(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hazel, I do agree with u that family and hb support is v important, unfortunately my mil Bo chap me. Hb called her on thurs, she din ask how my gal or I r doing. All she cares and nag is y my hb wants to invest into property in sg. And y he wants to give up his msian house. V fed up with her. Stubborn and dun give us any option.

Chrisl, yr hb is kan cheong. Its gd that he is kan cheong... At least u know he cares a lot. I believe our situation r the same. We been thru a lot b4 having a beanie in us. Hb knows the pain and stress we gone thru. Whereas for ppl who conceive naturally if hb is not ready he sure Bo chap wife. I got a fren whose wife is due in 12 days. They have not hire a maid, din think of names, juz Bo chap. I found out that it's his wife who want the kid not him. And he also un accompany wife to gynae hor....

Chris, I m sure yr hb will ask u to rest and leave the feed and change of diapers to him at night....

Hazel, I do agree with u that family and hb support is v important, unfortunately my mil Bo chap me. Hb called her on thurs, she din ask how my gal or I r doing. All she cares and nag is y my hb wants to invest into property in sg. And y he wants to give up his msian house. V fed up with her. Stubborn and dun give us any option.

Chrisl, yr hb is kan cheong. Its gd that he is kan cheong... At least u know he cares a lot. I believe our situation r the same. We been thru a lot b4 having a beanie in us. Hb knows the pain and stress we gone thru. Whereas for ppl who conceive naturally if hb is not ready he sure Bo chap wife. I got a fren whose wife is due in 12 days. They have not hire a maid, din think of names, juz Bo chap. I found out that it's his wife who want the kid not him. And he also un accompany wife to gynae hor....

Chris, I m sure yr hb will ask u to rest and leave the feed and change of diapers to him at night....

Chris1 : I bought some loose tops and maternity wear but yet to wear them as my tummy din seem to grow bigger... At night like now it's not so bloated n round. I realized only after food like dinner when lying on sofa I look like a whale on the beach - so big bump there. Other times of the day not so big. Pants already can't wear. End up wearing leggings and big t shirts.

Now still feel so tired!!! Alwayz like want to sleep and lie......1 love bak Hwa and pineapple tart. Cannot jut eat 1 pc leh... I need more.. Oh btw, I just asked Tcm - she says can eat pineapple tart. Any one else Tcm also says ok?

Chris1 : I bought some loose tops and maternity wear but yet to wear them as my tummy din seem to grow bigger... At night like now it's not so bloated n round. I realized only after food like dinner when lying on sofa I look like a whale on the beach - so big bump there. Other times of the day not so big. Pants already can't wear. End up wearing leggings and big t shirts.

Now still feel so tired!!! Alwayz like want to sleep and lie......1 love bak Hwa and pineapple tart. Cannot jut eat 1 pc leh... I need more.. Oh btw, I just asked Tcm - she says can eat pineapple tart. Any one else Tcm also says ok?

Shashamama : teacher generally don't feed back after distance feeling but sometimes she does, depends on the condition/ circumstances. I usually don't receive feedback now too; only for initial times like when I bleed or when after thawing, she will tell me the feedback.

Been busy with slight spring cleaning n replacing tins that spoilt. Yeah can we still go facial when we are pregnant huh? Jus need to tell facial therapist that we are preggie n they will not use machines right?

Hi Hazel,

Mi still waiting for Joe to call me back as she went holiday. Meanwhile jus called PEM. They quote $2050 excluding levy. I called private one she also quote $2200. So which means private one really earns lotsa right? PEM even say they have $330 for provision of herbs for red date tea n tonics. Wonder how good this is?

How is dr loh's queue huh? Oh yeah does every polyclinic have scanning machine huh? Can we jus pop in to scan huh?

Been busy with slight spring cleaning n replacing tins that spoilt. Yeah can we still go facial when we are pregnant huh? Jus need to tell facial therapist that we are preggie n they will not use machines right?

Hi Hazel,

Mi still waiting for Joe to call me back as she went holiday. Meanwhile jus called PEM. They quote $2050 excluding levy. I called private one she also quote $2200. So which means private one really earns lotsa right? PEM even say they have $330 for provision of herbs for red date tea n tonics. Wonder how good this is?

How is dr loh's queue huh? Oh yeah does every polyclinic have scanning machine huh? Can we jus pop in to scan huh?

Hi Hazel,

Hi Tanny, I also asked my tcm, says can eat everything but be careful of pineapple tarts cos the pineapple has been made and left on tarts for days (and that this pineapple is not liang). Guess I'll eat in moderation, afraid heaty too.

Chrisl and Tanny, ever since the stimulation jabs, my lower tummy has gotten slightly slightly bigger and I intentionally put on 2-3kg then cos was afraid am bit underweight. Hence since ivf time pants already quite tight. Now I can't fit into any of my pants (lower tummy measurement 37+) so I have bought a baggy stretchy pants $12. Then I have removed the rubber bands on my cheap yoga pants for home wear. Am wearing dress pajamas so can accommodate tummy. Yesterday bought a Spandex bamboo fiber leggings $39 at Spring Maturnity, no choice this 1 for cny and will be wearing those chiffon blouse that's long enough to cover past the butt, hope tummy doesn't show cos not prep to annouced yet leh....

btw it's my chest that has expended more, wired bras at home is very unbearable now. What do you ladies get instead? I saw the cotton non wired bras at Spring maturnity $29 is quite comfy and cotton thick enough hence nipples shape don't show heh...but I didn't get it cos unsure what options available out there. I bought this cotton bra non wired 2 weeks ago $21 very comfy but not enough support, and nipples shape will slightly show if wear white tees. Dilemma now, what options do I have?

Hi Tanny, I also asked my tcm, says can eat everything but be careful of pineapple tarts cos the pineapple has been made and left on tarts for days (and that this pineapple is not liang). Guess I'll eat in moderation, afraid heaty too.

Chrisl and Tanny, ever since the stimulation jabs, my lower tummy has gotten slightly slightly bigger and I intentionally put on 2-3kg then cos was afraid am bit underweight. Hence since ivf time pants already quite tight. Now I can't fit into any of my pants (lower tummy measurement 37+) so I have bought a baggy stretchy pants $12. Then I have removed the rubber bands on my cheap yoga pants for home wear. Am wearing dress pajamas so can accommodate tummy. Yesterday bought a Spandex bamboo fiber leggings $39 at Spring Maturnity, no choice this 1 for cny and will be wearing those chiffon blouse that's long enough to cover past the butt, hope tummy doesn't show cos not prep to annouced yet leh....

btw it's my chest that has expended more, wired bras at home is very unbearable now. What do you ladies get instead? I saw the cotton non wired bras at Spring maturnity $29 is quite comfy and cotton thick enough hence nipples shape don't show heh...but I didn't get it cos unsure what options available out there. I bought this cotton bra non wired 2 weeks ago $21 very comfy but not enough support, and nipples shape will slightly show if wear white tees. Dilemma now, what options do I have?

Chrisl, I had persistent headaches 2 weeks ago and hubby found on What To Expect website few method that can ease the aches. For me, it was tension headache, so had to apply ice pack at back of neck, lie down closed eyes for 20 mins. I did that for 10 mins and heahache subsided. It was a bad heachache cos can feel it right from the front to back of my head, I thot I hv brain tumour (haaa...knock on wood!!). You can check the website, see if it helps you

Sashamama, my lower backpain was quite bad 1 night I couldn't sleep too, experienced a sudden sharp pain whilst the rest of body just sore. Its mainly the uterus sitting on the nerve. I went to read up on exercises to do to ease sciatic nerve pain and I will consult dr loh next visit before I start on them. You may like to inform your dr too and see if he can help cos for me massaging and kneading exterior surface doesn't help much since it's nerve pain, only my physiotherapist methods help but hope it's ok now I'm pregger. But the massaging and kneading helps with my aches caused by muscle aches like midlle upper back soreness. haizz...I'm quite certain it's the sciatic nerve pain at lower back that's affected my middle upper back cos I've had this for yearssss fr sports injuries but never this bad
FYI preggers are quite proned to sciatic nerve pains, can read up a bit on websites for info

Chrisl, I had persistent headaches 2 weeks ago and hubby found on What To Expect website few method that can ease the aches. For me, it was tension headache, so had to apply ice pack at back of neck, lie down closed eyes for 20 mins. I did that for 10 mins and heahache subsided. It was a bad heachache cos can feel it right from the front to back of my head, I thot I hv brain tumour (haaa...knock on wood!!). You can check the website, see if it helps you

Sashamama, my lower backpain was quite bad 1 night I couldn't sleep too, experienced a sudden sharp pain whilst the rest of body just sore. Its mainly the uterus sitting on the nerve. I went to read up on exercises to do to ease sciatic nerve pain and I will consult dr loh next visit before I start on them. You may like to inform your dr too and see if he can help cos for me massaging and kneading exterior surface doesn't help much since it's nerve pain, only my physiotherapist methods help but hope it's ok now I'm pregger. But the massaging and kneading helps with my aches caused by muscle aches like midlle upper back soreness. haizz...I'm quite certain it's the sciatic nerve pain at lower back that's affected my middle upper back cos I've had this for yearssss fr sports injuries but never this bad
FYI preggers are quite proned to sciatic nerve pains, can read up a bit on websites for info

Sunbelle, dr Loh's clinic is still crowded. Q is bad still on certain days n timing. I nv hear before polyclinic got scan machine wor...

Tromso, my chest expanded by 4 inches at early stage n it stays there since.. Maternity Bra maybe dun buy too early coz not sure if your bust will still expand further both in cup n length.. Coz better to buy gd maternity bra that can support the heavy breasts well during breast feeding..

U can either buy bra extension (2-3 bucks) now or buy cheaper normal bra like sorrella from Robinson. Not thin also.. And not ex too.

Sunbelle, dr Loh's clinic is still crowded. Q is bad still on certain days n timing. I nv hear before polyclinic got scan machine wor...

Tromso, my chest expanded by 4 inches at early stage n it stays there since.. Maternity Bra maybe dun buy too early coz not sure if your bust will still expand further both in cup n length.. Coz better to buy gd maternity bra that can support the heavy breasts well during breast feeding..

U can either buy bra extension (2-3 bucks) now or buy cheaper normal bra like sorrella from Robinson. Not thin also.. And not ex too.

Thanks Hazel, ok I'll check out sorella and bra extensions.

How about shoes, I'm slightly not fitting into my covered shoes now, when would it be good time to buy new ones so that will not outgrow again. Any good brands to recommend?

All the best to the ladies doing Oscar scans coming week, think quite a few of you
JY JY....heng heng!!

How about shoes, I'm slightly not fitting into my covered shoes now, when would it be good time to buy new ones so that will not outgrow again. Any good brands to recommend?

All the best to the ladies doing Oscar scans coming week, think quite a few of you
JY JY....heng heng!!

I buy this non wired triumph bra at $22.90 each but got padding so nipples will not show under dress or t shirt. I think it's called t shirt bra. Got them during the John little warehouse sale. Told the auntie I wan non wired maternity bra and I only 3mths. She gave me a cotton one to Ty and I came out complaining that nipples show. She laughed and said she tot I wear at night or at home. And said I shld tell her I wan to wear for work. So she gave me those thin padded ones and it's definitely better..

Tromso, my shoe sizes didn't expand. Actually, shoes abit tough.. Coz some gals' feets will swell as the pregnancy progresses. On wk ends, maybe u wan to wear non slip Sandals with support. So, even if feet expand is ok. We nv know for sure after delivery, will the shoes size go bk to normal, do I rather dun spend too much on shoes. I only bought one pair from geox when I found out I was pregnant. I wan non slip shoes mah. My croc Sandals n slippers I wore on wkends are not slippery too.

Your Current shoes are leather right? N now they r slightly tight right? Pick a few pairs u like, go to cobbler ask him to expand for u. Depends on where the tightness is, he can expand both the length n the front where the toes r. Cost abt 6 bucks. U try one pair first n see if it is comfortable for u. I did that for one pair of shoes which I bought overseas n too tight too me.

Tromso, my shoe sizes didn't expand. Actually, shoes abit tough.. Coz some gals' feets will swell as the pregnancy progresses. On wk ends, maybe u wan to wear non slip Sandals with support. So, even if feet expand is ok. We nv know for sure after delivery, will the shoes size go bk to normal, do I rather dun spend too much on shoes. I only bought one pair from geox when I found out I was pregnant. I wan non slip shoes mah. My croc Sandals n slippers I wore on wkends are not slippery too.

Your Current shoes are leather right? N now they r slightly tight right? Pick a few pairs u like, go to cobbler ask him to expand for u. Depends on where the tightness is, he can expand both the length n the front where the toes r. Cost abt 6 bucks. U try one pair first n see if it is comfortable for u. I did that for one pair of shoes which I bought overseas n too tight too me.

Good maternity bra faciliates for Brest feeding n nipples wun show at all. They r not cheap. I bought 2 pairs n now kind of regretted it.. Coz after delivery, I dunno I'd my cup size will grow bigger when the breast are full.. If so, then I can't use.. So the experienced mommies told me to get only after the delivery.. Haiz..

The sorrella bra I got only cost 20 plus. Buy 3 get one free. Actually, I only need 2 coz I wash every day.. But since got promotion, hubs asked me to buy more.. But ended up, I only use 2 pairs.

Good maternity bra faciliates for Brest feeding n nipples wun show at all. They r not cheap. I bought 2 pairs n now kind of regretted it.. Coz after delivery, I dunno I'd my cup size will grow bigger when the breast are full.. If so, then I can't use.. So the experienced mommies told me to get only after the delivery.. Haiz..

The sorrella bra I got only cost 20 plus. Buy 3 get one free. Actually, I only need 2 coz I wash every day.. But since got promotion, hubs asked me to buy more.. But ended up, I only use 2 pairs.

Hi hazel,

cos our heart is on the left, so sleeping right right is thought to be more comfortable. Tat's why i switched between left and right when i sleep. But mostly i tried to sleep left side as they say it improves blood circulation to bb.

Hi hazel,

cos our heart is on the left, so sleeping right right is thought to be more comfortable. Tat's why i switched between left and right when i sleep. But mostly i tried to sleep left side as they say it improves blood circulation to bb.

Hi hazel,

Gm girls, happy to read ur updates. I went for my detailed scan last week and baby is healthy. Now iam in my 21st week. Dr advised to reduce sugar. This scan I was able to see those tiny pretty feet and cute little hands. Was super excited. And now so anxious to complete the 9 months soon and tk baby in hands.

Hazel, kimmy, chrisl, joanna, thks for all e advice, pointers, sharing n comforting words. Aft reading wat u all said, I seem to feel more open up. Thx

This yr cny, ha... Not getting any cny goodies for Hse exp hb's fav bak kwa coz aft new yr, hb gg for reservist. This time rd, high key some more so be away fr hm for abt 3 wks
hence will be alone....

So fast nex week cny liao, yet to wash new clothes. Haf to quickly settle all e Hse wk if not nex week sure very bo eng. haha...

Hazel, kimmy, chrisl, joanna, thks for all e advice, pointers, sharing n comforting words. Aft reading wat u all said, I seem to feel more open up. Thx

This yr cny, ha... Not getting any cny goodies for Hse exp hb's fav bak kwa coz aft new yr, hb gg for reservist. This time rd, high key some more so be away fr hm for abt 3 wks
hence will be alone....

So fast nex week cny liao, yet to wash new clothes. Haf to quickly settle all e Hse wk if not nex week sure very bo eng. haha...

hence will be alone....

Hi catherine,

i used to make red dates and wolfberry drink daily when i was in my 1st trimester, then come 3rd trimester i lazy liao hahahahaa

Actually there's another drink quite nice that u can make, its very good to improve blood supply and strengthen the womb. My mil's fren taught her. It was taught to her by a chinese practitioner last time as during her 1st trimester she was bleeding and had to bed rest and after drinking it her condition improves and she has a healthy bb. its black bean with red dates jus add water and boil for 1-2 hrs.

Hi catherine,

i used to make red dates and wolfberry drink daily when i was in my 1st trimester, then come 3rd trimester i lazy liao hahahahaa

Actually there's another drink quite nice that u can make, its very good to improve blood supply and strengthen the womb. My mil's fren taught her. It was taught to her by a chinese practitioner last time as during her 1st trimester she was bleeding and had to bed rest and after drinking it her condition improves and she has a healthy bb. its black bean with red dates jus add water and boil for 1-2 hrs.

Hi catherine,

Dear gals,
I discussed with hubby and we think it might be better to get a CL who can be with me and baby 24/7 or else there'd be times I'm alone or just hubby and me and I fear we cannot handle. Moreover i checked natal essentials, it costs abt $1500 for 28days of lunch and dinner. Getting a confinement lady will cost $2300 (plus another $200 plus for work permit), and I have someone with me 24/7 and preparing 4-5 meals a day for me, helping with some household chores, etc, so probably more worth it?

This CL i found is recommended from forum and she is still available around my EDD period with 2-3 weeks buffer even.

She says she'd:
- Wash baby, mine and hubby clothes all separately using machine
- Boil water for me to use for baths etc
- Cook for me and hubby (3 dishes, 1 soup or 2 dishes 1 soup - up to me); Cooking for me will be mainly lunch and dinner, breakfast either bread or mee sua with meat, plus tea-time and supper when i need; And every alternate day she'd brew tonic or chicken essence for me
- Encourage breast-feeding but for at night, advise that I express or use some formula so that i can have a good night's rest
- Will do some household chores like mop the floor twice a week and clean the kitchen twice a day after every cooking

What do u gals think? Is there anything that I should clarify with her? I'm thinking if ok, I'd pay the $300 deposit today via funds transfer already. Then I'd meet her when she comes to singapore in Feb for a more detailed talk.

She is my third choice. First two choices already fully booked, very worried I can't get any recommended ones if I wait further. A lot of august mummies!!!

Pls advise!!!

Dear gals,
I discussed with hubby and we think it might be better to get a CL who can be with me and baby 24/7 or else there'd be times I'm alone or just hubby and me and I fear we cannot handle. Moreover i checked natal essentials, it costs abt $1500 for 28days of lunch and dinner. Getting a confinement lady will cost $2300 (plus another $200 plus for work permit), and I have someone with me 24/7 and preparing 4-5 meals a day for me, helping with some household chores, etc, so probably more worth it?

This CL i found is recommended from forum and she is still available around my EDD period with 2-3 weeks buffer even.

She says she'd:
- Cook for me and hubby (3 dishes, 1 soup or 2 dishes 1 soup - up to me); Cooking for me will be mainly lunch and dinner, breakfast either bread or mee sua with meat, plus tea-time and supper when i need; And every alternate day she'd brew tonic or chicken essence for me
- Encourage breast-feeding but for at night, advise that I express or use some formula so that i can have a good night's rest
- Will do some household chores like mop the floor twice a week and clean the kitchen twice a day after every cooking

What do u gals think? Is there anything that I should clarify with her? I'm thinking if ok, I'd pay the $300 deposit today via funds transfer already. Then I'd meet her when she comes to singapore in Feb for a more detailed talk.

She is my third choice. First two choices already fully booked, very worried I can't get any recommended ones if I wait further. A lot of august mummies!!!

Pls advise!!!

Dear gals,

She says she'd:

Pls advise!!!

Catherine,

Your mum is right to ask you drink more dang shen water it helps to build up your "gi" in your body. What my mil does for my sil is besides adding just red dates and longan into the red dates tea that we consume during confinement, she added in dangshen and "black dates" aka in chinese is called " lan zao" .
6583507.gif

Catherine,

Your mum is right to ask you drink more dang shen water it helps to build up your "gi" in your body. What my mil does for my sil is besides adding just red dates and longan into the red dates tea that we consume during confinement, she added in dangshen and "black dates" aka in chinese is called " lan zao" .
6583507.gif