(2012/03) Mar 2012

Hi just to share I just did my amnio yesterday. Process is not as scary as imagined. Not painful, no anesthesia, v fast procedure. Just relax stay still. Done in less than a minute. Then they followed up with a pretty detailed scan. After that they will ask u sit for a while before u go home. And make sure try to rest and must not carry heavy things or do housework for next 2 days or longer if possible. My doc say to b ks dun carry for a week. Been resting in bed as far as possible. So for mummies who need to do amnio, dun worry about the process ok. Let's hope our results will b ok!

morning !!
i skipped my OSCAR test. kinda chickened out.
aniwaes i cant help feeling emo whenever go for gynae scan test, cos can see my baby moving his/her hands (we called it dancing moves) hehe. will be taking Triple test marker end of this mth. hope everything will be fine.

loves to go to gynae clinic, cos thats the time where & when hub & me can see baby :D

my edd is on 3 Mar :D

oh ya, i've tried the predict baby gender by using my wedding ring & pc of my hair. its pendulum swing... so predict its a boy! hope thats sooo true! hehe

has anyone tried doing the predict test?

dym - i just checked the IFC in the area which i will be moving to and realised i don't have that many choices..can understand your situation..getting a good helper depends on luck so maybe better to play safe by confirming a place first..but would be quite tiring on you and hb without helper

Dym,
I was caught in the same situation. Considering between ifc/ccc or helper but hb prefers helper as can help to cook & housework. If we were to put #3 in ifc then we'll have to wake up vvv early to feed/pump, get the kids ready then send to different centres cos current ccc no ifc. After work still have to rush to fetch them, cook and settle them. By the end of the day, we'll probably be too tired to spend time with the kids. So somehow we decided on a helper instead of ifc.

Dym : although me and hb haven really decide what we going to do ... but i have register the IFC first ... just in case that no one take care of our little one ....

Michelle : i doubt u able to do the oscar ... cause up to certain week only ... (not v sure)

dym: the mummy is me lor... i am staying in punggol but putting my girl in PCF in sengkang central near the bungkok mrt. the waiting list is 50+, can't believe it when i do enquire. I am transferring my girl from infant to another child care centre in oct.

kelly - it is really depend on the centre operation. do call up and check it out.

Ask u all, if infant is 4 months old, and neck not strong enough yet, how to put in car seat huh? Have those toddler car seat right?

BB - u have helper now with u? or u send her back after ur kids go CCC?

Carice - im not that scared of not getting a space in IFC cos theres total 3 IFC and 1 opening soon near my area.

maplemummy - sorry forgotten who is the mummy. so have u got a solution???

dym, tell you when i select my maid I also headache bec just based on pic and a telephone call how to determine if she's good. So we short list 2 candidate and went to a temple we frequent to pray and leave it to God. So far she's quite good it all about luck.

My hubby also dont care much, and he's the one who push for No.2 then everything also tell me u decide lor why man are like that huh.

Dym,
we had a helper with us for the 1st 2 years then she wanted to go HK after her contract was up so we sent the kids to ccc. Preferably if the new helper can stay for long, we'll keep her cos by then the older ones will be in Pri 1, need someone to be at home for them too.

starr_nn,
there's infant car seat, you can google and see how it looks like. Todd car seat more for 6-9mths on.

kiki - haha! most men born to be lazy animals.. my fren is agent for maid. will be getting her to explain all the process to hubby. i explained so much to him but he still insist on helper. i told him those 'extras' that we have to pay if we r getting one. add up those 'extras', salary n levy izzit worth getting one or put in IFC..

bb: for my case, my girl new ccc oso dun hv ifc, we hv to travel 2 places. but i will not cook lor, maybe packet for dinner on wkday, wkend den cook. during the night, hubby will help me out to take care bb too, if not, i alone cannot handle 2. As we think hiring a maid, might hv communication prb and how u going to manage her. Not sure if the maid treat ur bb well anot. That why we put my kids in IFC.

Dym: No solution now. I called another PCF branch, which is opp my girl new ccc. the person incharge ask me to call bk in Feb, cos their waiting list is less than 10, chances higher, and by the time my little went in jun 12, most bb there already promoted to toddler. we will go n see the environment again, hopefully my hubby agree it, as he prefer the current IFC.

For those mummies who stay in SK, heard PCF is opening another new branch (punggol central) near compassvale crescent, shld be operating next yr. can call up n enquire.

BB - ya hor.. 2 more years we will be worrying about them going to P1... -_-" another headache! when u going to start to find one? if hubby decided on helper, i intend to start in dec cos jan is cny so might need her help. soon bian assess her from then on? my 1st time(If getting) getting a helper n i know nuts..

<font color="000080">GG Lee >> Thanks for sharing your experience! Fingers crossed for you! My amnio in 3 weeks time...

strongboy >> Downs is chromosome issue, nothing to do with being ill, don't worry! Since your first one fine then I think you should be ok!

Maplemummy,
I guess it boils down to individual comfort and past experience. My previous helper was a last min decision, transfer maid but she was of great help with the 2 kids. That probably gave me the confidence in helpers.

Plus I'm quite particular about the kids' diet so even though we can eat out but I prefer not to for them. Anyway we want some quality time with the older kids instead of just spending the evenings doing dishes, laundry, housework, pumping for bb &amp; etc ...

Dym,
I'll start to look for one probably late Nov or early Dec too. Same idea for helping out during CNY, haha! By then we'll be too big and heavy to do house cleaning so they can help. hehe.

still thinking hard whether to get maid, means a stranger living in. life will be diff. part time help means like now lor, Sundays burnt.
tummy must use stretch mark cream, what about peeling nipple? been like that for 2 days liaoz, super itchy been using body cream, can or not? or got special cream?

Maplemummy,
ya, we kind of explored most of the ways out. Anyway there's only 1 ifc at my place here and it's not exactly near to the kids' ccc ...

Actually can't blame couples nowadays don't want to have more kids. Even before the bb is out already so much things to think about, not to mention after bb is born. :p

BB - u r lucky to get one who can help u. i v ma fan.. i scared i cant live with another person in the house like i dun like my SIL living with me now. my hubby v chin chai cos he wont be facing the helper all day but i have to, even weekends too. any preferences of getting indo or filipino?

i'm also in a fix about ifc..
there are 3 choices so far that i have shortlisted:
1) ifc 5 mins drive fr my plc - 5 infants slot, teacher ratio 2:5, but both teachers are non-chinese, fees $850 after subsidy
2) ifc 5 mins drive fr my plc - new centre going to open in October 2011, 10 infants slot, teacher ratio 1:5, they say have asst teachers also, fees $1000 after subsidy
3) ifc 20 mins drive fr my plc - atas school, more exp, teachers supposed to be more caring and pro according to reviews, fees $1250 after subsidy..

I'm stuck..dont know which one to go for..for distance more convenient and wont kill ourselves, or atas ifc with more peace of mind in a way

starr_nn - theres two ard me oso(both walking distance). thinking of going for the Montessori house or the PCF(not yet open) OR helper. LOL.. ur side IFC is on the high side. )))=

V HARD! but do i have a choice? super regretted hubby's decision of letting her stay with us....... FIL did want to help me but SIL rejected his request of moving out my house. FML..

Dym,
i was vv scared too! haha! Let me tell you the "joke" that happened to me last time. My EDD was in Mar 07 so we went to get a maid in Dec 06, chosen a Phil helper, paperwork done, paid agency fee &amp; etc ...

I went back home and had nightmares every night about the helper! Couldn't eat well too. We ended up going back to the agency 3 days later, cancelled the maid and forfeited the agency fee too. Decided to let my MIL take care of the twins but turned out my MIL couldn't handle them.

We went back to the agency during the 2nd week of my confinement, got a Phil transfer maid there and then on the spot. Didn't have time to think or have nightmares and she was with us for 2 whole years. I guess some things are just fated.

dym - high hor? I also think they are exp! How much are the ones you have around your area?

Rejected yr husband's request to move out...hurhur..she abit buay zi dong since you will need the space right? maybe she should make some plans for herself..

BB - hope WE can find good ones! Good luck to both of us! (((= see if hubby got time to discuss with me if not, i gona decide myself soon.

starr_nn - Montessori house is 700 after subsidy (including dinner)
PCF Sparkletots(1 busstop away) is 577 after subsidy(not yet open)
there is oso 2 Cherie Hearts(2 - 3 busstops away) in the industrial area 850 after subsidy

i still got one space room if i need a helper. i just cant stay with her. but well, she knows how to 'avoid' me whenever im home. i seldom see her now. i just treat her as my invisible tenant.

chomp chomp - where will u delivering at? for the gender test half half , dont pin too much hope for those lol ..

dym - helper la , helper la ! u will be more relax lor

Daisy - dun like that leh. i v ma fan, i know. but cant help leh. no one wan discuss with me! ))= stressed leh. Verris not with me on weekends so weekends take care baby only, should be relax..

I m also thinking of either getting a helper or putting #2 into IFC.

The IFC near my mum pl is nt open yet but I registered first, just in case.

dym - lol , helper is bcos more relax for u , rly , altho ur work is damn eng but wen u get home , u have to do hsework , cook , look after baby cfm tired de ..

get helper and wen u get home on wkdays u can spend time having time with the 2 kids and wkends u can have 2some world with baby also

bobian , cos ur hubby leave decision with u ma ..

dym - got 2 is different maybe? Verris is quite big now and age gap not so close , might not be hard for u also , if u tink u can cope .. den IFC but seems like ur hubby wan helper lol ..

Daisy - agree having helper will be more relax esp if hb is lazy and bo chap like mine..

dym - when i told hb just now maybe we shld start looking at IFC now just in case, he said too early and to wait until baby gender is known..if boy no need to worry cos someone (meaning mil) will offer to take care and if girl, then likely IFC...faint

Daisy - of cos diff la. last time he will help me. now he push everything to me! )))=

Kelly - ur hubby super bias! no wrong..! ur MIL v bias.. haha.. if its my hubby, i sure f him upside down! no matter boy or girl, i wont let MIL look after if she is that bias..

chomp - i only know c sect 4 bedded package.

TMC c sect - 5163
Daisy n i got a fren who fork out 1.2k for admission fee and 200+ extra when she discharged. fyi,she c sect in aug this year.

Mt A c sect - 5070

BB - she dun wan the mother when its FRIDAY!! hahaha.. she stays with my mother on fri n sat.

Oh ya.. Mayb mummies would like to check with ur gynae as I heard MT A is having major renovation. Starts and ends when im not sure. (((=

dym - lol , most of e guys r like tat .. i'm more worry on after baby give birth expenses but my hubby is damn relaxed lor ..

is TMC alrdy renovated ? ya lor , c sect like so cheap so natural maybe cheaper .. but if add epidural , maybe same price or wat ? donno leh , maybe next visit i ask gynae again ..

Kelly - ur mil so pian xin lor !! by den donno got slots in IFC not , i guess u better call up and fasten 1 place first ..

chomp chomp - oh ! we're having the same due date =) i'm going Mt A since the nurses of my gynae keep saying cheaper den TMC lol ..

Daisy - GO TMC LEH~~~~YA TMC renovated le. all done now. like that i can go visit u! If this time MT A again, i think u dun expect me to go again! hahahhaa..
Normal delivery for TMC - 1408
Normal with epidural - 1712
ligation - 530
ALL 4 bedded package hor..

Normal for MT A - 1270
Normal with epidural - 1560

Ai mai consider TMC???

dym - bth , as if we same due date like tat haha ! i ask my gynae again on my next visit ..

wen i due , u will be heavily pregnant , for lazy pattern like us , with a big tummy .. its ok for u not to come visit me even i'm at TMC lol ,i understand de haha !

dym - my mil is helping to look after my SIL's twins who are same age as my girl and she definitely likes the boy better...to 'punish' my hb, i have asked gynae not to reveal the baby gender to him so he has to wait until delivery date

daisy - after reading all the comments, think i will just secure a place at one IFC to play safe. i am also at Mt A

dym, mt. A cheaper lei ...
daisy, wah our edd the same? wah piang, can opt for bed side by side or not? hehehe. i think hub will choose either 2 bedded or 4 bedded. cos the diff is only S$100+...

Daisy - i joking nia la. the nurse confirmed say they already booked place for u de. expected. i think when u go delivery, i still got one month to go. -,-"

Kelly - good idea leh! but ur hubby sure will pester u for the gender. in the end u oso will give in. hehehe..

chomp - i know MT A cheaper. by abit only. my gynae dun want to deliver at MT A so im sticking to TMC this time again.

i see quite a lot of mummies plan to deliver at Mt A. take a look at

http://www.mtalvernia-hospital.org/upload/UserFiles/File/LadiesCard_ApplicationForm.pdf

I plan to get a maid so she can help with cooking and housework, then my mum can concentrate on looking after the baby... hopefully we will b able to get a good one...

daisy, epidural is added cost for sure... but i'm not sure how much as i didn't use it last time...

i'll b 12 weeks tomorrow!! jia you everyone!

kelly - ya , cos seems dragon yr so hot .. lol

but if he go checkup with u and if its a boy and he will see the kuku bird , he will know the gender too lol ..

chomp chomp - ya ! we having same EDD !! =) ur going natural or c section?

nvm i can go visit u if our rooms is different haha ! i'm getting 4 bedded cos i kiasi , later 2 bedded and i'm alone , i will scare ghost LOL !!

dym - ya lor , maybe i will leave the baby to pop out her own cos my mom say better to stay womb longer den induce her out early ..

dovey - wow , salute u ! without epidural i tink i might faint , lol ..

starr_nn - oh , so epidural didnt increase price lol.. i tot everything will increase haha ! thanks for e info !

dym - personally i am hoping for a girl and he likes a boy, dunno why the preference for boy...so have to try my best to 'ren'

daisy - i remember you told michelle that the bird can be a finger pointing, so will use that..haha

i just hire part time maid, cos i cant stand strangers staying with me :D

as for my confinement period, i will ask my aunty for help, but she can only help me for 7 days. that also she wont stay with us. 9am she reach my house, and around evening time she go back, lucky she stays near my house.

cannot ask my MIL or mother for help. cos my MIL working aka workaholic. and my mom nowadays in and out of hospital (sick).

hopefullie i can handle after that 7 days period. gosh ....

daisy, choose 2 bedded lahz. then i can talk to you, u talk to me. haha. if 4 bedded also can lahz. we can occupy the other 2 beds lol !! i choose the natural birth, hopefullie got power strength to push lil fella :D

where is your gynae clinic? maybe the same lei ? haha. i'm with Dr. Tho from London Clinic at Jrg east.