(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hazel, try the Nuk Rubber teat. The brown one. It is the Softest. But need to chg often cos not as lasting as the silicon one. I have problem switching my boy from breast to bottle, and this is only teat he willing to take. All other brand he don't want, even the Nuk silicon teat. He rather go on hunger than to give in. I called mrs Wong, she suggested I try the rubber one. Hasitated at first cos it don't look too good, but eventually give in when all fails. By the way, you can buy the wide neck teat from Nuk so can use on your Avnet bottles no need spend extra on bottled. also bought some to stand by this time. But now only give gal BM direct, which means I cant sleep more then 3 hrs.

Neil, yes kiddy palace suggested the brown rubber nuk teats! So hubs bought that. He bought 2 whole set including bottles n caps coz he didn't know got wide neck nuk teats which can be used on avent bottles! Ok I will ask my sis go buy again on wk ends so that I can use avent bottles too.

How do I know the rubber teats need to be changed? How often does it need to be change? Asked CL just now on the night feeds.. She said 30mins.. Same as wat the nurses told me when she was in hospital.. (TMC uses brown nuk tests too) so, now we know why she took so long to feed after coming bk home...

If I give her full Expressed BM the same amt she takes for FM, she can go hungry as soon as 2 hrs or even lesser.. Is that right? BM is more diluted than FM.. So, can't last bb too long.. But the nursing book still said shld be 3 hourly, if bb asked for milk before that, means she does not get enough..

Hey, how u contact mrs Wong? Call her mobile? I dun hv the no.. That day in hospital I run into her.. She also said call her if need be.. My BM still v little.. Will try to latch her on again.. The prob is.. If latch on directly, dunno how much she drinks.. N 15 mins each side will take total 30mins. After that 30 mins on bottled FM.. The total 1hr per feed???

Thanks alot!!

Hazel for latex nuk teats, likely u have to chane every 3 weeks because the teat will become harder due to repeat sterilization.

Thks msmiele! It's not occasional. It happens everyday. Today tummy a bit less bloated I oso worry if it's not good sign.. Can only wait till next fri for my first scan n appt w doc. Thks for ur sharing

Hi nell,

Thanks for the valuable advice on the clinic and wat to look out. I did request the clinic asst (kinder clinic) to call me when its my gal's turn and we prefer to wait outside. But the clinic asst refused and told us is not their practice etc and insisted we wait inside. Altho we were given the 1st appt for the PD chkup at 9-9.30am but we were one of the few last patients in the clinic tat got to finally see the PD as we were made to wait 3hrs.

Hi hazel,
My sil also gave birth in TMC and she bought the NUK teats too...however her bb got colic subsequently and she brought her bb see dr. Dr commented tat the design of the teat results in bb sucking in more air that's why now my sil changed back to pigeon.

Hazel, she latch 15 mins each side, total 30 mins. After that she will fall asleep abt 1-2 hr n wake up crying for milk. I give her FM. For example, if I latch her at 6am, then will gv her FM ard 8am, depends on her waking time also. I used pigeon wide neck bottle.

Nell, tks for the tips on nipple cracking. Intend to do my bb passport too. Last time also do self photo shoot on my boy (3 mths old) when apply his passport.

I use pampers. Belle has nappy rash at NICU.. Dunno if coz of Huggies diapers or coz the nurses nv clean properly.. Anyhow, since she came home on wed, we use pampers on her, wash with water every time we change diapers n wipe dry, apply nappy cream, the rash has improved alot..

Bbliss,

I used a variety of diapers cos bb still young so doesn't wan her to fix to one. So far mamy poko has the best absorption so used it at nite. Day time i used huggies, drypers and mamy poko too.

Hi hazel,

Have you decided on which caterer to use for your gal's full mth celebration? I'm still looking around, mil came last nite and asked me abt it. I've being very busy with my gal and didn't really source for caterer. Just looking at neo garden and maybe orange tee.

Hi Nell,
how have you been?
Hey wanted to ask you... re. baby detergent which one will you recommend again? I know you mentioned about the softener part previously about not using right? :p

Chris, full mth celebration, I leave it to hub to arrange. He is the one that said he wants one.. To me, a get together by immediate family members is good enough. I only wan to order full mth cakes n Pastry to give some close friends n relatives.

Thx for e sharing on e diapers brands. Hehe... Mi oso of tot of mixed used aka trial n error n see which one she prefers... :p

Btw, when yr bbs r bk hm, wat do they wear during e day at hm huh ? Wanna chk if I got stock up enuff for daily clothes. Hehe... Gotta haf 2 sets coz one sets for my Hse n another sets for my mum Hse.

New born r v soft. Belle wears front button tops. 2 pieces a day, we change her after shower in the morning and wipping her at night. Bottom she wears diapers as she is swaddled up all the time.

hazel,
i also didn't wan full mth celebration and prefer order full mth cakes n pastry for close fres and relatives but hb and in-laws prefer to have it. I find it a hassel to organise and also cos gal is sick didn't really have the mood to organise. HB leave the job to me cos he busy at work.

Dear gals,
I have been so exhausted going back to work since wednesday. Finished reading the archives last night but too tired to post anything.

Dear Catherine,
Here's wishing you a smooth delivery!!!!!!!!!!

Hazel,
BM is much easier to digest so they will get hungry every 2hrs. I feed every 2 hours. If she sleep longer, maybe 3hr, sometime at night I may need to do hourly feed. Esp the first few days she got home when she clearing her system. I use my iPhone note to take down the start time, side, duration. So from start time to next start time max is 3 hrs. Now, they drink less, the most only empty one side. When slightly older (maybe 1 mth old for my son's case) can start to drink 2 breast. I normally give 1 side (L) 20m then more to the other side (R) until he stop. Then next feed start on the same side (R).
I called mrs Wong when I was nursing my son, when she is still in Mt A. This time round, I have not called her yet. Did u managed to get her name card during the class? I PM u her contact later.

I chg the brown teat weekly. N switch to the silicon one when my boy is use to teats. Cos the brown teat will tend to flatten n stick together when they suck hard (cos too soft). Don't buy too many, u try silicon one occasionally, when they dont complain just switch over.

Chris,
If you have more than one adult w u, then just get one to wait inside while u stay outdoor. Check with them how many before you, then count. No choice if they don't call u. If not chg clinic lah. Baby still young ok to chg.

Kimmy,
I using the pigeon powder detergent. I use slightly less than the recommended amount. I don't use softener these days even for adult clothes n linen. Cos my hubby says softener is made to stay on fabric after wash to make it soft. To avoid too much chemical on skin, Esp for babies, we dont know whether their skin are sensitive or not. So we choose to go without. So far clothes not too stiff. Important to buy good quality cotton, softer.

Bbliss,
I m also using pampers. Hospital use huggies, we don't quite like the texture. We tried the drypers sample, v soft can consider. But I already stock up pampers for this month. My hubby just lug back fr hk a made in Japan Pampers with premium cotton. Super soft n price slightly cheaper than the pampers we get here. But super soft, so guess I will switch to this JP version after my stock run out.

Neil, I got the contact! Thanks babe! I didn't latch on much coz belle is impatient.. I dun hv enough for her.. When I pump, each time 15-20ml usually.. I hv to combine 2-3 pump to one feed of 50ml. How much milk is your bb drink now, is 50 too little for a wk plus new born? Thanks.

Hazel, I don't know how much she is drinking. Cos she drink direct. I did chk w my PD that day, he said for my ger (2weeks old) abt 50-70. I tried pumping to release engorgemebt , collected abt 50ml in 5min, still half full. So guess sheis drinking abt 60ml for a 20min feed. Sometime less when she doze off after 10min. But doc say as long as she wet 6-7 times n poo often then ok. N she already gain back n above her birth weight. No need to worry too much abt how much they drink, just feed on demand. That's what my doc say.

Neil, I only know she changes diapers 7-8x a day.. Coz each time during feed or after she will poo! Just now I carry her n weigh then less off my weight when I weigh.. Seems that she is bk to original birth weight... So shld be fine?

there is actually a formulae on how to compute how much a bb shld be drinking (via bottle)

weight of baby X 150ml and then divide by how many times a day (8 times -- this is every 3 hrly)

this is taught to me by my pd. it is the min amt my bb shld be drinking

Hazel, how come belle used huggies when at tmc?My bb used pampers while she was there. My bb also tends to fall asleep after 15 mins latch on one side, after let her rest for a while, will wake her up n latch her on the other side. Sometimes she refuse, then will let her sleep and I use pump to pump out.

Summer, dunno leh.. Nursery n NICU all use Huggies... They give me one big pack of Huggies too when belle was born as she is first 88 bbs...

Ladies I m still here. V busy at work today.

Summer, I heard hospital will issue out tender each mth to diapers co and they bid for it. Not always we may use same brand. I have mummy poko and pampers for my gal to try out.

Hazel/ Chris, my cousin has her party food cater by neos not v nice. I like purple sage or oh farm.

Kimmy and Neil, my mum told me not to buy powder detergent. Cos dun know whether it's wash off by machine. Better to use liquid. I m using kodomo to wash my gal clothes. It's v nice smell. For what they wear, my mum prepared I only saw 1 drawer of clothes lots of hankie and towel.

Hi Nell,

We never go back to that clinic at mt A liao. We went there only for 1st PD appt to check for jaundice. Ya we wanted to wait outside, but outside is air-con too with quite a few patients waiting too.

oh gals,

get ready some long sleeve and long pants for bb if u intend to let bb sleep in air-con. For mine case, i didn't get many just a few pcs so now when bb sick and weather turned cold, we do laundry daily and quickly pray the clothes dry fast. Instead we got alot of short sleeve bodysuits which are 3-6mths and above and its abit loose for my bb.

Hi Catherine,

U still at work? Shouldn't you be resting and getting ready for delivery soon? Dun not stressed yourself too much at work.

Hazel,
my gal big appetite, at hospital they gave her 25-30ml FM feed, but when she back the 2nd day she can drink up to 90ml per feed ah!! Faintz... If not enough she will ask for more, we did check with Dr terence tan during the 1st PD appt and he says its normal and fine that she is drinking that amount. Now with the massage over, i tried to pump like every 3hrs starting today. I dun bother about the amount just pump to stimulate or relieve engorgement. The LC taught me to pump every 2-3hrs, massage before pumping, then each side pump 5mins, rest a while and massage and apply the breastmilk on the nipples (ard 10x). Then pump another 5mins for each side. She advised me to refrain pumping more than 15mins for each breast as that will cause sore nipples.

Chris, my bosses dun let me off. My immediate boss always give me headaches. He pile work onto me when it's admin work. Ask junior staff to do la yesterday I ask him i do??!! Eyes open big big and stare and say I no time. Then he get message. Simple things for goodness sake ask junior staff to do la I really no time. Then I teach him how to do or give him advise he dun listen and i clean up. No exp I teach u already. Still want wat?? He is v slow in his work and Ang mo no gd. A lot of things he interpret wrongly. How?? Everything also I do lor. That's y I bypass him. I do I sign I approve. Thankfully my signature is registered in my co list. His not registered but becos he is head of dept his sig holds the same weight age as me

Then big boss thinks I got lots of arms and head juz pile lots of work onto me. There r people who already say I m so 'responsible' to take on projects when I m scheduled for maternity leave. For the sake of my bonus and salary I tong

Today I m gg back at 5. My pram and car seat arriving. Besides I have not buy my $10 million toto haha

And u know ladies I m only halfway done with my lunch. My faults I went to kiddy palace at marina sq to shop. Came back late so eat and work but work stress is horrible so no appetite.

Meryl & Chrisl,

Dr Cecilia was also my GP... very nice lady... heard from Dr Patricia (one of the docs who took over her clinic) that she passed away due to breast cancer in Aug or Sep (cant remember)... she has been battling with the cancer for many yrs, gone through chemo... Now the clinic is run by a few of her good frens. They all have their own clinics, but they cant bear to let Dr Cecilia's patients hanging just like that, so they chipped in $$ to maintain this clinic... She was the one who encouraged me to go for ivf... wanted to tell her the good news but... *sigh*

Catherine,
aiyoyoyo your boss really one kind leh... nevermind try to bear with it and think of the good things like you'll gonna see your dragon gal soon...

Hi Sunflower,

Which Dr cecilia? Do you mean the one at tamp blk 139 round mkt??? I heard she's very gd with PD and wanted to bring my gal see her next time.

Catherine, I don't have good experience w liquid detergent, maybe it is my machine. Cos sometimes I get 1 lump stain on my clothes. So apparently it din get dissolve well. So far, I m happy w the pigeon powder, I just make sure I don't use too much n there is no lumps when I scoop it. Cos lumps may be harder to dissolve evenly.

Ladies, for baby clothes. My girl wear the body suit from Mothercare. I bought 3 pack of the 3 pcs pack. It has a little "flip over" at the sleeve. So we don't need to get separate mitten. Wonder what takes Mothercare so long to think design this. My boy also wear Mothercare sleep suits n short sleeve body suit (day) till he is 24mths. So for my gal, I just buy all sizes of both body n sleep suit pack whenever there is sales.

Actually, Mothercare's cutting a bit big. Newborn size still too big for my gal. Gap and Petit Bateau sizes are slightly smaller. So I just bought a few Gap Newborn and Petit Bateau 1m body suit for day.

Neil, I m also using pigeon powder. Yes, detergent always hv lump! I hate that. I dun put alot of powder too.. N I always make sure I set the additional rinse button on.

Neil, petit bateau is v ex. I feel heart ache if I were to buy. My Europe fren say she will buy for my gal. Let's hope she keep to her word.

Chris, I went around guardian to find the abdominal binder but dun have leh. U know where yr hb bought it at?

The stupid delivery man ask me to b home by 6. I did and now he is no where at sight. I want to buy toto leh,,,,

Sunflower~
oh i see..it's still very sad losing such a good doc..good that the clinic is still there and functioning even though she's no longer around..she'll be fondly remembered

Chris~
sunflower meant another GP Dr cecilia at tampines 400+..

Catherine, I got my gg to buy from Europe. Not sure how much they cost here. Think baby gap shdnt be too ex ba. Anyway, I still prefer Mothercare product. The cotton is much softer n thicker. You shd go get the sleep suits. My CL also say v good at least don't have to be bothered about mitten. We only put on mitten for her these 2 days when we try to let her wear short sleeve suits in the afternoon.

You shd be able to get the abdominal binder from hospital pharmacy. I got mine fr mt E.

Ya my gal also has some clothes from mother care uk. Hubby bought it last yr when he was in uk. Same for her teats and milk bottle all sit aeroplane. Hubby always say this r high class items. k I will ask my mum to buy. Mum works in hospital pharmacy

I have craving for curry and yu sheng. How to wear it off?? Curry fattening, yu sheng is raw....

Catherine~
Eat it! LOL..You can make/or ask your mum to make(if she cooks) curry with fresh milk instead of coconut milk..what's what i hv been always been doing..and skim off the fats floating on top of curry, use skin free chicken fillets instead of thighs and include lotsa veggies in it..makes a lot of difference..

Hi catherine,

My hb bought the abdominal binder from compass pt guardian pharmacy branch.
Maybe u might be able to find it at bigger branches.

Hi catherine,

My hb's fren wife buys hers from OSIM. She has being wearing the normal abdominal binder (not sure what brand) to sleep for 12yrs since she has her 1st boy. She says to wear it to maintain her shape. I told her i dun think i can wear that long hahahaa..Anyway remember to wear a cloth underneath the binder to absorb any sweat (if any) cos of the material of the binder it will cause skin irritation, so nadia (massage lady) taught me to wear a cloth beneath it before i bind.
6637959.gif

Hi catherine,

i bought a few bodysuits from mothercare too, the material is very good and soft. Normally KK branch mothercare got special buys, so i bought it there when i went for my appt last year.

Hi hazel,

Does your gal sleep with you at night or with your CL? How's your pumping session? I've being trying faithfully to pump every 3 hrs+ today. Wow tiring manz, really salute those mummies who breastfeed more than 1mth.
6637962.gif