(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi Nell
Agree.. Unlike mine who still in primary school, i really worry will neglect his schoolwork when his siblings r born.. Hence i need a helper no matter what so that i can pay some attention on him too though i know not easy..;) sec school will be easier now as he can study his own..;)

Hi chris
Thats reasonable price.. Lucky i no sign up PEM agency one as theirs only hv one time breast massage..;p how much she does for bb massage? Massage on the same day as u or after bb full month?

Hi sunbelle
Usually we let bb wear cloth nappy only day time as night time if wear, cl no need rest liao since oways need change frequently else will hv leakage..;p i request my cl to use handwash for all my bbies clothes.. Same for my son one last time..;)

Hi chrisbaby
May i know how long is the massage each time n how frequent u request her to come? Thk u..

Sunbelle, my CL told me those who uses cloth nappy can use up to 20 pieces a day! I can't imagine how many pieces there will be a day for multiples! CL said, need to change cloth nappy the moment it is wet as bb will fuss.. So, one pee, one change.. Is crazy.. Belle poo almost at every milk feed..

I use disposable diapers. I was telling the sisters here belle has bad nappy rash during the stay in NICU coz the nurses either nv clean properly or change the soiled diapers promptly. Within 3 days she came home, she had fully recovered from nappy rash. I asked the CL to wash with water n wipe dry her butt every time she changed the disposable diapers n apply nappy cream. CL told me, belle changed 8-9 diapers a day! Now, that she has recovered from nappy rash, I am using the avent bum moisturing cream mrs Wong recommended after wash n wipe dry.

So, using disposable diapers will not cause nappy rash. Is the way that we clean bb's bum that is impt..

Sunbelle, As for bb's clothes, towels, hankerhief, etc, all machine wash. The CL has alot to do everyday.. Belle is in my room most times in the day except feeding n bathing time, CL takes over.. CL is either preparing food for me n hub, cooking, washing & sterilizing the bottles, etc. afternoon, I will ask her go nap for an hr also.

Neil, u hv lots of milk! For me, every drop is precious as dun hv much yet...

Chris, u can tahan the wrap ah? Dunno if I can take the heat n discomfort... But that is the most effective for post natal massage...

Hi Hazel,

okie le, i'm fine with the wrap. If you can't tahan the neat just stay in air-con room lor. I leave the wrap on all the way till the next day, then i take it off and before i bath (around 11am), and nadia comes in around 12pm or 2pm.

My hb very cute, let our gal hold her milk bottle while feeding with her mittens on and took a video of it. Then he called out to me to see, ya i was amazed tat my gal really hold the milk bottle while drinking from it. Faintz.... Now my gal sleeping on top of his daddy's tummy hahahahaaa snoring away.
6639974.gif

My tits still hurts abit, esp when i carry my gal or when the t-shirt is in contact with my tits. :'(

Chris, yr darling gal is so cute!! The sleeping on daddy stomach is scary... What if daddy move ....

Hazel, jia you dun give up on yr breast milk. It will come!

Chris, I m crying my daughter now while I ask CL to go sleep. Her next feed is at 10am. But she was crying at 815pm! Have her my breasts n she suckle for 15-20mins n cry again! Too soon from last feed,, cannot give FM again.. Now finally I managed to coax her to sleep.. Dare not put her down.. Scared she cries again! :p

Hi Hazel,

Is okie to supplement by FM cos if bb is not full after having her feed, she might cry too. Like my gal at 1st the 1st day bk from hospital, we followed hospital method and gave her 30ml FM, but she not full and keep crying until we check with our fren and he taught us to increase to 60ml. So we gave my gal another 30ml and when she's full she stop crying. The 1st week, most of the time i gave her FM, then supplement by BM and now when flow comes in i gave her BM, then at nite FM. If day time, BM not enough we supplement by FM lor.

Chris, she was on FM at 7pm feed not BM & she finished drinking at 735pm. If she has taken BM, I would hv given her mill at 835pm when she cried. FM cannot anyhow give unless bb is really not full or hungry.. Over drinking of FM will cause bloatedness. She is finally sleeping now.. If really hungry u think she can sleep? Need to monitor to see if she cries coz not full or just been fussy...

Hazel, maybe is colic. Check her tummy, issit bloated if not. Try rubbing some ruyi oil on her tummy. My ger v colicky these 2 days. Cry n fussy a lot, but after we massage her w oil, wrap her up warm, she farted then felt better liao

Neil, I told CL to rub Ruyi oil on belle twice a day.. Once in the morning after shower n another time after wiping her at night. So, just now 8plus, we just wiped her n rub oil on her before swaddling her up. Think she is hungry, ask CL to give her milk 10mins ago.. 20 mins before 10pm feed on FM. Will
Monitor tomorrow, to see if she cry for milk before time again, if so, will ask CL to up 10ml.

I told CL to burp belle a few times during a feed.. Coz she will take in air.. Thats wat the NICU nurse told me..

Hazel, shd base on her appetite not feeding time. You make more, if she is full she won't drink. So u can monitor her intake n decide

Neil, will up later. Thanks. My boobs were painful when I woke up this morning coz I slept thru the night.. Can get 50ml from pump just Now.. Hehe..

dear sisters,

I would like to ask you about GROWTH SCAN....Many of my friends who are pregnant go for growth scan about 30+weeks...However, there is no mention of this by DR LOH...can someone enlighten me?? tks.

Vann, singleton, no need growth scan unless dr is concerned over bb's growth duing routine scans & checks. Most KKH gynae, not just dr Loh practices that. I didn't go for any growth scan too.

Tks hazel...I think dr loh help us save money...a lot of my friends seeing private hospitals go for growth scan...singleton and baby growing well also go for growth scan...

Sue, dr loh visited me everyday in the morning! At times, I wanted to speak to him over my bb in NICU (I only trust him...) I walked over to his clinic (same floor as my ward), he was biz.. But he came over to see me after he finished seeing his patients & talked to me.

When I was first warded for spotting on 2nd day of cny morning, he was still in Malaysia.. I emailed him & informed him& kept him posted of dr tham (his cover) diagnosis.. That same afternoon, he came bk to SG, he replied me n told me the tmc nurse wil inform him when I m in active labour... But that same night, 8-9pm, he came to check on me in causal clothes. Can tell, he just came to see me, not coz he has delivery to do.. He knows I hv lost my elder girl and another m/c, he also dun wan any mishap to happen this time... He made the decision then to induce me.. If not dr tham will send me back the next day...

Vann, yes, that's the thing abt private.. FYI, pd sent belle to do ultrasound, for kidney, liver, etc... Coz she said belle has one instead of two umbilical artery when she couldn't find the other artery during tube insertion.. Made me so worried! I googled online n asked dr loh thereafter.. He told me, single umbilical artery (SUA) would hv been picked up by KKH during 5 mths scan coz is a High risk pregnancy (consistent with website infor)... No way KKH wld hv missed it.. Is no longer an issue after bb is born as the other artery is redundant (consistent with website info too).. Coz nutrients are passed on to bb during pregnancy via the umbilical cord.. So if only 1 vein, bb may not get the reQuired nutrients... N there r other concerns too if is SUA during pregnancy... So, if SUA, the pregnancy has to be closely monitored...

SUA resulting in organ issues after bb is born is rare.. And belle is passing motion . Peeing normally..

I will change to KKH PD subsequently... They wun do things which are not necessary... And also KKH has the best facilities n support for kids/bbs. There' are always a team of drs standby in NICU n SCU.. But not so in pte hospitals where they hv to page the PD to come down.

Vann, when I was in birth room, he came once to check on my cervix too... To see how many cm it has dilated... U know.. All these r checked by mid wives n nurses.. Dr r only called when bb's head is crowning...

Hi J03 and Hazel,

thank you so much for sharing all the useful tips on nappy and the duties of CL. now i have a better understanding on the roles and duties of CL. i believe in treating people good and people will treat back us. i know is not true at workplace but i guess that is life hehee
usually i jus tell myself dun care lah anyway all the office people not so impt as compared to our own family members and good frens.

yeah any of you mummies engage a fengshui master to name your baby huh?
yeah we are thinking of doing that but want to go source fcr quotation and know its pricing first hahah

oh yes, if you have time, pls go read today's sunday times parenting, the article talks about breastfeeding and FM. yeah also a FAQ on the next page that talks about letting baby to sleep through when is 6 weeks. i tot the FAQ is good for all to read too
hehe

i m now also looking at the child's cabinet at ikea. but not sure whether they are reliable. hmmhmmhmm trying to plan for the storage as my house has no storeroom at all ..so trying to mazimise all the space available

Sunbelle, we went to fengshui master for belle's Chinese name.. We went to the shop just opp TMC across the road coz of convenience.. There is a $8 Voucher in the gift pack TMC gives. There r 2 pricing $88 or $128z. $88 is just names.. $128, u get to speak to the fengshui master n he will explain to you the meaning of the name we hv chosen. Initally wanted to go Yu long Zi but his shop is closed for quite a no of days in cny.. I called the TMC shop the day before i was discharged. When I was discharged, hubs drove over n picked up while I waited in the car.

Re: Ikea cabinet
I plan to get one too.. Wait jubilant confinement is over..

Yes sunbelle
Let the nanny hv some sleep so is better to use pampers at night..;) for me, last time my boy time, He wear cloth nappy only day time and hand wash cloth nappy is manageable by my cl. this time as i will hire a helper to help CL so am sure are still manageable to handwash..;)

hi hazel,

thank you very much for sharing the contact for the name selection. cos seemd like getting the baby's certificate is impt as lots of tins depend on the number. so the issuance of the certificate depends on the name issued too hehee ..once one have the name is so much easier heheeh

yup for the cabinet, i am only searching online ikea catalogue now. they have lots of baby items there..maybe u can take a look online since now in confinement.

Hi J03,

yup i am perfectly okie with CL taking nap cos they need the strength and energy to look after the littie one at night.

felt so old after sleeping late last night at around 1am. yeah spend the day catching up sleep. so tired. yeah i think being a new born mum u mus even be geared with greater amt of energy to take care of newborn.
guess when we look at the smile of the baby, everything is worth it

Sunbelle, I not buying bb cabinet. I plan to buy a normal cabinet / wardrobe. Those where I can hang her dresses n hv chest drawers where I can fold towels, pyjamas, etc. More practical.. I saw a few that time when I m pregnant. But planning only to buy after she is born..

Hi hazel,

Good morning!! Just finished pumping, breasts were painful since last nite so this morning wake up earlier to empty them.

My gal has nitemare, yesterday afternoon after 4pm, she was sleeping soundly and suddently awoke crying like startled by something. Hb carried and comforted her and she went back to sleep. Then around 4.30pm, she woke up suddenly and cried very loud, I quickly ran and carried her, then tried to calm her down before putting her to sleep. She has a few episodes of suddenly awakening like being fightened a few times until 8pm. CL and my in-laws asked my Hb to go Eu Yan Seng and bought her "Jing Feng San" to take, he asked the Eu Yan Seng people and they say infant can less than 1 mth can take, so hb gave her very tiny portion to take. Now she seems better...

In-law said that could be bb having nitemares cos she dreads taking medicine, etc as when we fed her the medicine given by PD, she'll keep turning her head away and keep using her hands to block the syringe.

Chris, belle is still taking v long to finish her bottle milk feed! Only CL has the patience.. ;p. also when there r visitors, she dun wan to sleep..eyes big big... Mil was here from 10am till 3pm yesterday & she stayed awake for that long!

Btw, I think u mention Pay Nadia at end of 7 massage session right? Thanks.

Hi hazel,

Yup tat's wat i did, I paid her during the last massage session. BTW, what time is Nadia coming over for your massage today? My sil is starting her massage with Nadia at 9am today. How much is belle drinking now?

My in-laws were here 2x yesterday to see my gal. They mentioned tat my gal is starting to look like more like my hb then me..hahahaha

Do you think photos of your gal daily? We do. Cos my frens say bb's face changes daily so they took pics of their bbs daily.

Hi hazel,

Remember to bath before you start your massage otherwise once u are wrapped up you can't bath unless u decide to remove the wrap later part of the day.

Hi hazel,

Remember to bath before you start your massage otherwise once u are wrapped up you can't bath unless u decide to remove the wrap later part of the day.

Chris, 3-330pm. I prefer afternoon session coz I shower at 1-2pm. Belle drinks 60ml now... I just weighed her this norning, she gained bk the weight she lost in the few few days after birth & put on another 200g.. Ur girl will finish to the last drop of milk ah?

Hi Hazel,

My gal needs to be coax to finish her milk esp now she's sick but normally doesn't finish to the last drop la.. Gd that your gal is gaining weight!!
6644024.gif

During massage, nadia will massage your breasts as well, if u wanna pump after massage just use a warm wet cloth and clean around your nipples before you start pumping.

Hazel,

ya haven't heard from catherine for a while, wonder if she has delivered?
Just finished pumping 15mins ago, phew shag ah!!!
Just now, BB threw out after taking her chinese medicine, which includes the phelgm etc..So me and CL busy with her, i carry her while CL cleaned her again, changed clothes and her bedsheet and pillow cases. Then when i try to put her to bed, she started crying, then got no choice i can't pump, so carried her lor. Once carried her, she stopped,when i put her down in bed she cried again. Then CL asks me to coax her 1st while she prepared abit of milk for bb. Then i went pumping around 11.10am, in-laws came for a while and left. Now CL coaxing bb to sleep and i waiting for lunch.