(2012/09) Sep 2012

Hi all...may i know what are the purpose of doing OSCAR test ? and this test is done during how many weeks of pregnancy ? my gynae nvr ask me to do OSCAR test bt he ask me to do the amino test during 17 weeks..hav any of u done amino test before and how much the amino test cost ? thanks

Cj junior> I hope so too! Yest took med when I came home and immediately 'concussed'!! I took progesterone test to check if my level can sustain the preg. So far no news fr the clinic so hoping that no news means good news.

Yes Oscar is not compulsory. I'm hesitating to do Oscar too. My cousin who got pregnant ard my age didn't do it as well and her baby is perfectly fine. I'm not sure if I should take the risk. My aim reason not wanting to do was because I see alot of false alarm, oscar result bad but amino test turn out fine. I think all these are unnecessary worry and heartpain.

<font color="0077aa">Girl77> Oscar is done ard wk11-13 if I am not wrong. I thought normally gynae will recommend oscar test first instead of amino test. If oscar test result pose high risk then gynae will suggest amino test. Maybe different gynae, different practise...</font>

Girl77: y your doc ask you do to amino test straightaway? I think amino cost ard approx 1k. Not cheap plus it comes with a 5% miscarriage risk.

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>Baby #</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Clim </TD><TD></TD><TD>3</TD><TD>1-Sep</TD><TD>Dr John Lim </TD><TD>not confirm</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Shaggy</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>2-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>May</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>2-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>felicity t</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>2-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Adeline Chew</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>3-Sep</TD><TD>Dr CK Tho</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Chewthegum</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>3-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Jothi Kumar</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>flubby</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>3-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Ang Huai Yan </TD><TD>not confirm</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Pokka</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>4-Sep</TD><TD>Dr G Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>babygi </TD><TD>33</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>4-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Poptwo</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>5-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Heng TL </TD><TD>PEH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Girl 77</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>6-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Chan kong hon </TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Bless03</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>8-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>hiroshima </TD><TD>32</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>9-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Christopher Chong </TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>escapism </TD><TD>31</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>15-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Aziz </TD><TD>Parkway East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Cherrie </TD><TD>34</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>16-Sep</TD><TD>Dr HH Tan </TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Littlecow </TD><TD>29</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>16-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang </TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Febie</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>18-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Su Lin Lin </TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>CJ Junior</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>22-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Jojo_ck</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Dr WH Kee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Harrods</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>27-Sep</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>pigy (pigypigy)</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>28-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Fouzia </TD><TD>34</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>29-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Jazlan joosoph </TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>eve (charl)</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>30-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Sophie (magic_star)</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>30-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Wee Horng Yen</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Ariadne </TD><TD>34</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>30-Sep-12</TD><TD>not confirm</TD><TD>not confirm</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>minniemoodibo</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>not confirm</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>baby_yun </TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>not confirm</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>lbarc </TD><TD>30</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>not confirm</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheung </TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Audrey</TD><TD>37</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>DR WK Tan </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>ching2627</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></td></tr></table>

Thanks shaggy...mayb my age consider high risk pregnancy so my gynae straightway ask me to the amino test ..Mayb i will ask him again when my nxt apt thanks for your reply

Littlecow, ic I also taking 2 times progesterone test weekly. You only took the Utrogestan you like that Liao, can you imagine I had to take 6 pills daily plus the progesterone jab every alternate day? Hahah I am like a dog now, sleeping approx 16hrs a day cos all those med and jabs make me so tired. You shld col and ask for the result. Not no news is good news. Must know the level so can take note. Dr Fong said at our stage above 100 is ok.

Ching2627, His package only start from 5th month and cost $700+ if I rem correctly.

Hi bless03 ..ya mayb different gynae hav different practice bcos i ask my gynae do i need to do any test and he told me ya i need to do the amino test when i reach 17 wk..mayb will ask him again should do OSCAR test or straightaway amino test ..thanks

Cj junior> the clinic just called. No news doesn't mean good news. Sigh. My level is too low and going to take the jabs starting tomorrow. Increased pill dosage to 6 a day. The staff said to cont until first tri. So long? My #1 so smooth why #2 so jialat?!
Can u advise me how's the procedure like? Isit take jab and go cuz I need to inform my boss whether to take time off or half day mc. Thanks

Nick: nurisyardini
Baby #: 2
EDD: To be cfrm
Gynae: Dr Jasmine Mohd
Hospital: KKH

Ive tested positive on CYN. Ive m/c somewhere in June and i really hope this one works out. I have a two year old daughter too. Unlike the first one which is smoothsailing, lately,ive been feeling nauseous like something stuck at my throat. Very bloated so no appetite to eat anything. Like today whole day, i jus had my egg prata and one polar cake. Very very tired.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>Baby #</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clim </TD><TD></TD><TD>3</TD><TD>1-Sep</TD><TD>Dr John Lim </TD><TD>not confirm </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shaggy</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>2-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>May</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>2-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>felicity t</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>2-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adeline Chew</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>3-Sep</TD><TD>Dr CK Tho</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chewthegum</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>3-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Jothi Kumar</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pokka</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>4-Sep</TD><TD>Dr G Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>babygi</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>4-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Girl 77</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>6-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Chan kong hon </TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bless03</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>8-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hir0sH|-m@</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>9-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Christopher Chong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>escapism</TD><TD>31</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Aziz</TD><TD>parkway east </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cherrie </TD><TD>34</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>16-Sep</TD><TD>Dr HH Tan</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>CJ Junior</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>22-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jojo_ck</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Dr WH Kee</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Harrods</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>27-Sep</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>pigy (pigypigy)</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>28-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>ching2627 </TD><TD>35</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>29-Sep</TD><TD>not confirm</TD><TD>not confirm </TD></TR><TR><TD>eve (charl)</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>30-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sophie (magic_star)</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>30-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Wee Horng Yen</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>minniemoodibo</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>not confirm</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>baby_yun </TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>not confirm</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>lbarc </TD><TD>30</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>not confirm</TD><TD>Henry Cheung </TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>Audrey</TD><TD>37</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>not confirm</TD><TD>DR WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sweet_mummy</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>23-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Wee Horng Yen</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi girl77,

amino test is to take the waterbag water for testing...
also for down syndrome purpose.

not too sure abt the cost.

Sweet mummy ^ Sophie:
Me is under clinic C..was thinking of changing to private...Is Dr Wee Good? So far the doctors @ O&amp;G really made me feel very frustrated with them. How much is your fees per visit?

hi sweet mummy, how is Dr Wee? Is your #1 with him too?

My friend recommended him to me cos my previous gynae, Dr JJ Chee, has left KK to set up her own clinic. She only delivers in Mt E, so most likely i won't go back to her. I have to stick with KKH due to I have high BP issue during pregnancy.

girl77,

i suggest u call your gynae, dun wait till week 17... if only u wanna do oscar test.

yes try to avoid amino test if possible.

sweetmummy: my info missing. haha

CJ: CL thru agent ok la. think i lucky got a cantonese lady. i went to PEM. agent can change ma. if i don like i can change another one.

fattybombom: you lucky got hubby do confinement for you. i got an ex-colleague also do confinement for his wife with the help of his mum.

Er I forgot their names all non sporean. One of them got super unfriendly face and the other is from India. I am fine with any docs but why can't these docs provide me with more info when i need or offer help? If not for u gals how in d world do i know what to ask or look out for etc? Haiz

Pigy, there are a lot of student doctors and doctors who are just graduated practising in Clinic C. When I had my c-sect in the operating theatre, I was surrounded by a bunch of student doctors looking and learning at how my gynae operated on me, I don't really mind as long as it's my chosen gynae operate on me and not those student doctors.

Pigy, in my personal opinion, I think is worth to get a fixed gynae attend to you so that he/she know your medical condition and will be committed to attend to your needs in pre/post natal care.

Littlecow, may I know what is your level? Don't worry k, I tel you a joke. The very 1st time I did blood test for progesterone the level was 16! Gynae said any women on the street the level is also higher than mine! Haha so with 6 x pills daily and alternate jabs my level at e best was 400+, now at 200+. So can improve de, don't worry ya. Tmr you going for jab ah? Hubby can go along? Becos all along every 2 days I travel to Paragon jab, very troublesome until CNY period they asked my hubby to learn and from then now he jab for me at home instead and the best part is I save $15 each time (if they help you jab will charge extra $15) so now each appt will buy 3 x sets of jabs to last til next appt. This jab abit painful cos it is oil based and will be done on e butt, so you have to alternate e butt side. I jab until both sides swollen and rash haha today Dr Fong just give me cream to apply.

question: is it really cheaper to go KKH? seriously i'm not comfortable with seeing different dr for every check up. somemore most of them seem to be like training docs. unless you have a fix gynae at kkh if not i rather go private gynae.

CJ Junior - Wow your hubby is very brave to jab for u!

Flubby - it is cheaper if you under subsidised class in KKH, but you will have different doctor everytime. If you prefer to have a fixed gynae attend to you, you are deemed to be private patient and it's not much cheaper compared to private gynae outside.

To get a KKH Gynae mainly is it becos of the cost during pregnancy? Or during delivery? If it is becos of during pregnancy, I recommend you this private Gynae, someone asked earlier on. He is Dr Adrian Woodworth and he has 2 clinic at CCK and Sengkang. He is really one of the cheapest Gynae I ever come across. Unlike some Gynae who fix which week to start Antenatal package his can start immediately once you pregnant so each time you go for scan, consultation and those supplements are inclusive Liao and the package is only $550 (last I know) so for those on a tight budget might wanna consider him and cheap doesn't mean he not good, you can read his review in this forum, not bad de but don't expect long consultation time cos too many patients.

Cj junior> the staff mentioned abt 50+ when the norm is 100.
I feel so worried when I heard that I need to take jabs twice a week. May I check how long does it take for the whole process to complete cuz thinking of taking time off from work and not half day mc. Thks. And ya hubby will go with me. Maybe ask him to learn to inject for me.

Hi gals, I just went for my 2nd doc visit today.. Baby was abt 17mm and I'm in week 8. My first visit when I was week 6, it was only 2.6mm! What a big diff in 2 weeks time.. Now I'm considering whether to take Oscar test. Every visit abt $200+.. Sob..

Nick: Xiaoer
Baby: #1
edd: 8 sep 12
Gynae: Dr Ho HK
Hosp: Mt A

Oh ya cj PEM will confirm a lady for you when u booked with them.

I've got a Dr who is quite cheap and very experience. my sis use him for her 3 kids. Dr Sandy Lek. His clinic at joo chiat and he does not have package. my sis went per session ranging from $50 to $100 plus. He also the gynae for my sis MIL.

Pigy, it's actually quite disturbing to see so many training doctors surrounded me, but some are quite good kept talking to me and tried to make me relax.

In Clinic C also got some good doctors, so depend on your luck. Find someone who you are comfortable

Littlecow, don't worry. I started off with only 16 also can catch up. Luckily discovered early if not pregnancy cannot sustain further. This progesterone is very important now until the placenta take over the job. The jab very fast one, don't need see Gynae, the nurse there will jab for you. Maybe 10mins? Ask your hubby learn better, next time jab at home you can choose the time you like also.

Xiaoer, must be very happy seeing baby grow so big Liao
17mm can see all the legs and hands form Liao? Clear? Hope my next scan can only witness such an amazing thing.. Can't wait!

CJ ur hubby so nice. my hubby see the needle want to faint liao. so i have to drive myself to GP for my jab... i'm jabbing 2 times per week until i see my gynae on the 20 Feb.

The size of the bb if small is ok right? I see alot at week 8 already 16-18mm

Last check up at 7w6d mine was only 14.5mm... Hope next Monday check up bb is growing healthily..

Flubby, so how is the procedure like? Just pay a deposit and inform them edd and they will standby someone Liao? Mmm sounds quite good since not happy still can change another CL. Any idea what's their charges like? You go GP jab how much? Got to queue up like normal patients too or can skip e queue since jab only?

Hi ladies, but how much is the CL from agency? What is the market price now? i also hear from siblings and friend that better book early coz dragon year...so hot....

I have booked CL. $2200. I think market rate is about 1800-2200. Better book early as good ones might be taken early as this is dragon year.

CJ: ya was worried earlier on coz previously doc say 2.6mm is 6wks only but when I scan was 7 wks already. lucky it grows fast.. Erm can't see hands and legs only see a fetus shape.

Ladies, how much does Paul tseng cost? My first visit consultation was $120 + $80 scan. 2nd visit consultation $80 + $80 scan like quite ex. Plus pills total $200+.. -.-"

Xiaoer, I m also seeing a gynae at Paul tseng clinic. Din they tell u his charges? Ask from the nurses there. I pay about $130++ per time and if got med its about 180++