(2012/02) Feb 2012

Meiji same floor? So zhun. Too bad no time post earlier if not can meet up there. Did ur bb dress up in own clothes to go home? I saw some daddies outside nursery waiting to claim bac bbs. Wat time u left?

Serene- I'm not consistent wif taking of domiderone but do noted that if I forget to take, supply will drop to sq1. Asked gynae but he said I'm just over sensitive.

Xia n Meiji, so coincidental both of u on same floor as neighbors but too bad didn't get to meet. Anyway, we are planning a mum n tots gathering somewhere in Apr so we can all meet together before our ML ends.

Xia- heard from my PD that level above 14 is high, from 11-14 is moderate, still require phototherapy. Below 10 is mild, hope the guide helps. It must have been hard on you to travel to and fro hospital, do take care of yourself!

Serene- think your breasts r engorged n could be possibly be some blockage in milk ducts. You tried massaging? It's advisable to see a LC or get your massage lady to try relieve your engorgement through massage?

Jen, my bb's jaundice level was 9.9, considered mild. But the super ks pd put her on drip! Good idea to hv a meet up session.

GG, office hrs, no need to go KKH A&E for children. Just walk in to the private children clinic at level 1. The drs there are PDs & there r v senior drs too. Anyhow, I think m the opposite,, I dun like TMC. In fact, I brought my daughter back to KKH for routIne checks & vaccinations per the health booklet. But I do agree with u that drs at KKH A&E, regardless of for women or children, are inexperienced. I usually wun go a&e unless is emergency or non office hrs

Xia, jaundice level at 23 is very high. My girl was discharge only when her level is below 10.
Even if little BM, better than nothing. Mayb u take this opportunity to establish ur milk flow and to take more rest. Don't stress urself too much.

Re: meet up
I'm keen. Count me in if it is cfm.

Re: breast blockage
I had a blockage on my right breast last nite. Couldn't get much milk out. So what I did was massage the area (with some force) and then let my girl latch on. And the blockage is gone after tt. Maybe this will help mummies who need immediate relieve...

Wish to join u ladies in FB. Anyone can send me the group name or add me?

Morning all, i'm in kkh delivery ward now. V slow progress, hope will speed up after gynea jus broke my waterbag'

Morning mummies. My pd told me acceptable jaundice level is below 11. My bb was 10.3 at discharge on 4th day.

Xia, 22 sounds quite high. Am sure heartpain seeing them inside the box. But high jaundice can b v dangerous so is still better to get treatment. At least u know bb is in good hands!

Hazel, ya my experience w kk a&e was during mid night so Bo Bian but it was really a terrible experience. The treatment they ordered were lousy, still claim it was the best for my no 1. Made him cry and cry and totally worn out for a few hrs yet din really work. I transfered him to gleneagles first thing in the morning, treated by a v experienced pd and within half an hr my boy was smiling and singing and we could go home. No need to b warded.

Domperidone- I ordered online as with my first baby I took it for several months to maintain supply. If I stopped taking supply dropped.

For jaundice- my per at TMC used 11 on Day 4 as the threshold for discharge.

Bee mummy, u order from which website? My supply also drops after complete the 2 weeks dosage.

U have any spare to sell too? Which brand?

GG, the main difference between restructured hospitals (KKH, SGH, etc) with pte hospitals is that the former has a pD 24x7. So, this is v impt in times of emergency. In pte hospital, there is always a lag time to page for dr n for specialist dr to come from elsewhere.

Ladies, I was carrying my baby just n she was fussing. Decided to take her temperature. Forehead temp was 37.8, tummy n back was very warm so I scan tummy too- it was 38.1, this is not considered fever right? I just on the Aircon for her to cool down and took away her long pant.

Hazel n Khim, will keep you ladies informed of the gathering.

Hazel, tks. Ya, my pd told me for certain circumstances no choice have to go kkh so at least they can do something first. Alternatively can go NUH too.

Jen, ya sounds a bit on the high side. Normally their temp around 37. U may wan to monitor.

Hi am also a Feb mummy, first time mummy. bb delivered in TMC on 21 Feb. good to be here to learn from the rest of the mummies

is there a facebook group?

@ Jaundice: an old folks mth - use something called "nee kee" to bath the baby and put around 2 under the baby's bed to get rid of jaundice..

Serene, domperidone can get from Guardian pharmacy. I saw a lady buying at Mt E. not sure if all Guardian carry. I have 10 days worth I bought for standby but didn't use. If u live near me (Thomson Bishan area) can sell to u? Mine is from Mt E pharmacy. Collected 2-3 weeks back

Hihi mummies, I had delivered my boy on sunday afternoon so that's why missing from the thread. Haven't caught up on the thread so far.

VBAC was unsuccessful... when I was admitted, 4cm dilated. In fact dilate until 7cm but didn't dilate more.

Serene123 are you still selling the extra fenugreek? I'm having very low supply though first baby's supply was very ok.

Hi mummies, all of us hv pop ready liao!! Seldom come back here cos busy taking care bb n pumping... So tired.
Ann- there is thread selling fenugreek Matures way brand very cheap price.

Hope to hear your BF sharing ... Many difficulty. Pumping out never increase milk supply, hv took so many suuplement to increase milk but everytime pumping stil same a
Qty, I stil feel my breast milk not empty yet but don't know why can't pump out.. Hope to hear anyone hv such experience how u overcome it.

Al, u got do hot compress and massage before pump? Find it helps a lot. Plus drink a very hot beverage before pump. Papaya fish soup helps too, must get the super green papaya with white flesh.

Jen, monitor ur bb's temp. If higher than 38, u may wanna visit ur PD.

Congrats ANNticipating!

GG, today no sun again! Will take forever to bring down my girl's jaundice!

For jaundice, I heard that breast feeding mums should cut down on ginger. Also, my confinement lady ask my husband to buy this herb from herbal hall boiled it and use it to bath baby.

@ bf - Yes, think massage works. But must real hard type of massage. My cl helped me press. I wld never use such strength on my breasts. She say have to do tat to open up the ducts n prevent engougement. N indeed think my flow increased. Take lots of fluids too.

Hi GG, I stopped using cos it's a bit warm even though I quite like the support. My doc says its fine to continue using. Are u goin for massage?

Chewie, ok pm u. did you buy with prescription? I went down to guardian just now but they need prescription.

Ann, just pm u too. Left last bottle.

Al, same same, took domperidome and fenugreek only pump 80ml. Without domperidome is only 50ml. Cannot image stop fenugreek too what the output? I think my supplement more ex than fm.

My supply also drop after I change to use fm for 3 days, cos not as diligent in pumping since throw away. Now can only get 90ml, max 120. My CL ask me to pump more often and say at 2 wks can aim for 180 per pump. Faint! Will kiv fenugreek first, if supply dun come back I will go and buy le.

Welcome SL and Mubina Faizie

GG Lee - I only used the binder for a few days as i found it very inconvy to go toilet, slp etc. Gynae folded a cloth n place it across my wound before binding as he said to add more pressure across wound side.

Jen, I think better to monitor her temp coz remembered pd said anything above 37.5 may ve to take note. Could be mild fever. Sometimes i feel tt the food we take also affects them, especially all these heaty food. My bb and i can both wake up in sweat even though we slp in aircon room.

SL - My bb also need some time to fall asleep aft feed esp in the nite between 10pm-1am. Have to carry, rocked him to slp.

Al, Serene - I'm also facing prob with bfeeding! After pumpoing can feel inside still got milk but just can't hand express/pump out. In the first place supply already not fantastic plus now i think i have engorgement again. Feel very hot n then suddenly cold until wear many layers of clothes also cannot help. My breasts feel so swollen and painful. I gotta keep reminding myself of the benefits of breastfeeding coz the thought of quitting keeps popping up.

Annticipating: Congratulations on the birth! At least you dilated to 7cm. I was stuck at 4cm for 34 hours! hahaha, in the end c-sec also but so thankful my gynae was brilliant with stitching so my recovery was *snap fingers* really fast!
Hope you are doing well in recovery too.

Happytomato, I used for a 9 days. Stopped after the bandage was removed. Recall gynae days binder helps support and recover better but wondering up to when? Cos I also worry is it ok continue use and binder rests on the wound.

Chewie,she say cannot. But my gynea brand v cheap 2 weeks only $6.

She also mention that once stop supply drop so must take long term. Wonder why gynea don ask how long we need to bf and issue supply accordingly.

Thanx all, my baby is sweating n temp is 37.5, but she Merlion last feed out. So heart pain! So I take her to PD or monitor further?

Jen, there's a note provided by my PD. To bring your baby to see doc if bb has temperature over 37.5. Other symptons includes vomitting (not just spitting), not sucking, weak sucking or not nursing well several times in a tow, lack of normal activity, crying more than usual or unusual sounding cry. Think you discuss with your hubby whether you wan to bring the bb to see PD.

Thanx Khim, baby has started latching again. HB said see how first. I will monitor if she Merlion again. Your PD is really nice to give u a note, mine don n 1 visit only last 5mins!

Jen, cos yours probably the original brand motilium . So cheaper, but price wise really a big gap. If I take Motilium, my bf is really really ex.

I think after buying from chewie, I will stop bf if supply no more. Cos I realize bb on bm don hv bb smell.

Jen: thanks for adding.. dunno anyone in FB leh. lol. oh ya hows the baby? tempature still high?

our PD gave us a note too..

there is those thing u can buy put on baby forehead to bring down the temperature..

Soul- u mean koolfever? I have, ok will put on for baby now.
Soul- you need some time to get use to fb cause all of us use original names inside. There's a doc that tells you who is who pairing the SMH nicknames wif FB names, go have a look.

Serene- just checked the packaging, yah you r right. It did say motilium at the back. Don give up ya? I'm also struggling wif 80mls per pump but hope to Preserve till at least 3months. Bb will lose her smell when we feed bm? How is that so?

Baby is napping in my arms now, hope it's just I digestion just now. If not, where do find PD at this time other than kk?

I am taking the original Motillium brand so expensive as well. I really spent more on supporting BF with #1 than formula would have cost, but really felt it was worth it. Now with #2 I have spent a lot on supplements and domperidone already, just hope baby is doing well on the BM. Frankly have been too tired to pump so only latching every couple of hours around the clock.

Jen: Yup Koolfever. moniter baby temperature every feed ba.. so you know how it is.

thanks for the tip will check out the doc.

won't be coming in here le.. busy.. lol..

don't worry la.. EBM should be fine.. i think soulmummy not taking medication already.. and can average pump 200ml some times almost 300ml coz lazy pump 3 hrs

Just to share: few days back my breast were hard n started to feel ache..i quickly let my girl latch n manage to clear the blockage miraculously! I tried pumping out and massaging before latching her but somehow breasts still feel not empty.

So nw im letting bb latch to clear any possible blockage, it reaalyy works! I hope by doing this can also increase milk supply. Coz nw in my 4th week (bb juz turned 3 wks old) im pumping out only 50ml wif daily 2tablet fenugreek daily :-/

So i stil hv to top up wif fm coz bb appetite increasing to 90-100ml !! Haiz...hopemy milk supply can catch up soon!

Btw any mommy feeding fm milk Friso, soy based milk supposed to b easier to digest for bb? Is the milk heaty? Bb seems to poo a ice-cream kind of texture instead of watery breastmilk stool..is it normal?

Soul , welcome back. Wow soul mummy is really moo moo mummy. Bf really is hard work. Wish my hb as nice as u. The last time I bf he said I waste more electricity and water. If this time he know I spent some much $$$ on pump and supplement don know what he going to say.