(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi sistas, I'm about to start the Microgynon (the very first jab) next two weeks. May I know any dos' n donts ? Any preparation need to do? I'm kinda of Gan Cheong here... Hope to get some advice here. Thks soooo much!

May I know if there are ladies here who sees Dr Zou before your medicated FET and took her TCM Medicine after ET for 2 weeks and BFP? Please advise as I'm not sure whether the body will be confused by Western and Eastern Medicine taken on the same day. Thanks in advance.

Babymaking n hazel, thanks for feedbacks. Every week is a blessing. Tell my son everyday he can only be born in January next year

Good morning sisters! It's such a nice weather to stay in bed... :D

Wow, RitzC, you're due in January? If I had passed the first IVF, my baby would be born in Jan too. I wanted to beat the CNY to collect angbaos! Lol. *just kidding*

Btw, who's due in May?

Sunnie_gal, both. ER = ovulation date. During dating scan dr may adjust abit based on bb's growth. But it is just a few days from edd computed based on ER day if it differs.

Koirc- My due date is in may around 16th to 20th may based on the last period. But I wish to have my baby in april. But happy that it will be a dragon baby just like hubby

Jane, I'm sure it will be a smooth journey.

Mum, my due date is around the same as yours. Taurus baby.
I'm also happy that it's a dragon baby... But we will have problems when it comes to registration for Primary School 7 years later! Lol.

Sisters, if you know of any place where you can get stylish maternity wear, please share! I am really outgrowing my clothes and I am not keen on buying normal clothes in bigger size.

Koirc-
Being a dragon baby has both +ve and -ve. But hope I can home school my child to a certain level as I am a teacher myself(kindergarten and early primary).

Try new maternity wear in IMM they do not carry a lot of designs but price nominal. My best friend adviced me to get only 2 to 3 pants and manage as the tummy might blow like a ballon after 6th month.
Anyway I went to egg maternity wear. Damn good designs and the sales person very friendly. Egg is in vivocity.

Thanks Koric. I'm also happy to be having dragon baby but worried that my kiddo will have a hard time getting into schools..

How many weeks are you preg? It's weird but I'm "waiting" for MS to start. *so scared*

Hazel - thanks for sharing the link!

Mumtobe - Haven't been to Egg yet but heard of it. Is it ex? My boss just told me she spent $1000 on maternity wear alone (non-branded). Wah!! I tld her now I improvise with my existing clothes. Wearing harem pants and longer tanks to work instead...ahah cuz she ask why tummy showing so fast and I said cuz Im still wearing normal clothes as much as possible. Hiak.

BTW, today I pee on 'Intelligender' this morning thanks to a lovely gift from one of the sisters :p Hahaha. All to be revealed (hopefully) at tomorrow's scan!

Wow, Mum, it's really nice if you can home school your child especially since you're a teacher!

And thanks for the recommendation. I will check out IMM since it's pretty near my house. I've seen some stuff from egg and I think it's the most stylish so far.

Hazel, thanks! I will check out the website.

Jane, you're so cute leh. I was also waiting for MS but I couldn't really tell if it's MS sometimes. My gf who is also pregnant through IVF will always tell me she feels bloated and can't eat and I'll wonder why it doesn't happen to me. Lol. Anyway, I am in week 8. Going for scan tomorrow! Can't wait to see how my baby is doing!

Hi girls, tody, no spottg, but still abdomen pain on and off. Is this normal? Iam bit worried that I cannot meet dr loh durg emergency. I an thinkg of changing to a personalized gynie after meetg dr loh on 11th. Do u hv any recommendations?

Hope283, u can always walk in to see dr loh any time. Just queue. He has clinic every day except Monday. Tues-fri, morning till 3pm he is clinic d. Thereafter he is at tps. Wed he has night clinic till 8pm plus at tps

Hope283, usually no issue with tps. For clinic d, if the counter nurse said cannot, tell them to check with dr loh's assistant (his nurse). Said is urgent. Usu dr loh will accommodate one. U know his appointments he schedules the gap to be v long. But he will always tell his patients, to walk in if need be.

Thanks Mic,
But after i got a skirt from egg, my mum offered to stitch one in the same model and ended up in spotlight. So now she ended up sewing 2 sets of skirts. So comfortable and cost effective. I think for the next few months will manage with this and a few dresses.

That's so relievg. I sent him a mail stating my abdomen pain and yestdy's spotg. I asked him to confirm if there is need to see him earlier than 11th. Waitg for his response now.

My edd date is 21/5. But think the date will change from the scans is it?
Well wishes for tomorrow scan sistas. Think is Ashley, kimmy & Ron?
My pants also like tight Liao, think I left with a few that able to wear.
I also saw before egg in Vivo clothes, but is it very ex? It look like ex leh.

Mumtobe- wah, so gd, yr mum able to sew for u.
Is it very ex when u brought from egg?
I seen before pple very big size also went in there to buy clothes from egg, but not sure, are they pregnant or not.
I just shy to step inside, hehe

Koric - So sweet... How I wish that I can see my bebe soon. So your first scan was during 6 weeks? Can see bebe hearbeat already isit?

Hope 283, I had slight spotting at week 5 and it did not persist. Experienced pain too. Went to scan on week 6, it was ok. I still feel pain on and off. Nurse told me that as long as it's not sharp unbearable pain, don't have to worry. But if you're worried, better go see your doc.

Thanks, Mic1980 for sharing the link. Now have more choices!

Ya, Mum, your mum is so nice! Does she want to make money by sewing clothes for others? :D

BNB, yes, I think date will change... I thought mine is 14/5 but during my last scan, it's 17/5. so let's see if it's the same when I go for scan tomorrow.

Time passes very slowly today leh... It's a slow day for me and I'm dying!

Kimmy- No need to deny. But do not give an elaborate story.
During my previous failed cycle my sIL & MIL ask me if i am going to have other persons child(so mean- insult their own son). But they do not know how the cycle works.Difference between icsi,iui,etc. So just ignore. Ask you say assisted. Let them go find info if so kaypo.

Koirc- I did tell my mum that she can make a lot of money but she refused. Age catching up.

BNB-The skirt in Egg after discount is $99. But the material cost me just $20 in spotlight. Should have gone to arab street better deal.

Jane, yes can see the flicker. But it was so tiny I could barely see. The sonographer told me that if I'd gone 1-2 days later, I will be able to see more clearly.

Kimmy, don't need to deny lah. IVF is not a crime. Although I didn't tell my family, I will not deny if they ask.

I understand how Kimmy feels. Some people just do not know what is IVF and have silly thoughts like "the problem lies with the girl", "dunno whose egg or sperm they using". But they don't know the pain we are going through. I save my energy telling my MIL, she wouldn't understand the whole process. I just briefly mentioned that we are going for checkups.
Luckily, I get full support from my mama.

Koirc - can try Lemmi or Dwudong also @ Vivocity, same row as MotherCare (Level#2, opp ToysRUs). Not too expensive and have clean-cut wear for office, pants, dresses & working-out. Got range for maternity underwear too
But most gf advise just buy 1 or 2 pieces each time as will outgrow quite fast.

ya, day also going very slow for me. haha. maybe i kan-cheong coz worry abt Oscar tomorrow. Was so bored at work I sneaked out to go to National Library to borrow some books. Saw this really cute girl trying to borrow books on her own but not tall enough to touch the screen.. felt like giving her a hug!

Kimmy - i am also won't-tell but won't-deny. If someone finds out or ask directly, I'll just say that age catching up (coz we're 35/36) so we cannot wait else will be 50yo when bb enter P1. Some of my "aunty" relative think IVF sure strike, and a few think sure strike twins !! Those I think will just tai-chi & not share too much.

However, I also want to share the journey if any of my relatives really want to know, as talking about IF is such a taboo in our culture but actually many modern couples can benefit if they know more.. just my own circumstance.

Just went for my scan this morning. So happy to see bb heartbeats! My Edd is 21 May 2012, I am 7 wks 1 day. Size abt 1.1cm.

I have gotten some maternity wear from www.asos.com. Dresses can be quite cheap when on sale but may take 2 weeks to arrive. I prefer the European size cos I am fat lor haha 

Du- That's good. Is scan by prof in the consult room or in fetal care?
The website would deliver direct or must go thr vpost?
K, I would go in & see see look look.
Hehe
Yr edd same as mine

Hi ladies! I didn't know there's a thread for ivf mummy-to-be! I did ivf at NUH and is now preggy with my first child. Currently at 13 weeks, 3 days. My EDD is 7 April 2012.

BNB, m gg for scan tmr too.. w kimmy.. Heehee..
Been waiting for tis day cos m soooo afraid tt my bad cough is affecting my baby.. Pray my cutie stay strong inside...
Mine oso tarius baby.. EDD 3 may..

Kimmy - update us if Intelligender works! I heard about it and even saw it on tv. But don't know where to find it hehe.. probably ebay?

BNB, my scan by prof in the consultation room. My nxt appt on 25 Oct cos prof be going for seminar the week before. The asos website delivers to your doorstep and sometimes free delivery.

Welcome Andreanie, I was a silent reader of the Nuh forum. Only started chatting here last month.

Du- I see.
So the next scan would be on week 10 instead of 9 lor.
I was still thinking after week 9 scan, everything is ok then I go back to work.
If like that I might extend leave till then.
Wah the website worth trying to go in & see.
Becos I also big size leh.
Andreanie- welcome. Start going back to work already right, coping well?

Anyone drinking mamil mama? I've just started drinking. Don't usually like to drink powdered milk cos the milk powder usually don't dissolve well and I don't like to drink milk with lumpy milk powder. Do u have similar problems? Or is there a special technique to dissolve milk powder properly?

BNB, u didnt get the nxt appt date yesterday? So envy u can take so long leave. I went back to work last Wed. If company doesn't mind, why don't u go back after 1st trimester? Heard bb will be more stable by then.

Andreanie, ya I am under prof Wong of NUH, same as BNB or Blue.

Duthie - oh i see, im under Dr Stephen Chew. I was on long hospital leave, just came back to work last week on my 12th week hehee...

Hello hello!
Thanks everyone for your input. Like most of you, I won't deny - I mean if someone is genuinely ttc-ing and wants to know more, I'd definitely recommend the forum and what I know...but for those kaypoh and just wanna gossip then I will just keep it vague I guess. Like say I went to see gynae for help loh but I think I'd just won't say anything more. I also feel the more I say to those who don't understand...the more hurt I'd feel because I will have to keep justifying when I don't see a reason why. And yea, ivf is not a crime. At the end of the day, holding our baby in our arms is the destination and the ultimate outcome right? So I don't understand why some people just out to make life difficult just because you've finally succeeded? so far my in laws side very supportive maybe cuz my SIL also went ivf and succeeded. But my other side of family - those that strike easily one always like to ' judge'. okay nvm, just a thought...thanks sisters!!!

Duthie - I've been shopping @ asos too! I even sent back one dress cuz quality not as gd and transparent, but their maternity jeans not bad! And also bought some tops whenever got the discount code. Hehehe. I also prefer European sizes and sometimes I buy dorothy perkins cuz its in bigger cutting and prices also more affordable than topshop

Andreanie - welcome!!! Hehe. my Edd is around 4 / 4 / 2012. We're quite close :p hehehe. Will update you if Intelligender works tomorrow during scan! Hiak hiak. See what Dr Loh says. Maybe I will tell him "I guess my gender is xxx" then see what he responds. hehe. You can order online I think is 2 boxes for $25+ or something. Quite fun lah...

Du- I still work from home. I likely use up all my leave if I going back on my 12 week pregnancy.
Just worry incase I need the leave.
I just take 1 step at a time.
Yesterday only went scan in fetal care, then send report up to chr, becos prof on leave. & also jab lor.
Kimmy- sometimes pple just don understand.
Anyway we can't stop pple mouth.
I felt that just ignore.
All the best for yr scan