(2012/03) Mar 2012

wen wen.. ya... same question as BB... your gynae asked to see you once every 2 wks or just for the beginning? agree too that gynae visits are expensive... with a scan and consultation.. easily 160 bucks! although i wish i can see bb more often

luthadel... u sure will! rest well tonite so bb have energy tom!

I read that too many scans is not good for bbs. Not sure how much truth in the studies. I also hope to see bb as often as possible but at the same time worried about what I read too.

Wenwen,
wow, $330 is alot. You were given medications and jabs?

Bb, wow, steak!! Hmm, I shall go Hans next week too! Only thing is need to eat it fully cooked hor?

Mei, Tks! So no BBQ stingray for me then! Am bringing for the BBQ, so can see cannot eat!! I heard otah also cannot cos mackerel.

Thank god is Friday Liao!!! Wish all mummies a good break!!

I went for a scan this afternoon, saw bb's hb again, and this time, nurse pointed out head and hands to me. At one point, bb moved and saw the arms waving, so excited!

<font color="000080">starr_nn >> That sounds brilliant! Congrats! I can't wait to see that!

BB >> Oh dear, I'm having one v-scan every 3-4 days leh since last Saturday :S But because of the spotting lar, gynae needs to check that bb is ok. Super chor! Each visit plus jab is at least $100+.

wenwen >> So expensive?! TMC I thought supposed to be quite cheap!</font>

Yah lor. I'm seeing gyane weekly but this wk twice cos of spotting.
Also scared scan too much no gd. But no scan how to determine BB ok. Hmm

Congrats to all mums here!!! I am a newbie to this. Just realized I am week 6 pregnant and seeing my gynae tml. Got to see the bb hb in my 1st visit. wondering I can ask the doc to let me hear hb?

welcome isa~ yup.. u can request the gynae to let u hear the hb.. provided their machines has audio function..

gynae will point to u the blinking spot which is the hb! hee..

Hi, I had 
1. a brand new medela swing as a gift bought in mother care malaysia and still under warranty. Not US set so no need converter selling at $250

2.preloved Babyplus and Summer Clarity prenatal listening system (to listen baby movement) going as a bundle. 

Interested please msg 96922155 

Was super busy at work recently so didn't come into the thread.

Mrs Carice:> Same gynae so coincidental
You go to Tiong Bahru or Paragon? Tiong Bahru nearer to my workplace but place is too cramp so I'm at Paragon. When's your next checkup? Mine is Thurs, 11 Aug... don't know will bump into you or not?

This round my MS quite mild compared to 1st one. For my 1st one, I feel like dying everyday and I'm so sick that I can't talk (or else wanna vomit). But this time is a breeze... only nausea when hungry or tired so it's controllable. Any mummies like me? Maybe MS will come later to haunt me...

But I have to say some mummies have v good appetite! For me I can only eat small meals regularly. But stomach getting big now... n can only fit into dresses... looks like need to take out my maternity clothes from store room soon &amp; announce to the whole dept I'll be on ML next year! ;p

Zelda, haha, me looking forward to ml next year too! Hopefully they make changes and give more paternity leave too!

GG:> I doubt since next yr is Dragon yr such a lot of bbs. Most probably 2013 when it's yr of Snake.

wen wen:> your Gynae fees v ex but I'm no better as I need ti pay around $300 per wk for my hormone pills, jabs n crinone. Mine is IVF bb so v ex. Waiting for pay day next wk, v broke

Plus I kenna election duty! Dunno y I so heng. Will get letter from Gynae next wk when I see him. I don't think I hv e energy to work 12hrs non-stop.

Ladies, I went for my checkup today and saw my BB and a nice strong hb. However my amniotic fluid is very little and the water is half of normal size .I'llneed to scan again in 2 wks time and hopefully the water will increase else high chance that it may not be viable. So stress now

Luthadel, drink more water. A fren had same prob and after she increase her water intake, amniotic fluid went normal.

GG
Thanks  i drank 8 glasses a day and yet my lips feel dry. Will increase my water intake for sure. Can I ask if your friend was also in 1st trimester when it happened?

<font color="000080">Adel >> I was reading up online and it was mentioned that low amniotic fluid in 1st-trim may be due to mommy's circulatory system, eg if you have high blood pressure. No similar problem with your first?

zelda >> I know I'm nuts but I'm kinda dreading things like P1 registration. Haha! Seriously think too much too early. Dragon babies face a lot of competition man...

Craving cold stuff today... sneaked a bit of ice-cream, then went to eat sushi :p Hee. (But I ate the safe stuff like egg and pickles lar.) Can't wait for end of 1st-trim!

GG Lee,
I had the steak medium well, abit tough but still ok. If not can go for the pork or chicken chop set instead.

Adel,
Hope your fluid level goes normal at the next checkup. Be +ve.

Tethysea,
Yalor, dragon bbs will sure face lots of competition. I'll need to put in efforts to do PV for my "golden piglets" 1st so this dragon bb no need to headache.

I found another comfort food combi - weet bix breakfast cereal bar mixed with plain yoghurt. Can add in some fruits if you want. Very yummy and healthy snack! :D

I have went for my 2nd visit to gynae too. Heard the heart beat &amp; seen bb so now at least I am not that worried as 1st when nothing can be seen. Gynae told me to do the down sym test on wk 12 when I see her again. Will u gals be doing this as well?

<font color="000080">Pinky >> Yup, my gynae has advised me to do the routine blood tests for fetal abnormalities at 12wk.

I still haven't heard the hb yet
My gynae says his equipment too soft, haha. So now just have to be content w seeing the flickering dot.</font>

Hi everyone, I've updated the spreadsheet. Thank you BB for creating this.

Yesterday was my worse day of MS =(
I worked half day and went home to rest but keep throwing up non stop.

The toilet is like my second home now.

I also don't like room temp water, keep havin craving to drink coke, lemon tea and ice kaching. haha

Based on CD should be 7 wks 2 days but u/s shows as 6 wks. Wkly checks showed progress ok &amp; saw hb. But kind of worried y it's showing as a wk smaller. Hmmm. Edd might be later then.
MS got worse ytd w food reflux.

<font color="000080">Jo >> Don't worry, the u/s is rough guide. According to my print-out, it actually says "8w0d +/- 1w"! </font>

Tethysea,

So u will be doing the test as well? How many wks are u? I dun have serious ms but hormones changes quite fast for me. I can be having ms for 2 days those nothing to come out type than next day very hungry. My clothes some already can't wear so I duno if my stomach has already show or I am fat.

Pinky : me also can't wear the bottom Liao. Next week go holiday, I haven pack yet cause I don't know what to bring! Argh headache.

Zeida : I also kena duty but lucky I am reserve only.

<font color="000080">Pinky >> I'm in 8wk now. Yar, my m/s also goes on and off - one day cannot eat anything, the next day I'm eating 4 meals. From last week I was already having problem wearing my office clothes, so I got a bellaband - hopefully my existing wardrobe can last till end of 1st trim.</font>

tethysea:> No, u r not kiasu. I oredi tot of this! Yes P1 will be v stressful for us as competition v steep in Yr of Dragon. I hope my bb is a girl then she can follow her elder sis &amp; go P1. If not, my elder one will have to sacrifice &amp; go to mix school. My clothes oso v tight now &amp; my wardrobe is limited to dresses. My fren ever lend me the bellaband during my 1st pregnancy but it didn't help much as my hips have also expanded
Hope you have better luck with that.

BB:> Your snack is too healthy for me. Hahaha.... nowadays i crave for potatoe chips which I don't usually touch. I think I'm having a junk food bb ;p

Jia:> Hope you're feeling better now. My ms when I had my 1st one v bad too... my dad or my hubby had to fetch me to &amp; from work as I can't take public transport. If they were busy, I will take cab &amp; I stayed in W'lands previously so it's v ex! But no choice as everyday I felt like dying esp btw 4pm - 8pm. This round this bb quite nice to me &amp; my ms is v mild... I eat sweets can control the nausea oredi. How about you try ginger tea? It helped me alot previously.

Mrs Carice:> Where you gg? I long to go holiday but no chance. Now that my parents (they r helping me take care of my gal when I'm working with my helper) know I'm preggy, they have planned holidays in Sep, Oct &amp; Nov! They wanna enjoy b4 the bb come.

Pinky and Tethysea-> is the Down Syndrome test you are talking about amniocentesis or OSCAR? My gynae also asked me to consider amniocentesis as I've just passed 35. But kind of worried and can't decide as there's a 1% risk of miscarriage.

Luthadel-> don't worry and be positive ya! I'm sure everything will turn out alright and the amniotic fluid will be back to normal!

Zeida : hk n this preg surprise us cause we thought won't so HENG strike de which I suppose to be on clomid after my hsg...End up no need to take .... Dont think I can shop alot cause dr Fong ask me not to walk so much ....

Ladies : good morning ....

Zelda,
I crave for potato chips at times too but it's a horrible feeling when puked out. So now I try to eat things that won't hurt the throat or as yucky when puked out.

Your #1 will go to your ex-pri school?

Any mummies not going for the Oscar test? My gynae didn't mention anything. The next visit I see him, I'll be wk 11+ already so I guess he won't be asking me to do it?

Hi, congratulation to all mummy to be!
I m new in this forum &amp; my edd is 26/3..its my 1st pregnancy.
Hope to learn from all of your experience

I did my first scan last fri, 6w3d.. My gynae have to press
Very hard below my tummy to see bb &amp; she commented tt my bb is very low.. Afterwards I was issued w hormones pills &amp; folic acid.. Is this normal..? Thks

Good Morning Ladies

Mei &amp; GG
Mei I would suggest to go for the OSCAR and only go for amniocentesis if the results from OSCAR is not good. I did OSCAR for my previous pregnancy when I was already 38yrs old and the results were really good that my gynae said no need to do amniocentesis.

BB
I'll definitely go for OSCAR when I hit 12wks

mrs chris... i also wanna ask about that...
how much in infant care? and also how much other then the infant care charges do we need? need to start thinking about the financial aspects already...

mrs carice: it should be safe... i've been eating it before and since i noe i'm preggy. Just a matter of how your body take the food.

Mrs Chris: gd q! I've never thought of that. Oooh.
Granny will be care giver. Nice to know the costs to expect though. sec time mums can share?