(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hazel, got such thing as antibiotic in the body prevent the embryo from growing? I was told on the day of transfer that both embryo transfer were of grade 4, 1 level higher than average.

Joanne, i was tested bfp at day 14 with hcg of 420.

Kimmy, thanks. I will leave it to fate.

Kimmy, juz dun scratch. If not u will b like me all over also got rashes and u can't sleep. I have seen 4 docs in 3 weeks. The cream they gave r useless. U should do cold compress or put a wet cold towel in the fridge and press onto the itch area. That helps for me temp. Still need medication to make me sleep... I m know it's bad but I really Bo bian already

Catherine - thing is...when I sleep, I scratch subconsciously
Only when I wake up then I realize...urgh. I think I might need to wear mittens!!!! Haha I scratched my legs 2 weeks ago until got scratch marks then I realized that if I moisturize it, its not too bad. Just got to tahan, like you said. Sigh, even creams don't work ah...

Miracle : my 9 dec wait is already killing me.. We r supposed to enjoy the pregnancy but the suspense is terrible...I can understand what u r goig through.. I don't have any symptom until now... more worried..... But was told my symptom will come later... U r still hving all yr symptons right?

What kind of meals are you having? Today I just took cod fish.. Wonder is it ok? This deep sea big fishes must avoid right due to the high mercury content..

Qin, how is it? I hope everything is fine.

Hi Kimmy, i did ask Dr Loh for eczema cream as i have very serious eczema. He does not encourage using steriod creams as this may cause birth defects such as cleft lips. He told me to bearwith it. As pregnancy progress then he will give some other light cream. It is better to ask him what medication to use. Try to avoid chicken, egg and seafood. Hope this helps.

Hi Ritz and Hazel,

I thought I'm the only one having the pelvic pains, i can understand how u all feels. The pain is there esp when i toss and turn in bed, or trying to pull myself up from the bed. Its soo painful. Esp at night when I need to visit the toilet, oooh... esp last wed when i went for my antenal yoga lessons, while doing the normal stretching exercise i suddenly felt sharp pain at my pelvic inner thigh area..wow seh!! tats it, the pain lasts me a few days, even when i walk, sit or try to get up from bed... now slightly better...

BTW when is taka membership sale? Is it this week or next?
6377906.gif

taka member sales, additional of 10% starts this thurs till this sun!

isnt this cute? books that can rattle, sound or bb can feel, best part is can hang on stroller or car seat! I bought online & free shipping to SG from UK! the prices are cheaper than SG too!

6377957.png

there is one music CD that can play bb for bb to listen too! these are just some of the things i bought online! free shipping so took 2 weeks to reach me! BUT i am not complaining!

Hazel - nice books! Haha yeah thankfully now my itch subsided...

Meryl - thanks for the info on eczema cream. Oh i tot cream for pregnancy got no steroid ones...my pte doc mentioned that he had a cream for eczema which has no steroids or chemicals...but oh well, now that the itch is subsiding. I hope it stays that way! Oh now, I've been eating chicken & eggs. Oops!!!

Gosh, my next appt is 21 Dec, wait is lagi long.....ahhhhh. Must tahan tahan. But at least these days when kicks from bb get stronger, it gives me some form of reassurance

Hazel, my doc say cannot use oil. Juz need to keep moisturizing ourselves and bathe cold water. Ppl who has rash, according to my doc r v stress.. Sigh

Catherine, why cannot use oil? Olive oil can be applied on new born skin, so why cannotn apply on us. In fact olive oil is the best! It is used for prerenial massage to prevent an epsiotomy some more. Ie, spply on our clean finger, go into the vagina n do the massage from 36 wks preg.. Even mrs Wong agreed with me. Itch cause is v dry, olive oil will moist it better than any types or creAm.

My gf used horse oil!! Dr loh also nv say anything.

I asked mrs wong, y do we need baby lotion to apply on new born. Since we hv pure olive oil, isn't that better? Bb's skin will be v nice n smooth. She said yes, buy a new bottle n pour some into a smaller bottle for bb use.

Hi Qin
Hows ur scan today? Hope everything is fine for you...

Hi Miracle
13th dec is because gynea want to assure can see bb hb by then.. As u shd be in 4 wks plus pregnant now which is consider still early.. Next wk will be ur 5th wk and will be at ur 6th wk only end of next wk according to ur et date 11th nov.. Hence, 13th dec is just nice to detect ur bb hb...;) know is not easy for this 2wk but soon the big day will come k... Dun think too much n take care now...

Can we eat cook salmon during pregnancy? I dun dare to take stingray as think that is toxic...;p

Chris, u r around 33 week now right? Glad ur pelvic pain got better. I thought I was dilated when I'm first hit with that at mid second trimester but it does get better gradually with balance of rest and short walks.

Joanne, just avoid eating the big type of fishes. U can goggle online to see the mercury level. To me, actually beside the obvious raw, alcohol and herbal food that can't be taken during pregnancy, the rest of the food can take in moderation. I still eat pizza, baked rice, fries, curry, salmon, cod fish, small mackerel, sushi etc occasionally. No need to worry too much so long as the food is cooked properly and doesn't look like it is left on the shelve for too long.

I bought a book from called "Teach yourself. Boost your baby's development" by Caroline Deacon, a pyschologist n journalist. Quite a interesting read that address babies' behavior and developmental milestones and what approaches and activities we can do with them correspondingly. Got it at Changi airport terminal 2 book retail outlet at $19 plus. Original price $23 plus but now $4 discount. Worth checking out if have time

Hazel
live oil any kind also ok? Or any special brand? Last time I used to apply on my hair and it become so oily..

I finished my cytologest for this fet and now left with utrogestan from my last fresh cycle. Wonder if I can continue to insert it? Dun wan to waste and furthermore when stopping cyclogest got a feeling like no more support...

Morning Ladies,

Just wanna check when shd we sigh up for antenatal classes? Seems like many of u attended Mrs Wong's class. Where are the classes held? Are the classes interesting? Does anyone have the contacts?

I'm now in my 13th week. So far, din put on any weight. Should I be concerned? Cos know of some who lost weight in 1st trimester.

Have not started using any stretch mark cream yet. Any recommendations? Was thinking of trying bio oil but concerned about the retinol content...

Tanny, pure olive oil. Those use for cooking will do. But get a new bottle n pour out wat u need in a clean bottle. Mrs Wong said use the rest for cooking! My Angmoh friends uses that. They dun Use cream at all. My mum said during her times, no creams, olive oil they made themselves n use too. V useful.

Sunnie, mrs Wong is gd. She shared with lots of real life egs n her classs always over run coz she shares alot of information. Sometimes too much for us to remember all. To attend her class, must be at least 20 wks preg. But u must register early as classes r full v v fast. Book online at TMC website, under parent craft.

I nv use a single drop of stretch mark cream. So far, nothing for me. Well, I hv heard alot fr other friends, if u r going to hv stretch marks, u will still hv regardless how much cream u use.

Good morning sisters

Hazel - the books are so cute. I'm going to try get some for my 6mth neice. If can arrive b4 xmas even better.

Sunniegal - can check the thomson medical centre website under the parentcraft childbirth classes. Info & links there. Open to everyone

2 days to next appmt! Hopefully can confirm gender then wanna go shopping spree after scan! My SIL already started packing stuff to handdown, so decided going to buy stuff for mama instead hahaha..have a good day everyone.

Thanks Hazel and Ron,

I've called TMC Parentcraft. They say I need to register online. If I sign up for a class, how do I know that Mrs Wong is conducting the class? Are all the classes held at AMK HUb? How early should I book for the class? I'm now Wk 13. The TMC website says to book after Wk 20.

Sunnie, the classed schedule n the lecturer are all online. Mrs Wong classes are at AMK hub. Pls register now for the class date u r attending when u r 20wks. That will be end Jan class right? The schedule for Jan classes shld be out on parentcraft website.

To those who have or are attending Mrs Wong classes, do you bring your husband or a friend along What about the majority of participants? Do they come alone or as a couple? My problem is that my DH is away and I will have to go alone if I'm to sign up. I'm afraid I'll be the only one without a partner and end up feeling
during the class.

All came with hubby except one girl who came alone. These kind of classes where got pp go alone or friend one unless no choice right?

Hi ritzc n miracle
Thk u for ur advise.. Me just trying to be cautious.. Hee..

Hi baby
Any sympton already? Me feel abit 反胃today.. Think sympton is coming and i look forward to the ms sympton..;) Hope beanie r doing well..

Hi sunniegal
So fast for u tt u already 13wks, ur gynea oso doc Loh?
U intend give birth at tmc too? Whens ur edd?

Msmiele - I started last week, most go with DH. I go alone as DH travels during the week, so for any exercises, i get partnered with the other "single" mamas. There were 3 of us last week (out of class of 27 mamas!) so it was ok
IMHO, not much point bringing a friend as the hubby portion of the discussion how the hubby can provide support to us. I likely will end up alone for all the classes. If DH can go join would be nice, but oh well, he has to do his stuff & bring the bacon home.

Hazel - haha.. no choice is good way to put it. Mrs Wong looked at the 3 of us "singles" and go, it's ok-la, you all hold each others hands and pretend it's your hubby.. I was talking to another single & we were saying "you look prettier than my hubby!"

Sunniegal - The website will allow you to choose a class based the minimum 20wk date on your EDD information. So you cannot book a class starting earlier than you EDD, but you can book now. You only need to pay and confirm 1 month before the actual class start date, but can book seat first.

Ron, at least ur class got 3. My class got only one! N she is always alone. That's worse right? A few times she brought her sister. I suspect her hub is based overseas but hub said she is a single mum coz she looks young..

Sillsilly, dr tham says my bb is too big at 2.2 kg at week 32, ask me to do gestational diabetes test. Each gynae obviously have their own approaches, coz kkh gynae says bb is big but fine. Anyway, I will still do the test to be on the safer side.

Summer, u book bed already? I haven't decide yet. I told the TMC staff I will decide in week 35, don't know whether too late.

Thanks Hazel and Ron. That is my biggest reservation. Since my DH is based outside Singapore, I most likely will be attending alone. If the class is like Ron's then it's not too bad but if I'm the only single mom like in Hazel's that will be so sad
.I know I shouldn't be concern about going alone or what people will say (ahem! Hazel like your hubby
) but I understand that there are activities where the participation of the DH is needed. So I'm still contemplating.

Re: munkchin diaper carrier

First yrs at KKH sells the cheapest! 33.90! Even those shopping centre at 20% sale, after discount still will cost 39 bucks!

Ritzc,

I will do the OGTT tmr, Dr Tham afraid I will get GD due to my huge bb last time. But my urine test at every visit was ok. Had booked my delivery at Mt.A.

Summer, I'm doing the test tomorrow too, see u around. Anyway, ur this pregnancy bb weight normal right? Think u dun have to worry too much.

My case is my kkh gynae usually dismiss everything as normal - last time spotting every week also say normal, cervical shortening also not a big issue, even traces of protein in urine also the same. So since dr tham suggested I do the test, I say ok. I rather gynae take a preventative approach than wait for things to happen.

ritzc,

wow! 2.2kg is quite heavy for 32 weeks.. but dun worry too much la.. just do the GD test.. anyway, we are reaching full term soon.. if u do have GD, most prob will be induced when u reach the 36-37 week mark which is just a few weeks from now! im like alredy excited for u lor!!

anyways, do u have a family history of diabetes? i did my GD test in 2nd trimester cos both my parents has diabetes.. test came back negative..

but i tink ur bb is big becos u have been consuming the maternal milk.. usually if bb is light, doctors will recommend drinking the milk.. but since u are eating well and still taking the maternal milk, ur bb grew bigger lor.. perhaps? maybe try stop taking the milk?

good luck for ur GD test tho! praying for u n ur bb here.. update us k..

Hi Joanne, not much symptom. Even the cramping n pulling are gone. Me too, always feel nausea in the morning n night, but never puke. Guess, it's side effect of the duphaston. Always feel hungry, not sure it's because of weather or greedy haha. Always eat a lot, but so fast hungry. And my stomach always growl so loud when I'm in a meeting. Paiseh paiseh. If casual meeting, we will just laugh, but if it's formal one, I always try to pretend never hear anything hehe. Very paiseh leh. Today just had a 2 hrs non-stop walk, no chance to sit. Was so worried, but can't tell them that I'm pregnant. Quickly went toilet after that to check if anything....hoohhh glad it's nothing.

Silsilly, my family no one has diabetes. I'm not too worried la, coz cervical shortening was my prime concern all along - dun know when labor will occur if cervix becomes too short. Anyway, was telling my hubby 1 ivf bb is enough, our next child will will try Chinese meds coz this pregnancy way too medicated even before conception. Ha, really envy u

Baby me, not every one will puke during pregnancy, think me, kimmy and some others expecting bb boy didn't really puke throughout our pregnancy. So don't be too worried about ur lack of symptom

I'm the one pregnant, but my hubby is the one to feel like eating something ( just like preggy woman when they feel like eating certain food). Dunno why hehe.

Baby_me, ritzc is right. Hahaha didn't really puke unless I tahan my appetite until buffet lunch time (my fault la, really) and no morning sickness whatsoever. haha! My other friends who expected boys also had a pretty smooth one
Your hubby got cravings! Hahah. My hubby is putting on weight cuz everytime he sees me eating during supper time, he will ask me "can I try a bit", or sometimes he will buy extra portion so that he can join in. Everyone that we've met in the past 2 months, when they see him, first thing tell him that he's put on quite a bit! HA HA!