(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Dear Chrisl and Kimmy,
Thx so much for your input on CL. My first time, so quite gan jiong. But now booked CL and pre & post natal massage too. Am so so relieved. Now just need to read up on 2nd and 3rd trimesters and what to do as a mummy! Will definitely have more questions to share, really hope to get help from mummies here

Dear Chrisl and Kimmy,
Thx so much for your input on CL. My first time, so quite gan jiong. But now booked CL and pre & post natal massage too. Am so so relieved. Now just need to read up on 2nd and 3rd trimesters and what to do as a mummy! Will definitely have more questions to share, really hope to get help from mummies here

chris baby - yah rightfully if you choose nappy diapers, CL has to wash for you.
Anything related to baby & mommy - CL duties. That's minimum, from what I understand :p So no worries!

catherine - oh really ah? Cord Life told me choose anyone can already..they said the same. So I was like uhm...okay..and told me I still have 2 months to think about it. LOL. Like you said, have sunday banking so both works out just fine. Maybe I'd check out on the insurance thingy...cuz i knw TMC covering it for me for first 6 mths with the fbi...

Sashamama - heya, we're all here to share inputs so that we can all learn together too so no worries. Hehe I'm blessed that I have 2 elder family members who are new mummies so they do impart a lot of knowledge and logic behind it... and I also learn from here as well as friends so any questions, so don't feel shy k? I also ask stupid/silly questions ..part & parcel of being a 1st time mummy

Night everyone! One more week to CNY! Ho ho ho. Already snacking on my goodies earlier...shiiiioooooookkkkkk! Go slow on the mandarin oranges, can cause phlegm.

chris baby - yah rightfully if you choose nappy diapers, CL has to wash for you.
Anything related to baby & mommy - CL duties. That's minimum, from what I understand :p So no worries!

catherine - oh really ah? Cord Life told me choose anyone can already..they said the same. So I was like uhm...okay..and told me I still have 2 months to think about it. LOL. Like you said, have sunday banking so both works out just fine. Maybe I'd check out on the insurance thingy...cuz i knw TMC covering it for me for first 6 mths with the fbi...

Sashamama - heya, we're all here to share inputs so that we can all learn together too so no worries. Hehe I'm blessed that I have 2 elder family members who are new mummies so they do impart a lot of knowledge and logic behind it... and I also learn from here as well as friends so any questions, so don't feel shy k? I also ask stupid/silly questions ..part & parcel of being a 1st time mummy

Night everyone! One more week to CNY! Ho ho ho. Already snacking on my goodies earlier...shiiiioooooookkkkkk! Go slow on the mandarin oranges, can cause phlegm.

Hazel, my bb cot is still in box. I read that it should b set up by daddy or grandma then bb will b guai. My hb insist in setting it up but not so soon cos we have not received 'green light' to move things to my mum house where I do my confinement.

U r not alone. Cny eve I must go help my mum too. This yr for excuse cos preggy haha but will try to go early. My hb can help my mum ma... My siblings and their spouse r Tua Pek gongs ... Even if they see table not set or mum rushing like mad woman they juz sit and dun move their butt.

Hmmm I m not gg to open my bb CDa account and her savings in the same bank. Reason is v simple. Banks have a deposit insurance act of $50k. Ie if banks collapse mas only cover the first $50k so if u have $100k in the bank u only get back $50k. So my CDa account is likely to be stand chart and savings account - cimb. They offer 0.8%.

Chrisl and kimmy, the free insurance for bb is juz an add on. I have already drawn up my gal insurance plan. Once she is born my agent will get from me her birth cert and execute it. I m like spending min 2k on her every mth. 1k on insurance, 1k deposit in her cimb account. Hb will pay 1k for her infant care and up to him to deposit into her cimb account. But she only will get 11k not 12k in her savings account per yr. I will donate 1k every yr in her name to either children society, blind ppl, or straits time pocket money fund. I want her to remember there r more unfortunate ppl in this world who needs help.

Has anyone hear from Chris baby? Din see her in forum yesterday ... Wondered if she pop....

Hazel, my bb cot is still in box. I read that it should b set up by daddy or grandma then bb will b guai. My hb insist in setting it up but not so soon cos we have not received 'green light' to move things to my mum house where I do my confinement.

U r not alone. Cny eve I must go help my mum too. This yr for excuse cos preggy haha but will try to go early. My hb can help my mum ma... My siblings and their spouse r Tua Pek gongs ... Even if they see table not set or mum rushing like mad woman they juz sit and dun move their butt.

Hmmm I m not gg to open my bb CDa account and her savings in the same bank. Reason is v simple. Banks have a deposit insurance act of $50k. Ie if banks collapse mas only cover the first $50k so if u have $100k in the bank u only get back $50k. So my CDa account is likely to be stand chart and savings account - cimb. They offer 0.8%.

Chrisl and kimmy, the free insurance for bb is juz an add on. I have already drawn up my gal insurance plan. Once she is born my agent will get from me her birth cert and execute it. I m like spending min 2k on her every mth. 1k on insurance, 1k deposit in her cimb account. Hb will pay 1k for her infant care and up to him to deposit into her cimb account. But she only will get 11k not 12k in her savings account per yr. I will donate 1k every yr in her name to either children society, blind ppl, or straits time pocket money fund. I want her to remember there r more unfortunate ppl in this world who needs help.

Has anyone hear from Chris baby? Din see her in forum yesterday ... Wondered if she pop....

Regarding e topic on CL duties, mine will doing all bb n mummy related stuff n b cooking for my hb n washing his clothes too. Floor she will sweep n mop twice a week but kitchen will be everyday as cooking mah. Only thing she wun do is using cloth diapers coz she said rather spend time watching bb den washing diapers. She requested using disposable diapers :p

Asked hb hw, he said chin cai nvm lor. Juz give n take as long as she takes care of bb well...

Hazel, if can try to buy yr new yr stuff during wk days coz weekend really super super crowded. Sat Nite i went ang mo kio central to shop, wow Kao, everything like no nid $$ like tat. Ppl mountain ppl sea. I was at this tentage area selling cny deco, wow biang so squeezy that I haf to keep my hands wrapped ard my tummy (as added cushion). Haha. Find it really hard to shop. N gg ntuc oso worse. Trolleys, ppl a lot until my hb told mi dun shop liao. Shop during wk day. So this week, I taking 1-2 days off to try settle wat outstanding.

New yr clothes haven wash n iron.... Oh no. N also yet to settle deposit on e fold tiao qiang order n some other foodies. Time like so short to cny....

Regarding e topic on CL duties, mine will doing all bb n mummy related stuff n b cooking for my hb n washing his clothes too. Floor she will sweep n mop twice a week but kitchen will be everyday as cooking mah. Only thing she wun do is using cloth diapers coz she said rather spend time watching bb den washing diapers. She requested using disposable diapers :p

Asked hb hw, he said chin cai nvm lor. Juz give n take as long as she takes care of bb well...

Hazel, if can try to buy yr new yr stuff during wk days coz weekend really super super crowded. Sat Nite i went ang mo kio central to shop, wow Kao, everything like no nid $$ like tat. Ppl mountain ppl sea. I was at this tentage area selling cny deco, wow biang so squeezy that I haf to keep my hands wrapped ard my tummy (as added cushion). Haha. Find it really hard to shop. N gg ntuc oso worse. Trolleys, ppl a lot until my hb told mi dun shop liao. Shop during wk day. So this week, I taking 1-2 days off to try settle wat outstanding.

New yr clothes haven wash n iron.... Oh no. N also yet to settle deposit on e fold tiao qiang order n some other foodies. Time like so short to cny....

Catherine, do u think the cot is easy to set up? We bought a foldable one with wheels so that it can be kept away easily.. What insurance do u plan to get for bb? Can share? So far, I only thought of medical enhanced shield plan for hospitalisation.... Endowment plan I hv not decided as I feel that is not really worth it.. Better I save the money for her instead.. N will to her my asset. That part hv not really thought of it..

U confirmed putting bb in infant care ah? Hv u make a reservation already? Heard gd infant care quite full. Which one will u be sending her to?

I will only send her to toddler classes earliest or playgroup. But since she will be born in dragon yr, I would need to source for one n make reservation after she is born. Hv to be KS!

On the deposit insurance guaranteed by MAS, I m banking on the fact that ocbc wun collapse,. Keke.. Cimb's 0.8% is current promo right? Does not mean the account always pay that high interest rate right? Hv not really checked it out.,

Chrisbb last post was yesterday night 9+pm leh.. Maybe still resting?

Bbliss, wk days hub has to work. So, I wun go out alone.. I dun hv the energy n stamina to do all these alone.. Also, the heat during the day is terrible.. I can't be out on non aircon place for long.. These plcs r packed at night though. Wkends I went to 3 different supermarkets, Carrefour, seng siong & ntuc! Different one carries different items I want...

Btw, these stuff are heavy, u dun carry leh.. Wait for your hub.

Catherine, do u think the cot is easy to set up? We bought a foldable one with wheels so that it can be kept away easily.. What insurance do u plan to get for bb? Can share? So far, I only thought of medical enhanced shield plan for hospitalisation.... Endowment plan I hv not decided as I feel that is not really worth it.. Better I save the money for her instead.. N will to her my asset. That part hv not really thought of it..

U confirmed putting bb in infant care ah? Hv u make a reservation already? Heard gd infant care quite full. Which one will u be sending her to?

I will only send her to toddler classes earliest or playgroup. But since she will be born in dragon yr, I would need to source for one n make reservation after she is born. Hv to be KS!

On the deposit insurance guaranteed by MAS, I m banking on the fact that ocbc wun collapse,. Keke.. Cimb's 0.8% is current promo right? Does not mean the account always pay that high interest rate right? Hv not really checked it out.,

Bbliss, wk days hub has to work. So, I wun go out alone.. I dun hv the energy n stamina to do all these alone.. Also, the heat during the day is terrible.. I can't be out on non aircon place for long.. These plcs r packed at night though. Wkends I went to 3 different supermarkets, Carrefour, seng siong & ntuc! Different one carries different items I want...

Chrisl, just kapo, u staying in Norway long term or hub is there on posting? Is he blond hair blue eye hunk or Chinese? :p

Hazel, on the bb cot, my hb is a handyman. No matter how difficult he sure can fix it. So no worries for me. Same I got one with wheels. Re infant care my gal got a place at genius hive since last sept. no issues too. Re insurance, I tell u tonight when I m home. On cimb kids account, I think it's the current promo but I have no worries too their normal savings account also has a 0.8% interest rate. So dun open kids can open normal account. I have been with cimb for 2 yrs. Ya like u I intend to find out about mind champ, Lorna Winston, british council, tian hsia classes when I m on ml. For Yamaha if she dun get in also nvm I intend to teach her piano myself till she is grade 2-3....

Ya bblias, dun carry if u can. Juz told my hb we have no more rice at home. He say we will go ntuc after Zoe Tay show tonight.

Hazel, on the bb cot, my hb is a handyman. No matter how difficult he sure can fix it. So no worries for me. Same I got one with wheels. Re infant care my gal got a place at genius hive since last sept. no issues too. Re insurance, I tell u tonight when I m home. On cimb kids account, I think it's the current promo but I have no worries too their normal savings account also has a 0.8% interest rate. So dun open kids can open normal account. I have been with cimb for 2 yrs. Ya like u I intend to find out about mind champ, Lorna Winston, british council, tian hsia classes when I m on ml. For Yamaha if she dun get in also nvm I intend to teach her piano myself till she is grade 2-3....

Ya bblias, dun carry if u can. Juz told my hb we have no more rice at home. He say we will go ntuc after Zoe Tay show tonight.

Hazel, nope, i gave birth in KK for my gal so I only attended KK's antenatal class. anyway i'm like 4 yrs out of practice liao so for this new bb, will be a whole learning experience again if everything goes well.
think Mrs Wong's class is very good from previous experiences by my friends who gave birth at TMC.

Hazel, nope, i gave birth in KK for my gal so I only attended KK's antenatal class. anyway i'm like 4 yrs out of practice liao so for this new bb, will be a whole learning experience again if everything goes well.
think Mrs Wong's class is very good from previous experiences by my friends who gave birth at TMC.

Hi hazel,

me and hb bought the so called " barrier cream" that Wong BB recommended during her lesson at taka 2mths bk. My sil's bb has nappy rash during her confinement as they used disposable diapers cos no CL to wash for them... And during tat time, cos of the rash they changed bk to cloth diapers and asked my mil's maid to help her wash lor after her confinement, now bb much better and they switched bk to disposable again cos more convenient.
6586721.gif

Yup she advised me tat since i paying the CL already ask her to wash the cloth diapers. Only nite time then switched to disposable.

Hi hazel,

me and hb bought the so called " barrier cream" that Wong BB recommended during her lesson at taka 2mths bk. My sil's bb has nappy rash during her confinement as they used disposable diapers cos no CL to wash for them... And during tat time, cos of the rash they changed bk to cloth diapers and asked my mil's maid to help her wash lor after her confinement, now bb much better and they switched bk to disposable again cos more convenient.
6586721.gif

Yup she advised me tat since i paying the CL already ask her to wash the cloth diapers. Only nite time then switched to disposable.

Hi hazel,

6586721.gif

wow hazel i salute you ah.. i'm not good at selecting seafood. Just had reunion lunch with my parents yesterday. As for my in-laws, we'll not be joining them this sun, as most likely i should be in hospital or just discharged and resting at home.
6586779.gif

Ya this 3 wks rather chaos and drama at my in-law's place as the dowager trying all means and ways to chase the maid away, even knowing that we need the maid now especially during CNY period and also after my CL when i go bk to work, our bbs will be left at my in-laws place and maid will be helping out. She has being scolding the maid non-stop 2weeks ago, this week finally stop cos dowager down with flu. hahahaa...Maid has being a great helper to my mil, as she has learnt how to cook confinement food, takes care of our dogs and helps out with all the hsework so tat my mil can have her free time to cheong shopping, tea with frens etc hahahaaa... Mil told us she headache if the maid leaves as she has being with us for 2yrs and mil will have to take mths to retrain a new one if the current one is gone and with me giving birth now, coupled with CNY comming and they gonna take care of 2 granchildren after me and my sil goes bk to work, she'll faint. She is very dependent on the current maid now and furthermore even if she was to employed a new one, there is no maid that my dowager likes, she has been picking on every single maid and forcing them to leave.

wow hazel i salute you ah.. i'm not good at selecting seafood. Just had reunion lunch with my parents yesterday. As for my in-laws, we'll not be joining them this sun, as most likely i should be in hospital or just discharged and resting at home.
6586779.gif

Ya this 3 wks rather chaos and drama at my in-law's place as the dowager trying all means and ways to chase the maid away, even knowing that we need the maid now especially during CNY period and also after my CL when i go bk to work, our bbs will be left at my in-laws place and maid will be helping out. She has being scolding the maid non-stop 2weeks ago, this week finally stop cos dowager down with flu. hahahaa...Maid has being a great helper to my mil, as she has learnt how to cook confinement food, takes care of our dogs and helps out with all the hsework so tat my mil can have her free time to cheong shopping, tea with frens etc hahahaaa... Mil told us she headache if the maid leaves as she has being with us for 2yrs and mil will have to take mths to retrain a new one if the current one is gone and with me giving birth now, coupled with CNY comming and they gonna take care of 2 granchildren after me and my sil goes bk to work, she'll faint. She is very dependent on the current maid now and furthermore even if she was to employed a new one, there is no maid that my dowager likes, she has been picking on every single maid and forcing them to leave.

6586779.gif

wow sashamama, you are well set for post delivery
Just curious, need to book jamu service now?

I'm planning to enrol my child into childcare after 18 mths, like 2 yr old perhaps. So does this means for good schools, I'll need to start queuing up asap post delivery is it? Geez...I'm clueless about the schools. My sister will be putting hers at Pats, so if all goes well, maybe I can follow suit, but I'm a bit concern abt the costs... BTW those mindchamp, Lorna Winston, etc, are they enrichment classes or childcare/ playgroup??

Hazel, for cny eve dinner, ever since my mil has taken ill, we have been eating out cos preparation was nightmare. Your mil family prefers home is it? Luckily I have a SIL just like you, very on-the-ball, so she is handling it all for FIL but she has 2 kids and I see similar chaos running around situation. Maybe I'm just hidding behind her capable all-seeing cny executions Hee... My own family likes it simple, so very little disagreements and chaos, I'm really glad. Now that you are almost due, they should understand and expects less of you, or perhaps you are being too responsible? You remind me a lot of my SIL, but do be careful of feeling burnt out ok...sometimes if can let things be/ pass, just let it be loh... People always like to rely on the champion doer person, so you can also try to take it easy if possible, throw the ball back into their courts and don't feel too guilty for this cos everyone needs a break

I'm planning to enrol my child into childcare after 18 mths, like 2 yr old perhaps. So does this means for good schools, I'll need to start queuing up asap post delivery is it? Geez...I'm clueless about the schools. My sister will be putting hers at Pats, so if all goes well, maybe I can follow suit, but I'm a bit concern abt the costs... BTW those mindchamp, Lorna Winston, etc, are they enrichment classes or childcare/ playgroup??

Hazel, for cny eve dinner, ever since my mil has taken ill, we have been eating out cos preparation was nightmare. Your mil family prefers home is it? Luckily I have a SIL just like you, very on-the-ball, so she is handling it all for FIL but she has 2 kids and I see similar chaos running around situation. Maybe I'm just hidding behind her capable all-seeing cny executions Hee... My own family likes it simple, so very little disagreements and chaos, I'm really glad. Now that you are almost due, they should understand and expects less of you, or perhaps you are being too responsible? You remind me a lot of my SIL, but do be careful of feeling burnt out ok...sometimes if can let things be/ pass, just let it be loh... People always like to rely on the champion doer person, so you can also try to take it easy if possible, throw the ball back into their courts and don't feel too guilty for this cos everyone needs a break

hazel,

i understand what u are going thro, cos my mil has being cooking from CNY day 1-4 and all the relatives will come and eat lor, so by day 5 she already 1/2 dead lor. And all her pasts maids all work like siao during CNY period lor. The fridge will be stuffed with seafood, sea cucumber, vege and she'll have "Lo Hei" daily lor. Imagine all the work in preparation. This year cos with me doing confinement during CNY period, fil has told her to stop all the cooking as she'll have to come over our place altho we have CL with us and see see look look, and cook some stuff over etc.

Can you advise your mil or hb to order buffet or takeaway meal which alot of caterers are providing then at least it won't be so troublesome especially now u are preggy, she is weak and the maid is new, I'm sure the relatives will understand lor.Don't overwork or stress yourself.

hazel,

i understand what u are going thro, cos my mil has being cooking from CNY day 1-4 and all the relatives will come and eat lor, so by day 5 she already 1/2 dead lor. And all her pasts maids all work like siao during CNY period lor. The fridge will be stuffed with seafood, sea cucumber, vege and she'll have "Lo Hei" daily lor. Imagine all the work in preparation. This year cos with me doing confinement during CNY period, fil has told her to stop all the cooking as she'll have to come over our place altho we have CL with us and see see look look, and cook some stuff over etc.

Can you advise your mil or hb to order buffet or takeaway meal which alot of caterers are providing then at least it won't be so troublesome especially now u are preggy, she is weak and the maid is new, I'm sure the relatives will understand lor.Don't overwork or stress yourself.

hazel,

Hi catherine,

hahahaha good morning!! me haven't pop yet !!

yup hb has being talking to bb daily to choose a rite time to pop and says he is ready, and mummy has being telling bb to pop on EDD. hahaha grandma wants bb to pop after CNY. hahahahaa think bb is confused now!!! whahahahaha..

6586884.gif

Hi catherine,

yup hb has being talking to bb daily to choose a rite time to pop and says he is ready, and mummy has being telling bb to pop on EDD. hahaha grandma wants bb to pop after CNY. hahahahaa think bb is confused now!!! whahahahaha..

6586884.gif

Hi catherine,

6586884.gif

i used to be quite busy shopping during CNY, but this yr hb says no need shop liao cos bb coming so everything we keep it very simple. hiaz..now got to avoid crowded places are, unlike last time, i join in the crowd for CNY shopping or go chinatown during lunch hrs to basks in the festive spirit and taka events hall B2 and visits to the nursery to buy plants etc. Now dun feel like CNY mood le..
but lucky me, this yr no need to go mil's house to help out prepare CNY dinner, and CNY day1 -4 meals cos got excuse heeehee as confinement hahahahahaa.... All these yrs since hb and i dated, i got to go his place early to help prepare meals etc cos alot of relatives will be going over to eat at mil's hse.
6586927.gif

i used to be quite busy shopping during CNY, but this yr hb says no need shop liao cos bb coming so everything we keep it very simple. hiaz..now got to avoid crowded places are, unlike last time, i join in the crowd for CNY shopping or go chinatown during lunch hrs to basks in the festive spirit and taka events hall B2 and visits to the nursery to buy plants etc. Now dun feel like CNY mood le..
but lucky me, this yr no need to go mil's house to help out prepare CNY dinner, and CNY day1 -4 meals cos got excuse heeehee as confinement hahahahahaa.... All these yrs since hb and i dated, i got to go his place early to help prepare meals etc cos alot of relatives will be going over to eat at mil's hse.
6586927.gif

6586927.gif

Thanks for the sports bra suggestion Chrisl, I'll check that out too but am quite afraid of the tight around the chest feeling cos I think not possible to put extensions right? Yesterday I manage to find a good support cotton bra, no wire no padding but thick enough cotton material at the cup, plus have cup shape too, although no padding Hee... now just need to add extensions. I'm hoping to suss more out at shopping centers but it's a bit chaos here at the moment, roads are sooo jam, parking super long wait...yesterday hubby was really getting impatient spending too much time on the road Hee...I'm planning to going shopping myself after cny cos symptoms easing now, shouldn't need hubby to be around soon. Guys really get so impatient with shopping...geez...

You must be missing home a lot now
In the past, I would always call home on cny day and get all nostalgic, regretting big time for now flying home. But with a good bunch of Asian friends overseas, they can be like the family members and offer a lot of support for one another during times like this, cny and pregnancy. Is there an Asian network there for you?

Thanks for the sports bra suggestion Chrisl, I'll check that out too but am quite afraid of the tight around the chest feeling cos I think not possible to put extensions right? Yesterday I manage to find a good support cotton bra, no wire no padding but thick enough cotton material at the cup, plus have cup shape too, although no padding Hee... now just need to add extensions. I'm hoping to suss more out at shopping centers but it's a bit chaos here at the moment, roads are sooo jam, parking super long wait...yesterday hubby was really getting impatient spending too much time on the road Hee...I'm planning to going shopping myself after cny cos symptoms easing now, shouldn't need hubby to be around soon. Guys really get so impatient with shopping...geez...

In the past, I would always call home on cny day and get all nostalgic, regretting big time for now flying home. But with a good bunch of Asian friends overseas, they can be like the family members and offer a lot of support for one another during times like this, cny and pregnancy. Is there an Asian network there for you?