(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Cost $2100 recommended by my Frn whose bro n niece use her b4. Mine too say use diapers. Nappy she won't hand wash. So picky nowadays.

we dun have much pantang only those common ones like no drill holes, hammering etc...and my in-laws forbid us to do painting ah...

Dear Joanne,
Thx for ur reply! This one I found says to use diapers all the way. Is it ok? Im unsure... I wanted to wait til after first trimester but I realise from august thread that ladies are already booking and some said the recommended ones are already booked. I tried calling 2, both are booked too. This 3rd one I called is still available based on my EDD though she has a few enquiries for august too. I just wanna be sure I covered all areas before i pay the deposit later.

Dear Tanny,
Thanks for replying on the diapers bit. I'm gonna do some research on that now to see if it matters.

Also, is it true that we should have 100% latching, meaning breastfeed in the night instead of expressing breast milk? I try to go do some research now too...

Dear Joanne,
Thx for ur reply! This one I found says to use diapers all the way. Is it ok? Im unsure... I wanted to wait til after first trimester but I realise from august thread that ladies are already booking and some said the recommended ones are already booked. I tried calling 2, both are booked too. This 3rd one I called is still available based on my EDD though she has a few enquiries for august too. I just wanna be sure I covered all areas before i pay the deposit later.

Dear Tanny,
Thanks for replying on the diapers bit. I'm gonna do some research on that now to see if it matters.

Also, is it true that we should have 100% latching, meaning breastfeed in the night instead of expressing breast milk? I try to go do some research now too...

Dear Joanne,

Dear Tanny,

Thanks Chris baby, flip flop brand sandals noted.

Pantang, I can't do sewing too...hee but I secretly did cos have to sew buttons.

wow this forum is flowing very quickly
nice to hear from all of you too! Haha I read someone's post about bak kwa yesterday and then also the mon-fri 9pm show keeps tempting me whenever they show zoe tay have to BBQ the bak kwa so I sent hubs to go buy a pack today. Sssshiok!!! I don't think I can just keep to one piece!!!! And as i was eating every bite, my son kept kicking me. LOL. He's a bak kwa boy! Also bought prawn roll crackers, love letters & will eat a bit of pineapple tarts probably from my mom's place just to satisfy any craving otherwise I don't want my kid to keep drooling! hehe

How's everyone feeling?

Sashamama - when you get a chance to visit your friend after her baby's full month, then ask how was her experience w dr Loh? hehe.

hazel - Yeah looks like Dr Loh joking with patients in the OT is quite his 'style' to lighten things up. I wonder's how natural delivery like. The one who did c-sect said after delivery with him, was very light scarring around bikini line and stitching was okay. Cuz another frd told me her stitches can still be felt after months and initially when she sneeze too hard, it came out

BTW ladies who are delivering soon, have you decided for your bb's CDA account - will you sign up with OCBC & Stand Chart? Anyone knows the diff or which one more convenient etc.?

nice to hear from all of you too! Haha I read someone's post about bak kwa yesterday and then also the mon-fri 9pm show keeps tempting me whenever they show zoe tay have to BBQ the bak kwa so I sent hubs to go buy a pack today. Sssshiok!!! I don't think I can just keep to one piece!!!! And as i was eating every bite, my son kept kicking me. LOL. He's a bak kwa boy! Also bought prawn roll crackers, love letters & will eat a bit of pineapple tarts probably from my mom's place just to satisfy any craving otherwise I don't want my kid to keep drooling! hehe

How's everyone feeling?

Sashamama - when you get a chance to visit your friend after her baby's full month, then ask how was her experience w dr Loh? hehe.

hazel - Yeah looks like Dr Loh joking with patients in the OT is quite his 'style' to lighten things up. I wonder's how natural delivery like. The one who did c-sect said after delivery with him, was very light scarring around bikini line and stitching was okay. Cuz another frd told me her stitches can still be felt after months and initially when she sneeze too hard, it came out

BTW ladies who are delivering soon, have you decided for your bb's CDA account - will you sign up with OCBC & Stand Chart? Anyone knows the diff or which one more convenient etc.?

How's everyone feeling?

Sashamama - thanks for the news article link. Last week my MIL was asking if I'm choosing cloth diapers, then when I asked if she intends to help me wash when CL leaves, she kept quiet. Then she said cuz when she did confinement for others, she had to wash all the cloth diapers, and I told her I'm lazy in that I'd most prob use disposable. Then she said for the youngest child she used cloth diapers, I was like er, its not like you used it for her and she became a better person than if she had used disposable right? hehe. So I think depends on individual.
Also re. CL: yeah her duties sound reasonable. I know some won't even cook or wash HB's clothes.

Sashamama - thanks for the news article link. Last week my MIL was asking if I'm choosing cloth diapers, then when I asked if she intends to help me wash when CL leaves, she kept quiet. Then she said cuz when she did confinement for others, she had to wash all the cloth diapers, and I told her I'm lazy in that I'd most prob use disposable. Then she said for the youngest child she used cloth diapers, I was like er, its not like you used it for her and she became a better person than if she had used disposable right? hehe. So I think depends on individual.
Also re. CL: yeah her duties sound reasonable. I know some won't even cook or wash HB's clothes.

Gals, cny round the corner. All the preparations done ah? I'm so biz this wkend n last wk end! In n out of supermarkets / markets every wkend a few times, still hv to clean n pack away the food for mil n my Plc... Dun even mention abt cny goodies n prepare all the red packets in different denominations for her... Pre order stuff like sucking pig, Yu Sheng, peng Cai, etc fr all different plcs.... Luckily, my mum can handle herself, if not, I faint! My mil not v mobile n the new maid everything also say dunno... Tonight going supermarket again though I just went Carrefour this morning... So items like veg got to wait till last min next sat to buy, if not will spoil...

I m so shack n tired! Legs breaking already... Sigh...

Just now went to buy bb cot, mattress, bumpers n beddings. Requested the cot n mattress to be delivered in feb.. Bedding, bumpers I got to wash next wk..

Catherine, ur cot n bb's stuff all ready?

Gals, cny round the corner. All the preparations done ah? I'm so biz this wkend n last wk end! In n out of supermarkets / markets every wkend a few times, still hv to clean n pack away the food for mil n my Plc... Dun even mention abt cny goodies n prepare all the red packets in different denominations for her... Pre order stuff like sucking pig, Yu Sheng, peng Cai, etc fr all different plcs.... Luckily, my mum can handle herself, if not, I faint! My mil not v mobile n the new maid everything also say dunno... Tonight going supermarket again though I just went Carrefour this morning... So items like veg got to wait till last min next sat to buy, if not will spoil...

Just now went to buy bb cot, mattress, bumpers n beddings. Requested the cot n mattress to be delivered in feb.. Bedding, bumpers I got to wash next wk..

sashamamma~ Your CL sounds ok to me...well but then you should also play safe, verbally agree or best write down a list of things you would like her to do or if she could be willing to help out with..like your habits eg what tanny said she usually take bf within 1 hr after waking up or you have any food allergies etc etc..see if the CL hv any objections or anything to add too..well before you place any deposits..my 2 cents worth hehe

Re diapers, I used disposables for e first mth as my gal was in n out of hospital for jaundice n still small so we used disposables. Later on she was on cloth nappies in e day and disposables at nite. Main thing it helps avoid nappy rash. Very airy!
So I think depends on whether u have the time to change and wash them all. I usually soak them in a pail after rinsing off with pigeon powder and wash them all tog at night.

Re diapers, I used disposables for e first mth as my gal was in n out of hospital for jaundice n still small so we used disposables. Later on she was on cloth nappies in e day and disposables at nite. Main thing it helps avoid nappy rash. Very airy!
So I think depends on whether u have the time to change and wash them all. I usually soak them in a pail after rinsing off with pigeon powder and wash them all tog at night.

oh and also there are fraud cases all around..better to be safe than sorry...both parties sign a 'contract' (which all particulars are noted) to safeguard either parties should a future problem arises (Choi touchwood lah!)

These days, disposable diapers such as pampers are v good. Wun cause nappy rashes if we change it regularly n apply moisturng cream to bb's bottom every change. My niece n nephew used only disposable diapers 6-8 yrs ago since a bb.. No issue with nappy rashes.. So. Is a wrong perception that disposable diapers cause nappy rashes. Is just a matter how often u change n wat preventive measures we take.

Personally, i dun think The time needed to wash the soiled cloth diapers (need to soak somemore prior to Wash, n can't use bleach some more to make them white) and sun it, etc is worth it. I rather spend the time with bb.. Unless I hv a maid who will be doing all these chores,, if not v siong one.. Be it for me or grand parent, ESP breast fed bb, dunno poo n pee how many times a day.. :p

Cloth diapers not necessary more comfortable for bb either, unless we know immediately each time bb poo or pee.. N change immediately.... Is that possible? No right unless u always sit in front of bb 24x7 n checking if the cloth diaper is wet / dirty.. If not, bb's bum will still be wet / dirty n uncomfortable too until the cloth diapers r changed. :p

These days, disposable diapers such as pampers are v good. Wun cause nappy rashes if we change it regularly n apply moisturng cream to bb's bottom every change. My niece n nephew used only disposable diapers 6-8 yrs ago since a bb.. No issue with nappy rashes.. So. Is a wrong perception that disposable diapers cause nappy rashes. Is just a matter how often u change n wat preventive measures we take.

Personally, i dun think The time needed to wash the soiled cloth diapers (need to soak somemore prior to Wash, n can't use bleach some more to make them white) and sun it, etc is worth it. I rather spend the time with bb.. Unless I hv a maid who will be doing all these chores,, if not v siong one.. Be it for me or grand parent, ESP breast fed bb, dunno poo n pee how many times a day.. :p

Cloth diapers not necessary more comfortable for bb either, unless we know immediately each time bb poo or pee.. N change immediately.... Is that possible? No right unless u always sit in front of bb 24x7 n checking if the cloth diaper is wet / dirty.. If not, bb's bum will still be wet / dirty n uncomfortable too until the cloth diapers r changed. :p

Hazel, I agree. Really depends on whether u have the time or is there anyone willing to help out with the washing. And breasted babies poo tend to be messier coz it's usually wet not hard. otherwise disposables are fine too.

Tromso I got 3 sports bras the last time i went home to SG, and i got them in bigger sizes..i forgot the brand but think should be sollera or something like that cheap and good, no underwire (cos can cause painful milk ducts next time) and very comfy..go try on the various brands and models and see which is the best comfy you find..cos next time getting maternity bra down the road anyway..yes me too went bra-less at home and during sleeps long ago cos very 'unrestricted' lol oh and thanks for the webpage! will look thru!

tanny i've been eating those small mandarin oranges since nov/dec (cos here it's common during christmas time) so far ok what..moderation is the word i suppose..re: on informing your boss, if you pantang then don't inform until much later..but if you think it'll be ok then inform..

Hazel wah you really busy leh! Should take a breather...baby steps ok? Try to delegate work..to lessen burden if possible

bbliss if you alone in those weeks then pop in here more often to chat with us mah! hehe

on diapers-- Some of my other friends recommended this http://www.bumwear.com/ it's cloth diapers suited to every stage in bb --newborn to few months also and it looks easy to use..they also have a new born trial kit..im thinking to get some already! (Well that is on top of normal disposable diapers-which are more convenient when going out etc--that im going to get too

will check out the diaper bags later.....wah machiam very mamma-ish now LOL checking up bb's webpages

Tromso I got 3 sports bras the last time i went home to SG, and i got them in bigger sizes..i forgot the brand but think should be sollera or something like that cheap and good, no underwire (cos can cause painful milk ducts next time) and very comfy..go try on the various brands and models and see which is the best comfy you find..cos next time getting maternity bra down the road anyway..yes me too went bra-less at home and during sleeps long ago cos very 'unrestricted' lol oh and thanks for the webpage! will look thru!

tanny i've been eating those small mandarin oranges since nov/dec (cos here it's common during christmas time) so far ok what..moderation is the word i suppose..re: on informing your boss, if you pantang then don't inform until much later..but if you think it'll be ok then inform..

Hazel wah you really busy leh! Should take a breather...baby steps ok? Try to delegate work..to lessen burden if possible

bbliss if you alone in those weeks then pop in here more often to chat with us mah! hehe

on diapers-- Some of my other friends recommended this http://www.bumwear.com/ it's cloth diapers suited to every stage in bb --newborn to few months also and it looks easy to use..they also have a new born trial kit..im thinking to get some already! (Well that is on top of normal disposable diapers-which are more convenient when going out etc--that im going to get too

will check out the diaper bags later.....wah machiam very mamma-ish now LOL checking up bb's webpages

true leh..i work freelance in a daycare here and experienced that although bb's skin very sensitive but when bb changes diapers as soon as he/she poo/pee and often enough and apply some zinc cream to the butt/area, nappy rash could be prevented. But must very 'eye and nose' open lah (must see to check and also if smell something 'wrong' then go wash/change already..and don't wait) try not to use wet wipes (but if going out ok lah)..best use water and tiny bb soap and a washing cloth..pat dry after..another tip is to use potato flour too..a box is often kept in the cupboard and to sprinkle some onto bb's butt area when nappy changing to keep area dry..---this i just found out last year when i finally master up my courage to ask the teachers there why on earth a box of potato flour is always placed in the cupboard LOL LOL

Chrisl, dunno delegate to who.. Hubs will tell Me he dunno how to choose prawns, fish, squid, etc etc.. Then I do Loh.. Brought bk to mil's place, tell the new maid she dunno wat to do! Tell her how to do also vomit blood as she doesnt get it right.. So I do myself faster coz after need to finish ASAP before we leave to run other errands.

I hv engaged some one to do spring cleaning for me this comig wk. but some stuff I still need to clean myself personally.. Cny eve alot of running around too to collect this n that.. Getting my breast pump that day too.. Need to go bk early to mil's Plc to help in preparation for reunion Dinner.. Last time, the old maid every thing also know how to do.. This one really hopeless.. First day of cny, mil needs to go for dialysis in the morning, so cny eve I need to prepare the food first so that after we picked up, go bk home I can cook something quick..

Now, we r out again for dinner.. After than another round of buying.. Every where is packed with pp n car!!!

Chrisl, dunno delegate to who.. Hubs will tell Me he dunno how to choose prawns, fish, squid, etc etc.. Then I do Loh.. Brought bk to mil's place, tell the new maid she dunno wat to do! Tell her how to do also vomit blood as she doesnt get it right.. So I do myself faster coz after need to finish ASAP before we leave to run other errands.

I hv engaged some one to do spring cleaning for me this comig wk. but some stuff I still need to clean myself personally.. Cny eve alot of running around too to collect this n that.. Getting my breast pump that day too.. Need to go bk early to mil's Plc to help in preparation for reunion Dinner.. Last time, the old maid every thing also know how to do.. This one really hopeless.. First day of cny, mil needs to go for dialysis in the morning, so cny eve I need to prepare the food first so that after we picked up, go bk home I can cook something quick..

Now, we r out again for dinner.. After than another round of buying.. Every where is packed with pp n car!!!