(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

love reading your thread. can anyone share with me where to get a 4-6 flights of drawers aka children's cabinet to store baby clothings huh? any good recommendation huh? is ikea drawers lasting huh?

racking my head now to get a good cabinet so that can start packing hehhee ...

Hi Chris baby,

have a good rest and take good care. try taking more vitamin C and plentiful of water to replenish.

Hi Hazel, looks like you gotten a good guidebook hehhee

Hi Kimmy, Vann and Bbliss : Jia you !
looks like you are next ...hehehe

sunbelle,

Thanks. I've being taking 2 vit c tablets X 3 a day since 1st day of flu.

catherine,

no choice will walk over opp my hse see the GP later. would have prefer the usual doc i see at simei and tampines but no transport le. so a begger cannot be choosy lor.

Hihi gals,
Going maid hunting today and probably tmr. Hopefully can lucky lucky find a good one, as difficult as striking toto i think!!! Going Katong area, Bukit Timah and Toa Payoh. Any other recommendations huh?

Dear Tromso,
I visited Dr Tan SB at NTU Chinese Medicine Clinic yesterday morning. She also could not help me and says she wishes me all the best. Mainly cos mine is organ-related issue and TCM can't help that much.

I took half an hour to spell out my whole history and my hubby says the students in the room (about 6 of them) must have been thinking I'm a good case study, lol.

Joanne- tmc private hospital. If you want to keep in nursery, just tell nurse to bring only when feeding. Up to you. But I think 2 bedder baby(s) can't room with you-not sure so better check.

Sasha: yah quite true. Was thinking jz to book 1st rather than not.
J03: heard that if u hv single bedded , husband can stay overbite with u, but if 2 or 4 bedded , can't. Usually baby will be taken care of the nurse, only for breast feeding then the nurse will push the baby out from nursery to let u feed.

Maybe those ladies out there who hv given birth at TMC could share your experience with us ?

Joanne,

My sil gave birth at TMC last Nov via c-section. She chose 2 bedded room. The other lady sharing the same room will request the nurse to push the baby out from the nursery to let her feed. BB don't stay in the room for 2 bedded. U might want call TMC to confirm this.

catherine,

Sweating away, quite humid day ah. Went opp for lunch and c GP for flu medicine. Called and checked on clariss and fil says she's bathing now and making alot of baby noises. Oh how i missed it ah....

Humid? No leh Chris, weather at my parents place is juz nice. Juz came back from car inspection, hubby told me to go catch a movie to take a break. I guess he feel we need couple time but I said no, we end up gg for show flat .

This morning my mum told us not to bring elis out unnecessary ESP if got funeral, do a detour and as much as possible stay home at night.there goes my weekend supper....

Hmm... Chris, last wk went chk up, bb yet to engage at wk 37.
Oh...getting more nervous nw as dunnoe when she engaging....

Kimmy, urs engage liao ? Re mittens n bootties, not worth buying fr kiddy palace. Try metro, og instead

Sunbelle, thx. We r all getting very excited
soon yr turn to come for e excitement... Haha....

Really feel like taking leave from wk... Really very tired n heavy to walk... But can't...Nw I truly understd hw Catherine was feeling tat time. Haha....

Bbliss,

i got mine huggies ultra at taka bb fair 2 packs at $10.60+ each.

Catherine,
Wow you very havoc ah, confinement still going out and didn't stay at home heeheee

Seen GP for cough syrup and medicine for phlegm and i asked for stronger medicine for flu. Told him i breastfeeding so he didn't give me the ususal telfast which works v well for me cos he says not very suitable for breastfeeding mums.

Bbliss,

Dun worry too much, just relax... my gynae advised me to take strolls after dinner like 30-45mins and do squats as this will help bb to engage. Tat is provided you dun have any problems such as placenta previa etc.

Catherine,

Already starting to miss clariss since she's at fil's place....felt so bored at home. Altho enjoyed missing the nitefeeds cos i flu ma so stayed different room as clariss and hbs staying with her for nitefeeds. Have being drinking lots of water ah..

Oh... Do squats help huh ? Ok ok... Will start doing tonite. Walking wise, can't walk long. These few days when walking, will haf this sudden but short sharp pain at e v area.

Chris, I realized it's not possible for me to stay at home n b confined to the 4 walls. I still have errands to run like buying storage box to contain my breast milk to send home, need to prepare for elis full mth 3 day celebration this weekend, see doc. I still have not open her normal savings account, plan what to get for my gynae and her team, plan a party for gd fri for her and shop on gmarket to buy the door stopper, things to cover the edges etc. I dun have the luxury of hubby helping me and my mum rather take care of elis.

Bbliss - not sure if engaged as dr loh didn't answer me when I asked him last visit. he was talking about something else, some rare case patient whose womb came out also some many years ago blah blah blah. Thanks for the info on the mittens.

Catherine - where are u intending to do Elis manyue at? I'm now sourcing for caterers, cakes etc.

Chris baby - take care of that flu!

Catherine, yes, that's the old folks belief. My parents also said the same.. But it there is no helper at home, how not to go out? No need to eat? We dun cook. Even if we do, we need to buy the Raw materials too right? Having a bb is really no joke! How I wish I can put her bk into the womb!!

Hazel,

hahahahahaa.. ya tats why my colleague who is doing same confinement as me also asked me same question why i confinement still can go out and bring my bb see doc can leave it to cL n hb mah. no choice tat time my pelvic area, wound hurts and backache especially just after 1 wk gave birth i still got to go a few times bring clariss see PD cos of the flu virus. No choice i walk like penguin lor...

Catherine, Hazel
is the old belief tat during confinement we have to be very careful and not to catch a chill or become sick if not very difficult to get it cure. I just chat with my colleague today over the phone, she said lucky i caught flu after confinement if not jia lak cos last time when she had her 1st son (23yrs ago), she caught a chill during confinement and had a bad cough. She coughed till her boy 1yrs old then recover ah so she scared liao cos last time she dun believe in all these as she quite modern, but once kena she scared liao.

Nell, Joanne

Clariss has watery stool since yesterday. She poo 2x, 1st time normal stool then 2nd time watery stool. Today she poo poo 3x, 1st poo normal, 2nd and 3rd poo watery again. How ah? Should i bring her see PD or how many days wait and see ah? I just brought her see PD for her rash last wk.

Hazel, catherine

my fil suspects tat clariss diarrhea becos of drinking my EBM as i'm sick now...But i remembered i read somewhere tat eventho we sick still can breastfeed rite?

Kimmy,

Thanks. i avoid handling clariss, wore masks when hbs and clariss are at home, if not i quarantine myself in the bedroom. Always wash hands if got to touch her, eg like her pacifier dropped and hbs bathing and she crying.

Really tough ah... alamak now they all treat me like SARS patient lor...no choice. Cos clariss kena flu once when she is 1wk old and it took 2-3 wks for her to get better and very tough taking care of sick infant cos they v young PD also very careful in prescribing medicine for her to take.
So now we all acared liao..

Hazel,

u muz be very busy taking care of belle cos nowadays seldom see you log in to chat.
tomorrow same routine, hbs will send clariss to fil's place in the morning before he goes work then evening fetches her back. I'm starting to miss her especially her bath times, changing nappy etc..Haven't carry her since saturday ah....

Chris, elis also poo a lot. The mamy poko diapers is not enough to contain it and it always spill out. My mum said its normal ask me not to worry. I think if u r eating the safe medicine then bm is ok. Somehow I dun think we should let cl bring bb to pd. we as mum need to know what happen to our dearest. For me I have to do it myself as my hubby is always not able to bring Elis to doc.

Kimmy, we r doing mini party. Fri, bring her to give cake voucher, donuts and akk to office colleagues and to my paternal aunty. Sat is home party with family. Mum cooking. Sun we r having a party with my maternal relatives at my grandma place. We will give akk, cake voucher, glutinous rice and order some pastry and tarts. Grandma maid will cook. Gd fri party I may order from oh's or lavish as what hazel recommended. Tiring!

Chris and hazel, I admit to my hubby I may not cope with Elis alone. Cos lately She is sleeping on mattress and I have to pick her up from mattesss, stand up to walk around the house. Many a times i difficulty getting up cos my knee is weak after my knee op about 3 years ago. Husband said he will take 1 week leave to help but I declined. So we will c how I manage next mon. If need b hire a cl for 12 days b4 my mum comes over to stay with me for 2 weeks. May I know the agency u got yr cl?

Chris, yes u can still breast feed even though u hv flu. I still got read forum leh.. Hehe

Catherine, u can call Josephine at 9746 1883.

Catherine, your mattress Is on the floor? Actually if bb is not full mth yet, dun place her on the floor coz she will be easily startled by noise..,

Dear sisters,

In view of my terrible rashes and baby of good weight dr loh has decided to induce me...I am induced tonight...pls pray for me.

Chris,
I m so so busy these few days, trying to settle down n doing my unpacking while taking care of my girl. Not easy ah...
How's your flu? Hope you are getting better by now.
For baby, my general guide as to wheb to see PD are 1) whether the baby has fever, 2) baby eating well, 3) sleeping well, 4) alert as usual, then I will just monitor n see how. Cos if baby still eat well n not crying away, to me it means there's not much discomfort, then just wait for few days. Let Baby do their own "tuning" n "conditioning". It could be due to what you eat or your medication or your flu bug in BM. If you worry, then stop giving BM for a day or two see whether there is any improvement. If still not ok then see doc.

Actually I think it is ok for you to continue take care of clariss if you miss her much. Cos the bug would have been pass to her in your BM, so no diff lah. Unless you not well to handle her. Good practice to wear mask so you don't spread to others.

Vann, may the grace of God be with you! Don't worry, you n baby will be doing fine!

Nell,

I don't actually get to see bb this 2 days, only in the evening when she's back. she started her lao sai on Sun. She poo 2x, 1 time the normal poo and the 2nd time lao sai. Monday the same, normal poo then lao sai. Yesterday tues, morning normal poo poo, afternoon lao sai, evening lao sai again. This morning lao sai. She seems okie to me as in no fever, she's eating well, alert and active. Fil doesn't agree to bringing her see PD cos says so young wanna give her eat medicine again meh...My fren says better bring scare dehydration. I'm still giving her BM cos read tat its good to continue bf when sick cos our bodies are producing antibodies (esp when we are sick) and this will pass thro our milk to bb to help bb fight against virus etc... furthermore bm contains 94% water so bb less likely to be dehydrated unless her diarrhea very serious.

Catherine,

if you are able to get a CL help for the 1st 2wks will be good cos after delivery i get aches etc during the 1st mth+ even getting up from bed for nitefeeds is touch for me. Me old liao ah... It's good if your hbs is around to help out the 1st week. At least you have time to pump milk.

Chris, I can't get used to waking up at night. Now I have to feed her, change diapers and pump milk. So tiring. These 2 days I have to manage myself cos hb is at home studying. Put her to sleep with me after her 11.30 feed. I kept praying that she will b a gd child. She was until her 3.30am feed. I was slow in giving her milk she yelled loud. After that refused to sleep despite I change her diapers already. That's when my mum took over. Somehow i cannot manage to coax her to bed after her 3am feed. On the contrary, I could move around v actively after my 5th day of delivery. I also old ok... ESP after Nadia massage I was even more energetic. I only have 29 storage bags left will definitely use up by this weekend then will c if i latch her on or give up bf.

Vann- all the best. Relax ok

Hazel, Josephine is a cl?? Elis love the mattress more than her cot. Mayb she knows everyone is close to her and if she wants attention its there immediately. Sometimes I sleep with her on the mattress in the afternoon. We have all the protection to make sure she dun fall down.

Catherine,

Do you give EBM during nite feeds? We give FM cos faster to prepare, try not to let the bb cry too much cos after tat difficult to coax her bk to sleep. Like clariss once she started to cry, we'll go pat her 1st tell her milk milk on the way, then quickly prepare her FM. After her feed, we'll usually burp her then carry her upright for 10-15mins cuddling her and we don't talk to her at her, so as to prepare her for sleep mood then put her down in her cot and she'll sleep through.

Clariss also loves when hbs slept with her on the mattress in the afternoon on sun and mon when he on leave. Think she knows she's protected and less startled. Esp when she wakes up and cries her dad is just next to her to pat and whisper to her tat daddy is around and no need to be afraid etc. Tat calms her down.

Catherine,

clariss gets startled easily especially she dun sleep long hrs in the afternoon, she keep waking up at times like have nitemare and starts crying. So we have to be nearby her to pat her and calm her down...

Belle feels warm.. N her nose is stuffy.. Not the usual type of stuffiness.. Though she dun behave like she is unwell.. Thermometer registered 37.4 degree at the armpit. Suspect she got the virus at Yu Guo as many sick children there.. Sianz.. Bringing her to PD at 2pm

Hazel,

Just saw your posting, how's belle? I checked with my fren she said for baby 38 degree considered fever. Clariss had watery stools in the morning at 7am, then after her next feed at 10am her stools back to normal, according to fil looks like kaya texture. So they said to observe for a day or 2. I called PD, and as usual the receptionist picked up the phone, told her about clariss condition and she said to monitor and if 2-3 days straight diarrhea then muz see PD, if not comfortable then bring her see PD today. Discussed with hb and we decided to monitor her these 2 days cos she looks fine, no fever, no fussing and appetite good finished her milk.

Hazel,

Did you look inside belle's nostrils? Cos when clariss caught the flu we can see alot of transparent mucus tats why her nose stuffy and when she drink milk got a "gurgling sound" cos of the backflow of the mucus down her throat.

Catherine,
i missed bathing time with clariss ah, now the maid at fil's bath her and they keep telling me she starting to make bb noises and smiles alot lately..ooooh i missed it. On monday, when hbs bath her, i wore a mask and joined in for a while and she fell asleep while bathing ah..just like the video tat wong bb showed us on how she bath a crying baby till baby very relaxed and doze off in the bath. hahahaa hbs saw it and said wow didn't know our clariss will doze off too..heehee

Catherine,

clariss used to wake up like 3am++ for her feed and then 6am for another feed. I understand what u are going through, its very tiring. I just chat with my fren who has kids also tells me different babies different pattern, and my hb's buddy baby wakes up every 2hrs altho on FM all the way..his wife was doing the nitefeeds super shag ah. But they all told me babies will outgrow this stage and told me to be patient.

Chris, ya, belle is not running a temperature. Like what u said, 38 degrees then considered fever for bbs. Her nose no mucus at all. Dr said no plegm also. He said her stuffy nose may mean a v slight cold.. Gave her nasal sprays & cough syrup. Anyhow, her stuffy nose seems to be better now with out using the sprays. Anyhow, not going to give her any medication. Brought her to see PD coz thought she has a temperature,