(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi Fatefully, I have totally same symptoms as yours, everything. I used to like and eat fish a lot. But since last week, I can only eat a bit of fish by force n feel like puking out liao. But I can eat those fried ones only, but also not much. Only white discharge so far.

Hi Joanne, pls rest well.

J03

I m resting at home . The gynae was a 24hr labour wards doc, she didnt say why. I m waiting to see dr loh on 20 dec and will try to get another jab next thursday.

When i had spotting at 4wks, another 24hr gynae said i had some free fluid and a corpus letum. She said it was normal. Dr lohdidnt say anything too. Since he didnt say anything and assured me that bb growing well, i am at ease.

Please rest well and dont think too much. Wait for ur scan next wk

Oh hazel... So nt everyone will haf protruding navel button ah. Haha.... Tink I too affected by those preggy women ard mi tat when they wear those tight fitting clothes, their buttons so obvious. For mi, it still e usual sunken type. Haha.

Ask u all ah, do u tink we shld buy e pram now when our due is oni 2Q nex yr. Izit too early coz dunnoe whether price will drop when new design come out nex yr.

Hi meryl
May i know u r at wk what now? Glad to know u r doing well.. How long will u be resting? What jab r u taking ? Proluton too? When u hv spotting at 4wks, did u rest long at home too? Thk u for ur advise..;)

Bbliss, my boss has already bought the bb stuff. He just bought a baby jogger city mini pram via amazon for his baby son, due march 2012, costing usd 218 including shipping.Shipping cost is only Usd19, direct from aMazon. He says sgp mothercare cost 599sgd.

J03, dr told me to force bed rest these few days. I am going 12wks tmr. It is really scary to see whole toilet paper covered with fresh blood and still dripping, i rather play safe and rest. i suspect some veins burst due to expanding womb and full bladder coz the bleeding stopped shortly. I was given proluton. I am going back to work on monday. ( http://health.learninginfo.org/varicose-veins.htm)

When i had spotting at 4 wks, i did rest too.

Please have the rest. When the nurse saw me ytd morning,they made me lie on bed and then wheeled me around. They dont allow me to walk. My job does not require a lot of walking too but pls play safe.

Bbliss, there is taka bb fair in march 2012. U may wan to wait till then? Car seat n stroller warranty starts when we deliver not on the day we buy. This is what the sales folk tells me.

J03, everyone is different. Wat works for one may not work for others n vice versa. Some 1-2 injections ok already. Some rest a few wks ok. But I do know of friends who bled the entire pregnancy. They hv to quit their work. Even at home, they dun walk much. So, u cant compare in that manner. End of the day, u think for yourself wats impt. Rest at home, Work, bb or to be patang n dun wan to tell pp. Like a few of us hv shared with u, once u decided just stick to it n no regrets. U hv been going in circles every day n dun seem to get out of it. We hv been telling u, at this rate u r going, it will only affect yr mental health n ur bb. Is that worth it?

Last pregnancy u were u In similar position, keeps on worrying thinks negative n going in circles. Dun mind me asking, havent u learnt your lesson?

FYI, I hv learnt my lesson this round. I only starts worrying the day before I m going to see dr loh. The rest of the time, I dun think abt it at all. Like dr loh told me, wat can I do? Wt can he do? But if seeing me make me at ease he will see me more often.

hi ritzc,

saw ur post about ur borderline gestational diabetes.. sorry to hear that.. but it wont be too long till ur bb full term k.. just go on with the finger pricking to monitor ur glucose level n follow the strict diet..

one of my frens just gave birth to a healthy bb boy at 36 weeks.. its like 4 more weeks for us! hehe.. tho i still have alot of worries in my mind up till now, i just try to look forward with positivity..

u seriously very strong to go thru all that.. im sure ur boy will have that fighting spirit in him cos his mom fought so much to have him..

pls take care of ur diet k..

Thks hazel.. Thks for telling me off.. I appreciate ur kind intention.. I will and shd learn fr u..;) though is not easy but i will try my best.. If is meant for me, it will be.. If is not meant for me.. How much i does or think oso no use...

Thk u Bliss too..

Kimmy, I almost can't take it all by walking fr suntec bus stop to bb fair then to Tony romas to meet hubs for dinner. U defintely got lots of energy!! I will go taka tomorrow morning when it opens, no crowds n easier to buy things. Will drag my sis along to help carry. Walking already tires me.. Dun expect me to carry things!

Silsilly, I'm just v unlucky to get 1 complication after another, ha ha. But GD will go away after pregnancy, juz have to be careful about what I eat and try to lead a healthier lifestyle after pregnancy. I'm not too worried la, juz that yesterday I was telling my hubby my bb was supposingly 1.7 kg at week 31 kkh adc scan then gained near to 500g to become 2.2 kg at week 32. Thank goodness, dr Ben asked me to do the glucose test, it's like a wake up call otherwise I keep eating high fat n high sugar food, bb may end up to worst scenario to be near to 6kg if can hit full term at 40 weeks. Faint! Second biggest bb in Singapore history I think!

Anyway, if give birth at week 36 is also okay, near full term and most imp after christmas! I keep telling my bb I want celebrate christmas w daddy so dun come out so early.

J03, divert your attention to your boy! He will keep u away from all these worries. We all worry. But at times just choose to ignore. My visit to dr loh on wed, he looked so stern n serious when he was scanning, I kept looking at his face instead of the screen ok. Was looking out for any frowns or watever negative expression from him. He was scanning bb's head then, I told myself, he was taking measurements so looked serious. Only after that, he pOinted to the screen n told us which body parts were shown on the screen. After we went home, I still asked hubs why he looked so stern when scanning initially!! Hubs told me off, he said he didn't say anything means all is fine! His stern looks kept flashing in my mind ok.. But after a while, I told myself, STOP thinking! I hv to trust him. Since he didn't say anything n commented bb's weight is gd, why shld i worry? If I can do it, u can too.

The suntec bb fair is still quite small scale n some booths r just selling services like insurance, education, postnatal massage. The good buys seem limited to me, only maybe korean floor mat large size going at $180 without delivery ( pre packed in bag), jj Cole blankets n Summer swaddles going at a discount, pigeon products at a discount etc. I only bought a pigeon fridge to go, saving around $15 from original price. Think 2 booths selling strollers. I spent $30 and get 2 lucky dips( passion card holders get 2 dips) n won two $5 vouchers which the organizer says can only use at the retail outlet, not at the fair. Very promotion gimmick, ha ha

Kimmy, ya, the fridge to go is cheap. I spent $44plus for it, typo error above.

Bliss, my belly button looks protruding in my dress, but it never pops out to date. Juz became shallower n a bit swollen around the edge.

Ritzc and hazel - ya I also think bb fair disappointing as I expected more... That's why after a tea break I went taka where I find savings are better. Medela bottles, sterilizers alone cheaper than fair. Haha I ended up buying breastpump @ 629 in the end. Heeee. Wanted to look at car seat but my legs a bit tired so gg dinner now.

Hi hazel,

yup i drank around 2 litres of water daily. My feet started swelling from 28 wks onwards...its getting worse fr 32 wks onwards. i used to be able to walk around and go for long shopping trip but now at 33 wks, found myself very heavy and dun like to move alot too as bb kept pressing near my bladder and pelvic area painz ah !!
6395631.gif

Hi kimmy, thx for d updates! I think i will go taka tmrw to check out first n then go suntec on sunday. Wanted my mum advice cux she is so much more exeperience than me. But i m pretty keen on Joolz pram. Ve u heard of maxi cosi car seat? I was just surfing n found this website. www.babycare.nl wow its so much cheaper than sing! But i m nvr an online shopper. So a bit hesitant. Care to share ur thots on this website?

Hopeful - my pleasure! Thanks for the link, will go check it out too
yeah joolz is quite nice.

Hey sisters wanna ask u... I've been having this 'sting' around my pelvis area on and off this evening. Is that what u refer to as pelvic pain? Like I feel a bit of a 'depression' around the area but as I lie down it's ok again...

chris,

ur feet swollen too? same same! my hands are swollen as well.. i feel clumsy like a hippo hehe.. walking needs alot of effort and gripping stuff needs lotsa effort too leh.. very tired since i started 3rd trimester.. i pee at least 3 times a night cos bb dun like a bulging bladder and he presses on it everytime the bladder gets a lil full! hehe.. the urgency to pee will be immediate lor! my face has started to puff up too.. and my bulging protruding bellybutton is like trying to find its way out and out and out!

oh well... the joys of being pregnant in the third trimester!
so fun! hehehe...

to other sisters going thru the a nice second trimester, look forward to a fun third trimester k! hehehehehe....

Silsilly, My leave starts today!, so can rest... But lots of washing, packing of bb stuff.... will only to working for 1 wk in dec only! Horray!! Then January is cny!!! Time will pass v fast!!

Going taka after breakfast before the crowds come in!!

hazel,

so syiok! december will be a good time for your nesting instincts to kick in!! while u got time to rest, pls do.. enjoy ur days resting and nesting n shopping!

Haha hazel - I see so that is pelvic pain.. No wonder u ladies say it can hurt because it does! So uncomfortable during dinner and coffee that I kept squirming like mad. Gosh. Okay at least I can rule out 'infection' or anything else knowing what it is. Happy taka shopping! Ooh can trouble u to check if FP bouncer is lion or lizard? I recalled lion ytd. It's at the back, opp the pigeon stuff, if u have time...

Silsilly/ Hazel

Welcome to 3rd trimester!! hahahaa

Yup i felt like a hippo too, i gained abt 17 kg so far but but legs and arms are still slim,my face also didn't put on much, my fren ever commented could it be my legs are still so slim tats why the pressure is harder for me cos got to support the extra weight. My hb also mentioned tat maybe next round I should go gym to exercise and pump up some muscles around the leg area.. i used to be quite on the slim side before preggy and dun exercise regularly only when i gotten preggy then started to sign up 4 lessons of aqua aerobics at KK and then prenatal yoga @ big splash. hahaa

To ease swelling, i normally pop up my legs, ask hb to massage (learnt at mrs wong bb class) and then i put on socks. Slept through the night and next morning swelling goes off. At work no choice, no chance to pop up legs so by end of day, my legs started to swell.

Felt stronger movements of bb starting from 7th month onwards esp after she has rotated head down during my 32 wks scan, can feel her pressing both ways at my pelvic area and at my ribs area. Pain manz...
6397153.gif

Hazel, the other time u mentioned can book hospital bed as late as when? I haven't book my bed yet, told kkh gynae that I will book in a few weeks time. Can advise, thanks

Hi silsilly,

yup i woke up around 2-3 times per night, pee once then went bk to sleep. so far arms and hands no swelling. Now waiting for the durian season, heard around mid dec le... cos my hb promised bb tat if she rotate head down by 32 weeks then will reward her with durian hahahaaa cos heard dr says tat some bb rotate until last min like after 36 wks but by then bb will be too big and not much space for bb to rotate. so me and hb scared tat if i eat too much durian bb will grow too big to rotate ah.. so everyday he will talk to bb to rotate lor, and bribe her with durians hahahaaa

Hi hazel,

I always got colleagues and frens commented that my tummy is small, even my hubby joked tat his bb poor thing living in a 1-rm flat and tell me not to complain when i feel her strong punching and rotating movement. During 28-32 weeks, her movement has been very big can even see a small lump moving slowly from left to right clockwise. Hubby says bb trying to rotate head down so muz bear with the uncomfy movement and encourage her to rotate. hahaha

6397192.gif

Hi Hazel,

so nice, my hb working today so I can only go taka in the afternoon and evening. oooh hate the crowds, prefer to go early in the morning. now have my pet buuny accompany me lor.

Wanted to take leave in Dec, but can't as my colleagues all clearing bloc leave in Nov - dec ah... only managed to take 1 week leave from 21 Dec 2011, still got alot of stuff to buy, wash and set-up.... now rainy season, very tough to get laundry done and dry esp bb stuff.
Contemplating clearing my maternity early Jan cos my office colleague, now preggy with 2nd child edd 1 wk after mine advised me to clear maternity early as chances that we might pop as early as 37 weeks instead of full term. She also mentioned tat our office colleague all pop 2-3 weeks earlier before edd. So she asked me to prepare my stuff early.
6397257.gif

i still haven't had chance to tell my ang moh boss tat i clearing my maternity leave early. cos maybe he think i'll take on my 40wk lor..

Summer, u seeing dr Ben weekly or fortnightly from now? He schedule me for next appt in 3 weeks time coz I havnt made up my mind which gynae to deliver for me.

Anyway, compare Mt A n TMC which is cheaper? Frankly, if I take single bed at kkh, think only save a bit but coz hubby is civil servant, me n bb outpatient bills r more conveniently paid using his CSC card. Haiz

RitzC, u delivering in KKH? If so, no worry abt bed reservation. Can do at 34wks. We hv prority.

Chris, my bb head down from 25+ wks, so I can feel it when ae turns at pelvic area.. Keke. I put on 11kg so far. Actually we hv a common friend though I hv nv met u b4
. I dun intend to take leave/ml prior to delivery. Coz wan to spend as much time with bb after birth as possible. So, i will take ML, AL, etc after delivery.. Too tiring, I will ask dr loh for mc/Hl. He will sure give one. Full term is 37 wks. Even 1 day earlier is considered premature n abit tough to buy insurance for bb early. Talk to ur bb daily, tell her when u wan her to arrive. It always works!

Hazel, thx for sharing on e start date of warranty for stroller n cat seat. Din noe abt tat. Hehe. Tink maybe will recee ard e prices coz DH tink tat prices may drop when new models start cmg out. Ha. Tink he is too influenced by those IT fairs....

Ritcz, both myself n DH are oso civil servants. Initially we oso
wanna to be at kkh coz savings really quite alot but den my
gynae is leaving kkh soon so we decided to follow him when
he goes. My thinking is tat, no doubt we may spend slightly
more than public hosp but since e stay is oni abt 2 days, juz
gotta spend coz ultimately most impt is e dr who u r most
comfy with deliver ur precious coz he noe both yr n yr precious condition e best

Hazel n Bbliss, thanks

Bliss, the one who knows my condition best is kkh coz I used to see her nearly every week, but the one I'm most comfortable w is obviously the one at tmc coz he made me feel he goes the extra mile for patients. Ay, I see how, maybe I book at week 35, by then nearer full term then better position to decide coz all along I'm afraid the costs of hospital stay will be overwhelmimg if bb is premature.

Hi hazel,

yup hb wanted bb to come out later during cny cos my confinement nanny have to go bk 1 day to msia, ie on cny eve she'll cook 1 day's food for me in the morning then got to take bus bk to msia, then the next morning come bk. So we abit worried as causeway always jam etc and she might not be able to make it bk on time. My mil will be very busy during cny, hb did tell her to be on standby.

my edd is 19 Jan 2012, and hb has been talking to bb to come out after 19 Jan 2012 so that during tat period when CL not around i will be resting in hospital.

can always feel the bum of bb around the ribs area then when i stroke and touch her, bb will start to kick or protrude more. Esp if I'm watching TV at night or when planes fly pass punggol at night, oh she starts to be more "violent" liao hahahaa. I remember last sat when i wash movie twilight at Lido, throughout the show, bb very excited keep rotating around and kicking, hb joked with me ask me use my bag or sweater to cover tummy so bb won't hear the noise hahahahhaa
6397443.gif

my mil now busy doing confinement for my sil (hb's elder bro wife). she gave birth on 23 Nov 2011. My sil stays a few blocks away from me while my in-laws stays simei area. So every morning mil got to cook and rush down to her place with my fil and maid, drives 20mins tpe and stay there till 3pm++, rush bk home and cook then deliver dinner before 6pm. She has to make 2 trips per day. Quite tiring for her tho. Cos my sil doesn't wan CL as she rather save the $$$ so asked my mil to help out. For my case, my hb doesn't wan to tired his mum, so suggested engaging CL instead.

Hi hazel,

I ever thought of asking my mil to help out cos during that period is cny, and CL charges super ex leh...but hb doesn't wan to trouble his mum, altho his mum did suggested to leave her maid with around if my sil or I not able to handle nightfeed. Cos if got CL around will let her handle nightfeed so tat i can have ample rest the rest of the mth. And we also pai seh don't want to trouble the maid or mil to help out with the washing etc..so we rather save on other stuff and engage CL lor.

Hahaha now with bum getting bigger, i find it hard to bend down to bath my rabbit and to clean his cage, so now the changing part will be done by hb and maybe bathing part will either leave to groomer or wait till i finish my confinement hahaaa. I've 2 dogs at my in-laws hse and the maid and my in-laws super duper dotes on them.
6397466.gif

RitzC, for your reference, dr loh told one twin mummy if bbs r born between 32-34 wks, estimated stay in NICU is 1-2 wks if bbs weight are gd. so after 34 wks, shld be quite safe as bb lungs r fully developed. Not sure abt other KKH drs, but dr loh seems to be quite accurate. He told this mummy who is due end Jan that she will deliver by dec. He ordered bes rest for her 2 wks ago. True enough, she delivered this wk.

Bbliss, I told dr loh I get keloids easily n wats my risk if I do episiotomy. He told me none of his patients hv ever gotten it down there.. Unless i wan to be his first patient! That really assures me.

Hi Hazel,

I did tell my mil to standby during cny in case kena playout by CL, cos few mths bk i engaged a CL and she play me out last min, and ended up with frens recommendations i gotten another CL. So i told hb liao to tell his mum to be on standby cos if my current CL doesn't turn up or MIA then she got to stand in liao. hahaha Its very stressful finding CL esp during CNY period and most of them are fully booked or ask for very high salary. Like my colleague who edd around my period managed to find one but costs her $3000. Its also tough getting my mil to do full-time confinement cos her health not too gd either, she got diabetes, hi blood, hi cholesterol and gets giddy easily whenever she's stress up etc... and she very havoc got alot of programs and likes shopping and go tour. At during cny, she'll be super busy cooking up a big feast for the whole family and relatives will be coming to her place
for the 7 days during cny to eat. And everytime after tat, she'll start to have giddy spells and need to see doc liao. Tats also why my hb doesn't wanna trouble his mum to do confinement for me lor...He's the kind tat doesn't wanna trouble his family members and friends.
6397488.gif

Taka sale better! After further 10% member discount, the pram n stroller are cheaper at taka compared to bb fair. Further more can claim member points! I just selected the ones I like

Hi Kimmy, yup check out d website. They sell quinny n maxi cosi too. I discussed wif hubby. He said order online but I was worried abt warranty n the stuff getting spoilt. He says take d gamble. So if u r keen, we can combine orders n save a bit more on shipping charges? With the same px I can get d pram, car seat n other pram accessories thru d website..

Hi Hazel,

wat's keloids??? Have u informed dr loh about your spine problem cos its always good to discuss with him about your birth plan. Me and hb also starting to think liao esp after hearing fr my sil about her traumatic ordeal.. she was in her 40wks, and bb not engaged, no signs and symptoms from 39-40wks. Dr suggested her to admit on 23 Nov 2011 (40wk) to induce and if bb not coming out will go for c-section. On the day before her admission, she has spotting, went to see doc and bb still not engaged so dr ask her to follow original plan to admit the next day. She started having contractions throughout the night and admit at 8am the next morning, she only dilated 1cm. She admit around 8am, induction at 10am, had epidural around 3pm, numb til 6pm and pain returns and she was in tremendous pain all the way to 9pm++, by 9am only 7cm dilated and by 10pm they discovered that cord round bb neck and bb very stressed and poo hence very dangerous got to push her in for emergency c-section. By then she was too shag and almost fainted that she didn't get to see her bb until the next day.

me and hb had a talk with our gynae and told her about my sil's case, my gynae commented that in such cases where the bb has not engaged by 37-39 wks, she'll suggest the possibility of c-section as its a 50% to 50% chance cos she doesn't want her patient to go thro the ordeal of induce and ended up c-section and ended up paying double. And if by 40wk not engaged, it might also mean tat bb's head too big liao, and my sil's gynae should advise her to go for c-section liao and not induce cos tats no way for she to push it out... my hb was thinking tat some gynae might be unethical wanted to earn 2x or maybe it could be my sil insisted on natural eventho during her 37-39wks visit her gynae suggested c-section cos her bb very big (est at birth 3.9kg) but he still allow her to try for natural. End up bb come out only 3.2kg and think my sil abit disappointed cos she wanted big bb.

I myself have went thro the same experience with an unethical gynae before, he recommended me to go for key-hole to remove my blood cysts 3.6cm before i go for ivf (altho he knows that it was my 2nd time surgery to remove endo cysts). He even told me very serious tat if i don't do the surgery then i might not succeed in ivf. So stupid me went for the surgery and suffered alot of side effects after that. Only afterwhich a year later i saw Dr Sf loh, he was a great and enthical dr. he did a scan for me and found tat my endo cysts came bk at 3.4cm after my surgery 1 yr later. he didn't suggest i go for surgery and also commented tat that pte dr should not have suggested surgery for me back then as everytime u operate on the ovary to remove endo cysts, ur egg reserve diminishes and esp if the dr doesn't do a good job. no pt going for surgery since i'm going for ivf straight as i need all the eggs i can possibly have. Tat's why me and hb trusts dr loh alot. just tat we didn't wanna give birth in KK cos had a few bad exp with their nurses during 2 of my hospital stays so last min we switch to a pte gynae in gleneagles.
6397564.gif