(2012/03) Mar 2012

Luthadel-> Thanks so much for the advice. Will now go for OSCAR and see results first. Was really quite worried about the amniocentesis. Hope results for OSCAR will be very good when the time comes.

Infant care cost varies... the mass market and mid range NTUC First Campus childcare centres (My First Skool and Little Skoolhouse brand respectively) charges on average $1,200 and $1,500 per month for full day care, before govt subsidy of $600 for FTWM. The teacher-child ratio is generally 1:3.

Carice
Ok here are some of the figures that I noticed for my son's first year:

Infantcare (after subsidy) - $780 +/- per month

Diapers - New born uses about 8-10 pcs of diapers per day.

Milk Powder - 1 tin (900g) every 2 wks.

Jabs etc - easily come up to $1200+ during the 1st 6-8mths

Hopefully the above will give you some idea how much to put aside. Also if you're thinking of infantcare, best is to start putting yourself in the waiting list now. I only got a place in the infantcare for my son 1 mth before I head back to work.

that's about $400/mth without infant care and apprx $1200 with infant care
(considering diapers as 30cents each, $40 per milk tin)

The compulsory jabs are free at polyclinics, right? If I remember correctly ...

Need to add in insurance, enrichment classes expenses as well.

woah.. additional 1200 per month!!!! that's a sum... i better start saving now... no wonder pple these days say kids are really expensive to have... i really feel it now...

Carice,
maid will be:
$450 (approx.) + $175 (levy) + $100+ (expenses) = $800 (roughly)

Infant care for working mum about $600 - $900 (after subsidy).

Think about the same.

BB, enrichment classes won't start until 4 yrs right? By then daycare cost is not as high already. :) Hahaaa. I'm not so KS don't intend for kid to start classes too early.

Carice,
Maid charges also not cheap these days. Avg salary is about $400 - $450 + $170 Levy. With that kind of money spent, I rather go for infantcare as my son really learn a lot of indepnence and social skills from there. However, infantcare are really hot so better put your name in as soon as possible.

BB
Some of the shots at polyclinics are free but the thing is that you probably would not want to bring a newborn baby to polyclinic where there are all kinds of sickness around right? I didn't feel comfortable in exposing my son so no choice got to pay higher price for his jabs.

Jo,
hehe, I didn't start my kids that early too but some friends sent their kids for Kindermusic, Gymboree kind of classes at 6mths so I'm not sure if the mummies here will be sending or not. If sending, will have to factor that in as well.

Adel,
my kids used to take some of the compulsory jabs at polyclinic. They have an express queue for newborns, don't have to queue/wait there. Go there register and go up to the vaccine room straight.

Anyway just an additional option for mummies who are comfortable with the idea.

BB: 6 mths? Wow that's kinda young. What do they learn there?
Adel: which r the free jabs? U mean if go private there's more jabs given?

Jo,
I remember MMR is free at polyclinics. Can't recall what other jabs are free.

For kindermusic, they do movements, stimulate bbs' senses with musical instruments.

As for Gymboree, they let bbs explore the senses and support visual and auditory development with tummy time, flashlight play, songs & etc ...

Both classes start as early as newborns.

Newborn. Hmmm interesting. A child's brain is not developed till 2 yrs, guess the first course I'll send is swimming so that kiddo will not fear water.
The rest he/she will just pick up at home till 4 yrs.

Jo,
I guess those classes are more for interaction & play and for working mums that doesn't have the time to go thru the activities with bbs at home.

I ever brought my kids for the trials before but they didn't quite like the classes.

For me, we did not send my son to all those enrichment classes before 2 yrs old as I find that we can do similar activities with them at home and they get a lot of stimulations as well if they're in the infantcare.

My son's enrichment classes now are all done in his childcare. I only intend to start him on music, dance and art when he turns 3 yrs old this yr. After that, it will depend largely on his interest and if he is not keen, we are not going to force him.

BB
I didn't know that they've express queue for newborn!!! Alamak, wasted my $$ then!! hahaha....

I'm in a meeting now but I'm so tired & feeling pukey that I can't focus. Decided to "act busy" by coming into this forum ;p

BB:> Yup, my gal will go to my ex-primary school. In order to prepare her for that, we shifted to a place nearer to the school earlier this year (& she's less than 2yo). I super kiasu.

LuthAdel:> Agree with u. Definitely go for OSCAR... amnio quite invasive so if can avoid than don't do. I didn't do amnio when I had my 1st one & I was 36yo then. On infantcare, I also agree with you that babies are more independent. But I think with 2nd one, it's more economic to keep my maid. Plus my mother doesn't trust infant/childcare as she said babies fall sick easily... But maid also has their own set of problems. Sigh...

Jo:> My gal went to Gymboree when she's only 5mths then I transferred her to Growing Up Gifted at 8mths. Wahaha... but now that I think back, I think it's more effective when they start enrichment classes from 10-11mths onwards. My gal started swimming in my home tub from 3mo onwards so she loves swimming now. If you want to babies not to develop fear of water, you need to start them before they turn 6mo.

<font color="000080">Jo >> Not true that child's brain not developed until 2yrs! I used to be with Sh*ch*da ;) Actually the right brain develops from 0 to 6 yrs old, then stops developing; then left brain development takes over and right brain starts degrading. So what you have by the time you're 6yrs is the max you'll ever get! Before 6yrs is a great time to develop things like music, spatial, mental calculation.

Having said that, enrichment classes very expensive - already very expensive just for basic bb necessities!</font>

Zelda: okies will bear that in mind. Think pool too cold for babies too.
tethysea: rem that from my lessons that the prof says anything below 2 not that helpful. Plenty of time to find my old text. :)
Think pre-sch more ex than pri sch.
Want 2 kids think got to work out the sums. Not easy

<font color="000080">Jo >> You did early childhood?
Yar the Sh*ch*da stuff is more "experimental", I would say. Some runs contrary to what we've learnt, but then again we know so little about the brain... I'm not advocating going to Sh*ch*da though, cos I dun agree with the s'pore branch and how it's run. But that being said I've seen amazing results from kids who've been thru the programme under properly trained instructors.</font>

Tethysea-> Was Shichida effective for your child? Hmm... I think Shichida is only effective if parents carry out the home practice daily with the child at home. My son was attending Shichida class till recently (almost a year) but he refused to let us carry out home practice and we gave up trying after sometime.. He wasn't really interested in the weekly class as well.... Didn't really see any devt so we took him out. It's so expensive...

whole of last week was on course, and the last day of the course got an exam... its terrible...
by evening time i am tired, puked, and still need to review for exam... just barely passed the exam at the end...just nw i went to the toilet bowl to puke...oh... feel really terrible.

cant wait to knock off...

<font color="000080">Mei >> I'm expecting my first. I meant I used to work there (not as instructor, but as developer for some of the learning devices, adapting the Japanese stuff for local).</font>

<font color="000080">Mei >> I stay near tpjc. You?

I tried cooking dinner just now, feeling super nauseous now. Just the smell of it from the kitchen is making me feel sick. Boohoo, bb don't like my cooking

tethysea: no la it's some v basic ones from the psychology module. some things that we hear seems that not scientifically proven.

More for commercials, so personally will see how the kiddo is like &amp; not force him/her.
I also can't cook, E moment think of cooking feel nauseous. Hahaa

<font color="000080">Jo >> One of the more experienced instructors had a baby, and her son can do mental calculation even before he can speak! But like Mei said, has a lot to do with child's interest and constant daily exercises. I don't believe in forcing children to do things also.

Anyway I shouldn't cook again. Spotting came back! I thought it wasn't very strenuous... geez. Shall be guai and stick to my bedrest.</font>

Hi Mommies..

May I join this thread?

I'm tested positive for a Mar baby last night...
Came as a shock as I have no intention to have a 2nd child.. Haiz..

Lotusmum.. welcome and congrats!! :D

BB

im not at sgn north. i am at rosyth rd itself not where the school is. Rosyth pri used to be on rosyth road.. they moved to sgn north in the last 10 yrs i believe.

Hello.. I have a question: until now I have no idea the whole pregnancy test schedules. Do you have a list? If my pregnancy is viable: when will I do blood test and others test? How about the cost? I will google and try to find out. If you have handy list to share will be great

good morning everyone...

back to office this morning after a day rest...
this morning... when i put the tooth brush into my mouth... the neausea started and have to spend some time at the sink...sigh...

i really hope the first trimester will be over soon. the book said 2nd trimester supposed to feel lots better...

its a terrible feeling especially at work... when the nausea... cant focus and yet cant rest...
yesterday i spent most of my time on bed resting... my body just feel really lack of energy kind... my Hb commented i cant be like so lazy, must do some exercises, but i just do not have the energy...

hope today will pass fast...

JuniorMe... same here... felt terrible last nite with the nausea.. yet nothin comes out even when i forced it! in the end i was kept awake late into the nite.... i really din't expect MS nausea to be this bad... gosh... i fear each morning when i wake up... that feeling of weakness and discomfort and yet have to get out of bed and force myself to work...

hubby also keep saying i need to exercise... they can never understand... how to exercise when we can barely find enough energy to even stand and walk around...

MEN!

Anewmummy, there are 2 tests normally. Oscar at around 11 to 13 weeks which includes nt scan and blood test. Then at 20 weeks a detailed scan. Can't recall the costs though.

darine_gal>> i dreaded of morning nowadays... the moment when brushing teeth and "that" will comes... make me forced myself to vomit but just some water kind... and tears from my eyes...

in noon i also feel so one... monday... sudden feel terrible and has to rushed to office toilet to vomit... its scary!!

i had the nausea medicing with me and to be taken if really cant take it... but it will make me drowsy at work which is not good at work also... i have to force myself to keep awake...

like right nw, i had a choked feeling at my chest..its not good at all... sob....
i am thinking of getting MCs le...sigh...

Junior.... i totally understand what u mean... that 'something stucked in the throat' feeling... always there... yet cannot get it out and away... i also having it now... can't even eat breakfast... as much as i try to give bb nutrition.... i can't swallow...

u are in the 8 to 10 weeks? heard from other mummies that 8-10 is the peak of the hormones... so ms will be bad... bear with it! u are reaching the end of 1st trimester soon...

i fear now for this period.. me only in my week 7... and already feeling like crap... cannot imagine when the hormones are at a peak...

darine_gal>> i am at my week 9 this week...
nods... feeling terrible and stressed... next week i be attached out for some on site testing... its not out door, there will be bench for me to sit in the air con room...
the previous attachment, i have to work OT alomost everyday to rush work, i think i cant do OT now cos my bosy cant take it le... but i cant tell them i am preggy nw... only intend to do it at end of this month...
my HB said has to play by ears when i am there... sob...

like a sick person nowadays... no eneergy and feel tired... there is gum bleeding for me too...
stomach gets blaoted in the noon...
has to unbottomed my pant and wear longer top to cover...morning stomach is ok... but after some meal though small ones, stomach like so bloated!!
i kind of dislike all these... thats monday night when i resting on bed alone... thinking all these i am going though now, i cant help to weep...

argh ... dont know what wrong with me this two days ... yesterday eat fish taste abit smelly and feel like puke ... same goes to my lunch ... which i puke abit only after the smelly taste ... (heng i almost finish my lunch liao ... argh

Junior.. jia you! must ren for ur little bundle... i also cry to sleep very often... but i try to minimise... coz i tell myself that later baby also unhappy... for me.. drinking some warm / hot drinks helps.. like honey and stuff... help the bitter taste in the mouth and the nausea to be 'suppressed' a little bit... maybe u can try... as for stomach bloatedness... how abt try get those warmer bags? will not remove the bloating feeling but maybe the warm feeling can ease the discomfort a little bit?

i see that we are in the same plight... 1st pregnancy.... and dunno and didn't expect MS to feel like this and so uncomfortable...

but one thing good for u... and u must rem.. at least ur hubby is around for u! mine is overseas.... so i'm always on my own... cry also on my own... so u dun feel so alone k...

Gals ... Cheer up! Don't feel so down, not good for bbs.

I was feeling quite upset over the weekends and yesterday too. Feeling very sick and I lost my temper at the kids. Felt so bad after that. My hb had to keep reminding me the sibling is here to add on to their joy, not to cause them to get scoldings or etc ...

I noticed I get more sick, lethargic over weekends compared to weekdays. I tend to laze around or sleep through weekends but the more I sleep, the more tired and uncomfortable I feel.
Maybe instead of real exercise, can try go for strolls/walks at parks. Will make you feel more refresh and happier.
*but remember to bring plastic bags along hor, hehe.*

The 1st tri will pass v soon. Jiayou ...

Hello Everybody,

How are you doing the weekend and public holidays?

I am fully exhausted as my boy reach the age of terrible 2.

Visiting to gynae
I am visiting to my gynae every 2 weeks as well. Now only 9weeks + already visiting him 3 times. Each time spend abt 200+. Just visited on Monday and he ask me to go back another 2 weeks. I think this time is everything smooth, i will only go back ard 3weeks +. very expensive to see him every 2 weeks.

hi everyone, i had a terrible day yesterday... whatever i eat i merlion... but still have to force myself to do housework...

Today back to work feel so irritated. manager r not being understanding enuff and keep giving crap... feel like resigning and rest and home...