(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi kimmy,

i read in your previous posts that dr sf loh joked with you tat if you dun wan go under knife then have to watch your weight? huh? does it mean if we gain too much weight chances are we can't go for natural????
6397585.gif

chris - yeah...he joked that if I don't continue to watch my diet (i.e.: sugar, durians and calories), estimated weight of baby may be 3.4kg and above and I migth have to see the knife. So yes, I reckon from that, he means that if gain too much weight, unable to push out birth canal (then again, he also see that I'm quite petite) then might have to go for c-sect which I'm hoping not to.

Haha seems like hazel is happily shopping away. Yeah a lot of pram models there and the price is better at taka, even without members disount then at the bb fair, I feel

Hopeful - Lemme discuss with hubby and get back to you on combined orders :p

Hopeful - r u referring to the .nl website you posted? Ya, it's so cheap, plus the site says another 19% discount as nonEU customers no need to pay VAT (price includes VAT). I won't mind sharing too f u r pooling purchase to save shipping. But they ship international via UPS so am only worried about shipping cost

Bliss - I would go taka too even tho I not taka member. Went to suntec yesterday was abit disappointed. If you know exactly what u want, can find 1 or 2 good priced buys but overall v small. Msybe i was expecting too much (like those IT fair..
). End up Buying stuff at the Guardian sale next hall instead.. Hahaha...

Hazel - Yesterday managed to confirmed w the TMC customer service it is a Thomson TCM & Thomson pedi at 112 Katong! She didn't know when opening but says should be before year end. Yeah for us both!!

Sistas - v happy. Cleared detailed scan, and finally can confirm it's a girl!! So exciting. Bb very good, 15 min all measurements taking done then she did a few turns went back to sleep. Hahaha.. Now can fimally can her "she" and not "it" . I better enjoy the 2nd tri while it lasts!

Chris, yes went straight to 3rd floor coz already Knew wat to buy. I brought down my sister too. Coz I feel really shack now after 1hr n is too heavy for me to carry. Bought qinny stroller n maxi cosi car seat. I earned another 90 bucks taka voucher from the spending! I scar easily so I m v prone to getting keloids from cuts. Told dr loh all This including spine issues. He said I shld not hv any prob with natural delivery. I toldy bb daily to decide the mode of delivery. Once she decided, stick to it so that mummy wun suffer too much. Bb r linked to us, so we will tell our bb.

Ron, YES!!!!

I am on way to chinatown, need to buy maternaity disposable panty, pads, dry shampoo, n other toiletries. Think to buy n stock up coz I dun think I hv much energy in the weeks ahead. Walking around n talking I am already panting.

One More trip needed to bugis This Shop to buy cheap Daily bb wear. Then, Just left with bb cot n beddings which I will buy later coz I din wan to set up so early.

hahaha hazel,

u sure know where to get good stuff. i also heard fr colleagues tat bugis sell cheap bb wear and they sell like per dozen in a pack, i bought my disposable panties at watson 3 pkts for $12 (5 per pkts). oh remember to buy herbs for bath. if u at bugis go to the mkt think is 3rd floor call "lady boss" in chinese Lao Ban niang.. u can buy their pre-packed herbs ( they are in sachets) for bathing. my mil helped me to buy mine there. i heard we need abt 30 pkts for our daily bath during confinement. they are v convenient cos like tea bags, u just need to throw in 1 sachet in your bath unlike the traditional type where after ur bath the herbs n leaves will stick all over your hair and body. They have a few branches like 6 to 7 shops there under same boss. Just ask the staff there for the herbs. u can also start buying red dates, longans, ginger etc for your confinement there. Remember to bargain hor. My mil loves to buy herbs from them cos fresh, gd quality and price reasonable.
6397733.gif

Hazel,the shop u mention in chinatown sell toiletries only is it? How about the shop in bugis that u mention where is it?

Juz a thought... Og has 20+5% discount for may bank credit card holders isn't that better than taka? I juz settled my bb bed. Now left her bed sheet, bb strap, car seat, electric breast pump, wet wipes and her washing essential items... Kimmy I salute u can tahan long shopping trip. My pelvic and back hurt a lot.... Juz found out I got a rash cAlled puppp. Only attack 1-2% of the preggy ladies. How lucky I m....

Chris baby, I feel sorry for yr sil. My fren told me to seek 2nd opinion if bb head is not engaged and not rely yr gynae opinion. I have more or less set my mind on c-section. First is bcos my rash is terrible. Second I can choose date to plan my and my hb leave and also easier for my mum to tell her employer when she wants to take leave to do my confinement.

Ya I agree with u Lao ban niang shop sells things at reasonable price. I always look for Helen. My mum told me she is the boss there. No need to do aggressive bargaining, Helen will auto reduce price. If she dun I juz call my parents and pass the phone to her. Lol

hahaha told hb i wanna go taka, cos wanna take pics when i preggy and with all those xmas decorations

and as usual i use bb as "excuse" hahahaaa cos hb dun like me to walk around too much / shopping then after that my feet swells and joints pain.

Hi kimmy,

ya i miss durians..heehee esp during May - Jun, my in-laws bought alot of durians and keep asking me to eat cos tummy v small they scared my bb not gaining weight. My sil ate alot of durians during that her 3-5mth preggy period and gained alot of weight. Alot of frens and mil advised us not to eat too many during during our 3rd trimester cos it will be too heaty for bb, and when birth bb will have easily have heat rashs, pimples. My mil told me tat she loves durians and it was the season then during her 3 trimester, she ate alot and when she gave birth to my bro-in-law, he has huge pimples around his tummy area with pus. Ended up got to see dr and bb in pain as dr got to use needles to prick the pus etc.. So when she had my hb she daren't not eat so many durians anymore. Even my collegue also told me that when she gave birth to her bb girl, there is red pimples on her face cos during her 9th mth she ate alot of durians.

i rather fearful of childbirth esp after hearing my sil's ordeal...she gained total 38kg at birth...she used to be quite slim and she exercised alot very active even all the way to delivery. Her stomach is very huge like carrying twins..tats why my parents-in-law always quite worry about me cos my tummy much much smaller and always ask if i eat well and enough...we difference by exactly 8 wks. My sil and I are quite close and also live very close to each other. She swims 2x per week and walks alot and her feet starts to swell as early as 6mths..
All the while she thought with constant exercise she'll deliver v easily. And i shared her thoughts too, until she went thro that ordeal hb and i realised tat it also depends on other factors such as bb too big and maybe dilation too.

6397806.gif

Chris, I dun use herbs to shower. Too messy. I use rice wine. Cleaner n wun hv sticky feel. My mum will get for me.

Chinatown, yes the toiletries, some r ours, dry shampoo for hospital stay use as i wun bathe there, some r for for bb, eg no rinsible bath n shampoo. I know wat to buy already. So, just take n pay money. Also bought the cheap dress for nursing use.

Catherine, the shop at bugis is opp Waterloo street guanyin. temple. At the corner on the ground floor of the shop houses that sell dried stuff. Can't miss it. Chris was right, it sells by dozen n v v cheap. Bb Outside wear o hv bought online, cheaper than buying here. Just waiting for shipment to arrive. Taka has 20% discount. Member another 10% off. Then can earn take points to redeem taka voucher. Today spent 700 plus after taka n member discount, ie 20+10%, in addition my taka card has enough PTs to redeem 90 bucks voucher which I can use other times. Taka card also redeem free one hr parking.

I just arrived at Chinatown. Resting in Mac coz v shack. Later than go buy things.. My bb turned twice since we arrived here!

Hi kimmy, yup lemme know. I just emailed them to ask a couple of questions.

Hi ron, cool! Will include u. When r u due? So that can time when we shd order. If we manage to get EUR 1800 orders additional 10%. Cux my interests already cost abt EUR 800.
And based on my shopping list, ie joolz pram, maxi cosi car seat, and some pram accessories,ups shipping cost abt EUR 200. Its still much cheaper in sing cux just the pram alone cost $1498. Let me know which items u r keen in so that i can work out d nos n u can decide again?

hi catherine,

ya my mil knows the lady boss there too, always look for her direct as she's her regular customer and will give her better discount than the boss.
yup after hearing abt my sis-in-law 's ordeal, hb and i had a talk with my gynae and she assured me tat not too worry, she'll decide and advise me accordingly and she's not like certain gynaes tat "give in" to their patients eventho she knows tat the other option is better for them. She'll advise us accordingly esp after i told her i don't wish to go thro my sil's ordeal and will listen to wat she advises.

Actually my hb didn't really like my sil's gynae cos when my sil gained around overall a total of 20kg in her 5mth mth, he didn't advise her to watch her weight and keep telling her to continue and tat she's healthy cos she exercise alot altho she eats alot too. Only when she hits overall weight gain off 36kg during her 36 wks then he told her to watch her weight, wow liao isn't it too late!!! Tats why when i preggy, my sil was in her 4mth then ,advises me to see her gynae, we decided not too cos i dun like a gynae tat is not into details and never advise me esp if i'm gaining too much weight. my current gynae is very into weight gain and will monitor my weight gain on every visit.

Like for my sil, altho her gynae advises her to go for c-section in her 36wks, after my sil said tat she'll like to try for natural he gives in to her and advises induction on 40wk eventho bb not engaged at all. I felt that as a gynae he should be firm and tell her all the pros and cons...etc..
especially its my sil's 1st bb, but he didn't. anw hb just said lucky both mum and bb are safe and my sil thinks very highly of her gynae so we rather not comment anything.

6397881.gif

My sister, just joined a new company. She just told me She has 200 kg free freight anywhere in the world! I just told her to quickly go establish her contacts so that USA office she knows pp. Coz the USA office will fwd the things when received to sG on the company's cargo plane. Next time, I will just order everything from USA coz no Need to pay frieight. She said all her Long time colleagues do that.

wow hazel,

u can really shop ya!!! yup i heard from my mil's fren tat she used rice wine to bath too. oh now i used sachets so not messy. Hb just called, he on his way bk from work... don't know if he'll go taka with me today or not, may tomorrow ba. Anw big items our buddies already passed to us liao, we just need to maybe buy some bb bottles.

wow u better rest, don't walk so much. oh u should try the dessert stall just opp mc donald chinatown. Tey served one of the best walnut paste, black sesame paste and almond paste. These are all good for bb. u might want to eat some.
6397921.gif

Ritzc,
My next appt will be in 3 wks time. Not sure which hospital cheaper, think diff by one to two hundreds. Maybe u can find out on their websites.

Hazel,
Can share what brand of bb bath u r buying? Tks.

Hopeful - now only 20w+ hahaha.. Due only mid April but so wanna shop! Ok, I go do my short list and tally up total. .

Summer, kodomo. Chinatown is the cheapest! I go Swanson at 2nd floor. Bb toiletries here hv too. Cheaper than departmental stores even they hv discounts. I think most UAE bb detergent for washing bb clothes. I prefer bb powder. less soap subs.

Chris, am done. On way home!!

What to ask u all.
Last week I feel my boobs sore but the sore get lighter... Am worry is there something wrong?

Chris baby - juz read yr sil incident and yeah that's y I was pleased when dr Loh said if too big see knife becuz I like that he is giving his professional advice tho I told him ideally wanna try natural first (that's why he said watch yr diet and sugar). My relative went natural then emergency c sect and her bill = $12k cash after deduction (yikes!)

Wah reading all yr shopping is making me itch. But u are right, better to buy while u are still mobile then when too big a bit tough! I also wanna go Chinatown to get maternity pads and all that so tmc won't charge me for their 'tie-kinds'. Hahaha!

Hopeful - am out so t9 will go check it out then we can combine! Think Ron also ard same time so we can place orders in Jan and wait for arrival on feb? Mwahahahaha!!!

Catherine - haha I shop one place then rest then start again. But so far only buy few items here and there so my bills not one shot - can stagger across next few mths. Hehe! Ya pelvic pain really sucks I keep wanting to massage that area when I'm out but like so obscene :p

Chris baby - hubby disallow me to eat durian even cream puff type
the more he says no, the more I gian. But I only ate one time! Ya I saw my little cousin pimple skin, duno if cuz my aunt ate too heaty in last tri, but good info to know. Thanks 4 sharing!

Chris, I hv not touched any durians from d1. No cravings for that. Also the old wife's thinking of mummy eating a lot n bb will gain more weight is wrong. In most instances, is the mummy who will gain much more than bb. Also, small tummy does not mean small baby. The tummy size can be compact but bb can be heavy, vice versa. U r 33wks n u gained 17kg. U will most likely hit 20kg at least at delivery. Mummy gaining too much n dun lose it later may develop long term health issues like high blood pressure, high cholesterol, etc. Our bbs r still so young, n we r no longer young when we deliver them. So, we better watch our diet n hv a gd health so that we can see them grow up.

If u recalled wat mrs wing shared. She gained 22kg in her pregnancy but her bb was small at 2.2kg. Anyway, I m v careful with my diet. I dun take supper at all. I make sure I eat nuritious food but not overeat. I take herbs like cordcepyps weekly coz that build up both bb & my immunity. I dun fall sick at all even when hub is sick n we sleep in same aircon room. If mummy is stronger, bb will be born stronger. In The long run, bb will benefit. Also, my mum cooks pure fish soup for me 5x a week since mid 2nd tri... No salt, flavoring. It is very good for bb's brain development, ESP more so in final tri. Those capsules we take are not as gd n well absorbed compared to fresh fish soup.

Those dessert u mentioned, I dun take at all unless is home made. It s filled with high sugar content.... That translates into unnecessary weight gain. :p
Dr Mariam told me bb too big, c section is risky too. She said bb can be stuck inside the womb n rupture it during delivery. She said until v scary.. Though dr loh nv tell me such things. So, end of the day, big bb does not mean gd too. Healthy n strong bb r the most impt,

Hi ron n kimmy, ya jux realised tat all 3 of us r almost same time. Jan is gd, so we can do d research n see wat we really wan to buy.
oh, if buying car seat, better email them to cfm if can fit into d car u drive cux i read a small note on d webpage tat its best to check wif them 1st b4 ordering..

Kimmy, u gained a lot f weight meh? I gained 11 kg at 25+ wks. So, I even more mindful of my diet though dr loh nv say anything, but wat dr M told me freaked me out! 3 wks later, at 28+ wks, I gained <1kg, but bb weight gain is not bad. .. Dr loh said bb is of gd weight at 1.2kg. Again, he nv say I gained too much. I read from now till delivery, average weight gain is 5kg. So I will most likely hit 16-17kg in total at delivery. Considered normal.

Sisters, freight charges r very expensive when it comes to buying bulky nv heavy items from overseas. R u sure it is worth buying from overseas? I compared before. I dun think is worth loh.,. Savings r not much.. Also these items r not cheap, if u dun buy insurance n they r damaged along the way here how? Buy insurance is additional cost. Combining items will not make freight charges cheaper. Coz the total weight is still v heavy.. The packing is also bulky n big n additional freight cost will be incurred. U can check online on estimated freight charges to bring these items in. The cost is not dependent on just weight alone but also the measurements of the package.

Summer,ya, mine is 3 weeks also. Think next week I will update my kkh gynae about my glucose results n see how she responds then decide further.

Check w u another thing, say for delivery, do u know whether dr tham will be w u throughout? Coz kkh practice, I think, is for gynae to be called upon when admitted then he/she will go back to do her other duties then be called back at the last hour to finish up the delivery. Ha ha, I'm the paranoid type, juz now joke w my hubby that dun know whether he will end up be the one taking out our bb instead coz I read the maybe baby blog, the lady says her nurse left the room to look for the gynae, leaving juz she n her hubby n she thought her hubby may have to deliever for her. Juz wondering whether private gynae do things the same way.

Hazel - thing is I nvr gain much weight only about 4kg now and those who have seen me said ya I look about the same except w a tummy so dr Loh told me all the weight gg to bb lo. I think he just wanted to be cautious w me cuz I said I'm not gaining much yet on the detailed scan te report was apart from head, body and thighs are in the 90% overweight (he showed the graph thing). So he said juz maintain and dun overeat... Wah that mrs Wong story is scary! Can rupture! Thanks fr sharing cuz my frd said her est bb weight will be 4kg and said big baby good even tho she's small sized...
Am gg MC to look @ cots! Hehe

Kimmy, 90% based on detailed scan? Ur bb absorbs from your food v v well! Better than mine!

I will buy bb cot from kiddy palace in Jan before cny. Cost S$199, to ve delivered in feb. But bed sheets n bumper need to wash first before that. Will not be spending too much on cot coz bb will not sleep there for long. Prefer a proper bed when bb is bigger. I need a cot that can wheel in n out the spare bed room door n my master bed room door... So tt I can move it ard the house..

Where is the biggest MC?

Hehe. Sorry ladies juz checked my phone. Yep MC = Mother Care and the biggest I've seen is at harbourfront earlier. Although all relatively ex
I saw one at taka ytd @ $399. Also looking at those that can convert to toddler bed and has wheels below in case my sil room becomes available then I can wheel cot in. Haha!

Hi Ron, which item is urs? Pm me? Together wif ur email? Then I do calculations?

Hi hazel, thx for reminder. Will check if d shipping includes insurance. Yup earlier when I check d cost it does state d freight charges.

Sisters in 3rd tri, who just did scan recently, does ur scan photo still indicate bb's estimated edd? Though bb is 1.2kg, edd on photo is 1 wk later than wat it shld be. Dr loh told me ignore the date as is auto computed by machine.

Hazel - haha you are probably right that the freight cost will kill the deal. Wished I could get myself posted to denmark for training &amp; then can "ta-pau" the stuff back!

Hopeful - can u pm me instead, you dun accept PM

hi hazel,

i've been taking bird nests once every 2 wks since 16wks preggy..now switch to cordyceps once wkly or once every 2 wks since i hit 28 wks as heard tat it improves mine n bb's immunity. yup i was shocked tat i gained around 16kg however my average weight before i gotten preggy was 56kg, however few mths b4 i preggy due to work stress i dropped to 52kg and then i gotten preggy, the 1st rimester due to severe vomitting i was hospitalised in kk and during that period i didn't gain any weight so hb was rather worried cos i dropped 1 kg. start gaining weight during 4th mth onwards. i was chatting with hb just now cos i gained around 16kg but dunnoe where the weight went cos i still look the same...
yup i tried to take fish in my daily diet, used to eat 2 -3 times at my in-law place and mil will try to make fish soup or double black chicken soup for me at least once wkly. However now she busy with my sil's confinement so i made it a point to make double boil black chicken soup myself during the wkends.
6399541.gif

hi hazel /kimmy,

my family have history of diabetes, so when i was preggy i watched my diet too cos very scared to kena diabetes... i've got 2 buddies tat kena mild gestation diabetes and they have to limit to certain foods and got to prick their fingers to test blood every few hrs... Lucky when i went for my glucose test during 28wks, i passed. Heng ah!!! so worried...
6399549.gif

hi hazel, i agree with u, tat small tummy may not mean small bb, cos we ever asked my gynae and she told me the same and during the scan she told me bb growing very well, for eg the avg weight of bb at 32 wks is slightly below 2kg and mine is 2.268 cos me and hb very tall, my height is 1.68m and hb is 1.88m. So she assured me that its normal and not to be bothered by what others comment that i have a small tummy. heehee

My sil have her own belief that bb muz be big then healthy and easier to take care when born, altho i dun share her view cos big bb will mean difficult delivery and alot of other health problems. Remember during mrs wong bb 's lesson she mentioned that she dun advise us to use those baby simulator that is tied round our tummy tat mimicks alot of noise. my sil wears one around her tummy the from her 6wks onwards till birth..and she finds tat will help to simulate bb to be smarter and more responsive eventho we told her wat mrs wong bb says. Now she commented tat her bb v well behaved cos she believes is due to the bb simulator that she has worn over the months. ??????

Catherine - juz saw yr earlier msg. For me electric breastpumps cheaper @ dept store. Taka I paid $629 vs. $779 at the fair..but I suppose also depends on the brands that u want...

Hopeful - me on the way hm! Gg to check out link and let ya know! Yea we shall calculate freight &amp; insurance vs. cost in SG too :p

Kimmy, thx. I m looking at single electric pump. Either madela or phillips is fine with me after all I will use it jus for 3.5 mths. K i shall get at dept stores.

Hazel, my scan will show the edd and bb weight. My edd is getting earlier ANd earlier. My gynae told me to ignore the date. The Earlier date is bcos my bb is growing faster than what she should b that's y edd is earlier

Catherine, wat is the rate of growth tracked against? Weight? Head circumstances? Ur gynae also said ignore the edd computed by the machines? All gynae seems to say the same! Ha!

I m dead tired now... Legs breaking... How to tong another 10 wks?

Catherine, I also wun use the pump for long. That is y I buy from USA. s$450 medela dual electric pump including shipping.

Ritzc,

My #1 gynae only came in when am about to deliver. Think every gynae is the same, they wont come in once we r admit. For #1, I admitted at midnight 5+am n only delivered on next day evening 6.30pm. Gynae cant wait for one person for such a long period unless complications case. He has other patients to take care.