(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Kimmy - I remembervseeing the pebble @ Taka sale around $340 I think.

Re getting Dr loh (or any doctor from TMC), if really delivery emergency, call the 24hr emergency & apparently they will call the doctors personal handphone. So keep the 24hour emergency Walk-in number with you too.

Chris-baby - your mil is very funny! Where got can ask you to delay one? Bb want to come out, means ta-da! Here I come hahaha...

Re: Pets

I have a dog (Sasha, now u know why i am sashamama), shetland sheepdog, been with me for 12 years. She sleeps with me every night. Follows me to toilet and waits for me. When I go on holiday and need to put her somewhere, even if it is for 5 days, I will cry.

My CL requested not to have my dog around. I'm really torn. Hope to re-negotiate on that.

Catherine, u mean your endowment funds come with a full health insurance plan right? As for manulife life health insurance, no point signing up Coz hubs has pre existing conditions.

oh boy sashamamma..it's sure is a tough call...i had a maltese too for 9 years prior to my cats so i understand..my doggie also used to sleep with me and sis
how abt asking some good friends who can take care for that month? But as you said she even sleeps with you...and i suppose doggies like routines same as cats..hmmm..no choice..have to maybe give some extra 'angpows' to ask CL to close eyes..is she afraid of dogs or? And emphasis to her that she don't need to take care of the dog...

Wah that's rather frequent toilet visits in a short time Hazel..

Hazel, heehee I forgot whether its free health or life insurance must c the proposal. Same here i got existing health condition so cant go to manulife. Also tmc has emergency 24 hr hotline I m lazy to get out of bed will post later. It's on my clinic card I took a photo and send to my hb.

I m tired and hungry now juz dun want to get out of bed to face today.... Wish I can b on mc...

Mommies, I have just given birth via natural delievery to my boy at week 38 5 days after 23hrs of induced labor over Sunday night n Monday afternoon. The first part of the labor was tough n I only managed to dilate 1cm after 11 hrs of labor pain after being induced. The next morning my gynae burst my waterbag n the nurse drained my urine n things really speeded up from there n my little one arrived with a finsl push in the afternoon. All the best to mommies on this thread, it is a tough journey to soldier through ivf pregnancies, but it is worth every minute of it to carry our babies in our arms

Ritzc, were u on epidural thru out? Congrats & well done!!!!

Chrisl, yes these few times v freq visit to toilet.. Not sure if coz bb has moved even further down n is pressing on bladder.. I hv abit of prob getting out of bed too., pelvis area hurts too.

Ritzc, congrats and rest well

Hazel same as u my pelvic hurts badly. Have to sit up for a while hold on to window grills to get support

Catherine, thanks. is that your gynae's emergency no or TMC? I hv a TMC card n cldnt see this no.. Not on TMC website also..

Ritzc, the induce is it From tablet via vagina?

GD MORNING!! BRIGHT AND SUNNY DAY FOR LAUNDRY AGAIN!!!

sashamama,
wow your CL afraid of dogs ah? i didn't tell my CL i got a bunny heehee and 2 dogs (with my in-lsws). Wow your dog sooo sweet.

6590331.gif

Ritz,

Congrats!!!! wow 23hrs you are really brave!!! take good care and rest well. I should be joining you soon, see my gynae tomorrow and let her decide my fate.
6590347.gif
Btw how did your labour starts as in what are the symptoms before you are admitted?

Hi hazel,

me too, difficulty getting out of bed and turning from one side to another. i tend to get breathless when i try to climb out of bed to toilet too...

hazel,catherine

Especially after lying down on sofa watching favourite show, i will be struggling for some time to get up from sofa, and by then exhausted ah. Hb wanted to help me up but i told him its okie i'll climb up myself just give me time. REally felt like Humdy Dumdy.

Hazel, ya im induced through vaginal pressy n am on epidural after water bag burst. Used up the entire dosage of epidural

Chris baby, my contractions appears mainly in the form of severe backaches at the lower spine near the tailbone n hip. The aches come in a wave with a peak of intensity n gradually increases in frequency. Tummy hardens when contractions (backpains) happen. I did not have menstrual pain contractions at all. When the aching pain intensified badly, i checked into the delievery ward again - was at my room ward before that coz delievery ward r charged separately- for a 6 hrly pain relief jab to relieve the pain n check for dilation.

Hubby's role is very important. My hubby was with me throughout to massage my back to help me cope with the waves of contractions n even through my labor process to encourage me to push out our bb. He is scared of course, but im so glad he went through it all w me. Turns out he is more of a protective dad now

Hi Chris!
its common in the 1st tri, when u reaches 2nd tri you wont have such problem. Then come 8mth onwards u'll have the urge to pee often again.

Ritz,
You are really brave!! Yup my sil has being telling me that induce super pain ah, tat's also one of the reasons why i'm scared now. Your hb is really good and a good support thro out the whole labour!

Congrat Ritcz!! So happy for u.. Do enjoy ur motherhood..;) n rest well...

Hi sisters
Just did my oscar at tmc.. So happy to see them again.. Bbies are good n cooperating (no need go in n out of room).. Sonographer meassure both of them in one hr.. Pray hard results all will turn out well..Wonder will i get any call fr tmc?

Dear Ritzc,
CONGRATS!!! So happy for you!!! It is indeed an arduous journey but every bit of that is worth it when we can hold baby in our arms

Dear Chris Baby,
My CL says not very hygienic. Actually I do see the cons cos my dog old liao, though paper trained, she is starting to miss her aim and shit is lying around and her urine will overflow the sides of the newspapers as she walks away without finishing her peeing (pardon the details!!! :p). She has sensitive skin and has some dandruff too.

Also, she is deaf already, but she can still bark! And she will bark if she is not with me, like if I am in my room with door closed and she is outside or I leave the room and the door closed and she can't come out. She will keep barking and barking till she can be with me. Sometimes, she also kaypoh, she knows my mum or brother awake in living room, she'd also bark to wanna get out when I'm still sleeping. She barks at strangers too. So I expect she'd be barking at the CL at least for 1-2 days.

It is indeed gonna be difficult especially when mum or hubby not home to look after her 24/7. But I can't bear to leave her somewhere too. Sigh! Will definitely re-negotiate with CL...

Dear Joanne,
Congrats on a good scan!!! Didn't the sonographer give you any feedback during and after the scans or tell you when the results will be out? Dr loh told me I don't need to see him straight after Oscar cos the sonographer will speak to me le.

For those 2nd time mummies, able to share hw c-sec process is like ? Juz a curiosity to find out :p

Me too... Oso having e freq peeing n agree tat getting out of sofa have becoming a tedious chore too.., haha..

Sashamama,

my 2 dogs same case as your dog too, one is 13yrs old, the other one is the mum is 14yrs old, both got skin problem, both are deaf but still hyper active. Both are on long time medication, one for renal and another glucosame. They need to go downstairs at least 2x per day to poo and pee. Altho we do leave newspapers around for them but they prefer to go down for walks. My fil and his maid will take turns bring them down, and at times if they can't hold their pee, they'll bark and my fil will bring them down.

wow today's weather is hot and humid and clearing me...think i'm gonna take a bath and hide in the comfort of my bedroom with aircon ah and watch tv serials. OMG if this weather lasts till next mth, think i'll melt during my confinement ah...
6591826.gif

Congrats Ritz!! Rest well and have lotsa fun with your bundle of joy

Congrats x 2 Joanne
dr Loh's recep says will know the partial results on day of scan. Thereafter if BT results is good, then won't receive a phone call from them. But I think I will call up nonetheless to put the mind at ease.

Congrats Ritz
well done !

your littie bundle of joy is in your hands. i am looking forward to taking a foto with my hubby together with my new born baby in the ward. hehe

been busy spring cleaning for the past few days..so tired. Hazel, i admire your energy level. i dun tink i can do as much as you when in third trimeter.

Hi chris baby,

soon you will be holding your littie bundle of joy in your hands. Jia you!

Hazel : I am still worried for Dr Loh's teething problems. yeah also for the next scan on friday. somehow i am excited but at the same time oso kan cheong.

anyone knows how is Dr Loh's schedule like huh? i only know wed he got night clinic.

Hi ladies, jus to share - was attracted to qunniy zapp extra and maxi cosi carseat when a lady pushed this stylo past us. have you ever buy from a guy named charles liu in this forum thread huh? he is selling cheaper. but i was thinking where did he got his goods.

yo, any recommendation for satiliser huh? Pigeon or Avent one better huh?

Chinese new year is coming heheeh i need to perk up my energy cos i tink i have to have a afternoon nap each day.

sunbelle, his night clinic is on tues and thur. he has no night clinic at his new clinic on Wed. That was KKH days.

re: quinny zapp extra

just want to higlight that the seat on the stroller though have a few reclining positions, it cannot be folded. not sure if you know. i got the quinny zapp instead, with one reclining position and can be folder.

Thk u gals
Very happy to see them just now.. Hmm.. But, sonographer no feedback anything much.. I asks the length n then they tell me..Oso let me hear bb hb n tell me their hb rate.. The hb sound soo nice like music to me..;) i request for bbies printout too..;) I asks abt sex n she say dun dare tell me in case wrong.. She say i will know on detail scan at 20th wk.. Think i will asks doc Loh in my next scan ler.. Then she asks me are they identical twins n i tell her shd not be since go thru ivf n she say wrong.. Ivf oso can be identical.. Then she say why doc never tell me meh? Hmm...oh ya, pls tell her u go thru ivf as she will asks xtra question like when do er as need to know how old is the egg if go thru fet.. Then she just say bbies r very cute n no more.. Then i take bt n go.. Hv sign up for the fbi card too to get 10% discount.. Btw, i go for package as in pay for detail scan n oscar together.. Hope is cheaper to pay as a package..

sunbelle, slowly do loh.. everyday can only do abit.. so breathless until i wan to die... this morning, cleaned the living room... i just did it a few wks back and it is dusty AGAIN!

tomorrow part time helper coming, will leave the rest to her.. i hv lots of clothes for her to iron meh...

anyhow, i am going to rest now.. wan to collapse already... :p

hi hazel,

can share with me what do you mean can be folded huh? i tink the metal frame of both quinny zapp and extra can be folded. issit the seat can be folded huh?

hm... the sonographer should know if the twins are identical or non-identical leh. how can she asked "are they identical twins?" from the scan, she can tell how many sacs & plancenta they are. If it were me, i would hv questioned the sonographer what she saw on the screen... how can she asked patient this kind of question? only give pp the impression that she is not v qualified... i will be concerned if she knew what she was scanning meh :p

identical twins (Monoamniotic twins) develop inside the same amniotic sac & share a placenta within their mother’s uterus. Identical twins are always of the same gender unless in rare circumstances.

Non-identical twins (Fraternal twins) have 2 sacs & placenta as they are from 2 separate embiees.

Yes, ivf twins can be identical twins coz i embyro can spit into 2! that is how identical twins are formed, be it conceived naturally or thru ivf. Identical twins carry more risks than non-identical twins.

so, some gals, transfer 2 embyros. BUT ended up with 3 bbs! coz 1 embyro split!

sunbelle, the stroller makes up of 2 components. the frame and the seat. i am referring to the seat. quinny zapp, the seat is cloth material. so, u can follow the quinny zapp with the cloth together when bb is big enough to sit on the stroller (without maxi cosi car seat) from 6 mths onwards.

but for quinny zapp extra, the seat is a fixed shaped seat and cannot be folded. to keep the stroller, u need to remove the seat before the stroller can be folded. Eg, if u are at a restaurant, u either dun fold the stroller OR have to take out the seat first before u can fold the stroller.. then, u hv to put the seat on the floor/chair.

U ask the sales person to show u, u will understand better. I may not be good in explaining.

RitzC- Congrats!!! So happy for u!!!

Joanne- why the sonographer ask u whether it's identical?? Shouldn't she know better?? Anyway I'm sure all is well with your oscars.

Kimmy- how r u doing?? Me getting breathless...walk a bit alr breathless...aigoo...third trimester seems tough.

Ohh... I blur too.. Is she inexperience?? Omg..
She did show me there r two placenta n say they r a divider inbetween the babies.. N baby one can touch baby two hand but of course baby one cannot goto baby two cubicle.. Then she say the inbetween divider is like a curtain(soft one) so they can feel each other presence.. I was like ohhh.. Then head oso can bang head lor when they grow bigger.. Hmm.. If there r two placenta, it shd means non identical twin lor.. After almost all messurement done, she say she going to asks another doctor to measure one more part for baby 2.. Then i ??? again as why cant she measure? Inexperience? She put the scanner so hard on me n i can feel some pain but keep quiet as thot this is normal for oscar since she needs to measure more detail so may hv to push abit harder.. (first time doing oscar) Hope it is normal to feel pain at tt moment.. Alamak.. Makes me wonder she experience or not now.. Hope didnt hurt my babies?? ;(

Hazel,

wow today weather humid and hot like oven, me just got out from my aircon room ah. wow hazel admire your stamina ah, today i didn't do hsework gave myself a break after yesterday 1/2 dead ah especialy with vacuum the floor suddenly find the vacuum cleaner so heavy to lift or even push around. I felt so clumsy ah.

wow...geez im just so spoilt for choices looking at websites selling bb stuffs! Just that many things are so expensive!...actually some not too worth as bb outgrows fast and things might not be use for more than a couple of months...but on the other hand..want the best for bb...in dilemma now..any nice website to suggest for more of 'eye shopping'? Want to look and compare more...

Chris, these few days v hot. Just now after lunch, I ate 1.5 pc of rock melon.. Find it tasted weird with strong Rock melon taste n a bit bitter. I bought it at Carrefour on Sunday morning n my dad just cut today... Just now, my mum mentioned that part of the rock melon inside was spoilt though outside looked gd.. N my dad cut the spoilt one away.. I asked her to taste n she said weird taste n threw everything away!!!

Hm.. But I nv LS leh.. So shld be fine, I guess?

J03, no worries. Better ask dr loh next visit. Ask for a copy of the oscars report, it shld state the no of sac & placenta.

Hm.. U hv the 6 wks scan report done at KKH? It shld be written there too.. Coz they need to take measurement if there are > than 1.

Dear Joanne,
Thx for sharing ur experience! I must be more alert to the skills of the sonographer on the 30th!!! May I know how much did you pay for the oscar plus detailed scan package and how much should it have been if without the package?

Dear chris baby,
Your dogs are of what breed? The smaller they are the longer they can live. It is very saddening for our dogs to be deaf ya? They can't hear when we call them and they can't hear when we soothe them through our voices. I'm very saddened by this. I'm glad she is still active, can walk, can jump, can play if excited

Dear Chrisl,
I havent started researching on bb stuff yet!!! Soooo much to prepare for!!!

Just now, I had a nightmare that I got a new dog and lost Sasha. I panicked and cried. It was so scary... I think I'm starting to stress over not being able to have Sasha with me!!! argh... Unless I put at my mother in law's place then ask my hubby to fetch her here to Tampines (they stay in yishun) when she wanna visit - maybe alternate days - and they must bring Sasha over. I dunno if this works out... Sigh!!!

Hi sashamama,

Both are cocker spaniels. Very active even at their age, even the vet commented that they dun look their age ah. my bunny is a brokem smoke lop ear. Yup tats why we daren't unleash them like we used to cos if u wanna call them bk tough ah they can't hear us, so normally we communicate thro sign language ah.hahahahaa..that time my mil told me off asking me bb more important or bunny. I told her both and she stared at me with her black face hahahaha...