(2012/04) Apr 2012

what are the symptons of an ectopic pregnancy again?
Does it usually comes with spotting?
If not spotting means not ectopic pregnancy is it?
Anyone can advise?

Hi MummyJesline,
There are no definite signs of etopic pregnancy. But usually, if the doc cant scan for the sac when u are abt week 5/6, they will have to take blood test if they suspect.

other symptoms are sharp pain on ur womb, or spotting of more brownish discharge. Spotting may be common on early pregnancy. If the are more blood, pls consult your doc.

Hi mummies and mummies to be, how do u all deal with constipation? I had that and was pretty afraid to push too hard when doing biz as I had sharp pains below, on left and right sometimes.

Hi summer,
I have constipation now too. My doc comment it is too early and i am likely to suffer till i give birth. It could be due to the iron supp that he gave me too.

He mention to eat more fruits and vege. Prune juice is good for constipation and you can drink more than 1 glass a day. Drink plently of water too. If really nothing helps, doc can precribe something to loosen the stool.

hi, i also heard alot of mummies experience constipation. I wont as I am taking some supplements like Fibre. and take more fruits such as papaya and banana..

Thanks mossie and jojay. I will try to take prune juice and fruits, see how it goes.

Jojay: my mum told me not to eat the small bananas. Not sure to believe or not, guess everything in moderation is best.

Am in my 8th week now eating colic and calcium pills. Tummy already started to show and itch. Nauseous is better now coz taking many small meals and soupy food.

Hi all, wish to join u all. I am preg with no.3. Will only be seeing gynae on 17 sep. I should be at week 6. Other than tiredness, no other symptoms yet. Other than my hubby, have yet to announce to family. Cos dun knOw how to tell in law

I just went to the doc today. He is charging $90 for consultation today. My mother and hubby are against me changing doc so i guess i have no choice.

i saw the sac today! so i am safe from etopic pregnancy. He ask me to go back next week since the sac is still too small. I am thinking of dragging it till end next week and hope that i can see the heartbeat also.

Bad news is, i have a cyst on the right side. The cyst is about 2cm... much bigger that the sac.
doc adivse that it will go off for most women in their 3 month so i pray hard that it will disappear soon enough.

Hi Sharon & JoJay,

Welcome and congrats!!!

Hi mossie, I also have a cyst on the right. the cyst is to stop our menses from coming, so in a sense gd to have for in the first 3 mths and common.

My gynae say will go off for most women in first 3 mths too. Hope ours will disappear in 1st 3 mths too.

Hi ahNah, are u a papa from Aug 2010 thread? I think your name looks familiar..

Yeah if spotting need to see gynae asap and see if they can give duphaston or a jab if need to stablise the condition.

Selling BN 150ml GAIA Belly Butter for $20 (inclusive of ordinary local post). Retail at $29.90. Expiry date: Best Before Oct 2014

Organic, helps to maintain suppleness and elasticity of stretching skin during and after pregnancy.

Enriched with certified organic shea butter, rosehip oil and cocoa butter.

May reduce the possibility and appearance of stretchmarks during and after pregnancy.

See details and product at GAIA website http://www.gaia.com.sg/products/pregnancy.php

http://www.gaia.com.sg/testimonials.php

wonder if anyone like me is looking at bb things and clothes liao? I know its too early but i cannot resist the temption.

Wondering anyone would be keen to join in the fire station tour for your kid(s) for those not first time mummies. I m thinking of organising a trip on coming sat to go. Anyone keen?

Hi leebabytwo!

I haven't started looking at bb stuff BUT I already bought 10-12 pieces of maternity wear for myself!!! To me is if u like it just buy... Hahaha..

What fire station tour is that?

Hi Summer, i googled it and and the cyst is actually good for the baby. It produce progesterone for the baby to grow.

Leebabytwo, i have been looking at baby blothes online but i pang tang so i wont buy them yet.

I have not told my in laws but already told my parents and sister because of some work issue. My mum was so happy that she went to tell my auntiesssssss.... sian. I chidded her for doing that.
anyway, i told my aunties not to mention anymore.

now i am banned from travelling and ive not told my colleagues yet.

ButterPanda,
Lol! Me too shop for Maternity wear cos my pants cannot wear liao.
I m going to si ma lu to go look for gao li to soak into the martell tomolo. Seems like more kiasu than the first pregnancy.

Fire station tour,
from June to Sept, certain fire station has open house to organised groups of max 50 people a time. So m thinking of going. Anyone wanna join? we jus organise a few people then can go liao. Those who is expecting first child here can beg, borrow or steal one to go along. LOL!

Mossie,
i also quite pang tang but second child i like cannot resist temptation. Told some of my friends n relatives about my pregnancy liao. Also bot a few things liao. Now my house upstairs is having drilling sound should be ok bah? LOL!

Hi summer and butter, yes I'm a papa from Aug2010.

We went down to Gleneagle a&e last night. Lucky everything is still ok. Had requested for a jab n the pills.

Total damage is around $480.

Butter, how come u saw my nick b4 ?

Me went for my 1st gynae visit on monday! So exciting... Even though this is #2. haha...
@ 6weeks 2days. can see flicking heartbeat on screen. EDD 21 April 2012. Next visit in 3 weeks time. Then need to schedule for oscar test again. argg... draw my blood again. darn.
My gynae charges:
Consultation: $50
Ultrasound: $100
Urine: $5
Stretch mark cream: $47
Other medicines i bought from outside myself for now. She suggested folic and calcium which i already have. Will start to get DHA from her later.

Gynae Packages. I should be able to get mine from around 14 weeks. For #1 I also started around then.
Mummies who are going for package, remember to get a good breakdown of what you get. Which weeks you get scanned, etc. For #1, my package wasn't exactly worth it, cos I delivered @ 37 weeks due to early dilation and increasing blood pressure. But this is unexpected upon signing package. Never get to make full use of the weekly visits from 36 weeks onwards. Haha...

I have also ordered a lot of maternity dresses online! waiting for them to be delivered! so happy. I think my hb going to scream. I already have an entire bagful stored in my cupboard from #1. But just can't stop myself from buying. I think i have enuff maternity clothes to not repeat for 3 work weeks. Yikes. Fashion show!

Hello Jojay,

My EDD is 24th Apr.. the last few days I feel disgusted at the thought of food (Except cheese burger for some reason), and can't eat much.

I keep having the feeling of vomitting but can't vomit. Is this normal? It's pretty uncomfortable

congrats cheekie! Dr didn't let you hear the heartbeat? such heavenly sounds! lol
which websites do you order your dresses from? share share?

littledd: me too. i HATE the thought of having to eat. it's really a chore. so afraid when it comes to meal times. so worried that i'm losing weight (i am underweight enough).

tangerinez: Nope. I never get to listen to heartbeat. I am happy just to see the flickering! For #1 I only get to hear once when I did the oscar scan. But that's good enough.
I bought the maternity dresses from asos.com. Free international shipping. This is the 1st time I am getting Maternity Dresses from there. So will give my feedback when my loot comes.

I have already lost half a kg since preg. Strangely I am eating and no puking. But don't know why still lose weight. Oh well. Maybe this time round also same as #1. Will only gain weight from 5th month. I have enough reserves on myself to last me till then! hahahahaha....

LittleDd: There are also smells which makes me want to puke. But no puke. It's ok not to puke. The same feeling comes when I am extremely hungry. I try to keep to small meals a few times a day. Keeps puking at bay. I totally LOVE cheeseburger when I had #1. Don't worry too much about what you want to eat, but do try to keep to healthier food.

Yeah! Cheeseburger or any saltish soup-based food like chicken macaroni are the only foods I'd take in.

Can't wait for my first appt this Friday! Am hoping to see/hear something.

CheekyDuckie, any other sites you'd recommend for online maternity buys?

tangerinez, you don't get any cravings at all?

i think i would love cheeseburgers except i've stopped eating beef for some time.

my cravings? no specific food but mainly anything with a 'heavy' taste like fast food, curry, roti prata, mee pok with chili etc. if it's something bland, i'll have to pile on the chili. started to like sweet things too.

2 more days to your 1st checkup! how exciting! 6 weeks plus right?

Hi gals..

I think my EDD is April next year.
This is my 3rd pregnancy and I am tinking of terminating it
My first born is 2008, second born 2010. And if I am going to proceed with this, it will be 2012 baby… all for my past 2 pregnancies, I am with the same company.
My boss will be unpleased to know that I am pregnant again for the 3rd time. It is not exactly a pro-family company

And moreover, with 3 kids, we are not sure whether can we sustain financially or not… haiz..
It is a big dilemma… sighz..

Afraid to live with regrets with the abortion etc etc… haiz..

Hi Goldfish,

I am pregnancy with no. 3 too. Company should not be your main concern. You can change to another company at worst. As for me, i have no helper. Mil will not want to take care of the third one and she doesn't like a maid. I might have to send her to infant care after 4 months : (

hi littledd, i also hate the feeling.. i puke out again today just now immediately after lunch...

i feel hungry, but dun have appetite and dun like meat..

i will be seeing my gynae tmr nite.. really looking forward. perhaps everything will be fine..

Goldfish, actually i am now having #2 and this is not planned also.. but after discuss with my hubby, we will just accepy what the god give to us..

You must think twice, cos some ppl want to have but cant conceive..

discuss with your hubby and your family and dun live with regrets

Previously I only bought a few nursing tops, bras online. Don't really dare to get maternity clothes. Cos need to try. Comfort is very important.

My suggestion: Bottoms like skirts and pants, better go shops to buy cos when you sit and fit is bad, tummy will be very very uncomfortable. There are a few shops in United Square (near novena mrt) that sells maternity clothes @ affordable prices. I got my maternity jeans for around $50. Very good investment.
Dresses and tops you can also get from these shops. But if you want to buy online also can. Measure your bust carefully. Buy after 1st tri if possible. Cos our boobies still growing.

This is the first time I am buying maternity tops and dresses from ASOS.COM. Update on the quality and fit again later when they arrive.

Some MTB will go for baggy normal clothes all the way. It's really a matter of preference. My views is that these "baggy clothes" can work to abt 7 months, beyond that, they need to be real baggy, so fit @ shoulders and bust is wrong. Doesn't look professional for work.
Mummies who need jackets/blazers can try maternity exchange. Cos you can rent! Good if you just need for 1 or 2 meetings.

Some sites i found:
http://www.mylittleangelsmaternity.com/
http://www.eggmaternity.com.sg/?gclid=CPCYg7H1-KoCFYd66wodhzOFGQ
http://www.stylishmum2be.blogspot.com/
http://www.shop.maternityexchange.sg/shop/index.cgi
http://www.mothersenvogue.com/help.php

On a side note, mummies who intend to invest in maternity clothes. Better buy as early as you need them, so that you can wear them as many times as possible. Else not worth it. And you will be comfortable also.
I tried desperately to fit myself into existing clothes for #1. Only to switch to full maternity clothes at around 6 months. Lucky can reuse for #2. Else really waste money.
Get a few nicer dresses, which you can wear for dinners and recycle for CNY.

Shoes: I have already dropped all my heels.
Covered shoes will work till about 2nd tri. After that, most will get water retention, and most likely feet will increase in size. So covered shoes won't work well. Most likely need to get nice "slippers" or sandals.
Fitflops or tighter slippers will not work due to the water retention in feet later on as well.

Feeling shity whole day..
lunch had been stuck in the mid for hours..

Kept yawing since i woke up..

What the hell is this!!!
Very fustrating..

Sorry mummies need to vent out a little here..

CheekyDuckie,
Yups! agree with you buy your clothes early and u can utilise them as much.. babydall dresses/ tops will work well too if you dun want to look to preggy now.. and it will last well for a couple of months more after delivery.. but if you intend to get something to use after delivery, do consider those with buttons for easy nursing/ pumping.

Hi goldfish
Do consider carefully. I'm also preggy with 3rd child and this was also unplanned for. But hubby and I decided that we shld just accept what fate has in store for us. Agree with Sharon that company shld not be your main consideration. Can always change job after your maternity is over if they are that unhappy. Not as if we purposely planned for it rite?

Actually since you already have 2 kids, a lot of stuff can be recyled? As for financials, things can always work out if you plan your financials more carefully and dun spend unnecessarily? Of course having said that, it really depends on what you want in your life as different people have different expectations.

Re maternity clothes, I also can't resist buying and ordered some from oldnavy during their sale =)
When I digged out my old maternity clothes, then I realised I already bought so many new ones during #2. hahaa...

hi mtbs!

im not gng to buy maternity clothes, just gng to get normal clothes that is flare cut or babydoll cut will do. Will only need to buy maternity jeans and pants only. But actually, now I don't like to wear pants/jeans and prefers to wear dresses. Fuss free for those toilet breaks!

Goldfish,

I'm expecting no.3 as well.

do consider throughly..

Like all said.. U'll not work in the same company for a lifetime... do take that as an excuse...

If really do not want the child admit to the actual cause and do not regert for making a wrong decision.

If you finally decide to keep the child please do love the child as much as his/ her slibings...

Mummies...

I just came across this..

Listeria infection and pregnancy
Listeria infection, or listeriosis, is an illness usually caused by eating food contaminated with bacteria known as Listeria monocytogenes. Healthy people may experience no ill-effects from listeria infection at all, but the risks are substantial for pregnant women. The greatest danger is to the unborn baby, with increased risk of miscarriage, stillbirth or premature labour. A listeria infection is easily treated with antibiotics, but prevention is best.

Some foods are more prone to contamination with listeria than others. Exclude these foods from your diet if you are pregnant:
- Soft cheeses, such as brie, camembert and ricotta – these are safe if served cooked and hot
- Precooked or pre-prepared cold foods that will not be reheated – for example, pre-prepared salads, pate, quiches and delicatessen meats like ham and salami
- Raw seafood such as oysters and sashimi or smoked seafood such as salmon (canned varieties are safe)
- Unpasteurised foods
- Soft-serve icecream.

The organism that causes listeria infection is destroyed by heat, so properly cooked foods are not a risk.

URL: http://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/bhcv2/bhcarticles.nsf/pages/pregnancy_and_diet?open

What!! No Soft Serve Ice cream!! sob sob..

erm ladies,

If you really feel like puking.. and office only have 1 ladies toilet.. how huh?

I have not announce anything to my office people.. and if i go puking the whole world will think i'm sick / pregnant..

I'm holding back to puke these days..

Feeling really terrible.. how huh..

i guess if you really have to puke, just do it? if pple asks, tell them you ate something heavy and had indigestion? or food poisoning? of cos when you use the same excuse too many times pple will suspect but as long as you dun "admit", you didn't break the pantang rule. right?

1st trimester is really terrible. i just feel like staying home and feeling sorry for myself the whole time. try talking to baby. i know the little one can't hear yet but it seems that when i talk to the little one, the MS gets better. no harm trying...

hi Sunsweet, I do understand your feeling.

Our office have 1 ladies washroom with 3 cubicles, but I will hold it when i heard someone is in the ladies, and then continue to puke when i know no one is inside the washroom.

I am also worry if my colleagues knows at this early stage..

So, i go wash room very often as if i see people inside then i will come out quickly..

It seems quite difficult to give reason like eat something wrong, food poisoning, gastric, etc... ppl might also suspect cos cant every day have all these problem..

if really cant avoid, just smile when ppl ask ... not sure if other mummies have the best excuse..

Hi, mummies, my edd is 11 Apr and want to join the thread. Just scanned two days ago @7 weeks. MS is more like evening sickness for me. Always feel bloated at dinner and have puked a few times. Also get bad headache and can only try sleeping it off. Anyone face similar problems?

Hi sunsweet, any chance of using a toilet on another floor? It must feel terrible to hold it in.

Hello CheekyDuckie,

I ordered maternity from asos recently too. They've quite nice range of colours & designs :D I did end up returning one dress though as material too thin and I ordered a large size only to realized that it was tight on me liaos. Thanks for the other site links. Will go take a look. Yes you are right, better to start with the clothes now than later on. Hehehehe. Thanks again!

i am new here, just went to my gynae and expecting #2 in April (EDD 22nd April). Nice to see that there are so many active mommies here. =)

Have almost new Babyplus prenatal education system $180 (used twice) and Angelcare baby sound and movement monitor (used,full set no box), AC401 deluxe selling mine for $170.
SMS 9336-4477 to reserve

I agree with cheekieduckie. My #1 Preggy experience told me a lot have to see the real thing n try the real thing. And glad this round I manage to buy like 10 pcs of maternity wear with sleeve!! My last round all no sleeve hate it!
I bought like 10 pcs for $600 after discount.. :p big one time spend!

Ah nah: I am from Aug 2010 thread too! So I coincide with ur wife again? Only thing is last time I only read din join the thread so u dunno me

Kimmy: Depending on your budget, u can get from Egg Maternity, think they have outlet in vivo. On the costly side. Else there's always Spring Maternity, outlets all over, mothercare, kiddy palace. There's quite a few shops of other brands in United Square too.
Personally I have gotten mostly from Spring, Mothercare (undies), Marks n Spencer (undies), and several shops in United Square.

I went for jeans, basic colour pants (black, Khaki, grey), some dressy tops for both work and play, some spaghetti tops for daily home wear/yoga classes, 2 sleeveless shirts for work/formal meetings, 2 t-shirts for dress down fridays, 2 dressy dresses for functions/work, 2 semi formal dresses which can wear to work or shopping.
I could still fit my normal blazer minus the buttons.
I started feeling very warm all the time towards the end, so the sleeveless, tubes, halters work very well for me. But do note that I had quite a bit of darkening of arm pits as the pregnancy went along. So the sleeveless was not such a good idea. I just refrain from raising my arms too much. =P
I also try to stick to knee length dresses so that I don't trip over the lengthy dresses.

Mummies who are intending to stick to normal clothes, do try to get those that's longer in length. Else tummy will start peeping out at the end. Not that nice for work if your work place is quite formal.

Hi. I am new here. I am expecting my first bb. Am 6 weeks 2 days. Going for check up on next coming mon to check bb HB. Blur now coz dun know what to expect.

butterpanda, oic.

Btw. for all your info.

Watson sell duphaston for $1.50 per pills.
Unity is selling at $1.55 but got 5% discount.