(2012/07) Jul 2012

Lili Gal, hb was happy in wedding but the smile in the delivery suite when he saw the baby, priceless.

Ourlovestory, we can still consume bird's nest all the way n Cordyceps. I asked my TCM physician before. I prefer to eat the ones I bought first cos they r premium ones with no added workmanship. My mil ones wait till baby is out n finish mine then eat cos I don't know what quality rate she bought.

Shower after delivery. My hb is very supportive about me taking shower. He said no shower is for olden time when the toilet has holes n a walking distant from home. Now bathroom is just a step into bedroom n no wind, why can't shower? As long as shower with those herbs to help remove body wind n towel dry the body n blow dry th hair fast, why not? Backache is caused by the way you push your baby. Just listen to the midwives very carefully. They will warn you to correct your pushing method. If u can correct immediate, it will eliminate backache.

finally i hv time to come in again.. my bills are piling up and i hate to look at them.. just throw to one side, hahaa

rykiel - wow so slim.. i also swim but with my exposed tummy. cos i cheapskate, nvr buy maternity swim wear.. i wear my 2 pc swim suit so show my protuding tummy.. but i have a swim skirt to cover it if i wan to..

bhoo - wah, yr water retention v serious! mine still normal, but prob not yet cos im due 30 july only. nice pedicure though. i stopped mani n pedi ages ago..

liligal:yup, am def very lucky to have gotten a job even though preg
I'm in hospitality industry, hotel.. this contract job is also hotel.

I used to stay with my inlaws when I had #1 den moved out after #1 turned 2 months cos bought resale flat, no need wait for yrs for a BTO.. ourlovestory, u staying with inlaws now?

Lili gal, I also don't know but TCM physician reminded me must drink only soft meat coconut. Btw, beginning 2 trimesters don't eat too liang (cooling). Baby may develop asthma.

BB, oh dear... too late. i have been eating liang ever since got pregnant cos can feel the internal heat. hope that girl will nt have asthma!!!

i think soft meat means young coconut. old coconut juice the taste is not nice and sometimes abit stale. ok thanks. will watch for the meat next time.

Liligal, bb,
I hv a very traditional n filial hubby who will listen to his mom w/o questioning if her theories make sense or not. Then will try to tell me to follow. Though he won't say it's his mom ideas, but I realized over e yrs whenever he finishes his conversation wif mom over e phone, there is always new req or feedback. I'm definitely going to hv conflicts wif her when she helps to look after #2.

Ourlovestory,
I don't stay wif mil. But when #2 comes out, she will stay wif us during wkdays.

Mine is super extreme case of water retention. On bad days even my eyelids will swell... I kid u not.

Rykiel, just imagining wat u are doing already making me tired. My after work activity nowadays is plonking my butt on sofa w legs up and watching tv.

Kawaii_baby, the fisher price rocker that I bought can be converted into a chair for toddler... so technically u can get pretty gd mileage out of it assuming ur kid will still want to sit in it at tt older age.

Lili_gal, my menstruation cycle is ard 10 weeks instead of 28days. So in a yr I get my menses only 4 to 5 times and each time I bleed only 3 days... So I really hope after first pregnancy I will be more fertile!

bhoo, i hv that but i think some bouncers are better for babies. that fisher rocker chair for bb not superbly good cos my #1 keep sliding left and right on it and bang head on side cos no cushion. this time i probably see if can add cushy insets.

btw, u only have 4-5 chances in a year. no wonder ur kid is a miracle!!! wow... btw, hopefully this is an encouragement, some frens who went thru IVF (some after many rounds) were very fertile after. best during the weaning stage. they were pleasantly surprised even tho gap quite close. all the best for #2!

Bhoo, I didn't know that eyelids can swell due to water rentention, sounds bad, what did your gynae or GP say? Take care

Liligal, hubby n me still figuring out the plan for no 1 when I go into labor, the thing is it's just us over here so harder to plan

Talk about MIL/mom giving advice during confinement n beyond, general consensus among my gfs is that family dynamics really change when bb comes along, ESP for 1st baby/grandchild. Keep yourself sane, if u hear something u don't agree with, just keep your cool n move on, oftentimes though, conflicts/opinion differences seem to arise more with MIL, I guess with your own mom you can express what u feel more freely. Sometimes it's generation gap, everyone just wants the best for the baby

Bhoo,
I hv e fp rocker too. When #1 was baby, what I did was insert few layers of diaper cloths in it so that he can lie on it. But as my hse not windy type, he doesn't really like it as e material of e rocker can be a bit more stuffy. I even intend to sell off as seldom use but recently I said will pass to mei mei use n he starts to play with it again. It's so amazing for me to see how big he is now compared to lol baby when he sits in it.

Cookie,
I also intend to put my boy at my mil place when go deliver. Then e next day, bring him over to hospital, introduce mei mei to him n gift exchange. I'm wondering what will be his reaction. Haha

-) wow morrrrning all mummies ... amazing at 4 am the thread is still active . I only managed to zzz at ard 3am. whole body numb n uncomfy. now on the way to work.

hmmmmm my mil ll prob b staying w us in 3 mths time.
seriously hope the change ll not make me Sian.
sometimes I wonder how some ppl can stay wif in laws n still so happily

Mornkng mummies! Its a rainy day so pls be careful ya.. And today is shopping day for me!!

for me, I will also put with inlaws cos they r staying quite near and guess same like all th 2nd or 3rd time mummies, will do a gift exchange the next day or the day itself depending time of birth. Talking about that, need to bring #1 to shop an buy gift for his mei mei...

For daily specials today and the ad for motherhood fair , it's on Straits Times Life! Section page 5! Like not much special deals and the Goon offer is the best I think.

Staying with MIL. I stay with my mil for close to 8 yrs. My mil is very understanding but more problems from jealous relatives who like to spread rumors about us. Some like to borrow money from my mil, when they know we interfere n advise my mil not to give (never return so cannot use lend) money to them, they spread rumors. Anyway, those who do/speak evil will hv evil outcome. Just ignore them n enjoy my life lah. The best advice to stay harmony with parent in
law is to close one eye, one ear in n one ear out n forgive/forget which u will do the same to your own parents.

Hb is taking our niece (my bil's daughter) to USS today. I can't go wuwu... (can't walk much now). Hopefully this nice weather last the whole day for them. Btw, Singapore USS open 10am to 7pm only but price is the comparable to Florida US. Too short open hour to play n cannot bring outside food, too much leh.

ya i guess so have to close one eye or mayb both if staying tgt. I shall have to work on this.

motherhood fair - i m not sure whether i wanna go join in the squeeeeze haizz.... legs get tired very easily .

morning mommies...

cookie, yea, I also din know eyelids can swell until I got pregnant. Also din know my ankles have the bandwidth to expand so much. I am actually quite petite (pre-pregnancy weight at 41kg and now 55kg) but cannot tell from my swollen feet right? Sigh ... like kena elephantiasis. My blood pressure is normal so my gynae says there is no cause for concern. He just advised on the usual thing... cut back on salt, drink more water, elevate feet, wear compression socks...

lili_gal and cherish, thanks for the suggestion on the fisher price rocker =) I think I will layer it with the many swaddles I have so baby will be snug in it. Actually my mum suggested getting the net bouncer from KP but vain and shallow me settled on the prettier looking fisher price one. LOL.

di, you not working today? I was very tempted to not come in to work today cos I'm so tired and weather is so good. I had a short snooze at 9pm last nite then woke up at 2am and could not get back to sleep.

BB, I agree with you that USS is so not worth it. It's expensive and small compared to the theme parks in other countries... and the food there sucks.

I think there are pros and cons to staying with in-laws or staying close to in-laws. I personally dun mind staying with my in-laws or moving to stay close to them cos they can at least help with taking care of kids....

bhoo: yup, am heading to the fair at 11. Be the first and avoid the crowd! Haha.. Sounds so kiasu but no choice cos dun think I wanna squeeze thru the crowd on weekends. Me too dun mind staying with my inlaws again cos they really helped alot in taking care of my #1 even though now we stay separately. Perhaps their thinking and mentality not so traditional and very shui Bian so lucky for me :p

morning mummies.. the thread is really moving too fast..
anyway pardon me for not replying to pple who asked me what qns.. i lazy to stroll upwards n see the nick/name..haha..

anyway y i dun haf confinment lady: haha coz my bb is unexpected.. so me n hubby is a shotgun marriage w/o any plannings or savings(except applying our bto flat last november). I married in March this yr.. so basically everything was $$ n $$ n $$.. n i m not earning much same goes to my hubby. initially my sis in law agreed to helped me with my confinement.. but coz they r moving hse soon(dun ask me y pick the same period when i m gonna give birth) she maybe dun haf time to help me out.. but only to cook for me n bring over in the morning..

Nagging: yeah i think when i m preg i m more short fuse.. i will blow my temper at my mum n at the slightest thing.. honestyly i think my hubby is like cherish i think.. listen to his mum dan indirectly come n tell me things..
i prefer pple come straight to the point n say watever they wanna say to my face instead of passing msg.. even my hubby frenz oso.. dunoe who go tell him i always eat subway when i didnt eat for very long liao n tat particular day i wanted to eat n he shoot me back..ask me eat proper food.. blah blah blah..
anyway its better to stay in ur own nest dan in mil place bah.. coz sometimes the older generation dunoe what they r saying oso n sometimes will spoil pple mood..

BB: i agreed with u.. tat is why i told my hubby i dun wan to depend so much on his mum or ask his mum to quit her job n look after my bb.. reason is coz.. my hubby da sao n er sao both got 5 kids n 6 kids each.. both oso housewife.. both look after their kids themselves.. i dun wan wait pple think i pampered lah..n cannot solve my own problem n need mil to look after.. so i rather put in infant care.. since i cannot quit my job dan i put infant care lor..

okie i dunoe what else i m missing out.. but anyway its raining so be careful yeah..

later i m going to expo in the afternoon.. haha.. i cnt wait to get out of the office.. =p

Bhoo, wow, your swelling is really bad since u r so petite! Follow your dr's advice ok, hopefully it relieves some of the swelling.

Liligal, cherish, it's just the 3 of us cos we r not based in SG now, did I mention before huh. I'm most prob having the baby here (wish me luck) and hoping his nanny will agree to stay in around my EDD so if I pop in the middle of the night at least I don't feel worried he's not taken care of but she has some personal commitments so may not be able to live in then. It all depends on when no 2 pops. My mil is planning to take leave for a week or so but no guarantee that I'll pop on my edd. Hopefully things work out ok

BB, I agree with you. Harmony with ILs is so impt.

di, I also want to go shopping!!! This morning I casually mentioned to my HB that motherhood fair starting today and was surprised when he suggested that we go down after work today! Yay! I dun have to wait till weekend to squeeze with the crowd. But I have to make my own way down to Expo via the EW line. I dun like the EW line.

joy_javen, you on 1/2 day leave or you work near Expo? How come you can go Expo in the afternoon? Woah, your SILs have so many kids! Are you expected to have so many kids too?

Cookie, where are you based in?

bhoo: i took 1/2 day today=) haha.. just to go expo n see what are the promotions=p haha.
yes everyone is saying i should haf 7 kids since the first got 5 and the 2nd got 6 kids.. but i told them i wun haf so many.. i only want 2 and i m happy liao..

Mil continues.... When I was expecting #1, my mil told me she is too old to manage a baby. Hey she had been taking care of her 5 sons, it is so unfair to expect her to take care of our kids. She deserves holiday mood everyday n grandchildren to entertain her. So the very last day of my CL, we employed a helper. I put my girl in school from 9-5pm since 17 mth old. Guess my hb n I hv never expected my mil to do anything for us cos we r adults already n she has done her part as a mother. Grandmother role is to get entertained not entertaining the grandchildren. If grandparents volunteer to help take care of grandchildren, you r lucky but if they don't, u shouldn't expect too much from them.

ourlovestory, actually i also dont know if my pain tolerence level is high anot, will just give it a try :p if the pain becomes unbearable i just i just have to opt for epidural. haha

bhoo, my pig trotters is as bad as yours.. guess my water retention is seriously bad

joy, keep us informed of any good promo you see at the fair later

I think now cannot afford to have more than 2 ba... but pei fu ur SILs leh, so many kids!! on my way down to expo now, hope to get most of the stuffs I'm missing out.

Bhoo, when I hv #1, my legs swollen like yours. Mine worst, all toes swollen more than yours. My gynae told me to get a blood pressure meter to measure every day n protein indicator to test my urine if blood pressure went up. If both high, I hv to rush to hospital. I find the most helpful way is to drink more water n reduce salt intake. Outside food salt level is extremely high so drink tons of water to balance it.

It is true. Singapore USS is very small n food is not as interesting n yet very pricey. Anyway hope my hb n niece hv fun there.

BB: its true that they take care of our hubbies n their siblings so its better for MIL to take a break.. n moreover there were 11 cousins in front of my son..haha. since all 11 of them she oso never take care i dun expect her to take care of mine too.. n on top of that children nowadays easily jealous de.. they like to compare..so i dun wan later in the future the children think their ah ma dote on my son n not them..
basically such thing is happening to my hubby nephews as his mum like to bring 1 of the kid over to our place while the rest stay at home coz 6 kids at home always fight/make noise,etc.. so got 1 of her grandchild say she baise already n always make noise say she is unfair blah blah blah.. so i told my mil to avoid such things just take turns n bring them over instead of always bringing tat only 1 out to movies/arcades/her place..
i guess kids are all sensative also.. esp when in a household of so many siblings..

SO those who r expecting their #2/#3 n so on.. please make sure u dun forget ur #1 or neglect them too much.. coz they r growing up n they will feel they r been forgotten..
tat was wat happened to my god-daughter who is turning 2 this august..
i was playing with my god-son who is turning 1 this november while her grandma was feeding her porridge.. n she keep staring at me.. n dan suddenly she cry..i went over to hug her n ask her wat happened.. n ask isit she jealous i play with her didi.. n she nodded her head.. so i haf to explain to her i love her too n ask her dun be jealous..

joy, your MIL got fu qi. so many grandchildren!!! and for u since u married so young with kid, u hv a long runway for many many more too!!! hehehe.... but yah with so many, it's hard for your MIL to balance. hhahaa. so cute!

yah, i am very afraid that #1 will feel neglected so have been both prepping him and planning special days after delivery for him.

me also going down to expo later!

laura, tahan 1 or 2 wks then we go wax off the bushes!!!! tat's wat i tell myself. too early scared grow stubbles when delivery. hehehe...

marie, i went to check out the app. looks cool but expensive!!! u used it before? good? i last time paid for a few exp apps and turned out crap e.g. imovies from Apple!

hi joy,
thanks for sharing the encounter u had with ur godchildren.this reminds me again not to neglect #1. in fact, i feel guilty towards him when i recalled abt his first 3mths now. i was so stressed out and depressed that i didnt really take good care of him. when he cried, i just freaked out. with #2 coming out in jul, been telling myself i can do it better this round. whatever issues i'm going to face, will definitely able to pass thru. hahah, trying to encourage myself. LOL.

Joy javen, if my mil is like yours, she will be the most contented grandmother in the world. She has 5 sons but only one granddaughter for 10 yrs then my girl (her second granddaughter). My niece (the first granddaughter) is very lonely n she is so happy when my daughter is born. My girl likes her xie xie too. I hv seen how lonely my niece is n that is why I give in to my hb request to give my girl a silbing. I hope this baby boy will bring more joy to the family. My hb n I will try not to neglect my niece too. We hv prepared my girl for her baby brother n hopefully we won't neglect her when #2 is out. Just hv to be more sensitive.

zhen: i will keep u gals update on watever sales later=)

di: hehe.. jia you~~ shop more n buy more..but u got pple help u carry mah??

Laura: hmm i still shave them actually=X i dun go those shops to do it.. haha.. but i wanna go haf my eyebrows pluck though..

lili_gal: yes she is 60yrs old this yr so i tell her tat her #12 grandchildren on the way to celebrate her 60th bdae(in august)
haha i told everyone i already got 3 children(including my 2 god-children) so i will have 4 in total n i m happy le.. hehe.

cherish: ur welcome.. well my fren did a good job like when her #2 was still in tummy..she taught her #1 tat didi is on the way n always tell her to sayang him.. so now she always sayang him.. n imagine when we adults in the living room while didi in the room slping n he woke up crying.. she will get 1 of the adults attendtion n bring us to the room to say he is awake.. my god-daughter is damn cute i tell u all.. haha..

Yea, I also want to have 2 kids =) But for now I'm just happy that I will have at least 1 kid. Hehe ...

It's not easy having so many kids in Singapore. Everything is expensive and education is a killer. I cannot imagine having to go thru PSLE 6 times with 6 kids! Finding available infantcare for my 1 baby already put me in great emotional stress. Cannot imagine having to do it 6 times. I think I might go mad. Hhehe.

BB, I try to eat more at home... but sometimes really too lazy to cook and end up ta-baoing from outside. So unhealthy right?

Laura, go to strip and give yourself a good wax before you deliver =) It's very shiok to be hairfree. hehehe. For my arms and legs I continue to use my epilator and hair removal cream. My gynea says most hair removal methods are safe except for laser/IPL. So feel free to de-hair yourself =)

lili_gal: I'll see what gynea will tell me tomorrow then will decide when to do it. Wonder how hb will react to my "naked" V. LOL!

joy_javen: Not sure how good is the "pluck eyebrow" shop located at JP basement 1, opp Burger Kings.

laura, I have pigmentation under my arms, neck, knees and tummy ... =( according to some of my frens, the pigmentations will take 6 to 12 mths to fade =( sian right?

BB: haha.. i think its all life lah..
imagine my cousins all older dan me who in their late 30s n 40s le.. 3 of them marry for super long le.. 1 of them got gf but no plans to marry n just co-habitat.. another 1 just marry this yr april only.. n of all the cousins, the youngest which is me gonna be the first to haf bb..
imagine my 2nd aunt at my wedding asked my mil: all those 11 kids is her grandchildren ah..
so can imagine some of the elders waited neck till super long liao still no grandchildren..
i just can say everything is fated.. cannot force oso..

n good u already pre-empt ur gal already..
hopefully they will understand=)

bhoo: Want to try waxing my lower legs cos it's not only hard for me to reach now but it's totally impossible to reach.
@ $30 should be quite reasonable price.
If I brazilian my V into heart shape, this will be very interesting. *notti thoughts*
Mu..hahahahaha....

wow.. very good that u all have big families with kids. i find my boy very lonely cos i only hv another sibling and they have issues getting a kid. cousins are way too much older and kids are already very very old i.e. teenagers and above. closest cousin havs kids my boy's age but they are based overseas! so end up my boy has no playmate. no gatherings with relatives with kids. i find it really lonely for him.

laura, you have freckles or dark spots? i started realizing i hv more freckles now!!! very very upset. not sure if it's due to pregnancy.

bhoo, for my frens with 3 or 4 kids, usually u'll realize they start becoming more hands off and lax on their parenting already. so maybe PSLE etc is... own time own target! hahaha...

kawaiibaby: thanks babe. wb = welcome back. ps i like to type halfhalf la. must take more.. hahaha. stork delivered her. dumbo~~ hehehehe. reminds me of youngtime cartoon leh u. sibeh funny one hor. i tink MILs all is mouth good talk nias. u sahm or ftwm? how long is ur bedrest? hope u feeling much better now =))

liligal: now my #2, #1 nxt year P1.. 6YRS difference! hehaho!!! i hvn drink coconut. firstly cos no crave for it cos no preg i also dun drink one. HAHAHA =x oops. this time round gg try.

ourlovestory: my hse jin jialat one. dun do nobody will do one! so u dun do thn how? wait accumulate also bu shi right? so whn i gt mood ill do bit by bit lor. LL. hehaho! i anti-staying with mil. =x my parents staying at my place till our 5yr bond over this dec. thn ill b lonely. i cannot imagine one day they really move out. than skali my hub come up with the idea ask my ILs come over. ill go =OOOOOOOOOOO...

cherish: we got same pattern. i told him the same thing. he say, its for ur own good. u wan listen u listen, dun u cannot bath ask me dun bath. i dun bath how i go work. he tell me this. bth right. thn ill compare with my SIL who on the AC. he say.. she diff ! she 3kids w/o epi..! thn i tulan liao i told him thn nw u trying to say i sibeh weak siboh? he diam diam. cos he knw my bod is really weaker la.. i v scared colds etc last time de. thn i gt headaches v v often. =( so u planning bathe or no bathe? & at 4am u dun slp wad u doing ar? =x

tanny: i no swim suit!!! so i wear tank top with shorts=X than the tank top my hub say gg explode liao. HAHAHHA!

bhoo: bo bian. hehehe. son uniform 2sets, either i wash everyday or i 2day have to wash n hang liao. than my own clothings n hub de also have to wash ar.. but is heng i got dryer la. else i tell u must kiap until ki siao! but hor.. dryer no good is cos u keep washing but u dun fold =X!

BB: *respect*.. 8yrs! *CLAPS*

joy_javen:u power leh.. took leave to go fair... shioks! buy more !!!

laura: self shave canot ma?

i recommend shick! the one twin sided de, one side can trim bush one. the other side is shave. battery operated. to trim u turn on. shave dunit. not pricey less than $20 =)

I am not staying with my mil but my hubby has been toying with the idea as it is more convenient for our bb to be taken care of...however i also agree with BB that it is the parent responsibility to take care of our bb and grandparents are to enjoy the joy from their grandkids.. if they are happy looking after their own grandkids, of coz it will be great!

joy: enjoy your shopping!! your inlaws family is really huge with so many kids! it should be fun and your bb wil have playmates too!

cookie: where are you situated now?? so you are working oversea? is your hubby with you?

so busy at work today.. will continue to post later! ;p

lili_gal: I have freckles all the while so feel no diff, but lately my face sure is having more outbreaks on the forehead and jaws.
And now the centre of my palms dunno why so very very itchy.

Hey! Notti thoughts is always there but it's my hormones making up the wet dreams lah dek...
Darn! These 2 nights so peaceful, want to high a bit also no dream. Slept like a dead log.

Rykiel: You mean shave where? Under arms no prob but legs a bit tough. My V? I think I need a lawn mower. Furthermore, I can't even see my belly button. Let alone my V.

haha i cant even be bothered with my legs for eons.. everyone seem to be in a good mood today! must be bcos it is thurs =)

have to work this wk, i also took leave to go baby fair tmr!

Rykiel,
Me woke up to pee n couldn't sleep back as back aching. So surf net a while.

Seem like a few of us are on leave tmr.