(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Catherine, I bought mine at nuh pharmacy 2 yrs ago.. Anyway, my pregnancy bump has more or less went away.. So, no need binder.. Just water retention which I need to get rid of from massage..

Chris & Neil, did u take alot of carbo every meal? I can't even finish half bowl of rice coz the soup, fish, meat n veg already made me so full.. My gf said If I dun take enough carbo, breast milk will be diluted n little.. Is that true? My breasts not hard at all.. As long as I pump (each time only 10-20ml).. V depressed fr alot of things.. BM supply, belle drinking from bottle slowly, she keeps fetish hiccups, at times she sneezes, etc etc.. Every single thing made me sad.. N wan to cry.. Really post natal blues.. Haiz

Ya, I normally get those with discount. I just saw one pack 3 at 39 with great value sticker. Good buy. Cos member get discount on top on it.

Chris, belle sleeps with CL at night n I will check on her during night feeds. Day time, she is in my room most of the time on my bed.. CL takes over during feeding, changing n showering. She was in NICU for 1 wk so had been sleeping under a warmer of 36.7 degrees.. So I dare not on aircon.. 26-27 degrees I saw her sneeze at times though I swaddle up up with thick cloth.. Dunno coincidence or dirty..?

After shower, all windows r closed, door too, she will sneeze a few times too..

hazel,

No i didn't take alot of carbo, just took 1 bowl of rice, but i drink alot of soup and takes fish meat. My CL told me to eat more fish,meat,vege and soup cos carbo will make us fat. Like my sil she took alot of carbo during her confinement and now still had hard time losing weight after 2mths. Oh Nadia told me that altho we might have lose our pregnancy bump but she advised us to wear a binder if not the tummy will become flabby

Did you try Fenugreek? Its sold in GNC and all major pharmacies, my gynae prescribed it to me to increase milk flow, my other frens who are breastfeeding also took it. Besides fish soup, try pig trotter soup cooked with peanuts, its supposed to increase milkflow.

Did you massage your breasts before you start pumping? My diet every morning is, chicken essence followed by milk, then an egg with mee sua or egg with oatmeal/cereal. My mil says to eat egg (kampong egg) with oatmeal/cereal will help to increase milkflow. Remember dun eat banana. And try to drink at least 2 serving of milk per day, i drink 1 cup in the morning and 1 cup before i sleep, same regime when i was preggy. And dun forget to continue to take your multi vits, DHA, and calcium pills which Dr SF loh prescribed us during preggy.

If your gal has hiccups, just give her a small sip of water/milk and her hiccups will stop.

Catherine, just to clarify. I bought my binder cos I hold my uterus in place. So less wound pain when I walk around. Doc say wont help in slimming. More for pain management. The tummy will strink when the uterus contracts. Think you don't have to buy now. Wait after you deliver see what doc say.

Hazel, I don't eat lots of carbo. My Breakfast: 2 bot of Chicken essence, 2 Half boil eggs, 1 slice or at most 2 slice of bread. Lunch/dinner: 1/3 bowl of rice, 1 or 2 slices of cod fish, 1 plate of veg. Supper: 1 bowl of codycep plus don't know what soup fr my mom. I also drink Sobe reduced sugar soy milk everyday. Everyday same thing. *yawn*
My hubby say no dieting as it will decrease milk supply. And also may sure you have sufficient fluid to prevent dehydration. We need lots of water to produce milk. So try to eat more drink more.
My ger also hiccups a lot. I normally let her suckle suckle then ok already. Normal for baby to hiccups. no worry. Cheer up

Hi Hazel,

My gals sweats easily, so i let her sleep in aircon at 27 degree at night with CL. But now with her flu, we on the fan for her instead, and no longer on the aircon. Think your gal still young better dun let her sleep in aircon at the moment, anyway this few days weather cooling, raining so remember to keep her warm by swaddle up, be careful dun let her catch a chill.

Ya hazel,

I agree with Nell, as i sweat alot cos of the confinement food we eat that makes us heaty, coupled with pumping milk, we need to keep ourselves hydrated, that's why i try to replendish by red dates/milk intake before and after every pump.

Neil & Chris, I already take a lot of fluid a day... 2-3 Litres including daily fish soup & herbal soup. Lunch n dinner sure hv fish meat too.. I hv started on the Supplements (2 types) which dr loh gave me too Since wed.. BM flow still like this.. V v depressing...

I just feel worried abt belle constantly... That is why I wan her in my room during day time so that I can watch over her.. Sigh...

Hi hazel,

I understand how you feel, cos this few days whenever i saw my gal choke on her milk and coughing ( cos she's sick, alot of phlegm so whenever she drinks her milk, she'll be like out of breath and choking at times) I wanna cry liao. Cos she keep looking at us helpless. Now she started on her antibiotics and slightly better. I try my best to tell myself not to be sad etc... Dun worry the 1st week, milkflow will be less, just continue to pump every 3hrs to stimulate milkflow.. My fren told me to preserve and continue to pump every 3hrs and not be depressed eventho BM flow might not be alot during every pump session. It will slowly increase.

Did Dr loh prescribe you fenugreek? If not asked your hb to buy from GNC or guardian pharmacy. I bought mine from Gleneagles guardian after my gynae prescribed me. My neighbour's wife also too fenugreek during breastfeeding.
6638018.gif

Hi hazel,

my cl normally feeds my gal and keep carrying her all the time. Altho i'm against carrying her all the time, cos dun wanna spoilt my gal cos if CL gone, me and hb will suffer if my gal constantly wants people to carry her. At times, its very difficult to reason with my CL, cos she has her own thinking...so hb just told me to open one eye and close one eye lor. I envy you, at least your mum around, she can watch over the CL for you etc...My in-laws try to come daily and at times told me to tell my CL this and tat, and its tough for me lor, i get sandwiched in between. I dun like my CL to rock my gal while carrying her, maybe i too paraniod after attending mrs wong's class and very scared tat my gal will suffer internal brain bleeding with her rocking my gal left and right. Told CL a few times not to rock my gal and she'll tell me not to worry and tat bb loves to be rocked and that she's been very gentle and not like those maid who rocks and swings the sarong so hard that hurts/kills the bb. She said she's very experience and no need to worry. Wat can i say,... hiazzzzzzzzz

Chris, my CL does not do all these. She will ask me what I wan.. Even feeding time, if bb still asleep she will ask me if wan to feed or wait later. We dun carry belle much unless she cries n during feeding time. Dun wan to be a habit.

Chris, my big boss told me she breast feed for 15 mths. I only intent to breast feed until I go back to work. The way u , hazel describe it.... Hmmmm.... I m scare!!

Ok will take yr advise Neil, I will buy after I give birth,

Hazel & Chris,
I understand how you feel. Just like when I see my ger hiccups even I m sore I will still let her suckle cos heart pain. My baby sleep w me day n night cos we 不舍得 plus my hubby will be back in HK soon. This week he flew back overnight trip 3 times already. I only get the CL to do housework for me, and if I m too tired, help me chg diapers after feed. Otherwise, I will feed n my hubby or sometime myself chg if not too tired.
As for bathing, I let the CL do and I stand n watch. We prefer to handle all baby stuff ourselves. Even washing of the pumps.

Ya, important to keep your mood up! At least your hubby is by your side. I have to deal with the distance and manage without my hubby when my CL leave.

Catherine, I total breastfeed my son for 6 mths w no supplement and that time I only have 2 months ML. So, it is not too difficult. Actually, the tougher month is the initial 2 months, once you settle into the routine everything is easier. I intend to feed my get till 6 mths also.

Hazel, don't give up. Ask doc for medicine. Do u eat fish? I eat lots of fish, my main source of protein. Did doc give you Domperidone? You try the recipe from mrs Wong? The one on papers she gave out in class?

Neil, yes, I hv fish fr lunch n dinner. How many times & tabs of domperidone shld I be taking. He told me 3x a day.. So i assume is 1 tablet each time.

dr Loh also gave me fenugreek. Take 2x a day, I assume is one tab. Realized the fenugreek box said 3x a day, 2 tabs per time..

Hazel, Domperidone is one tab 3 times. Not sure about the other one. You call the clinic n ask them lah

Neil, thanks. The clinic knows nothing... Will say they need to ask dr.. Got 1x, told me wrong dosage, luckily i asked my gynae again to confirm what he told me in his room..

I hv just asked my gynae... Waiting for him to respond..

Hi hazel,

Me and hb has being telling CL tat not to keep carrying the bb as it will become a habit but she totally ignored us, and say that bb is now sick not comfy needs to be cuddled and carry more often. Faintz manz....... My hb just told me to tahan...

Hi hazel,

How i wish my in-laws or my parents are around to help out. My mum is down with flu before CNY hence my dad has to take care of her and can't come over. My in-laws have to run both places, which is my sil's and mine and to ferry dowager around to see doc. And they can only come either noon time or dinnertime cos my dowager (gran-in-law) fell down at home on 3rd day of CNY and now needs someone to ferry her around alternate days to chinese sinseh for massage. She has being on wheelchair for 5 days and now needs someone to help her to move around the house. The tasks falls on the maid now, maid has to be at her beck and call now, and needs to boil rice and use it to massage for her daily, and every massage is 2hrs (at the request of dowager). This was the maid which my dowager has painstakingly trying to get rid off 1 week before CNY, and before i was going to deliver. Now this is the kind maid which has been taking care of her. My mil says tat thank goodness she has managed to persuade the maid to stay back before i delivered, if not now they die cos who has the strength to carry/ or help dowager around, as the whole household are old folks ie herself and my fil.

Prior to that, i wanted to ask my mil's maid over to help out with cleaning, mopping of the floor cos my cl very busy with cooking, laundry and taking care of my sick bb and i can't touch water or carry heavy stuff around. Got to wait for hb to mop the floor only during wkends when he is not working.

Hi hazel,

Remember during mrs wong's class, when she taught us on how to bath bb? She taught us to use 2 separate cotten pads to clean bb's eyes rite using pre-boiled water rite? yup i saw my CL does tat on the 1st bath, so i was rest assured. But today i got a shock when i joined her during the bath, she used the bath water to clean her mouth then using the same water and hanky to clean her face and eyes. I fainted!! When i told her to use the cotten pads instead, she told me off say no need and tat she does tat only the 1st week when bb is still young and now no need to be so kan cheong and the more we kan cheong or too clean bb won't be able to build their immunity. And she told me tat she is experienced with many bbs liao etc and knows more than us. Faint ah !!!! Beitahan!!! Going to tell my hb when he is home.

Chris, how abt getting those part time Cleaner. To come in for 4 hrs to do general chores. I engaged part time cleaner to come once a week to clean, chg bed sheet n ironing since I m pregnant.

Hi Nell,

really faint rite? my CL has her pros and cons..hb did tell me not to be too calculative cos after we attended mrs wong's class we will tend to follow and compare and this old CL has their own ways to do things cos they always think that they eat rice more than we eat salt. And when we try to tell them nicely, they ignored us ah...Wat to do, if my senior folks are around at least its easier for them to tell her ah.....fainta
6638873.gif

Hi hazel,

My side of my left boob is hard even after expressing. Have tried to massage it a few times, think its engorged again. pain siah.

Chris,
Everyone got different pattern lah. Young or old also same. I no point waste energy n emotion chging their habit after all they are going to be w u for few more weeks. Who will be looking after your baby after u to back to work, the habit of the care giver more crucial? Or are you working? I don't want my folks n my in laws to look after my boy last time cos difficult to tell folksor chg them, so I get a maid n slowly train from scratch.

Engage the cleaner now lah. Then u don't have to stress over house work. 1 down.

Abt carrying the baby, I personally find it ok to cuddle the little one esp when they are sick. I carry my baby a lot. You can "discipline" or train when slightly later. At least when baby not feeling so sickly. As for the rocking, you just have to remind her that you don't like, not that you're saying her action will definitely lead to shaken baby syndrome.
You don't be too stress lah. Cases that are cited by mrs Wong a bit of the extreme I think, don't worry too much.
I heard doc prescribe domperidone n also saw in mrs Wong book.. But not sure what is the common practice among doc here. U have milk supply problem? If not don't take, engorgement very charm one.

Hi Nell,

I've told her on 2 occasions liao about the rocking and the way she carried my bb which wil lead to shaken baby syndrome, guess wat she says? She told me no need to be so kiasi, she said she know her stuff and those shaken baby syndrome etc is those maids who don't know how to take care, and shake the sarong violently or could have dropped the bb tats why lead to internal bleeding etc..

My right boobs are clear just tat left boob hard at the side and flow lesser than right. So i will massage like 5mins before i pump. I just started to pump every 3hrs yesterday, cos previously was so tied up with bringing bb see dr and massage sessions tat i only pump 3x per day. So far i try to give BM every feed unless night time CL taking care then she sometimes give FM if my BM has ran out or BB not enough to drink.

Yup i already close one eye, just tat my this CL can be quite stubborn at times, even when my fil she also dun give face, just that she talked behind after he left.

Chris, dr Loh gave me lactagreek (which contains mainly fenugreek, some herbal leaves, b12 & calcium phrosplate) and domperidone. My friend took the same thing when she saw KKH LC also.

Washing bb's mouth have to use boiled water!! That's a must.

Your CL is a tough nut. If it were me, I confirmed quarrel with her! Kekek

Chris,
Chrisl answered ur question liao... Her cliic is at Tamp St 43..

Meryl, yup Dr Cecilia referred me to Dr Loh.. She underwent ivf to conceive her son too, so she understands how we feel... I actually cried when i heard the news of her demise... Coz wanted so much to tell her the gd news and thank her.. She'll be fondly remembered..

How come ur CL so free to always carry your bb huh? My bb is always in my room during day time. Will call he CL during her feeds or I need her to look after when I shower...

Chris, if I were u I would sack the cl already. I cannot stand ppl who think they eat salt more than us...

I agree with nell, hire a part time cleaner. U need recommendation? I can ask my part time philippino maid for yu.

Neil, is your part time helper good? How much goes she charge hourly? My part time helper is supposed to come twice a wk on wed & sat. But, today she nv turn up! Called n SMS her also no reply!

Chris, just tahan few more days. If u ask her to leave now you don't even have helper to do laundry. Give her other task to do so she got no time to carry baby. Or whenever she carry baby, then you take over baby and ask her do something else like cleaning or mopping.

Could it be some blocked ducts? I tried my mil method it works for me. You might want to try. Put warm water in small milk bottle (I use the Medela one that came w the pump), close tight w the cover (not the teat). The use it to roll on the breast that has hard lumps from outside towards the nipple. I use it when I have engorgement, I roll the whole breast until it start to drip milk then start to express/feed. Ask I feed/express I continue to roll to help the milk flow out. Ask for the water temp, see how hot u can tahan. I use slightly warmer than drinking temperature. U try see whether it helps. All 3 sil use the same method. The 3 of them has total 12kids!

Hi chrisbaby
How much does nadia charge u for the post natal massage?
PEM charge $538 for 5 times jamu massage, one time breast massage, one Time prenatal massage and one more not sure wht massage.. Each time last one and a half hr.. Reasonable?

Hi sasha
U found anyone doing the massage for u?

Hazel, mine is a fren of my mom. I pay her $50 per trip. Not sure how long she stay cos I normally at work when she is here. She do general chores n chging if sheet n washing n hanging up. So I just need to keep it after it dries. Also do ironing. Guess abt 3hrs work ba.

Hi Nell
Just curious, how big is ur boy now? When u doing bf, u allow him to see or u isolate in a room to do it? Also, if u hv more than enough bm to store, how shd we store n later how to feed baby to maintain the freshness? Last time i dun hv enough bm to store but this time i want to try my best n intend to get electrical pump instead of manual pump.. Thk u..

Chris, my CL just told me since I dun hv much milk, dun hv to keep pumping.. Shld wait longer then can pump more! I told her need to pump every 3 hourly to build up supply! I think she think she can wash n sterilise lesser if I pump lesser! Keke

Joanne, my boy is 13. He don't see me feed, I make him stay outside the curtain when in hospital. At home, I feed in room. Put in freezer can last 3 mths. I store in fridge can last for 24hr. After 24hrs then throw. I din put in fridge cos take long time to thaw n heat up. My boy impatient. Cos I pump today for tomorrow's consumption when I m at work. So no need to put freezer. But for the beginning, I pump extra 1 bottle a day until I have 8 bottles before I start work.
This time, I pump to standby. Those I pump in the first ten days, I store in fridge n throw after 24hrs, cos hubby say not full milk no point keeping. After 10 days, i put in freezer so when I need to go work I don't have pump like Siao like last time.

Hazel,Nell,Catherine,

I told hb about the bathing part, and hb just shake head and told me to ignore it and countdown just 2 more weeks to go. Cos we dun have any helpers got to depend on her, hb is at work and not many leave. So i'll just try to pick up from CL and learn fast. She is not entirely bad la, she has her experience to bring along just that her practice and ours are different.
So just give and take lor...wat to do....

About the pumping milk, I initially thought to wait longer for milk supply to build up then pump, but my frens all advised me tat whether we have or not we still need to pump every 3hrly to stimulate supply cos if not, supply will slowly decrease. So now i faithfully pump every 3-4hrs lor.

Hi Nell
Oh i see.. Thks for ur advise.. Wah.. Ur boy must hv been lending u a helping hand to take care his sibling..;)

Hazel, my philippino maid is like yr part time helper. Dun come dun say. I was so fed up I complain to my fren who recommend me to her. Now she is better. That's y I dun use my phillpino maid weekly I use her alternate week. On the other week I have a china pei du mama.

Nell, yr part time maid so gd change bed sheet. Mine juz clean house and the china one will iron clothes.

Chris, I guess finish the massage with Nadia, does it help??

Hi Joanne,

Nadia is charging full body massage (includes breast massage), 7 sessions for $380.00. I quite enjoy her massage especially the wrap. Its very relaxing and i look forward to it daily cos after giving birth body a bit tired and the massage really helps to relax myself.

Joanne,
He just started sec 1, attending full day school. Too busy w school work to help. But I m happy as long as I don't have to worry abt his school work.

Neil, TMC NICU nurse told me BM can be stored in the fridge for up to 48hrs...

Catherine, till now, the Burmese helper still hv not returned my call or SMS! Also recommended by my friend. I tell u, change bed sheets, she throws inside washing machine nv check machine lid is closed completely n the tap is turned on before washing! Bedsheets wash for hrs also not done! I have to go check after she left then I know...

Anyone has good n fast part time helper to Recommend?

Chris, ya, starting massage on Monday.. Just for relaxation n get rid of water.. Tunmy not really sagging also.. N v small now.. Just soft.. Want Nadia to massage my bb too.. I can learn from her

good to learn from you ladies in advance. jus to check the confinement agency say that nowadays seldom confinement lady wants baby to wear nappies at night cos too troublesome to change and also too muchie to wash?

i am okie with Cl machinewash baby's nappies but my fren say cannot. can you all share how your CL does the washing for your baby's nappies and clothes? does your baby wear pampers to sleep at night?i jus wanted to adjust my own expectations and know what to brief CL next time.

thank you ladies.