(2012/02) Feb 2012

Meiji
Your CL is obviously using u as a pacifier! So lazy leh! You shouldn't allow her to let bb abuse your nipples! Imagine waking up 5x a nite just to pacify bb with your nipples?

Usually when it comes to bb, we need to learn to read bb's sign. Very tough! Seems like men are better at it. I was so frustrated with I couldn't soothe B1 last time till hb took over. Now I think I am slightly better with some experience :p

When bb is full, they will push your nipple out. This is especially so when you have a let down and they don't want the milk. Of coz if you have a furious let down where the milk shoots out bb might push too in order not to choke himself/herself and will open his/her mouth with his/her tongue out to latch again.

Re pumping duration
Hmm there is no ideal duration to pump but the key thing is not to overpump so you don't hurt your nipples! Maximum is usually 30min or you risk overpumping! If you have a tough nipple and you can get more milk by pumping longer, by all means go ahead! Heee I used to do 45min-1hr last time coz I can't clear loh. But I overpump and can't pump for a few days!

I will pump out after I latch coz 1) my bb can't empty my breasts completely 2) I want more supply 3) I am terrified of blocked ducts! So it's quite tiring to latch and pump... so I do introduce about 2-3 bottle feed a day to balance the day out.

Re: Latch duration
I think it really varies. For B1, my milk flow isn't smooth. Imagine having a pipe there is slightly blocked. Milk takes longer to come.. let down is slower. He can take up to 30min to be satisfied or be angry in 5min and push me out, crying for the bottle!

B2 finishes in 10-15min! He can amazingly clear I think 100+ml at a go. He nv fusses till his next feed 3hrs later so I suppose he is full. Also when I pump, I can manage to get let down faster and empty my breasts in 15min too. So I suppose that's the reason he can finish the feed in max 15min! I am crossing my fingers and hope he will cooperate till I retire!

Re milk intake
My bb drinks 150-180ml every 3-3.5hrly. He is 5wks old. I must say it is abnormally high coz he drinks more than my B1. Very scary! But he loves to merlion loh.. so i suppose he didn't keep everything in his tummy! Overfeeding? Maybe!! But he just wants more... so no choice. Just need to keep burping him... So my day is spent waking, feeding, burping, feeding, burping, bathing, burping,etc... hehe now we know why some mummies prefer to go back to work soon ya?? keke

Re pumping duration
Hmm there is no ideal duration to pump but the key thing is not to overpump so you don't hurt your nipples! Maximum is usually 30min or you risk overpumping! If you have a tough nipple and you can get more milk by pumping longer, by all means go ahead! Heee I used to do 45min-1hr last time coz I can't clear loh. But I overpump and can't pump for a few days!

I will pump out after I latch coz 1) my bb can't empty my breasts completely 2) I want more supply 3) I am terrified of blocked ducts! So it's quite tiring to latch and pump... so I do introduce about 2-3 bottle feed a day to balance the day out.

Re: Latch duration
I think it really varies. For B1, my milk flow isn't smooth. Imagine having a pipe there is slightly blocked. Milk takes longer to come.. let down is slower. He can take up to 30min to be satisfied or be angry in 5min and push me out, crying for the bottle!

B2 finishes in 10-15min! He can amazingly clear I think 100+ml at a go. He nv fusses till his next feed 3hrs later so I suppose he is full. Also when I pump, I can manage to get let down faster and empty my breasts in 15min too. So I suppose that's the reason he can finish the feed in max 15min! I am crossing my fingers and hope he will cooperate till I retire!

Re milk intake
My bb drinks 150-180ml every 3-3.5hrly. He is 5wks old. I must say it is abnormally high coz he drinks more than my B1. Very scary! But he loves to merlion loh.. so i suppose he didn't keep everything in his tummy! Overfeeding? Maybe!! But he just wants more... so no choice. Just need to keep burping him... So my day is spent waking, feeding, burping, feeding, burping, bathing, burping,etc... hehe now we know why some mummies prefer to go back to work soon ya?? keke

Jen
Paiseh I saw your PM late! I'll see you this fri! :p

After seeing your newbaby review I am so tempted to try it but I've already booked the tingkat meals!! And they don't allow me to change
I really like the fact that they packed in thermo container!

Jen
Paiseh I saw your PM late! I'll see you this fri! :p

After seeing your newbaby review I am so tempted to try it but I've already booked the tingkat meals!! And they don't allow me to change
I really like the fact that they packed in thermo container!

baby_mummy, so coincidental! I also got food poisoning on Sunday. Puke and diarrhoea, but only managed to see dr on Monday. Because I couldn't keep any food down, I found that the milk is like watery! Going to eat more meat to boost quality now that I've recovered!

By the way, my CL say red date drink cannot drink everyday after 40 days confinement. Too heaty. Alt day ok. Maybe you all want to check with your CL too

baby_mummy, so coincidental! I also got food poisoning on Sunday. Puke and diarrhoea, but only managed to see dr on Monday. Because I couldn't keep any food down, I found that the milk is like watery! Going to eat more meat to boost quality now that I've recovered!

By the way, my CL say red date drink cannot drink everyday after 40 days confinement. Too heaty. Alt day ok. Maybe you all want to check with your CL too

Baby mummy ; ya my hand at the back but stay at one position. After drinking milk, I sit baby upright and burb. Then I'll change him to lie over my shoulder and burb. Keep changing between these position make him burb faster. Usually he burb when I change 1 position nia. Seldom change 2 to 3 times.

Tomorrow I'm seeing my gyne for check upand will ask for supplement to boost intake. After latching my baby for 20min, I pump for another 15min. So pathetic.. I got less than 10ml. Then baby wake up crying for milk in tears... I definately no Bm for him so quickly make formula. My supply indeed low .. Moral too

Baby mummy ; ya my hand at the back but stay at one position. After drinking milk, I sit baby upright and burb. Then I'll change him to lie over my shoulder and burb. Keep changing between these position make him burb faster. Usually he burb when I change 1 position nia. Seldom change 2 to 3 times.

Tomorrow I'm seeing my gyne for check upand will ask for supplement to boost intake. After latching my baby for 20min, I pump for another 15min. So pathetic.. I got less than 10ml. Then baby wake up crying for milk in tears... I definately no Bm for him so quickly make formula. My supply indeed low .. Moral too

Also to add on ; duno whether got link a not. During my pregnancy, my weight gain is purely due to bb weight etc. My hips, hands, legs all still skinny. I didn't event get water retention at all. In the end, when for schedule c section as no labor pain, and my hips too small to handle baby head. Within 2weeks after birth, I'm back to normal weight. During baby shower, I can squeeze into my jeans. Is it my body duno what I have given birth to a baby? So no milk ...

Nana don't be disheartened!
I have a difficult pregnancy too. Can't stomach much food in too. Pregnancy weight gain is also 100% due to bb. Back to pre-pre-preg weight too! 2 wks can fit all clothes alr. Let's just look at it positively.

U need to relax and not be so stress and depressed ya? Happy mommy = happy milk = happy bb! You need to pass the happy hormones to your precious bb! They will feel how we feel too.

I seriously don't think the wt gain etc had anything to do with the milk supply! Muz be really hardworking in telling your body you need the milk. At the same time you need the rest, food and fluid. Meanwhile, it's ok to supplement and keep stimulating the supply. For my B1 I have no supply for 1 wk. So demoralised until my SIL told me I must pump 3hrly. Then it finally kicked in! Then it oversupply till I can freeze and till it expire gotta throw! U can do it too!!

Yup doc can prescribe pills to boost supply but u nd to latch regularly, for at least 20-30min or stimulate with pump 3hrly after your latch to signal to your bb that you need the supply. Else, the milk won't just come. BM is the only thing that money can't buy yet its so nutritious and highly sought after hence it is also known as LIQUID GOLD!!

Nana don't be disheartened!
I have a difficult pregnancy too. Can't stomach much food in too. Pregnancy weight gain is also 100% due to bb. Back to pre-pre-preg weight too! 2 wks can fit all clothes alr. Let's just look at it positively.

U need to relax and not be so stress and depressed ya? Happy mommy = happy milk = happy bb! You need to pass the happy hormones to your precious bb! They will feel how we feel too.

I seriously don't think the wt gain etc had anything to do with the milk supply! Muz be really hardworking in telling your body you need the milk. At the same time you need the rest, food and fluid. Meanwhile, it's ok to supplement and keep stimulating the supply. For my B1 I have no supply for 1 wk. So demoralised until my SIL told me I must pump 3hrly. Then it finally kicked in! Then it oversupply till I can freeze and till it expire gotta throw! U can do it too!!

Yup doc can prescribe pills to boost supply but u nd to latch regularly, for at least 20-30min or stimulate with pump 3hrly after your latch to signal to your bb that you need the supply. Else, the milk won't just come. BM is the only thing that money can't buy yet its so nutritious and highly sought after hence it is also known as LIQUID GOLD!!

Chewie!
Wah.. I hope we didn't eat from the same stall!!
Ya I practically dashed to the GP right after I puke the 2nd round coz I had the same experience bef for B1 and had to go KKH and be on drip.

Drinking my papaya soup now keke... hope to thicken up the milk!!

Ya red date tea is actually very heaty... but some body can take it some can't! I can't so I dilute it with more water.. so my body can still "absorb" the goodness! :p

Chewie!
Wah.. I hope we didn't eat from the same stall!!
Ya I practically dashed to the GP right after I puke the 2nd round coz I had the same experience bef for B1 and had to go KKH and be on drip.

Drinking my papaya soup now keke... hope to thicken up the milk!!

Ya red date tea is actually very heaty... but some body can take it some can't! I can't so I dilute it with more water.. so my body can still "absorb" the goodness! :p

Nana & BB mummy, tks for the tips! I'll try to keep him awake this evening by using wet towel :p.. If not very taxing on me if this goes on..

Rgd red date tea. My CL din say to drink on alt days after confinement. Still can drink everyday cos we're not having it all day long like during confinement. A few cups daily will be fine..

Nana & BB mummy, tks for the tips! I'll try to keep him awake this evening by using wet towel :p.. If not very taxing on me if this goes on..

Rgd red date tea. My CL din say to drink on alt days after confinement. Still can drink everyday cos we're not having it all day long like during confinement. A few cups daily will be fine..

Nana, u r right! Nowadays not enough sleep wake up at wee hrs to feed then can't go back to bed anymore so log into SMH to kpo lah.

Hazel, thanx for the advice on yaolan, didn't know can start young but I'm trying to avoid. Scared if I go out wif bb, no yaolan to soothe her.

GG n baby mummy- newbaby provided the red date tea in a Tupperware bottle, think its abt a liter? Their tea got ginger added which I like.
babymummy, u can try after your 10day trial wif the 2 tinkat caterer. Newbaby got trial meal for $15 only but the trial meal will come in disposables instead of the thermo containers. Share your view on the 2 tinkats, maybe I will try for lunch too, currently getting dinner only from newbaby.

Nana, u r right! Nowadays not enough sleep wake up at wee hrs to feed then can't go back to bed anymore so log into SMH to kpo lah.

Hazel, thanx for the advice on yaolan, didn't know can start young but I'm trying to avoid. Scared if I go out wif bb, no yaolan to soothe her.

GG n baby mummy- newbaby provided the red date tea in a Tupperware bottle, think its abt a liter? Their tea got ginger added which I like.
babymummy, u can try after your 10day trial wif the 2 tinkat caterer. Newbaby got trial meal for $15 only but the trial meal will come in disposables instead of the thermo containers. Share your view on the 2 tinkats, maybe I will try for lunch too, currently getting dinner only from newbaby.

Regarding burping, think most hb better at this due to their strengths. I can try to burp my girl for a long time n she won't burp but my hb just do 1 over the shoulder n she burped instantly. At least there's something hb can help in.

hi mummies, i am so upset. Yesterday i went back home and find my baby room filled with nail polish smell. Think the helper and my CL apply nail polish. So super angry..

Somehow i couldnt trust my baby with the maid. Sigh

hi mummies, i am so upset. Yesterday i went back home and find my baby room filled with nail polish smell. Think the helper and my CL apply nail polish. So super angry..

Somehow i couldnt trust my baby with the maid. Sigh

Jen - hehe if I order confinement food after the 10 day trial is over, I might get an overdose of heaty stuff coz my offical confinement is already over! hee! Will update you all on the tingkat! It's not here yet! But its 520pm only..

Shan - Can understand the frustration. Common sense yet they can't understand. Tell them the fume from nail polish is toxic. Cannot apply at all in the room with young children. I was super upset with my mom a while ago too. She especially came down and cooked a chicken and fish dish for me around noon. Then I called her around 3pm then she told me she put martell into the chicken coz she ran out of hua diao jiu! I was super pissed off loh. I abstain from liquer yet she secretly just added it in without informing me. I have to pour the milk away or stop latching mah... if I had known. Luckily I only ate 1 drum stick! But still... I am suppppppper upset too. Now I don't trust my mommy's food! Haha...

Jen - hehe if I order confinement food after the 10 day trial is over, I might get an overdose of heaty stuff coz my offical confinement is already over! hee! Will update you all on the tingkat! It's not here yet! But its 520pm only..

Shan - Can understand the frustration. Common sense yet they can't understand. Tell them the fume from nail polish is toxic. Cannot apply at all in the room with young children. I was super upset with my mom a while ago too. She especially came down and cooked a chicken and fish dish for me around noon. Then I called her around 3pm then she told me she put martell into the chicken coz she ran out of hua diao jiu! I was super pissed off loh. I abstain from liquer yet she secretly just added it in without informing me. I have to pour the milk away or stop latching mah... if I had known. Luckily I only ate 1 drum stick! But still... I am suppppppper upset too. Now I don't trust my mommy's food! Haha...

Jialat..i went out today and realised i cannot fit into my khaki pants...hip too big!

My confinement is over few days ago but i don't think we can go on diet yet, right? plus im breastfeeding baby....sigh...

I also have a hard section on my breast...trying hard to massage it and let baby latch that breast but doesn't seem to loosen up...still hard. I had a hot shower just now, it did drip but i wonder if that helps? i tried pumping also, but doesn't pump out all....jialat.

Any other suggestions, mummies?

Jialat..i went out today and realised i cannot fit into my khaki pants...hip too big!

My confinement is over few days ago but i don't think we can go on diet yet, right? plus im breastfeeding baby....sigh...

I also have a hard section on my breast...trying hard to massage it and let baby latch that breast but doesn't seem to loosen up...still hard. I had a hot shower just now, it did drip but i wonder if that helps? i tried pumping also, but doesn't pump out all....jialat.

Any other suggestions, mummies?

Jen, u out of confinement already but continue with this tingkat? I saw they have 7 days 2 meals or 14 days 1 meal.

Baby mummy, understand ur anger w maid and CL. Wah they v happening leh. Your CL apply on toes? Cant b hand nails ba? She needs to cook wash and handle bb wor! On martell, understand your worries. But if got cooked through and u din drink too much of the gravy shd be ok. Just tell her no more next time. My CL makes martell neat with chicken tonic. Initially I also v worried throw away the ebm but one I just make sure pump after 4 hrs only. She aost finish 1 bottle martell liao.

Jen, u out of confinement already but continue with this tingkat? I saw they have 7 days 2 meals or 14 days 1 meal.

Baby mummy, understand ur anger w maid and CL. Wah they v happening leh. Your CL apply on toes? Cant b hand nails ba? She needs to cook wash and handle bb wor! On martell, understand your worries. But if got cooked through and u din drink too much of the gravy shd be ok. Just tell her no more next time. My CL makes martell neat with chicken tonic. Initially I also v worried throw away the ebm but one I just make sure pump after 4 hrs only. She aost finish 1 bottle martell liao.

Today. Noticed cos I feel full but like pump not much. So keep pressing it v hard to massage and seems like can get more milk out. But still have the lump. I hope it's not worse than a milk duct.

Hi GG, I have a red patch on the underside of one of my breast too. Been trying to gently but firmly push towards my nipple. It's kinda hard too...hope it's not mastitis as stated in mrs wong's guide to breast feeding book..

Hi Jen, do u have the newbaby website address?

Hi baby mummy.. Yes I realized she is using me as a pacifier so now I will ask her to feed more.

Ladies, r u standardizing the feeding timing and amt? I can't seem to do so for my bb.. Haiz.. Sometimes, she wake up after 2 hrs, sometimes after 5. Then each time she drinks different Amt, ranging from 20 to 110ml.

Hi GG, I have a red patch on the underside of one of my breast too. Been trying to gently but firmly push towards my nipple. It's kinda hard too...hope it's not mastitis as stated in mrs wong's guide to breast feeding book..

Hi Jen, do u have the newbaby website address?

Hi baby mummy.. Yes I realized she is using me as a pacifier so now I will ask her to feed more.

Ladies, r u standardizing the feeding timing and amt? I can't seem to do so for my bb.. Haiz.. Sometimes, she wake up after 2 hrs, sometimes after 5. Then each time she drinks different Amt, ranging from 20 to 110ml.

After my confinement lady left on sat, I have to handle baby alone on Monday and Tuesday. Think baby not used to me, during confinement, he can napped quite well in the day and sleep at night. Hese 2 days has been so stressed as he does not want to sleep at all in th e day time. Napped only 15 min and wakes up Wantng to be carried. Whenever I carry him, I think he smells milk and keep wanting to latch on. I give in to pacifier already. Super exhausted these 2 days.....

Thanks Jen for the review.
Think will order Tingkat. Baby too difficult to handle. Dun even have time to go toilet, let alone prepare .....

Thanks Jen for the review.
Think will order Tingkat. Baby too difficult to handle. Dun even have time to go toilet, let alone prepare .....

I just give birth on 12 feb, been breastfeeding, as i have alot of supply, my freezer is packed with breast milk. Willing to give away some breast milk. Anyone interested can PM me or email me at [email protected]

Smiling Merlion, I'm like u, can't cope n it's affecting my bm output. Tingkat at least can relieve me from worrying abt wat to eat.
Meiji crackers- the website is www.newbaby.com.sg

GG-I finished my 28days but mum said should bu till 40days actually cause full confinement term actually 40days according to old folks. So will take the noyrishments till 40days, getting addicted to the tingkat food, even my hb is all thumbs up. He was hinting we should continue having even after 40days. Btw, newbaby food portion quite good, I can share my dishes n soup wif hb, I just cooked extra rice for him and he so enjoyed them!

Smiling Merlion, I'm like u, can't cope n it's affecting my bm output. Tingkat at least can relieve me from worrying abt wat to eat.
Meiji crackers- the website is www.newbaby.com.sg

GG-I finished my 28days but mum said should bu till 40days actually cause full confinement term actually 40days according to old folks. So will take the noyrishments till 40days, getting addicted to the tingkat food, even my hb is all thumbs up. He was hinting we should continue having even after 40days. Btw, newbaby food portion quite good, I can share my dishes n soup wif hb, I just cooked extra rice for him and he so enjoyed them!

Meji, my lump still there today. Press hard and massage seems to get some milk. Will try to continue massage at each pump. Mine no red patch ( fingers crossed) just lump.

Smiling merlion, ya man becos most times CL is the one handle bb so bb used to CL pattern. My bb also everytime I carry she had rooting reflex, unless she is really super full. And her eyes very big look at me like telling me hey where's the nipple!

Jen, tks so the food must be good! My hub not the type eat confinement food though. My only worry is for tingkat can't really say wat we wan or dun wan, unlike CL cook. I see like a lot of liver dishes in their menu. But I really like the idea or not having to cook! At least for the first 2 weeks after CL goes.

Meji, my lump still there today. Press hard and massage seems to get some milk. Will try to continue massage at each pump. Mine no red patch ( fingers crossed) just lump.

Smiling merlion, ya man becos most times CL is the one handle bb so bb used to CL pattern. My bb also everytime I carry she had rooting reflex, unless she is really super full. And her eyes very big look at me like telling me hey where's the nipple!

Jen, tks so the food must be good! My hub not the type eat confinement food though. My only worry is for tingkat can't really say wat we wan or dun wan, unlike CL cook. I see like a lot of liver dishes in their menu. But I really like the idea or not having to cook! At least for the first 2 weeks after CL goes.

Jen, u took the 14 days lunch & dinner package? Am thinking of getting their trial meal to try, then probably 7 days lunch + dinner or 14 days lunch. After dat hopefully can ownself cook.