(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

any one has pets at home? I've a lovebird which i was forced to give away to my dad cos of my mil's constant nagging and telling my hb to get rid of it cos bb coming. I managed to save my bunny ah, it has being with me since Apr last yr. Mil not happy says tat bunny fur no good for bb etc...And she has being nagging me non-stop to throw it away and to tell my hb to throw it away when i not home ah. Hb daren't cos i warned him before that we also have 2 dogs at in-laws place too so are we going to throw the 2 old dogs away after bb comes out!!! Not fair rite? so he kept quiet. heehee..

re diapers vs clothe, for my niece, turning 1 next month, my mum only uses diapers and applys diaper cream with every change, so far no rashes outbreak yet. Parents have mastered the timing for her poo poo, so will immed chg diapers after her biz. They also constantly assess if her diapers are too full of urine, etc. So diapers work fine for us, I guess niece is not skin sensitive too, if so, true, clothe may be better as it's more airy

So much info and sharings in this forum, thanks ladies, really appreciate it, otherwise I'd still be so blur blur...

Chris baby, I read that kids who grow up with pets have 60% stronger immune system than the others
But if the pets start 'attacking' the child outta jealousy, then it's no good

Asian family seems to feel that furry pets are not ideal haizz....I'm guessing it's asthma concerns...

My parents' place has 2 bunnies and we didn't allow the baby to get near them until about 5-6mths, so far no allergies etc. My sis now allows the baby to 'play' with the bunnies occassionally (she's really thrilled) and we keep them very clean. Baby stays at parents' place Mon-Fri now. For me, I won't have the heart to give them away

Chris, so u confirm delivery on 19th? Excited or not? Did u go see gynae today? Is your cervix ready? She checked?

Buffet got nothing much to eat one.. N ex.. Hubs ordered peng cai for 10 pp, already cost $388! I will just give instructions n supervise the new maid Loh.. Some cutting n washing, I can sit n do..

M so shack now after talking to my mum.. V breathless again,, today is another super hot day n it makes me feel worse.. I m going to hide in aircon room now

Tronso,

hahaha tats what i told my in-laws too, that kids that grow with pets around have stronger immunity as i've read in newspapers too!! Cos my in-law super paranoid even thought of giving away my 2 old dogs at their place. Hb scolded them up side down, hhahaha cos the dogs have being with the family since 14ys ago and just becos grandkids coming they wanna give it away then its too much lor. And he told them wat if he does it to them too how will they feel etc...whahahaaa..

i always tell my hb the SPCA slogan " to you, its a pet, to him you are his everything". A Pet is for life. Tats why even though our 2 old dogs have their own medical condition and we got to spend a few hundred on their medication per mth, we will still keep them till their last day lor.

And my bunny has grown very attached to us, i normally lets him out from 8pm-10pm after i reach home from work daily. Now i let him out only once every 2 days. When he's out he'll either look for me or hb to play with him, and he normally jumps up the sofa to play with me when i watching TV. so used to having him around.

hi hazel,

Most likely 19th or 20th. Will be seeing gyane on 18th Jan, and see what she suggests lor...she's gonna check my cervix, amniotic fluid, bb's condition, measures bb head circumference (which she does every visit, cos she wanna make sure bb's head not too big as if too big she'll suggest c-section). I'm also worried cos if cervix not ready and go for induction will be a long process and end up c-section ah...but also depends on amniotic fluid level cos if really not sufficient or of good level she might suggest me to go for induction cos dun wanna delay.

6587373.gif

so far me no signs and symptoms le... only felt cramps on off and the feeling like gonna poo poo lor esp during the evenings. Then really went poo poo ah.... Dun think bb has engaged cos still feel that she is packed around the ribs area. But can still feel the pressure around the groin and rectum area. She has being very active this few days and causing me discomfort as its very packed inside my tummy now, with her every slightest moment i can feel her pressing on my other organs.
6587441.gif

going for my lunch soo at my sil's place..will go for 10mins slow walk to reach her place. Mil's packed lunch and fish soup over. heehe very lazy to walk ah...esp now weather quite warm. But force myself to walk la,,more exercise.

Hi ladies, juz wanna check if anyone knows hw much will the insurance tat we bought during ivf covers if bb goes to nicu if born prematurely. Thks alot!

Chris baby, I think pets are our kids too
MIL has good intentions, but just go with what your heart says

Got a question about birdnests. Do you ladies get the raw 洞燕 or 官燕 (reared in man made facilities) for consumptions? Quite some diff in pricing...

Heard that there is a big slash in prices now due to the china birdnests scandle, so maybe good time to purchase. But I'm getting indo ones most likely.

Hmm after reading what u ladies have to go help out I feel I m lucky that my mil is not in sg.

Hi tromso, mind champ is an enrichment class I will send my gal for the reading class. Lorna Winston is a speech and drama school. Lots of things for her to learn but I only have weekends with her so must choose wisely

Hi Chris, few more days hang in there. Dun care what yr mil wants think for the safety of u and bb.

Ya hazel it's freeking hot!! I was complaining like mad yesterday. Today in office so not that bad. For those who have yet to do their bb laundry juz nice !!!!

Hi Chris baby, I hve a dog at home too. My in laws r animal lovers so they nvr mention anything. Anyway,they had dog when my hubby was a baby.
Maybe some older generation are not well educated, so they noe nothin abt animals & babies living together. My bro-in-law's dog helped them to guard their new born baby..whenever baby woke up from nap, the dog will run to the owner & whine.

Lyn, you mean the insurance coverage? Is all in the policy GE sent you. Please check the policy out for the coverage. If not, you dun even know what is claimable and the life of the policy. We should know what we are buying in the first case.

It covers both NICU and SCN. The amt claimable are not alot compared to the actual cost of what hospital charges. Eg, $300 a day max for NICU while Daily charge by hospital (KKH) is $1k. Pte hospitals will be more ex. I read the policy sent by GE to know all these.

Chris, it took me 2 hrs to clean the study room!! Hubs really has lots of rubbish!! If not coz got aircon, I wun be able to take the heat!

Tromso, mindchamps has preschool too but only a few centres. My colleague sending her son to the full day care ow at city sq. think their fees are on e higher side but they have plenty of programmes for the kids.

Tronso,

yup now its a good time to buy bird's nest. A month ago i was at " lao Ban Niang" a store at bugis and the owner told me the price of raw birdnest has gone down alot and very good time to buy. i bought both 洞燕 and 官燕 before from other places but this time round mil bought for me and i just paid her back so not too sure.

Catherine,hazel kimmy,

Guess wat my mil says just now at my sil's place? aiyoyo she keep asking me can delay after cny or not, as she wanna go temple to pray pray on the 1st day of cny. Then later she asked me will i mind if u come and visit me after cny ie 2nd day of CNY cos she going to temple pray pray 1st, my sil also says the same thing. She'll just send my fil as representative to visit me at hospital. I told her never mind.
6588477.gif
Anyway i rather she visit me after cny then to stress me to delay my delivery date lor.

Catherine!!

hehee ya freaking hot ah!!! now just besides big GAZZ fan blowing at me...Super good day to clear my laundry today whaahahaaa

wow hazel,

now i starting to vacuum hse and mop floor later. Cos quite dusty after 1mth..can't wait for hb liao. Yup i agree, guys loved to keep alot of stuff tat day i also threw away alot of rubbish while clearing the study room ah...just that there are new rubbish there tat i can't clear lor, ie my bro-in-law's junk tat is stacking all over my study room lor...hiaz

hi miraclehappens,

my in-laws are animal lovers too and loved both our dogs tat's why told us to leave the dogs with them when we shifted house. But now with their grandchild, they started getting paraniod after listening to advices from their frens and thought of getting rid of our dogs few mths bk. Now after hb told them off, they daren't do that anymore but now aiming my poor bunny ah....

Hi sisters, juz read an Internet article on fetal movement. They are saying muz haf 10 kicks per hr.

But I was wondering hw to track every single hrs. If don't have 10 kicks as they mentioned then hw ?

Does anyone know hw to monitor bb movements in a better way ? Thks !

Somedays I can feel movements very frequently but there are days where movements nt tat intensive. Izit normal ?

Like today, dunnoe izit becoz I been walking ard for couple of hrs n then stand for quite sometime becoz hand washing all e new yr clothes n hanging clothes, can feel tat movements fr my gal nt very intensive leh. Wonder if she tired or lazy due to weather n mi doing Hse chores ??? Hmm.....

Dunno wats wrong with dr loh's clinic, my friend as been calling >10x today! Either enraged or no one pics up!!! How to operate like this!?

Bbliss, dr loh said from 9am to 9pm, at least 10 movements. He gave me a phampets when he was still in KKH on this.

hi miraclehappens,

my in-laws are animal lovers too and loved both our dogs tat's why told us to leave the dogs with them when we shifted house. But now with their grandchild, they started getting paraniod after listening to advices from their frens and thought of getting rid of our dogs few mths bk. Now after hb told them off, they daren't do that anymore but now aiming my poor bunny ah....

my gal's movement will be more intense before and after meals and when i lie down. But when i walking around, can't feel much of her movements cos yoga teacher said before that when we walking around, bb is like a cradle rocking comfortably in our tummy so doesn't move that intense.

Chris, I dun think part time Helper can do so many things in 5 hrs! Lots of clothes for her to iron... U know, my cosmetic n skin care on the shelves of the bathroom all dusty, took out one by one n wipe n clean.. Scrub the sink n toilet bowel.. My bath tub also i but things! All dusty!! The floor my mum is cleaning now coz I dun wan to squat.

guess wat my mil says to me jus now at my sil's place? she asked me when is my delivery date and whether can delay after 1st day of cny. hiaz...
Then she asked me if i'll mind if she'll only come visit me after 1st day of CNY cos she wanna go temple to pray on the 1st day CNY and if she ever visited me then she'll not be able to go temple liao. Wat can i say leh????
6589093.gif

Oh hazel, 9 to 9 ah... Meaning at least 10 movements in tat 12 hrs ya ? Ok ok... Thx.

Hmm... Dunnoe wat my gal pattern leh. Seem like she got mood one lor. Hehe....

Aiyo, hazel, bathtub !!?? U still got use bathtub even preggy nw? Gotta be careful, k. Quite 不方便 using bathtub when preg.

Toliet floor I used those long brush broom look alike to scrub. I don't squat to scrub coz quite clumsy nw n dun wan to squat up n dwn since dr also advice tat.

Chris, y do ur mil keep asking u e same qns over n over again? U juz tell her e timing is nt for u to decide ya.

Bbliss, I dun use the bath tub.. But still need to clean leh.. Dusty! My bedroom's windows r nv open, coz I will on aircon when I m in the room.. But everywhere in the room also dusty! Where does the dust come fr I wonder?!

Bbliss,

i told mil the delivery date not up to me to decide. Then guess wat she says? she says if doc say can delay then asked me to delay after CNY wor, so that she can go temple pai pai or. My hb just tell me to ignore her nonsence lor. We'll just let doc decide for us. Now when i tell her i dun intend to delay so long, she tell me that she'll only visit me after CNY Lor.

Hmm... I tink dust come fr any single gaps at hm brought in by wind n sometimes by ppl as well. Haha....

Btw, anyone of you got nice Kueh lapis to recommend. Haf sudden crave for tat. Oops.....:p

Hazel~ yes hb has blond hair/blue eyes but he's no hunk LOL very average looking lah, will be here long term..as he didn't want to get out of his comfort zone to work overseas..i supposed it's our characters..we're rather the 'homely types'
And plus he's the eldest, so hv to take care of the farm when FIL can't work next time..

Tromso~you might want to start looking/reading more ard now if you want cos a lot of preschools in singapore are so different in terms of curriculum (some use a mixture of UK and US curriculum well..based on the guideline of MOE(preschools)/MCYS(childcare). and some have their 'special designed' tailored made curriculum to develop the 'whole child' or others based on philosophy like maria Montessori etc etc..so read up and see what you want best for your child...and of course taking into considerations both you and hb's daily working time and see if it fits together...having a child is also a long lifetime commitment

The asian network is mostly in the bigger cities like oslo. They have a singaporean club there..but the club seldom have any meetups..cos i think everyone's busy..anyway i do have 1 or 2 closer friends who are also living in oslo region-of whom i've visited or correspond mostly with. One is a SGprean couple with children whose hb is relocated here for 2 years(going back sg) and another one is like me married to a norwegian guy with 2 children. It is impt to have some links somehow so we can talk or relate things...

Chris baby Me! I have 2 cats here..my mum also had been already complained about the furs and the cons abt them causing allergies etc..yes sometimes it worries me cos my cats (esp the bigger/older one) hunts here outside..she has taken in squirrels and mice and birds and snakes! during the summer) im afraid of the diseases she bring in as i read abt cats and their poo is rather no no for preggys..so now hb clears their poo box and i steer clear of it..we intend to clear the living room upstairs soon when spring/summer comes and get ready when bb arrives, i and bb will mostly stay upstairs most often and cats are grounded to the lower floors..but anyway, if you or hb keep clean the pet area and most imptly wash hands after touching and before preparing food etc..should be ok..im actually wondering if there's a machine thingy that attracts/sucks in furs...im contemplating to get...

Oh ladies..a paiseh question...do you gals feel very in the 'mood' for BD when preggy? And how your other half respond? My hb is afraid he'll hurt the bb...although i kept telling him that it's ok and even websites said so...sigh...

oh duh...i really have to get my bum working later...to wash the toilet!!!! And take the CNY deco out!!

hi Chris!!
aye my hb is looking for such machines too hahahaha to suck the fur, he worries abt my bunny's fur ah. he ever suggested shaving my bunny which of cos i objected to his stupid idea as wat if the fur doesn't grow bk etc...

Chrisl, ur bb will be very pretty or handsome!! With a mix of Chinese and western features! I can't wait to see meh!!

haha chrisbaby your hb so funny! Shave the fur?? LOL
I'll have to read more and show to hb hehe
cos he's still not too convinced..as you said b4 maybe he's too gan geong...

hehehe hazel that would be a plus lah..i pray for healthy bb who will grow up to be good responsible and beautiful on the inside ;)

Catherine~wow..im impressed with the way you handle your money..it's really a good way to teach children while they are young abt the unfortunate and how we could do our part in helping them

hahaha just went for dinner with my hb, and told him wat his mum said, hb says tell me to ignore his mum and tat she can jolly well visit me when i full mth. hahahaa... then i told him tat my sil suggested tat we mms bb's photo to mil and hb says forget it..hahaha he not to happy especially when i told him tat my sil suggested to my mil to visit me only after they have gone to the temple on 2nd day of CNY cos one of the temples there got a yearly event on the 2nd day of CNY where the monks will give blessings to all the devotees buy affixing seals on their shirts and belongings.
Then after the ceremony they will come and visit me.

Hello hot mummies!

Anyone saw this yet? A very cool pram with auto close & open system. Fwah!!!
http://techcrunch.com/2011/12/20/hands-on-with-the-4moms-origami-stroller/

Check out the video. Hmmmm......

BTW, anyone rem carbiofix and pebble maxi cosi prices @ taka during sale period? :p

Chrisl >> mixed heritage. Yums! sure super cute! :p

Bbliss - I read you can feel movements by lying down for a while or drinking a sweet/fizzy/cold drink and then lie down and wait. You should feel something as part of their reaction after tasting amnio fluid :p

Hazel - Dr Loh's current operation does make me worry at times. In case of emergency cannot get him, he mentioned to me before just go down his clinic during office hours to get hold of him loh...then 24hrs if after office hours. I didn't know what to say except...orh... hahahaha

Hi kimmy,

my bb loves western food (non fried) and desserts hahahaha she moves alot while i'm eating chicken chop or when i've having desserts such as red bean soup, etc...

Kimmy, I will propose to dr loh maybe let me do an audit of his clinic's processes & suggest improvements!! Hahaha

chris baby - hehee. Mine basically moves when I eat. So I used to call him little glut then my mom & hb told me don't be mean! :p

hazel - yah he should have feedback form leh. I did tell him during consultation previously but I also don't want to make him feel bad. I just ask about the telephone part and he said cuz full force not in yet. :p

Hazel, my agent prepared a $100k endowment for my gal, full health insurance plan. I can't remember if the life policy is $100 or 500k. To b honest if u n yr hb sign up for manulife health insurance, yr kid get it for free.

Chris, dun bother what yr mil says. She has her own thinking which is old fashion. Juz listen to gynae.

Kimmy, i think most of our bb r glutton, my gal loves expensive food, haha

Hazel, I salute u!! Can't imagine I clean the study room n clean toilets. I will sneeze badly. Ask the part time maid to come again to help u...

Chrisl, I m a finance student but v bad in managing my exp. I prefer to lock my funds immediately once I get my salary. That way I can control better