(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Morning!!!

Cath - haha they kept calling and asking me to do so. I kept saying no then they will call and say now that I'm preggy all the more must do. I kena draw blood until veins on both arms all bruised so I had to delay my 3rd time there for quite a bit & they weren't quite happy. Alamak. Anyway that's over so I put it behind me. They had better not bring this up again.

RitzC - Mm haha actually I still don't know whether I have thal. or not. Because I told Dr Loh what the nurse told me on the phone and he said this means I still have but levels are low? then I said nurse told me its mild anaemia so means what? Then he said no, still have but need to see report. Then he sounded quite frustrated (at the nurse) and said nvm, let him see report once I get it (its been 1.5 weeks, they said they mail, I haven't got it yet? Argh!). Anyway he said as long as hubby is in the clear, he's not worried and sounded quite cool about it. So not going to think so much...

tzac - sorry about my comment! Didn't mean to worry you in any way. I was a little surprised also when the nurse mentioned then she did a 'oops' when she saw my face after that. I also intend to ask Dr Loh just to check whether he will stitch himself. I've no idea whether nurse was joking that the assisting doc will help if he has to run off or not at that moment just so that I won't feel like I have to wait for a long time (she told me dr loh will only take 15 min to deliver via C-sec, and I said come on, where got so fast!)

Kimmy, no worries as gd to share as i never really think abt tat. Yup c-sec v fast one as i remembered for my 1st 1, less than half an hr done liao. Come to think of it, if he need go do er/et on tat day, will b quite tight for him hor. Dunno wat is his priority- er/et or delivery? I find my first gynae v gd as dun feel much pain n wound healed well. Its been a no of yrs n me getting old too so dunno wat will it b like tis time round. I hate the epidural though as find it super pain when injected...

Hi bb2012, congrats!!!!

Does anyone get constant headaches? I have been getting it n m contemplating in taking panadol.. Is it ok? Had a bad dream last nite.. Dreamt that I had blood stains on my panty.. Scared me..

tzac - it's ok to miss one pill last night, just continue today as normal today since Duphaston is additional support ;) our body already produces natural progesterone during pregnancy anyway.

bbmoo - good luck for the BT today, looks like another mummy!

bb2012 - yeah! & congrats.

ashley - how was scan y-day? baby B grew?

Hihi ron, glad to hear its ok to miss one pill :) i always hv the tendency to forget the nite pill. How hv u been? No improvement for my ms, am still nauseous the whole day thru.

Hopeful, me! I also hv constant headache n when ms is bad, headache gets worse but i just let it b as din want to take medicine

Hopeful me too! Like tzac after I throw out it get worst. Yesterday my ms is v v bad threw up at least 5-6 times. Then head pain feel like sleeping. so did minimal work in office. I forgot to ask my gp y when I saw him on thurs... Will have to wait to end of mth to ask gynae. I also have funny dreams every morning it will b my husband morning laughter

Hello sisters,
Wanted to ask a more personal question. Uhm cuz I used to go for regular brazillian waxing and now I can't go (at least for 1st tri), so I wanted to ask if anyone trims or bothers with down there?

My belly area also growing more hair! Anyone has that? I feel like a gorilla...

Kimmy me too. Dun understand y my belly has hair. I thought I was weird... oh ya I wanted to tell u despite I got thalemmesia, my recent blood test showed that my iron level is gd. Gynae is quite surprise. Also if u have thalemmesia u can't eat iron pills!

Bb2012- my mum say if u have craving for anything juz eat if not when bb is born they will drip saliva. For me I ate durian until I can't pang sai. Told my dad not to buy anymore....

Ron, my wk8 scan yesterday was good, baby B (i like how you put it) caught up with baby A, i was so relieved. Now they are approximately 17mm, but the upper twin (baby B) sac is much smaller so my gynae said has to monitor still. Plus they found sugar during my regular urine test, so i have to do blood test next week, afraid i am having pregnancy diabetes. How ah? Anyone has his before?

Kimmy, catherine, i was never tested against thalassemia, and i'm taking iron pills already, gynae gave me. Can you share more, is it a compulsory test for every mtbs? Haha me too has more hair everywhere now, including near belly button! But yeah kimmy i normally shave 'down there' cos cannot stand to see the bush;)

I am craving for frog leg porridge, should be ok?

Ron, your 8wk scan on mon?

Catherine - really ah? Thalassemia can't take iron pills? But my prenatal vitamins have iron inside leh. How ah.....

Ashley - haha hair everywhere. Ashley not compulsory to test. For us, kkh happen to do the test for that I guess. Hehe I like ron's description of baby a & b also. So cute!

Bb2012 - both can eat ;) just that I had 2 separate friends who ate durians and was told by gynae to stop cuz the carbo inside made their bbs grow bigger and gynae said stoppppp... Haha cuz they put on 2.5kg within a week!

Halo sistas, I need some advise.
I done my transfer on 1/9, today is the 10th day, suppose to do BT on 14/9.
I'm on crinone gel every morning.
Just now saw pantyliner has some brown spotting. When clean below, saw more brownish residue.
Usually is whitish with some pinkish residue likely from the crinone.
I was thinking is this implantation bleeding?
I have no courage to test urine hcg.

Thanks kimmy n Catherine! I'll ask my hubby buy next week then

Btw, the nurse at CARE told me that I should take more cereal. Not sure what kind of cereal. Are you gals trying any particular gd cereal brand?

Hi bluenosebear, I think if u test hcg urine test confirm will show negative, coz too early to test Liao. But since urs is 9dpt, I think it's caused by implantation. But to be safe, I suggest you call ur clinic on Monday to check w them. I'm not on crinone gel during my 2ww, so cannot advise you...

Kimmy- ppl with thalesemmia cant absorb iron. Excess iron will b stored in yr liver which is no gd. So we need iron from natural food. I have been v v v careful since I knew 11yrs back. Vit that contain small Amt of iron is ok.

Bb2012, my colleague told me to eat natural food no chemical made. Maybe organic cereal? Y not eat oats?

Ladies- I juz found out from a fern that we can't eat rojak!!! I ate several plates already!!! Then my fren told me it's poisonous! Omg!!!! No one told me!!! She also say winter melon also can't eat.... Pls avoid ok......

Cath - wah, thanks for the iron info. Didn't know man. Hope my liver is doing ok! Why is rojak poisonous? I been craving for it but I stop myself since some sisters advise keep away from the prawn paste. I only know it's susceptible to food poisoning. But if so far u r ok, then maybe stop for time being...

So happy!!! Tonight is the 1st day after very long that I m able to eat a lot!!! Had a blasting time eating Korean BBQ!!! Feel so energized now!!

Bb2012, not too sure on cereals but once in a while, i will eat those instant oats. Quaker brand. Me used to eating plaun but i knw u can make it sweet or savoury but sorry, dun knw how as i never try tat. Find it easy to eat them as like drinking :)

Can we eat salad as vege r raw so dunno can or not?

Hopeful - so happy to hear that u can eat more today. Slowly ok dun overstress the baby with food.

Bb2012-like tzac i used to eat instant oats from Quakers. To make it less plain you may want to eat with grApes, strawberry, blueberry. For savory type u can try pancake, egg... (my sinseh told me oats with egg gives the body the best nutrients)...i can't remember for the Instant type of u must add condensed milk or not. If u must instead of always adding condensed milk u can add honey? Change to something u like

Tzac, I also dun know if can eat salad but I saw pregnant woman at salad bar near my office ... I think better ask gynae or our mummies for advise... Like my rojak I thought can eat... Until a fren say no. Feel so bad now.

Hi Tzac, hahaha.. I was thinking of this question when I was wrapping my BBQ in the raw veg. But I figured out that I can't think so much already cux I can finally eat. So I just stuffed it into my mouth. But I made sure the meats are 100% BBQ..

Hi cath, dun think too much abt rojak.. I think a bit won't harm. Cux u nvr eat the cucumber, pineapple etc rite? So prob only the prawn paste. But then if u eat other seafood, they maybe 'poisonous' as well?

I m having craving for crabs n laksa, isn't it worse? Hahaha..

Hopeful, gd tat u finally can eat. For me, when appetite is gd, i will take more as never knw when will ms kick in n i cant eat again
ur korean bbq sounds yumalicious. The smell ok for u? Nowadays, cooking smell makes me unwell.

Yeah lor, i see places selling salad round my office n look so yummy n hv craving for them. Haha

Feeling super hungry tis morning, one bowl instant oats n a charxsiew bao. Still hungry n i took a fish fillet fr mac. Me eat a lot hor, heehee n now slightly hungry again... Alamak

Hopeful, u mean can't eat cucumber? I have been eating non stop! I already ate crab heehee next time must tie my bb up lol

Hopeful - I also craving crabs!!! haha but I think eventually I will eat a bit la. Its in moderation right?
Reading you eat Korean BBQ makes me crave for one!

tzac - i think can eat salad leh. because the western ladies all pregnant usually take salad as their 'veg nutrition'. but when I eat I just make sure that it looks 'clean', like wash properly.

Cath - haha I think everything can eat just in moderation, cuz for every 'liang' / cooling food you eat, you will also eat heaty mah,so balance off i think. I will dip dip my cucumbers in chicken rice chilli & the black sauce and then eat. haha

Hi Tzac, exactly. Cux MS is so random n frequent, we really need to take every possible opportunity to eat as much as possible. Smell at korean BBQ is ok. I m not ok with cooking oil smell.. Wow, u had a gd breakfast.. My MS kicked in this morning. till now, I cOuld only eat 6 crackers...

Hi Cath, I think min cucumber cux i think it's Liang.

Summer, I will be seeing Dr Lim Teck Beng @ Mt E Med Ctr from now on. My doc recommended this doc cos he is a v experience doc. My aunt, used to be staff nurse at Mt A maternity ward, recommended Dr Fong Yang. But my gynae don't like, say this guy got 2 clinics n busy running around n establishing himself. So prefer me to see someone who can give me better attention. Will be seeing him this month end.
You changing doc?

I actually eat anything i feel like. My doc n hubby say as long as I eat in moderation n food is clean n fresh is ok. So, rojak, crab, sashimi, etc... I just eat eat eat lah. But I avoid the pineapple in rojak cos it gives me gastric

BNB - are you planning to tesaltarly? I didn't have implantation bleeding so can't share experience but really rooting for you!!!

Ron- I'm now in Nuh, done the beta hcg, waiting for the result.
Yesterday I tested with clearblue & show pregnant.
So now I k only pray hard & keep my toes & fingers cross.

BNB - oh! That's great.... Praying for your BT results will be a good one.. I feel excited waiting for your results too... hahaha...

BNB, great to hear this! Bet u are waiting eagerly for the BT result :) Another mummy-to-be to join this group :)

Morning everyone. Happy Mid-Autumn Festival :)

Should be able to drink red date n longan drink now hor??

Hi tzac - hang in there with the MS. a few more weeks and hopefully we will all feel better. I don't have much MS actually.. so often wonder if bb is doing well... so got ms also worry, dun have also worry
I think my ms is not severe, so when i start to feel nausea, i jump into bed and try to force myself to sleep. Not sure abt red date & longan but i am actually drinking it now coz my office is very cold!!

hi Ashley - Yeah Yeah! confirmed twins!!! my gf had gestational diabetes but they just have to keep monitoring her to ensure the sugar levels are under control. They will be worried if you are overweight or too thin, or have other illness, but other than that, it's just monitoring. Apparently it's quite common during pregnancy. My next scan is coming Wed - shld be 9weeks... if all ok, I think i have to finally tell my mum coz she's getting a bit suspicious! hahaha...

err. .anyone else with little or no MS ah? i have actually been worrying my head off in between scans but tell myself some ladies don't have much symptoms.

Kimmy - are you deciding between staying wtih dr Loh vs your current pte, or other doctors as well? I think i have to make that decision after the scan this week... my reason if i change is quite silly - my company insurance covers maternity cost at any parkway hospitals (MtE, Gleneagles, EastShore, etc) but not at Thomson... but i like my doctor..

Nell,
Tks for sharing. Just curious, why ur current gynae recommend u to change to another gynae? Btw, I had book my appt with Dr Benjamin Tham at TMC & will see how its goes.

Ashley,
Glad that bb B is doing well.

Ron,
I dun hv MS at all, all will be ok, dun worry. Until now am also very tense up for every scan, guess its nature ba...

Hi sistas, beta hcg is low, only 52.
I have to repeat the level tis thurs.
On porluton jab twice a week & oral duophaston tabs.
K only pray hard that baby stick tight tight.

They count as ER as day 0, so today is day 14.
Really pray hard will double by thurs.
I also trying the lotus root with porridge to stop the spotting

Hi BnB - congrats on good news. KK tests patients at day 17, so I'm sure your numbers will multiply! I heard Dr Zou recommends the lotus root porridge, Do try

Hi Ron - I hardly have ms too. haha it got me worried for a while. Havent' decided on doctors yet because...(my mood a bit sian now, i was in a good mood all ready to prepare dinner for tonight)
the kk nurse from thalessemia just called me and told me husband's report is out and he has thalessemia alpha too but the mildest level which is 25%. I have 50%. Then i was like what? And she said aiyah at most your baby has 75% only loh. But somehow I don't really trust the nurse because their info like constantly salah. Now I can't help but worry that baby is really okay... and I pray that God will take away any thalessemia condition away from baby by this authority...
I really don't think I have the strength to go through another round of testing to see whether kid has thalessemia major. Argh. I dread that this news is bothering me now.

BNB,
U et on which day? Day 2 or 3 or blast?

Bbnn did a day 5 transfer, BT is 11 days post ET, her reading is 64.8 & she is happily in week 21 now.. So, don't worry too much.. It is s bfp Le.. Jiayou..

Sigh. I'm in tears now and just praying that baby doesn't have thal major. I wished I didn't read the pamphlet and I wished I didn't know. Now I'm so afraid I'm stressing out bb for nothing. There's 25% chance and if we want to continue with this pregnancy (of course we want to continue this gift of life from God) we have to be prepared in any case for monthly blood transfusions and bb not live past the age of 20. I really really hope I'm just scaring myself. Wasn't easy getting preggy and now this. Sigh sigh sigh sigh.

Hi Kimmy,

I read from this link:
http://www.medicalonlinemedia.com/2011/06/thalassemia-and-pregnancy/

"When both parents carriers of thalassemia, there are several possibilities. The first possibility, the child suffered from thalassemia (25%). The second possibility, the child will only be carriers of thalassemia (50%). Last possibility, the child will be born normal (25%)."

Since your husband is 25% and your are 50%(carrier), according to what stated above, thalessemia major is not a possibility. At most is a carrier of thalassemia (50%).

What did the pamphlet said? Not same as above?

Hi Kimmy,

Please be strong. It may not be anything to worry, can you get the report from them and get gynae to advise you asap? The earlier you see doctor, the earlier you can have your peace of mind.

Kimmy, happen to read your posting. There is still a probability of bb getting a thalassemia major. Anyhow, u can do chorionic villus sampling or fetal blood sampling to determine if the unborn bb has thalassemia n how severe it is likely to be. But both tests r invasive n carry risks of miscarriage or still born. Pls discuss with dr loh.

Kimmy,

Sorry for my ignorance. "The first possibility, the child suffered from thalassemia (25%)" is actually referring to thalessemia major.

Pray that things will turn out all right for you.

Hi Angel,
Thanks for your comforting words. Yeah, I'm waiting for them to send hb's blood report and bring to gynae for him to tell me. Their pamphlet is so vague, it says 25% bb will get thal major. And all the nurse does is implies possible termination. I hope they send me the report asap, the last time they told me mine will take 3 weeks, they sent it 6 weeks later...

Hi Hazel,
Sorry I also emailed you the same thing as I wanted to find out if you know of any similar cases. I don't think I want to do any invasive tests at least for the moment. Trying not to think too much about it for now. After I get my report, think I can request to see Dr Loh at earlier date than from my next scan which is in 3.5 weeks' time? Will they entertain me?

Thanks for keeping me in prayers Angel.
I cried so much earlier that i realized I may cause unnecessary stress to bb, so I prayed and I'm just going to trust God. If he granted me a pregnancy after all those months of tears, yearning and request, I'm sure he will make sure it is a good & smooth one.

Thanks for replying to me btw, just needed to rant and let this out of my system and rally some support. I briefly told hb about it but I know he's busy at work now so this is the next outlet for me

Kimmy,

Don't worry, this is the right place for you to vent. I had my first pregnancy via IVF, also under Dr. Loh. It has not been smooth sailing for me as well, was hospitalised a few times due to bleeding and eventually gave birth to a boy at 29 weeks. I totally understand how precious is this baby to you.

I am currently also pregnant with #2, now in week 10, about the same gestation as you. Jia you! Stay positive for now, that's all you can do.

Thanks angel, for sharing your journey too. Yup u are right, nothing I can do but stay positive at least for baby now right?

You know this news, although upsets me, has actually made me stop worrying about the little things as I did before. I used to worry when I accidentally jumped, or have a scare, or not experience much symptoms, but now all that doesn't matter as long as baby's healthy. Ironic.

Wow u are at 10 weeks now too! Yes let's both jiayou together to the finish line!