(2012/02) Feb 2012

Shan: it's not necessarily smaller, but definitely less firm. Also depends on how much bust care you're willing to put in and bb's position when latching, cuz bb's like to pull nipples so if not enough support will sag lor... There are firming cream but dunno how useful also haha... That's one of the sacrifices of bf mums...

Shan, from wat mrs Wong shared with us, if mummy did not put on enough fats around upper arms area, when we bf, our body will draw the fats from our boobs. If so, yes, boobs will shrink. Thus, mummies with fat arms hv an advantage.

My sis-in law bought the PISA from US with the transformer. And she compared mine and hers. Can see and feel that her suction is not that strong than mine. Even tot mine is aldy 1+yr old, the suction is still better. As she still yield the same amt of milk and I'm going to use it soon, she say she will continue to use hers.

So gals, if u decide to buy PISA, better to buy from sg. With the transformer, the suction of PISA is not that gd anymore.

Shan, my breast went back to pre-preggy size after I bf for many mths. Its firm when full of milk and sag after I pump. Lucky my original size is very small, A cup, so sag a bit still ok. Now and 1st few mths of bf, my cup size went up to C cup loh. So heavy! Hahaa...

AL, jia you! Endure till Mon 12.00.01 ok.

yesterday hubby dreamt that we brought baby out, dunno if thats a sign bb is coming out soon?
A month ago i dreamt that i gave birth already and registering bb's birthcert, and he was born on 2nd day of CNY, 24 Jan...

Rocco, I do heard ppl say pregnant women's dreams will come true. So far mine are all the funny dreams and nvr come true de lah. Eg. for my 1st pregnancy, I dreamed that my bb is a pretty gal (don know gender yet). In the end #1 is a boy. Let see whether yours will come true.

opps: haha i dun want him to be born on 24th leh... hee. too early liao. i keep telling him to wait after 4th feb... but this is the first time my hubby dreamt about bb.

Hazel: serious? I have small arms, but then my boobs also small, like A minus? haha so not much diff for me but then no longer perky after bf already. V sad but what to do...

NC: Mrs wong taught us to do some breasts massages that will help... but must be realli hardworking lor... i onli intend to latch for one month and pump after that, that should help 'reduce' the impact.

Rocco: initially I also tried to massage, but after that too tired really couldn't be bothered already. I latched for 4 months, after that pump during the day and latch at night until he's 14 months. Maybe that's why no more fat liao haha...

Beemummy,

Saw this for Ameda Lactaline:

A professional grade heavy-duty dual electric breast pump that combines the legacy of hospital-proven technology with mum-friendly features.
• Small and lightweight
• Quiet and discreet pumping
• Individually adjustable cycle and suction controls
• HygieniKit Milk Collection System that protects milk backflow into the tubing
• May be operated using any AC adaptor or 6AA batteries
• Allows mothers the flexibility of single or dual pumping
• Imported from Switzerland

This pump is designed with a unique patented HygieniKits' closed milk collection system. The patented diaphragm design protects milk backflow into the tubing or pump (unlike other pumps). It also prevents outside contaminated air from being drawn into the collected milk. This is especially good for mothers who are not able to find an appropriate place to pump milk and are worried about environmental pollutants getting into their expressed milk.

Sounds good...

Does anyone know whether the Medela's is closed system?

Also my OB is charging $2200 for elective c-section and attendance fee is $110 per day.

Hope this helps.. ;D

NC, can share your experience in latching on. I did not latch on my #1 cos he refused to do it and I'm having problem with it cos of my c-sect wound.

This time round, I'm thinking whether I shld latch on. But when latch on how do we know how much bb is drinking? And whether bb is full? Do you pump out the balance after you latch for storing? If u latch and then pump out and bb want milk less than 3hrs how? No milk yet in the breast for bb mah. I'm really confused.

Shan,

according to a staff at a maternity shop, size of breasts stop at when you stop BF, and it was quite true for me.. All along quite small wan, but cos on contraceptive pills become not bad, then pregnant and BF become quite big... but over time while BF-ing slowly become smaller... i stopped at 18mths, and it was like maybe a few mths before that, overnight become so much smaller...!

So upset... ='(

NC & Rocco: massage very important else breast will be lumpy ESP using hand to express the areola after each pump.
Mrs wong and the another lactation consultant told us last week when we went down.

icyclaw, I nvr encounter backflow of milk into the tubes for my medela PISA. Not sure whether its a close system.

Opps: I guess I was lucky that my boy loved to latch ah. Also I think it really help that I insisted to latch him immediately after birth, cuz I could see his mouth was rooting! So faster took the chance to latch cuz they might forget their sucking instinct if left too long.

It's hard to gauge during the first few days so I latched on demand ah. After that when milk established I gauged by letting him drink ebm while I pump, so I could see how much milk I had after emptying one breast. Then could roughly know how much he drank after he emptied one breast. He would fall asleep while latching but I would keep waking him up until he insisted on sleeping, then it's a sign he had had
enough.

For my case initially he nv emptied both breasts so I would pump out the balance from the other breast after he latched. If he woke up too soon i just gave him the balanced ebm. But as he grew and started to want more, I nv pumped already. For me my milk supply replenished much faster when I latched as compared to when I pumped, so if can latch I will definitely latch lor. But my mil not too happy with it ah, cuz he went thru a period of bottle rejection cuz I keep latching.

You intend to latch? You have my support haha, it's an amazing feeling that I still miss until now. Will be a bit tough at first lah but I think you'll get the hang of it very fast! Jia you bah!

Souldaddy: we're referring to massaging to firm up the breast and prevent sagging. Massage to stimulate milk flow is of course essential, else sure have engorgement...

NC, my #1 only started to know how to latch at 2mths but he nvr had enough. I have to top up with EBM but in the end he slim down from slightly overweight to slightly underweight. So i only latch him on for nite feeds cos easlier, I'm lazy to go kitchen warm milk while listening him crying and wake up while fmaily plus neighbours. As he aldy sleep thru at 3mths, I don care whether he had enough milk if he wake up for nite feeds. I jus latch. So I know I will finally get the hands on of it this time even if I suay and go thru c-sect again.

Oh ya, I only start bf on the 2nd nite cos I had to rest after my c-sect. Very weak and no feeling at the bottom so can't bf. tats y I pray hard for vbca tis time.

So gd that your #1 able to empty your breast. Meaning I do hav to pump if my breast is not empty loh. Also worry abt bottle rejections or worst nipple rejection after I start bottle. Tats wat happened to my #1 for the 1st mth. Also worried abt long latch time. Haiz.... think mus see how bb react in order to think of solutions and decide whether to latch.

I will be handling both my kids on my own so will be easier if I can latch on.

Opps: ya lor emptying the breasts is important cuz can see a lot of diff when I lazy nv empty my breasts. The supply and demand thing is very true. But also lots of hard work inthe initial weeks lor. After that is v easy already.
I think if u latch definitely have to prepare for a period of bottle rejection lah. For me 1 month before going back to work I started to bottle train him. It was so frustrating at times I burst out crying! It helps to have someone else do the bottle feed for you. Else you might go mad like me haha... But eventually they will be trained lah, just whether we mothers can last or not haha...

NC, thanks for sharing. I know who wil help me with bottle training. Infant care. Hahaa....

For my #1, he had FM rejection when I started him on FM 8mths later. I push the job to ifc teachers. They helped me trained him to accept FM. One reason I push to them also bcos there is 1 feed in ifc tats only half of the normal feed, So if he rejects, the wastage is not that much.

Lets jia you together. Hope our bb will be a chin chye person like me. They can accept bottles, nipples, FM and anything tat will make his stomach full.

Congratulations Al! Your boy wanna celebrate CNY.

Big boy also.. Speedy recovery!

NC: lol I was talking about massaging to prevent lumps. Mrs wong and another lactation consultant said that if never massage properly, blocked milk ducts can result in lumps around the breast and also the areola. So they advised to express by hand after each pump. If latching no issue on the milk ducts being blocked around the areola as baby tongue will help during the latching on,

Al - waaaa so fast!!! Grats!!! =) get well soon ya! Dun walk ard too much! Rest as much as possible! Let the wound get better b4 u start moving ard. If not whole confinement will b v tong ku! Rest well!!!

Oops - ur #1 born in aug? Mine in sep. heh. 1 cry I still ok ok. Just get v frustrated. I really scared will cry tog with both of them! I SAHM. I hope i working! I cannot stand bb kip cry de. IFC Too ex. And #1 cannot go CC yet. Dunno how by den. Can onli hope both dun make trouble. Anyway gd luck with vbac and latching! Heh. Btw dun worry abt how much bb drinking initially. Tink I tink too much initially also. Scared bb hungry. But just latch on demand. must kip wake bb up though if they fall asleep while latching like wat NC says. Make sure they eat full If not bb will become a snacker. Jia yous!

NC - u train bottle urself? So li hai!!! I cannot tahan and I just full latch. The crying drives me crazy! No one at home got heart to help. All either give up or rub salt in wound say bb cry v ke lian. Like as if I dun feel heart pain like tat. In the end I cannot go out work. Sianz. But ok la. I resign to fate. I noe the bu she de give up latching feeling in the end also. Heh

Xia: not totally on my own lah I also bui ta han sometimes lor. So when I couldn't take it anymore my hubby or maid took over until I calmed down haha... Really v torturing but no choice lor I wanna bf also wanna go back to work. Think abt it also stressed already. I also cannot be SAHM ah drove me nuts. Really admire u SAHM leh... Being tai tai I dun mind haha...

Hahaha being tai tai I also dun mind. But I dun wan b SAHM! Hahahhahaha. That's a v sad life! Go out also hard! Like machiam extended confinement like tat. If got textbook/angel bb still ok. Mine drives me nuts at times. Nowadays kip shake head to everything i wan her do! Grrrrrr! I must try to go out work tis time round! Muahahhahahha!

icyclaw - I think the Ameda Lactaline is the non-US name for the Ameda Purely Yours, so both are the same. The original Lansinoh double electric pump is also the same but is purple in color.

I think maybe up to whether ur womb can take the weight of bb also lor. Like my case he was 3.3kg when born, so gynae commented luckily he chose to come out early, else sure v hard to push. But she also said optimally is abt 38w, before that bb might not be too mature, after that placenta start to lose function already so not too good to be overdue.

Congrats Al, he's a big boy....

Rocco, think bigger size mums have bigger frame to accommodate the bb? If mum is small size, bb may feel very cramp earlier....

Rocco, depend on individual. Wat I see are most delivered on the dot. Me, my sis and sis-in law all deliver 1 day b4 EDD.

Xia, U gd leh. I only take care at nite time aldy going crazy. Can imaging I hav to take care whole day plus all the hseworks and cooking to do. DOn knw how last time our mums (housewives) do it. And our mummies hav 2 or more kids to handle.
Cos I hav the experience of an slightly overweight bb becomes slightly underweight jus bcos I started latching on. I'm worried on the amount bb drink loh. Hope tis time I will succeed in latching on.

AL, congrats! Ah ya, you bb wan to have reunion dinner with you all leh. Take care!

My #1 I was overdue. 40wks and 3 or 4 days. Scan abt 3.2kg but come out onli 2.76kgs. Hahaha I tink late or early depends on individual. Gynae says if #1 is late, #2 will b abt 1 wk earlier. So still got long wait... She say late only worry not enough amniotic fluid. Tat time 40wks she still tell me no rush. =.="

Oops - ya! I kip wondering how they do it too! So hard! My bro and me onli 1 yr apart! I ask my mum how she do it she just say like tat lo. I feel so useless! Haha. Yours sleeping through? Mine nowadays like kip wake up and stay awake for 1 hr den slp. Sometimes will cry hysterically. I suspect her last 4 molars gonna pop out soon. Can Neva get enough slp... So tiring! U got experience latching le tink tis time should b better. Dun worry too much. I'm sure u can do it! =)

xia, I ask my mum too, she say jus give a biscuit and I sit down guai guai eat on my own liao. She ask me to try on #1. Sometimes work but most of the time no loh. My mum say last time we very guai guai. Esp my sis. Don dare to make noise or cry cos scare of grandma (they stay with my grandma and I not born yet). Nowadays kids are horrible!!! Hahaa.. Mine jus sleep thru again tis mth, u r right cos I check and notice his 4 molars all shown up liao, now only growing taller. Tats y last few mths been crying at everynite when the 4 molars only show little part of it. Tis few days start to wake up cry again but will go back sleep fast when I pat him cos his 2 tiger teeth are growing.

Did you pump out the balance after u latch? So its a mus to pump after latch so that we can empty the breast rite.

Oops - keke so is kids nowadays rite? Not us rite? =x Hahahhahah. my #1 will guai sit and eat biscuit. For 10 mins max! Cos she eat biscuit v fast!!! And at most take 4 biscuits cos after tat full le! Den she start all her nonsense again. Summore full of energy to do it! LOL like machiam I give her biscuit to recharge her like tat! So gd urs slp bac fast. I hope mine go bac to normal soon.

Actually depends leh. Onli initial half to 1 mth i pump every 3 hrs no matter she drink or not cos I v little milk. After tat when milk more or less in and If she empties both sides(I.e. at least 15 mins each) den I dun pump le. Mine left side is twice as much as the right side. So sometimes she onli take the left side(20-30mins) enough le. Den gotta pump other side. Sometimes in the day(when I lazy pump) and Most of the time at nite I just give the left side den I slp through and let the right side accumulate 6 hrs so same amt as left. So i can skip 1 pump session. =p Hehe. But not so gd for supply though if u want alot of milk. Me tink sufficient for my #1 Enough le. was trying to reduce the number of things I nid do cos she dun slp/nap long enough for me to do chores. Hehe

Congrats Al!! Wow finally meet yr lil precious fella! :)
Rest well n tell us more when u r free!

Talking abt dreams. So far i dun remember any dream wif my baby...but my hubby did!
He had a dream when i was in late 2nd trimester that our lil baby girl was crawling on our bed and we were both playing with her when suddenly.... She poo!! Hubby said there was an immediate exclaimed Yuck from me! Hahahhaha while he busy cleaning up the s***. Haaaaa so funny!

Any suggestions for where to buy the black vinegar to cook pig trotters in black vinegar? Would Cold Storage have black vinegar?

Personally i have used Medela PISA when i had my #1. I pumped every day at work. He started partial fm and partial ebm at 13mths and fully fm at 14mths. It takes a lot of effort to give bm to your child. Don't give up! He will seldom fall ill! And you will save a lot of money from buying fm!

Morning everyone! So busy these few days cleaning the house bit by bit, no time to log in.

Hey AL, congrats! Just read abt your delivery! Baby eager to collect angbao.
I loved big baby, hoping mine would have the same weight as yours.

Today will discharge. Baby look like daddy

Thursday night I notice a bit bleeding quickly info hb come back faster, but reach Hosp never open at all n no pain,so we go home. But mid night abt 2-3am every 30min hv big pain, go back Hosp again, already 5-6cm. I tot will bb come out very fast cos between 3hrs already open 5cm. So I divide don't use any pain killer all natural.
My contraction very slow n the pain about 40-50 every 30min seldom hit to high contraction. Stil relax, abt 6am the contraction very High n I start screaming... Bui tahan. Also cannot use any pain killer. I can feel the pushing out bb head n body, doctor sewing all this feeling is real not like my #1 with epidural. I can't believe myself can do that, lucky my doctor expert he also help to pushed bb out between 15min my boy come out ready.