(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Morning sisters!!

Good luck Sunniegal and BNB for beta scan today! Update us ok..

Me still having mS too, i know how you feel hoPeful, hang in there!!

Wed a lot of us going for scan and oscar, hope we all pass with flying colours!

Hi sistas.
I'm so happy.
Sac & heartbeat seen. Though is 7 weeks, scan show 6 weeks 2 days.
Sunnie- All the best for the beta.
Ashley- hang in there.

Thanks for ur well wishes

Hcg level today 502, up from 182 last Fri! So relieved!
1st scan is 21 Oct- that will be wk 7 already!

BNB- So happy for u! Can't wait for my turn. Seems such a long way away!

Mumtobe2012,
My nxt scan is 2 nov, BT is 17oct... This sat seeing dr Loh but not sure he'll do a scan for me or not.. Coz i wana make sure bb is growing.... MS so far ok, not really vomiting out, just a lot of gas when i try to puke lor... Find that whenever i feel nausea, if i eat something i'll feel much better.. At this rate i think i'm gonna put on weight v fast!

How abt you, how are u coping with ur ms?

Hi Sunflower-
Gr8 to know that not much of ms. I have nausea when I smell something strong. Other than that ya the gas is too much. Have to take ginger in some form every day. If not too much of bloat and my tummy looks like 5months preggi.
My appt should be next tuesday week 8+.
Tried drinking Brands berry essence to boost my energy.Really good.
The Brands prune juice is good for gas and constipation.

bb_2012, Hopeful is right. You don't count from the day you transfer because ours is different. I am planning to go back to my private gynae after week 12.

he♡rtbeats, strangely I don't quite recall the IVF process... Can't remember when I had to start the Lucrin injection. But I remember I did Lucrin for about 14 days and then Puregon for another 14 days. Then it's ER and after that ET. I did D3 transfer. I was told that the embryologist will culture the embryos for as long as they can even up to D5. So it depends... I think I spent close to $3K cash after the govt subsidy.

Btw, I thought you're with KK or something? Are you planning to change?

Sisters, although I still feel tired but I feel less and less pregnant now leh. Aiyo, don't know how my little one is doing... Really can't wait for the next scan. Can someone share what's going to happen for week 8 scan and what other scans do we need to do after?

Hi girls, jst saw bleeding on the tissue in the washroom. I am so scared. On the way to Kk. Hv tears in my eyes. Donno wat went wrong

hope - try dun luan luan xiang, ok until u see the doctor? maybe just support not enough as some ladies bleed during 1st tri. hugs!

Hi Ron, jst bk home from clinic. Dr did a scan and showed me the yolk sac, she said too early to see the baby yet. She said minor spotg not to worry and no need for addnl support. She gave mc until this Friday. I hv my scheduled appt on 11th oct to see dr loh. Fingers crossed until then.

Congrats BNB & Sunniegal
Hooray.

Koirc - dont worry babe. I had similar worrying thoughts to you and felt less & less pregnant. In fact when you hit week 12/13, you will feel more normal and less pregnant too and that's scary. basically what I recall is after week 8, u see your doc 4 weeks later for another scan. in between, you will also get your Oscar scan done (if you are opting for it, and of course then you will have lots of time to see your bb from different angles and see the different parts of bb) and doc will explain to you the report thereafter.

Hope283- like what Ron mentioned, yeah maybe its a matter of support. My friends bled throughout 1st tri too because their hormonal/progesterone support not strong enough and their gynaes end up giving them a jab to stop it. Think +++

Mumtobe2012 - does the berry essence taste funny or like fruit juice? heh, don't mind buying to try....

Hopeful/Bbliss - I also dint know cant drink birds nest after 1st tri. My colleague told me last week her mom said only after 6 months and another friend told me drink too early, baby can't enjoy the benefits of the protein inside also....

Yay! 2 more days to an afternoon with Dr Loh. Scan scan scan! I'm like a scan-maniac!

hope - good it's just minor spotting & don't even need additional support. Just rest more for now until your next appointment. Stay positive, ok?

Thanks everyone
Feel like pass 1 test and then there are still so many tests and scans to be done. But for now, I'll just be extremely happy about my 1st BFP!

Hope, Glad that everything is okay now. How many weeks are u now?

Kimmy, my 1st scan is only in middle of Week 7. Seems like such a long time. And u seem to be scanning everyweek. Shd I request for an earlier one?

Tummy Vision- A week by week look at fetus development with clear pictures and explanations.

1st Trimester- Week 1 to 13
Wk1- http://www.ivillage.com/week-1-tummy-vision/6-b-124710
Wk 2- http://www.ivillage.com/week-2-tummy-vision/6-b-124807
Wk3- http://www.ivillage.com/week-3-tummy-vision/6-b-124814
Wk4- http://www.ivillage.com/week-4-tummy-vision/6-b-124821
Wk5- http://www.ivillage.com/week-5-tummy-vision/6-b-124848
Wk6- http://www.ivillage.com/week-6-tummy-vision/6-b-124943
Wk7- http://www.ivillage.com/week-7-tummy-vision/6-b-124993
Wk8- http://www.ivillage.com/week-8-tummy-vision/6-b-125001
Wk9- http://www.ivillage.com/week-9-tummy-vision/6-b-125007
Wk10- http://www.ivillage.com/week-10-tummy-vision/6-b-125010
Wk11- http://www.ivillage.com/week-11-tummy-vision/6-b-125019
Wk12- http://www.ivillage.com/week-12-tummy-vision/6-b-125032
Wk13- http://www.ivillage.com/week-13-tummy-vision/6-b-152217

2nd Trimester- Week 14 to 26
Wk 14- http://www.ivillage.com/week-14-tummy-vision/6-b-152291
Wk15- http://www.ivillage.com/week-15-tummy-vision/6-b-152856
Wk16- http://www.ivillage.com/week-16-tummy-vision/6-b-153937
Wk17- http://www.ivillage.com/week-17-tummy-vision/6-b-153940
Wk18- http://www.ivillage.com/week-18-tummy-vision/6-b-153974
Wk19- http://www.ivillage.com/week-19-tummy-vision/6-b-153981
Wk20- http://www.ivillage.com/week-20-tummy-vision/6-b-154043
Wk21- http://www.ivillage.com/week-21-tummy-vision/6-b-154063
Wk22- http://www.ivillage.com/week-22-tummy-vision/6-b-154067
Wk23- http://www.ivillage.com/week-23-tummy-vision/6-b-154072
Wk24- http://www.ivillage.com/week-24-tummy-vision/6-b-154077
Wk25- http://www.ivillage.com/week-25-tummy-vision/6-b-154079
Wk26- http://www.ivillage.com/week-25-tummy-vision/6-b-154079

3rd Trimester-Week 27-40
To be updated...

Thnk u girls. Feelg better now. Iam in start of my 6th week.
The thing that is worrying me now is if this pregnancy going to be very delicate. I wish to stay bk at home till delivery, but can't leave the job as need fin support. For me going out has become like terror. Hope ther will not be any more issues after completing this bedrest.

Kimmy- The berry essence and the prune tastes just like a concentrated juice or a thick cough syrup. I am kind of used to it after the first bottle. Suppose to give us energy.

Hope283 - Hmm for your job do you have to walk ard a lot? Able to sit? Try to minimize walking at least for 1st tri if possible k? Rest is impt

Mumtobe - Mm maybe I shall try one bottle first. Thick soup syrup, ycks. Concentrated juice I still can tahan but I hope not too sweet

Sunnie_Gal >> mwahaha. Really? I scan every week? No ah... I've waited for about 2 weeks since my last one. Maybe also cuz Im seeing a pte gynae in between (duno whether mistake a not) since bfp cuz I kan cheong spider. But now its about 4 weeks apart

Hope, minor spotting in early pregnancy does happen to some women, stay positive. Maybe for this period, avoid stairs, minimize walking n do much bed rest where possible.

Babymaking, can check w u, for ur first pregnancy, when u gave birth to ur boy at week 34 did u downgrade ur ward to subsidized or stayed as private n if u downgrade, did dr Loh help u w ur delivery? I discussed w my gynae that in event I gave birth too early, I will want to downgrade coz bb nicu will be too exp. She gave me the impression that if I downgrade, she will not be delivering my bb, even though I tell her that if I can carry to near full term I will definitely be choosing a A1 ward. She kept assuring me that subsidized ward will have specialized gynae who can do the job as well. Juz wanted to check w u coz I was really unhappy that even though I tell her we can still pay her the B1 gynae rate in event that we need to downgrade, she still says it's not the system to do so. So end up if I gave birth too early, I will get some random gynae even though I have been paying so much for weekly gynae visits at tps so far.

Ritz- I only know that in govt hosp, some gyn do allow their pt to downgrade to subsidize eg 6 bedded, but the gynea still remain unchanged.
My friend is an example.
But not sure abt pte

Hi Ashlsey, m sure ur MS us many times worse than mine. Sinseh also say cold drinks will make it worse. For a while, I was taking slightly cold drinks w/o ice cux it made me feel better. But apparently I was wrong!! Cold only make me feel better when drinking. But when it goes to tummy area it causes contraction n hence more MS! Now hubby only let me drink warm water...

Hi Kimmy, I heard from many pple that bird nest can't b taken during 1st trimester. But I just did not know when I can start. But now since Sinseh say 17 wks then I need to wait for another 7 wks to drink..

Can't wait for wed for my 1st pte gynae scan.. Hope it can b a more dramatic scan!!

BNB, that's what I thought so too. Anyway, I'm 24 weeks now, doesn't make sense to change gynae now coz I'm already w kkh. Juz very very irritated by the way things progressed ever since the late discovery of my cervical shortening.

Anyway, BNB congrats on ur bfp

ritz
initially dr loh says he will handle even if downgrade, but on day of admission, KKH admin says cannot, we admitted into B2 ward and was told dr loh 'not free' to do the surgery.

of course we made a huge fuss, plus dr loh called to ask where's his patient cos pass surgery timing, so we had no choice but to upgrade, we then chose a A class ward, cos there's not much difference between B and A class ward charges in terms of NICU and ward charges.

we stayed for 5 days as bb had breathing issues and bb was in NICU for 24hrs, + 3 days in SCN. we were told can request for medical social assistance but we didn't as the cost was manageable.

for my other admissions, i stayed in B2 plus most of the time as the stays were very prolong, he's still involved under his team but he won't make his rounds in subsidized wards and will rely on the MO or his team to update him with the impt info, which i personally can tell you..is a frustrating experience with the MO cos they are too scared to check with SF Loh and will anyhow answer 'to entertain' the patient. i was told then that if i delivered then, dr loh won't be doing the surgery but any duty doctor on call.

it's KKH admin policy that disallows it rather than the gynae involved.

Babymaking, when I was warded in week 21 I chose B1 ward coz I heard before that my gynae only serve A1 n B1 patients. The inhouse ante partem test for amino leak was done by a MO who was very rough. My gynae only make her rounds the next morning.

I'm thinking more about nicu bills for premature birth as early as week 28. Touchwood but got to be realistic n plan ahead. Doesn't make financial sense for me to stay in a private ward if nicu for babies r the same n charges only pegged to mummy''s ward. My cervical length is now stabilizing for the past 3 weeks at 1.8cm. Now just hope my son can stay in til near full term.

Sunniegal, it will not be sufficient to cover private ward baby nicu if baby needs really prolonged stay. Can still pay the rest using medisave or cash but it depends on ur choice.

Ritz, my gf delivered this yr at 27+ wks via c section to a pair of twins. She admitted herself at C class ward coz she knew NICU is v ex, furthermore she had twins. The cost is 1k a day for 1 baby at KKH in NICU. She Was prepared that her gynae will not deliver her. The bills for her twins was estimated at 200k plus for 3 mths stay at C class. Her dr was A senior consultant, dr loh's deputy. She saw her when she was admitted & made the call to take her twins out at 27+ wks coz of her previous m/c history. She did the delivery for her, visited her, etc though she was in C class ward. That said, the dr is her family friend though.

So, end of the day, I dun think is some hospital rules but rather, is whether our dr had the time to see us if we are in subsidized rates. Dr loh has too many patients for him to cope if he needs to see his patients at subsidized rates too. To remain with our choice of dr, minimum ward is B1. A& B1 rates not signifcantly different.

Another alternative is admit at B1, let our dr deliver. After delivery downgrade the bb to C ward thru mean income testing. It can be done, I hv a few friends who did that though the process can be a bit stressful.

When I was warded last yr for mid term m/c, where I was induced, everything was conveyed thru MO to dr loh though I was a A class patient. I was sent for detailed scan after bb was out, push to do a d/c op, etc all thru instructions given By dr loh thru the MO. I only saw dr loh in the OT and on the morning where he visited me to see how I was before discharging me. One night stay plus, scans, BTs, an OT in KKH, A class cost me close to 3k. Yes, is not cheap, luckily all paid by my own personal insurance,

Hazel, thanks for the info about the costs. I quit my job ever since bfp coz I had early spotting at week 6. Anyway, since my gynae already made it clear, I don't think I will go in as private then downgrade, coz we may not pass the means testing w hubby's income. Ur fren made a practical decision.

Ritzy, so far I hv a few gfs who all managed to downgrade but theirs are all twins. One of them, her hubby is a dr at restructured hospital some more. When they do mean incoming testing, need to show proof of savings and outstanding loans/liabilities also. Most of us have liabilities more than savings coz housing loan is a huge debt usually. Yes, I do agree with u that the process can be stressful.

Sunnie_gal, NICU is v ex, even in KKH, prolonged stay will cost a lot of money. This gf of mine went thru 1-2 surgeries per twin after birth somemore coz premature.I dare not ask her how much was the final bill. But she did told me, after going thru mid term m/c, she now gained a pair of twins. Money can always be earn back.

Premature bbs will also have a PD tag to them.. They need to go for very frequent check ups & follow up till when they are as big asprimary sch going. Each visit can cost a fe hundreds. Ttus, the most impt task for us is to carry our bbs to full term, ie 37 wks.

Mumtobe,
Does the Brands prune juice tastes like the usual del monte brand one? Coz i dun like the latter's taste... :p

Hope,
Have more bedrest frm nw until u see dr Loh next week k? If u're concerned, maybe email him to ask him if u need additional support in the meantime... Take gd care!

I am having a bad bitter taste in my mouth, when I eat something it just disappears and later reappear. Since morning having this issue. Any home remedy.

ritz
if it seems likely that premature as early as 28 weeks, then better to stay in C class ward, as nicu cost will escalate over prolong period. the other thing to consider the follow up check ups after discahrged which will be pegged to your ward of choice.

sunnie gal
the ivf insurance bought will not cover much. as for pregnancy insurance, the last i check, they dun cover ivf or ART conceived pregnancies.

ok, another thing abt insurance for premature babies, below 37 weeks, bb can only be insured after 6 mths or 5 yrs of no relapse of any premature conditions.