(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

BabyPenguin, yeah, agreed with your mum. I'm following Dr Loh to TMC too since I already told him before BFP. Not sure about waiting time at TMC later on, just hope that it's better than KKH.

Joanne, I'm only given Duphaston tablet 10mg to be taken twice a day and folic acid. That's all. I'm not sure if you have taken any extra on your own, like those extra vitamins or drinks or food, I'm really not sure what else to take to help this pregnancy. Feeling that doing so little help.

Sunny_Gal and Meryl, thanks thanks

Wow, 6, 7, 8, and 9 Dec, so many sisters will have first HB scan on these dates. So excited.

Tanny, you've got more medications than me. Is it because your are on medicated and I'm on natural FET? I read that lots of sisters here given more Meds than me. I'm only given Duphaston and Folic Acid.

Hi sisters, for those who have leg cramps. I use to have it 2 to 3 times a night. Left right take turns. Then I went for preggy foot massage once every week. It gets better n now completely no more. Cos the massage helps circulation. And do not sit cross legs. Try straighten legs. Cos my hubby says there are veins behind our knee. So when we bend too much it restrict the blood from flowing back up. Also doing a warm water foot soak (at least up to half your shin level) at night helps.

Nell - thanks for leg cramp tips! Yea I realized when I bend my knees ard the bolster it tends to cramp more. Where did you go for massage?

Baby_me, not to worry, I had exactly the same support as u.

Hazel - haha bb clothes?! Which site? Hehe so cute hor all... Think ashley also spent about same amt as me on bb clothes. Mwahahahha!!! Ya basic suite is $888 but if included in estimated package price is about $3500 before deduction of medisave for estimated 2 days stay normal delivery w epi. Hehe. See how la, today hubby seems in good mood and when we were touring balmoral suite he said wah suite really more spacious and nice hor. Mwahah then the tour guide said no sports channels tho then his face fell flat. Lol

Baby me, j03 - dun worry about "little" support. I know the past may seem still so real but we have to believe this bb is strong and waiting for us. Keep monitoring for spotting but we have to trust our doctors. Everyone's body is different so our meds given by the same doctor may be different. There is no difference if we BFP natually, fresh, natural FET or medicated FET. To the doctors we r just pregant (except perhaps ivf mummies a little more kan-cheong and paranoid. Hahaha)

Eat well, coz that's just as important as supplements (fresh food, lots of veg, lots of water, enuf proteins & proper meat, fruits).

The progesterone support is given to make sure the lining holds. If your body is can cover itself, then no need to much support-lor

J03 - to answer your question, I put in > 1 embryo, having singleton, no bleeding at all. So who knows what happened to the other embryos. Anyway, to be honest, my guess is unless it's an outright miscarriage, even the doctors dun know, it doesnt matter.

Just to share after BFP, I only focus that my bb wants to fight, everything is not important. I have seen too many frens m/c so i leave it to God, i can only do my part to stay happy for bb & dh. I truly believe stress is a bit factor to m/c coz many of them occur to my friends in early and even mid term when they have stress period at work or at home.

For checkups, scan, I just go w the flow whatever the nurse ask me to do, I dun question too much & stress myself to want to do know everything, any planning or anything. My only one consistent question at each visit "is everything alright & on track, doc?". One time i went for scan forgot to ask bb hb rate,, but it's ok as long i know doctor will tell me if anything to worry about. No news is good news!

We will only need to scan around 10-15 times throughout the pregnancy eventho 1st & last tri is more often, so I just enjoy the process & go w the flow. They say go this room, I just go. To me is I keep myself happy, un-stressed and tell bb jia-you we r all waiting for you. All the details boring minor I leave it to the nurse & doctors to plan, and to God to bless. Stay positive sistas coz the paranoia in between scans is hard enough

Hazel - solid-la you! Hahaha 3hours @ orchard.

Kimmy - thanks to Your milkshake inspiration, I had a root beer float! Super satisfying! Hubby says he one knows why I am putting on weight! Hahahaha...

Tanny - aloe is considered liang.That's why when sunburnt, best natural remedy is aloe gel

Ron - loving that positive attitude of yours! It's true, being positive and happy & looking towards the finish line has helped a lot in alleviating worries. Even my life coach, family and friends have seen the diff and often go wow u seem to be really having a gd time w pregnancy.

Really happy that we have such a happy, encouraging environment here and hope we can continue to sustain even to breastfeeding and first-time-encounters and beyond!!! :D

Vann - haha cuz i wanted to affirm which hospital I comfortable to deliver in plus dh more free this period than next yr (cuz sometimes have weekend work projects). :D tho tmc parking is really horrid becuz of very limited lots but I managed to time myself from hm to hospital inclusive of sat peak traffic ard marymount rd portion - 14 minutes tops including u-turn to tmc taxi stand. Hehehe

Baby_me,
An additional assurance for u - I was oso on natural fet & my support aft bfp is oso Duphaston and Folic Acid + aspirin (which I had since ET)..
Ate watever I can put into my mouth, healthy + milk.. Tats it, I survived 1st trim..
I can understand ur concern over "little support", but overdose of support doesn't mean a healthy peegnancy too.. I thank my blessings tt thse r the oni support the doc tink I needed & trust tt my baby (aft gg thru ER, freezing, thawing, drop in grade, ET) is a king / queen warrior & ll fight hard to b my kid, juz as much as I wanna to b his / her mummy...

Applaud to Ron for ur wonderful encouragement & can't agree more.. I too, left alot of stressing to the docs - else they out of job.. Haha... Ignorance is bliss @ times...
NOW.. I crave for root beer float...

Nell, yes, pls share when u did ur foot massage? Hope not in HK lo...

Hi Ron n Hazel
Really thanks and appreciate u gals golden advise.. My mum oso told me yesterday tt since already eaten then no point worry n stress so much abt it as cant reverse and somemore i dun eat alot.. Hv been feeling better after wht she told me and take things more easy now after wht u gals say.. I remember one gynea told me last time tt bb and mummy whether can be together is all fated.. If fated, will hv no problem else nothing we can do too..

This time after bfp, i kind of see open.. Not too happy like last time but take things as natural course.. I remember half yr ago when bfp, i go quickly for scan at wk 5 and wk 6.. Keep count down day by day look forward to scan day.. This indirectly makes me so nerve wreaking and anxious and stress.. Now, i trying my best to stay relax and dun think so much and too far.. Like wht hazel say, take one day at a time and live as per normal every day.. Take xtra care and never take things for granted.. I cant do anything now except to talk to my bb everyday asking them to stick to me and stay healthy.. Go with the flow like what ron say..

Am glad that i can join this forum with all the familar sister names here..

Thk u gals and frankly, i quite miss my half yr ago cycle buddies.. Clb, melodi and Goh.. Wonder how r they now..So happy for them as they shd be giving birth very soon (early next mth) especially clb n goh who r having twins..

Kimmy, ralph Lauren, carters n pumpkin patch! Hv been sleeping at 1-2am these 2 nights doing online shopping. Now wan to go zzzzzz!!! Cannot take it anymore!

Kimmy, I do agree the car park sucks at tmc. Overall how did u feel about the nurses?? Tmc sent me a letter yesterday and gave me a new English name. So careless of them. What if they give me a wrong bb??

My left calf has cramp this morning cos I turn myself too fast. Today I m walking in pain :'(

Oh yes ladies, I went to bb kingdom and hyper mart this morning. All I can say is these 2 shops r super disappointing! Nothing much there. Might as well go to kiddy palace or somewhere else. Really a waste of time

hello ladies!

welcome new mommies who just joined here! congratulations!

just thot of dropping by to say hello! im abit hyper today.. i guess its just the hormones la..

i had alot of pain/cramps on calf which will really get worst in the morning.. started around 26 weeks or so.. but..... these few days no more pain leh.. and guess what? my hubby is complaining to me about having cramps on his calves! so weird lor..

but im just taking things as they come and go.. part of pregnancy.. in about 8 weeks or so, i might just miss being pregnant.. i just adore the baby movements in me.. but at the same time, i am so excited to be a mummy..

girls, have a fun n happy pregnancy.. there bound to b worries here n there and just get thru it lor..

i just wanna share my happy vibes down here..

may we all carry our healthy baby/babies at the end of our pregnancy.. :D

Hi Kimmy, Ron, Queenie, thanks so much for the assurance and comfort words. This really ease my mind. Without you all, don't know who else can ask for all the advises. This forum really helps with lots of encouragements and supports.

Hi Silsilly, so happy for you that you will carry your baby/babies in your arm soon. Pray that you will have smooth delivery.

Queenie, Kimmy,
At Delphi Orchard 4th floor. Love de Foot. I do my back n shoulder message follow by foot massage. The shoulder n back massage is done on chair so no problem w the bump. I normally do either 30min+45min or 45min+45min.

You can call 6235 5012 to make appt. need to tell them u r preggy then they will avoid the critical points.

Hi Nell,
Wow....u also one of the shopping queen leh. Think all ladies r the same, love to shop. Had been very busy this few days, clearing store room with help fm hubby, convert the guest room to my boy room. He hv been sleeping with us since birth till yesterday night. He was excited with his new room n wanted to sleep there alone. I asked gynae about c section on one of my visit. He laughed n said dun waste money since I can do natural birth. Btw, u take how long to recover after ur op last time? One of the benefit of c section is we can mentally prepared ourself. 10 more wks for me to go, getting worried yet excited. Scared bb come out during cny.

Hi Kimmy,
End up I din buy the rocker fm amazon after hubby calculated the shipping fees will cost about $80+. Will wait for sales then buy. If u see it at taka fair, pls let me know ya...

Hazel - ahh!! I actually missed out on Ralph Lauren! How could I. Haha okay going now. Yeah tmc got valet which helps a lot and thankfully for those flat fee of $3 parking
but today's valet sucked. After we park, then it was raining quite heavily when we were about to leave and told the guy our car plate number, he told us to get our car on our own, which was parked in the far end of the open air carpark...a bit duh I mean its not like they were busy because they (drivers) were busy chatting amongst themselves and they obviously had umbrellas too?

Catherine - I'm with you on bb kingdom and hypermart. I did expect to see more but we finished walking around both shops in like 20 minutes? Uhm nurse no comments as I didn't interact but I didn't feel any friendliness coming from any of the staff unless I smiled and specifically asked questions...gosh how cld they make a mistake of sending you an incorrect name. Incorrect bb would be scary moreover all newborns but I did note at the nursery didn't see any nurses around...but you are considering delivering at TMC right? haha I'm just not used to the claustrophobic space after not been to TMC in years and suddenly so many people, so many visitors, just diff from the concept of 'space' that I've been used to at other hosp like GH, KKH I suppose...

Queenie - did you say Hello!!! in the end??? hehehe

Nell - thanks for the contact! Sounds shiok! Will call & enquire. My right calf acting up again. Argh.

Silsilly - almost there! v. happy for you. Do come back in and say 'hello' after you pop too. Hehehe. share any valuable tips!

Summer - sorry maybe I missed this out but where are you delivering at? Wow, very excited for you! 10 weeks will pass by very quickly! Yeah if I can I also wanna do natural birth (cross fingers and toes). You can start to prepare hospital bag soon already. Hehe do share if you have a list! Sure, will let you know if I see any at taka fair. I went taka baby section today but it was so packed with hardly any space to walk. Tried asking around but no one seemed to understand what I was asking about (bb fair) except to tell me that there's different christmas toy theme fairs going on in basement. Grrrr. Will keep you all updated again!

Hi kimmy,
Today went to spring maternity to ask about the rocker but the staff said they dun bring in the FP brand but other brand. So far I only saw it at KP. Think only will pack my hospital bag n wash bb cloths at 36 wks ba.

Hi Nell,
U planning to stay in HK after ur confinement? Do update us after u pop ya...

Summer - just finished my online shopping :D Yah going to sleep soon, very tired. Hahah. Need to collect my Christmas tree and decorate tmr somemore! Wow, was considering Mt A too...ehhe now I remembered asking about you before (paisay!).

Kimmy, juz read my hospital booklet from tmc. They give complimentary or concessionary parking for in patient. Mt a as I recall is flat $5 everyday. Huh no nurse at nursery? Mt a has a nurse in there at all times. Given such an environment of cos I will choose mt a ... And hor mt a give more free things to bb than tmc.

I should have seek yr advise b4 gg to bb kingdom and hyper mart. I wil have to buy things like bb pram, cot, bb carrier, breast pump, shower foam, bb bath tub, car seat... The rest my mum has helped me to buy. Let's hope I can find at this fri's bb fair ... Envy u ppl who shop online. I wish I had the time.

Summer, like u, my hb has taken 6 days leave to clean his study room, store room. The rest like kitchen, bb cabinet, living and dining area.... I m getting my part time maid to clean. I m doing the fridge myself. What a chore!

Silsilly, how heavy is your bb now? KKh gynae again makes me feel uncomfortable, measured and told me my bb is 1.4kg at week 27, 1.8 kg at week 29 then during my growth scan shows bb is 1.7kg at week 31. I asked gynae did my baby lose weight? Again the answer is don't know and not an issue. I got appt with benjamin tham next week, think will ask him to measure for me again. Ay, don't know what to say, so fed up.

Hi Nell, happen to come across yr thread knowing u juz luj bk 60kg bag of items bk. Haha. My family is gg to hk n Macau this coming dec. Are e bb items in hk cheap? What r the items can be brought fr hk so tat I can topang and ask them help buy. Fr yr advice n recommendation ya 

Summer, think you can find that fisher price rocker at bhg bishan, kiddy palace bishan and isetan parkway parade too. But all selling at $179 and it looks slightly different from the pic you posted previously, maybe newer model. Ha, I am hoping suntec bb fair carries that and hopefully got good discount.

Also, royal sporting house at bishan having sale now, I just bought a addias sports bag at juz $27 for hubby to use as diaper bag. The color is deep blue and black, and while price tag states $45 plus, the price after discount is just $27. Quite a good buy. There are other addias sports bag but I wanted 1 with a bit of canvas, less filmsy.

Hi summer
Time really flies for u.. So fast n u r giving birth soon.. Envy.. Understand tt u already hv a boy and now u going to hv a girl.. Nice combination.. Will u continue try for 3rd bb? Wish u hv a smooth delivery...

Hi bAby
If u r having twins, will u stick with kkh? As kkh got better facilities..

Summer, can u post the fisher price pic again? I m checking out buying fr fisher price online which has additional 20% off with free shipping if more than $75 to USA address. Then use post to send bk SG. Need to check how much are post charges.

Hi Joanne, I can't decide yet if it's really twins. Will decide after the HB scan. If singleton, confirm will follow Dr Loh. If twins, then will discuss with hubby and PIL side too. Now, I'm trying not to think so much yet as dunno the result yet. What about you? Have you decided?

I'm starting to take the anmum milk now. I think it's ok because we are pregnant already.

Hi morning,
Tanny, I am same as babyme only given Duphaston & folic acid too...

I wa to know if I follow my gynae to TMC and I wa to give birth in mt a, can it be done?

Fisher price products are sold in carrefour, isetan, JL, kiddy palace, OG, metro, robinsons, taka, tangs orchard m toyrus

Hi baby
I see... Me dun dare think too far yet... Maybe will think abt this topic later after all stablelise... Btw, u hv any sympton now? Ms etc? As ur reading already high on last mon so ur sympton shd be earlier than any of us...;)

babyme : why singleton follow dr loh, then twins dunno? initially for me - i also thinking if twins follow dr loh, if singleton then dunno. i tot mr loh does a lot of twins, so if complications may be in better hands. singleton think any good gynae should be ok...

Hi Joanne, yeah don't think too much yet now. Let's decide after our first scan
. I have no MS yet, hopefully no MS at all
Only feeling pulling n cramping around bottom part of stomach, near V area since Tues. Dunno if this is part of the symptoms or not. Hope so. What about u? Any symptoms?

Hi Tanny, actually I prefer to follow Dr Loh regardless twins or singleton, but like what Joanne said KKH got better facilities if any complications. And heard that twins usually will have more complications than singleton. That's the confusing part, KKH or Dr Loh hehe

Dr loh's clinic:
O&G specialist clinic @ #05-06 TMC
Opening in Jan 2012
Not on website yet

Robinson has 20% discount
So I bought the munchin diaper carrier! Original price is $49. Bought other stuff too. 3rd tri already, a strain on the legs now to walk, need to get most bb stuff next 2 wks. Some of the stuff Robinson carries, taka dun hv.

finally found this link..have being visiting the old link ie ivf/icsi support group but doesn't see the posts of mtm anymore. heehee

hi hazel,

how many wks are you now? hope u still remember me
.. wow shiok so envy you go orchard shopping... i went orchard too yesterday, caught a movie breaking dawn around 11.30am then had lunch around 2pm. After that kena chase back home by stupid hb cos he afraid my legs will swell again after walking too long. heeheee
6364440.gif

Chris, of course I remember u. Watch your diet if u hv water retention. I m 4 wks behind u! 28w. Ya, shopping in Robinson now. Fri was at taka n ion. Waiting for taka member sale to buy the bulky items. Yesterday was at sitec, bought router n wifi printer. Legs v v tired now..

Bought a fair bits of bb clothes n Board books online too. A lot of sale.. Black fri sale In usa. Waiting for them to arrive in SG. Going on 2 wks leave soon so will start packing n washing.. Will buy some more online stuff end dec, boxing day sale!!

hi ritzc,

my baby weight has been average since the day my gynae started measuring his weight.. at about 29 weeks going 30 weeks, my baby was 1.342kg.. all the measurements correspond to what he is suppose to be lor..

wah, so weird one got baby lose weight inside womb meh? the measurements cannot be so off one what.. maybe the scanning machine in ur kkh gynae room is not calibrated to the one in the growth scan room?

anyhow, u can always get reassurance from dr tham k.. i bet your boy is doing fine..

Bb's weight is just an estimate. My gf's twins weight using KKH machines r quite a fair bit off pte gynae's TMC machine always. At birth, she concluded that kkh's mahines more accurate.

Silsilly, ya, I thought bb weight should keep increasing, so mine 'lose weight' I felt v strange. Anyway, I'm going for gynae checkup at kkh every 2 weeks now, tmc is every 5 weeks. So fast we hitting 32 weeks, u gotten all ur stuff?

Hazel, thanks for the info

Hi Hazel,

Did u see the FP rocker at Robinsons? 20% off storewide? If u find out the price buy thru FP web cheaper, can let me know? Am not good on overseas online shopping. Here the rocker link, I find this two not bad but I prefer the first one.

http://www.amazon.com/Fisher-Price-Newborn-To-Toddler-Portable-Rocker-Lizards/dp/B002OOWAB2/ref=sr_1_2?s=baby-products&ie=UTF8&qid=1322007938&sr=1-2

http://www.amazon.com/Fisher-Price-Infant-To-Toddler-Rocker-Blue-Green/dp/B000WUB9O4/ref=sr_1_1?s=baby-products&ie=UTF8&qid=1322025855&sr=1-1

Hi J03,

Welcome & congrats!!! Like what other sisters advice, just take one step at a time. Dun think too much & stress urself. Sincerely wish u hv a smooth pregnancy & deliver a healthy baby.
Haha....close shop after this bb.

Hi Catherine,

Sorry, forgot when is ur EDD. Think this is the best time to do spring cleaning, if not bb come out got no time to clean le. Now still hv energy to do some chores, better do it now.