(2012/07) Jul 2012

hmm mahjong, I think most of my relatives know already, spread by my own hubby/grandma/etc..
Most of my close friends also know, makes it easier for me to complain to them when i feel so sicky, lolz.
But will still be waiting till like OSCAR pass/13th wk, then officially announce to those who still dont knw.

Lovestory, i dont hv ear block.

So our appetite will cm back during CNY? I walk pass Bwa kua shop recently and the smell was horrible to me.. yucky yucky..

bambi: i smell bird nest i also turn off.. actually i am turn off by almost everything...

nothing seems to make me have better appetite leh...

Recently my gynae gave me this syrup said will help my appetite.. i eat already i go vomit.. i felt worse!! LOL!! i should tell him i want refund!!

Wah.. Bird nest.. good stuff.. u also turn off.. probably wait till 12th week, u will feel better

For me, though i puke..i stil love to eat alot of things.. especially spicy food. Think all the laksa and curry food are making me fat.

For those having bad ms, maybe can try eating an apple. I took it everytime i felt sick, it helps.

Ourlovestory: me! Starting to hv blocked ears today. And for the past 2 days been waking up with bad headache on left side.

I am wk14 todAy. No vomitting but still no appetite. Only like fruits.

I'm in my 13th week gg to 14th now. But even after i hit week 13, i still vomit about 2 to 3 times a day! hope all the MS will be gone soon and will have appetite during CNY.

Why cannot drink lotus root soup? i drank a few times alr. =X

Thanks Mahjong. *Wave.

E tan
I dont like apple puke after eating running out of ideas which fruits to eat now?
I'm eating punes to help me in consipation.

Happyjul
U check with gynae why will hv Blocked ears?

E Tan, apple seems to give me lotsa gas ! dont know why..Weird right?

Ya LFC, agree, yest i was askin hubby when will I ever enjoy eating again.

Dont know if pantang or what, sometimes when u feel u getting slightly better, and when hubby ask, and u reply "yah, like bit better today." And next moment, stomach is feeling awful again. Like now. Grrr...

Seoulover - yeh.. Maybe we will give birth on the same day with same gyane.. Haha
When is your Oscar test? Mine is on 11 jan

Joanne - i was previously from ivf support group .. I actually know u too.. I conceived naturally for this pregnancy
And I wanna congrats u too!

happyjul, you should feel better since you have completed your trimester 1? no?

the blocked ear is very irritating and i scared that i am talking too loud because it is echoing inside and i can't hear properly ...

mango and orange are good! btw can we eat papaya?

Thng: nv check with gynae on this yet but I remember my family doc ever mentioned Tt it has something to do with my low blood pressure(I anaemic). OurLovestory, you also hv same low blood prob as me?

Fruits- I am taking grapes, cherries, kiwi, strawberry, apples. Rather take fruits than main meals. I see rice/noodle I feel
nauseas. That time the gals were talking abt laksa, I also went to try and puked.

Bird nest: hv you gals started birdnest? I hv no idea wat types to buy? Bottle ones good? Some were like one bottle for one time consumption , also hv that kind one bottle eat a few times one( more concentrated). Dun know eic ones better.

recently i also like fruits alot..

wen we divulge our secret to MIL 2 weeks back, she said she oredi suspected n told FIL coz my appetite tells it all...normally i v greedy, would finish up all foods one, but recently eat like a bird..

Ourlovestory: supposed to feel better than a few weeks back as no more puking recently. But still no appetite. This is my #2.

Yah... I also hv echo when I talk. V irritating and can't hear v well. My blocked ear only one side- the sane side I experienced headache lor.

happyjul, my blocked ear also on one side (left side).. i do have low blood pressure but it should not be serious right?

as for birdnest, i prefer to double-boil it on my own else i will take those concentrated bottle...

Ourlovestory: if hv low blood pressure, gynae will ask us to take iron pills. Think during pregnancy, baby needs oxygen and so cannot be too low. U can chk with gynae on next visit.

I dun know how to choose and cook those raw birdnest leh.. Got xue Yan, guan Yan and jin si Yan...which type is good? So for convenient sake, I Tot just buy bottled ones.. Keekee

Lotus soup is ok... Black bean soup too. Infact black bean soup is a good source of protein for us. Etan: you can satisfy your craving Liao. Envy u, puke Liao still got appetite..

As for fruits, I'm eating kiwi and blue berries. High vit c and anti oxidant.

I'm 13 week 1 day now... Hooray, 6 month+ to go. But
appetite still vv bad leh. Eating like a bird... Once in awhile
still puke like merlion. Hope it ends soon!

LFC: I am like you, everything makes me feel er xin. Nothing is like appetizing. Even when I have craving for one day, the next day it disappears... Sigh

ourlovestory- y papaya cannot eat? i still eat but try not to eat excessively of one fruit...a variety would be good

happyjul - better start 2nd tri onwards...buy those raw ones tat weigh by liang, then go back double boil ourselves (if got time la)...else can buy those concentrated ones that lasts for few days kind also not bad i feel - convenient!

YM: same lor... i feel different everyday.. i mean with regards to food.. one day like it.. another day i dont..

Still eating like a bird too... but i try to snack more often to prevent nausea...

ourlovestory, no worries, I understand..for me..just trust my gut feeling..feel comfortable when first saw her..most importantly her house must be cleaned and got space for our bb to move around..i have few mummies friends who also engaged nanny service, so far so good n some treat their kids like own, buy lot of stuffs for them..my nanny is ok, not too bad, at least my boy was happy when there..with nanny, we can speak out and tell them wat to and not to do but with our own mum n mil, it really depends..

u dun need to confirm her service on d spot, u can consider or compare few..i confirmed my nanny the day i visited her..

winningstar, i pm u ok cox cant post their name here..is prohibited.

happyjul, i am already taking iron, calcium and dha pills but i am skipping the iron pills because i cannot stand the smell!
i will need to ask my gynae to give me another type to try for my next visit...

the guan yan bird next is good enough, i always buy from dragon brand one.. just remember that bird nest nutrition is the same regardless if it is in one piece or in strips!

Papaya: Avoid during pregnancy
If you are pregnant or trying to become pregnant, avoid eating papaya or using a papaya product. Papaya is sometimes recommended for soothing indigestion, which is a common ailment during pregnancy. Although a fully ripe papaya is not considered dangerous, a papaya that is at all unripe contains a latex substance that triggers uterine contractions and may cause a miscarriage.

The papaya enzyme that helps soothe indigestion is called papain, or vegetable pepsin. Papain is found in the fruit's latex and leaves. 1 Researchers have noted that unripe papaya latex acts like prostaglandin and oxytocin, which the body makes to start labor. 2 Synthetic prostaglandin and oxytocin are commonly used to start or strengthen labor contractions.

References
Citations
Papaya (2004). In DerMarderosian A, Beutler J, eds., Review of Natural Products. St. Louis: Wolters Kluwer Health.

Adebiyi A, et al. (2002). Papaya (Carica papaya) consumption is unsafe in pregnancy: Fact or fable? Scientific evaluation of a common belief in some parts of Asia using a rat model. British Journal of Nutrition, 88(2): 199–203.

Source: http://health.yahoo.com/pregnancy-re...e--tn9779.html

i also have blocked ear on one side (always right) which only started from week 12 onwards. im week 13 + now. so its not just me... anyone know why?

winningstar, u not accept pm..u can call 9747 2405..or u type adrian nanny on google..u will be able to find the website..is baby nanny (baby in short form)..

ourlovestory - OMG!!! i been eating quite alot of preserved Mo Far Kor (preserved dried papaya, figs) to ease my nausea...n motion sickness..hopefully is made from full ripe papaya! (am now in self-denial mode

mahjong, when i typed it, it mentioned the name is not allowed..i think sgpmotherhood wants to avoid for free advertising..

Hi everyone. I m into my 12th week. Not vomitting everyday now but very nausea everyday. I m doing the blood test tomorrow. If everything is ok, I will join the group? I don't hv ear blocked but I m so sensitive to MSG I hv to brush my teeth n clear my tongue at least 3 times a day. Anyone has the same problem? I m afraid of pork for weeks! Hv been eating lot of chicken rice.

The bottled bird nest is not as effective as the raw ones. From 4th month onwards, I plan to take one week codyceps n one week bird nest same when I had my #1. If you hv no time, just brew the bird nest in the mini slow cooker for 4 hrs after u come back from work. Either drink it before bedtime or keep in the fridge n bring to office to drink in the morning.

I was told no papaya too so better avoid. Anything for the baby, myths or whatever, just listen for these few months for the baby.

Ourlovestory
I drink lots of papaya soup b4 pregancy didn't know cannot eat so much.
Now I eat 1 slice only once in a blue moon
Thanks for info.

Birdnest cook urself is better coz less sugar,my sis bought me Jin shi yan from hock hua.
If not those concentrated birdnest in bigger bottle is better than those pk in 6bottle in a box one.
Don't buy from yu ren seng they chrg too x le.

Thanks lovestory. Gonna eat less or no papaya.

I'm too in wk 12. Also still nauseous n vomit at times, gt motion sickness too. Sianz.

Qing-er : Thanks for the info. I will check it up.

During lunch time, I went to check with my company nurse and she say better take medicine prescribed by doc as the cold virus can pass through the placenta and affect baby ... she say is ok to take antibiotics after 1st trimester. I still in dilema if want to take or not cos still got cough and also recently flu

I also have blocked ear at the left for the past 1 week. I nv thot is pregnancy related. hahaha, i still keep cleaning my ears. I am 14th weeks 3 days. And I m still puking. Any gal still puking after 13th week? or really stop puking liao?

Winningstar,

Last pregnancy, i was prescribed with antibiotics for very bad cough during my 2nd trimester. No choice, has to eat, if not keep coughing till lung coming out meh. If i m not wrong, only 1 -2 antibiotics available for pregnant lady.

can eat ginseng during 1st tri ? what abt yang sheng ? my MIL made yang sheng soup for me once, i drink already ok, but last week think she boosted and made ginseng soup. i drink already sore throat and fever for 1 week. wonder if its becos its too heaty or did i get the bug elsewhere

bestberries> I was told ginseng cannot be taken during pregnancy. 'Cos ginseng affects your blood pressure so should be avoided.

Hi BB

can you elaborate on the benefits of birds nest? I actually heard too much is not good as they may contain feathers which may irritate the lungs

i take cordyceps on and off throughout pregnancy too but in the form of bottled chicken essence. Except in the last 2 months of pregnancy as it's really too heaty. by then i switch to "cooling" drinks like coconut twice a month. do you boil your own cordyceps?

Not sure if it's due to the chicken essence but my #1 still has rosy cheeks even up to now

Aylie, I heard from a mother also chicken essence gives rosy cheek. Her daughter already in teens. Still gt rosy complexion

hi bestberry.. i'm a SAHM.. but am planning to go back to work end of the year. *sigh* not sure how! ROFL~

try to avoid ginseng esp in first trimester..