heart burn
I thought heartburn is only in the chest but I guess since the tummy is higher up now, so is the reflux, really have to be more careful with food now.

How are you feeling now?

Hi Pierced, you can get the pre admission form fr dr Loh's clinic (recep), fill it in and hand over to TMC registration counter at L1, not sure if dr Loh's clinic will accept on behalf.

Yes yes, it's the pink color one hehe. 1 more week to go to full term, now 36wks. Yup, don't think will ask for 3d scan anymore. I'm also still doing the pelvic floor exercise. Thanks for your tips the other time. Now can do up to 100times.

I'm not sure if heartburn, but I hv slight difficulty to breath now especially if lie flat. Need to raise my head higher when laying down. Can't slp too long n can't walk too long.

So good that you can rest at home now. HL till bb born? Me still working till mid of July, which is in my wk39 already hehe.
This weekend I will receive the baby cot, car seat n stroller. So excited hehe.

Did u buy any FM for baby incase if no BM? My colleague told me can just get samples from hospital first upon discharge. Not sure TMC will give or not.

Tromso, I see, more legwork next visit. Better to settle everything then otherwise will start panicking. Not much time left. Hee... Too laid back.

Think most mummies here are due in Jul, end aug like only me? Hehe

Hazel, hee, ya for bb's sake, have to be hooked up.

Baby, I heard nowadays hospitals don't give infant fm samples coz they want to promote bf. u might want to check to be sure.

Pierced, yes I'm planning to check with TMC during my next check up. Just afraid that no BM n bb will feel hungry. No worries, soon will be your turn to pop healthy n cute baby.

J03, dr Loh will call for ctg when need be. Not every visit will do. I nv did any until I was warded though dr Loh said will do. Coz after scanning he was happy with bb's weight gain he said no need to do.

Pte clinic is not linked to pte hospital. Unlike KKH we dub need to request for anything. Warded KKH nurse/duty dr pull fr system will hv access to our records. Hard copies n all scans r in the hard copy files. So, if u dun hv any document papers at pt of admission, TMC will not know who ur gynae is or wat drugs u r taking or allergy to, etc when u give them the nric. They will ask u for all these details. When I was warded, I was not in labour or in pain so I can provide all these info. I hv the Pre admission signed n chop by dr Loh, I kept a copy when i submitted to TMC a few wks b4 delivery. But TMC did not hv my medical history, record, does not know I m still on aspirins, etc until they asked me! The nurse told me dr Loh shld give me a medical info form!

Anyway, can't Blame dr Loh also. He worked in KKH previously n he didn't hv to bother with all these paper works.. But 6 mths into his new clinic, I thought he shld know pte practices by now?! Haiz...

Hospitals no longer give stage 1 fm for free. No BM bb wants fm, got to pay! 1 bottle of pre mixed fm cost abt $1. New Bb only drinks alittle, after that the whole bottle is discarded. Every time bb wan to drink a new bottle is given. All thanks to govt.. promotes bf....

Baby, for first few days, bo normally nurse for comfort and latch on 2-3 hrs every time. I didn't get any fm to supplement for #1 coz I didn't want to mix plus they said it might cause confusion Plus fm makes them fuller so they don't want to latch as often, so u might need to keep pumping to help establish milk flow. Latching on is the best way to help,

Hazel, ya so used to the style of Kk like u said, private clinics really different so we have to learn a lot. Now I know cannot be so slack like when I was in Kk giving birth,
So means every visit I will have more to ask him, hee...

Tromso, my friend left already. With so much time on hand now, got to find activities to keep occupied. On for gai gai anytime (except weekend). I can also tag along with you if you have an itinerary.

Baby, I suspect the difficulty in breathing is due to lungs being compressed, sigh....everything inside is being squeezed tightly now. I do start to get numbness in arms sometimes when I sleep in my sides, although I drink 3 glasses of milk each day, baby must be stealing all the calcium from me.

Yes, I've bought a tin of formula milk as backup

Baby, I'm not on HL, I'm very slack, not working now. So hoping can take it easy after childbirth and hopefully spend more time with baby, hope I don't go insane as a result lol...

I read that newborns on first few days only need few teaspoons of colostrums each feed, as they have enough reserves stored in their bodies. So theoretically we should have colostrum upon childbirth, I guess...no??

My mum also felt no point bringing breastpump and sterilizer to hospital but guess I'll just bring them, at most will end up as white elephant, no sweat

Hazel, I suspect maybe not that dr Loh is not clued on about the tmc procedures, my guess is perhaps he prefers to provide us with the pre admission form and medical records when we hit 37 weeks, maybe? But for kangchiong mtbs like some of us, it's good to get everythg in order, just in case
But he certainly still need to tighten the procedures I feel or give some assurance on the paperworks part.

Nonetheless, I really feel reassured that I'll be in good (actually great) hands when it comes to delivery, so all the legwork is worth it
It's indeed a great feeling knowing that you can trust someone's judgment, like dr Loh's completely. Pregnancy in itself really has too much uncertainties, seriously can't wait to hold the healthy baby in my arms....

okay...this is what the What to Expact book says:

- the first feeding, baby will require average less than half teaspoon of colostrum
- by 3rd day, baby will require less than 3 teaspoon per feeding over 10 feeds

Looks quite modest and low maintenance

Tromso, anyway, the fm is small tin so even if u don't use it's not so bad. Colostrum is the initial part before the milk flow comes. Thsat's the good part where help bb fight immunities. There's plenty of colostrum supplements from animals to give kids for immunity in the shops.
Sure to have colostrum first that's why we get bbs to latch on at the start.

Angelxuan, think latching on for newborns shouldn't be a prob unless they have some issues or preemie? And there's LC avail for us in the hosp to call for help. So latching at the start shouldn't be an issue.

Here's something for u gals to read, though it's probably much repeated as well in the antenatal classes.
http://www.breastfeedingbasics.com/articles/establishing-your-milk-supply-starting-out-right

Anyway, we all try our best at bf but don't be discouraged if u really can't. I did face some difficulties with milk supply and having no milk at the start too. some of my friends really cannot and it's not wrong to give bb fm too.

Ok main thing I learnt from #1 experience was to have a chart everyday, I took down the no of times she pee, poo, feeds, etc till quite big coz beginning there was experience with jaundice, gg to hospital and back, so to track whether she was drinking enough, I track the no of times she wet her diapers etc.

Newborn needs to be taught how to latch m suckle! Yes, they do not know immediately at birth. Also we need to open the milk ducts n massage before colostrum or milk flow comes. So ask for a LC after delivery.

Pierced, thks for that lovely revision on bfg for me!
I'm also glad I din give up on bf even tho my supply wasn't fantastic. Great bonding experience with baby that I couldn't bear to stop till one yr plus later when I seemed to keep getting what I suspected was mastitis. Hope can do better job with #2!

Thanks for the advice, LC is the magic word then

For my sis case, bb didn't wish to latch on then and since low-ish birth weight 2.2kg, she chosen fm whilst in hospital. I heard baby will lose weight in the first couple of weeks and if drops below 2kg, needs to be admitted. So it's good to monitor bm, latching effects on birth weight too I guess, for those lighter little angels

Oh, since uses fm in hospital, her bb decided not to latch on after that, hence bm was expressed and bottle fed to bb. Indeed good idea to shun fr fm at hosp if possible. Have to judge on case by case basis too...

Tromso, at TMC, if u indicate that you wish to BF, usually even if they feed FM they'll feed by cup or teaspoon etc, never with a bottle. Did the nurses give ur niece FM with a bottle?

heh diff topic...may I know if anyone knows where we can get Vietnamese rice paper rolls (dried package ones) and frozen soft shell crabs (besides Meidiya)?

Have a Jap pot luck session this weekend, faint man...I'll feel like puking if I see raw food or starts cook, so rice paper rolls will do for me...

Thanks for helping!!

Luv, my niece uses the bottled fm in tmc

Maybe the procedure is diff then. Understand the standards now are very diff with the bf emphasis.

Actually also not sure if her sucking reflux was good or not then hence doesn't want to suck but tmc bottled fm
def made it ' worse' latching wise. I recall my sis was quite frustrated then. Plus c section, so perhaps she gave up too seeing to odds against her.

luv, no prob, I also need revision! Has been 4 yrs since i did that. Hehe... Sometimes I wonder if #2 will be smoother coz already forgotten what's its like.

Torso, yup depends on cases as well, if they really need fm, no choice, for me my gal was admitted to Kk 1 nite for jaundice, so I had to stay overnights to pump first whatever little bm I had n the nurses supplemented her with fm in the ward but after gg home, no more fm, just latched on.

Vietnamese rice paper, I recall Giant having it. I think they should have the frozen soft shell crabs too otherwise Sheng song?
If markets, tekka market should sell the rice paper too otherwise golden mile Thai shops. Hey I wonder the jalan Kate Thai provision shops has it?

Tromso, did ur sis indicate she wanted total BFg? Which year was this? I delivered my gal in 2007 at TMC. Well, anyway, what matters most is ur niece is strong and healthy now!
Perhaps u can make sure to indicate total BF when u're admitted for delivery too if u want. I also requested to let baby suckle immediately after delivery, even tho i was really exhausted. But i heard it's good to do that when their suckling instincts are the strongest, so i tried.
That's for natural delivery lah, with c-sect, more difficult.

Hi Tromso, on a diff topic - I am thinking of signing up for prenatal yoga at Como. Recalled that you joined the classes there. Any feedback?

Thanks Pierced, I'll check the supermarkets out

Luv, my niece was delivered in 2011....hmm...sis did indicate total BF....I guess maybe she gave up midway.

Luv, can request for baby suckle upon birth? I was hoping for this but not sure if it's acceptable here in Singapore cos all the books say this will be ideal.

Can request to cuddle baby first upon clipping the cord, then washing weighing after that?