(2012/02) Feb 2012

V is very painful n is bleeding after gynae's check n the nurse inserted the tablet to induce... Bladder keeps feeling full n I hv prob emptying it totally... Hv not gone into labour the pain at V is making me beh tahan already..

OMG! Hazel, your girl decided to be CNY bb!
is the bleeding very bad after the VE? Have u gone in labour now? Best wishes n may god bless you n bb wif smooth delivery!

Rocco, so nice your hb can hear bb heartbeat now, my hb still lost, he said can't hear anything except for fluid sounds in tummy.

Hazel, oh so your gynae triggered labor with the VE!! All the best!! U shd b seeing bb soon!! If really c pain ask for epi ok!

How are the rest of the mummies doing? Been long since i visited the forum. Hope everyone is enjoying the final stage as well as the CNY!

4 more weeks to seeing my little princess. Any mummies due soon?

38weeks and 2 days today.. but am going for my caesarian this Friday...
went to my gynae for a scan today, baby is abt 3.6kg! i love the weight.. easier to handle big baby...
i also had my jab at my butt due to the upcoming caesarian.. wahhh... pain ah...

Congrats Hazel. Guess u must have delivered by now.
Happy CNY to everyone. Having our little one discharged today after more than 3 weeks in hospital.

7cm dilated.. Gynae told me another 3-4hrs to go.. Am so tired but can't sleep n hungry.. I M 36w 2d today... My girl will be less than 3kg...

Jia you, hazel.... Stay hydrated too... I really drag the cervix check again, downright painful, and yes my V was sore for a few hrs after that....

Cranky, nice chubby baby for u..

Soul, congrats on baby's homecoming...

Ghk, no food n drink once on epidural.... The dr n nurses kept checking cervix.. How can soreness go away.. Just that now m on epidural, so I dun feel the soreness n pain...

Hi SoulDaddy, SoulMummy, Al, Hazel & Cranky,

Congras to you all on your little precious!

Paiseh for my late well wishes to you all on SMH. Was down with bad flu recently & I only accessed SMH Feb2012 mummies on facebook for updates via iphone past 2 weeks.

Hereby wishing all mummies/mummies to be, GONG HEI FATT CHOI!!

Cheers!!

Didn't know that we can't drink or eat once on epidural. I'm a water cow, keep drinking water one, dun know if I can tahan no drinks for hrs....

Experienced mummies, I've a qn - if my water bag broke, it's ok for me to take a quick shower before going to hospital, right?

Hi GHK, am not an experienced mummy but I have heard of many who shower before heading to hospital. Remember to pack towels in the car as it is possible that the water still flow

Rocco, my gynae did a swab for bacterial testing last week. It hurt too... and she said have to get used to it cos that's how the nurses check how much I have dilated. I don't think she checked my cervix for dilation, but she definitely did insert something for the swab... going to see her again on Fri! I was hooked up on the CTG machine for about half an hour, no contractions

Happy CNY to all and congrats to mummies who have delivered/ delivering!!

chewie: i think i did d swab before too its a long cotton bud looking thing. it wasnt painful but uncomfortable... my dr is quite gentle de. nt aure abt d nurses... i hope i meet good nurses during delivery.

GHK: reason for water is because if bladder full will obstruct baby when delivering so have to help the mummy have the urine come out. Generally cannot eat or drink once doctors ascertain that labour has started. Cannot eat because if need emergency c-section intestines must be empty.

Happy new year jeank!

Happy new year mummies! Hope all of us will have smooth deliveries and healthy bb's!

GHK: I remember that the nurse did allow my hb to give me an ice cube to suck on to curb my thirst, but beside that nothing else.

Dun remind me of the VE leh.. Until now I'm still super scared. Today went for my 37w check, gynae asked whether i want to check for dilation but I refused haha. She said cannot be too tense or else will be v painful. But how to relax???

Happy new year mummies! I am 38 weeks today and just came back frm gynae. Bb is still a little on the small side at 2.8kg..and my amniotic fluid has increased slightly..I will be induced on 30th.. 4 more days for myself ;)

Hazel , jia you!! you can do it!

So excited...and also nervous...one by one gg thru the delivery process...for first timers, it's gonna be nerve wracking!! :-s

rikagal: ya hw come nee to induce? my bb was 2.8kg at 37 weeks i think nw he hit 3.1 liao after all d new yr feasting.. very scared he will
be big for natural... but i heard usually bb will be lighter
by 200-300g at birth right?

Hazel, awaiting your good news! Jiayou jiayou!!

I did the swab 2 weeks ago, not painful. But last fri, my gynae did check on my cervix, really a big OUCH!! Took me by surprise, sure din expect it to be so painful.

Regarding the water bag, my fren whose EDD is 1 day later than mine, just gave birth on cny eve. She told me last nite that her water bag broke at ard 4pm. For her, the water gushed out quite a lot in the toilet, she then called her gynae & her gynae told her that mayb her water bag broke. Told her that if can soak a sanitary pad, that means water bag really broke. But her gynae told her to only admit Mount Alvernia Hospital at 8.30pm. So she returned home & waited until her sis in law told her to better admit hospital earlier at ard 7pm, dun wait so long. Her baby gal is safely delivered at 9pm plus. During her checkup, her weight was estimated 2.9kg but her actual weight is 2.15kg, such a big discrepancy.

I hv delivered 1.5 hrs ago. PD checked & bb is healthy!mt princess weighs 2.735kg at 36w 2d!! She is the first 88 bbs born in TMC!! So, will hv a $388 hamper n a big bag of diapers!!

I tried to latch her at birth.. But she dun wan.. Nurse said be patient n sun force her. They going to shower her before bringing her over.

ask u all at do u avoid soft drinks totally during the pregnancy? my sil saw me drinking cold water n soft drinks, she asked me dr nvr say cannot drink? my dr didnt say but i know too much soft drinks has high sugar level so i dun drink everytime onli when weather is hot etc...

congrats Hazel! finally can see your lil princess! wow somemore got prize!heee so envy

Hi Rocco,

I just had a cooling coke just now out of the heat ! yea occasionally i drank cold drinks but not soft drinks. This coke was 1 in 5 months....

i read somemore try to avoid carbonated drinks.

but i must say the fresh coconut juice was darn refreshing and tastes great!!

As for bb size, my gynae has always told me it's rough estimate on bb weight when doing the ultrasound scan. cannot be accurate one cos doc always measure the diameter of her abdomen area...and one small shift by the doc's diameter on the screen can cause 0.5kg difference. i saw it with my own eyes when he did the scan.

anyone go back to work liao?
or are you all staying home now?

went for gynae visit today and doc told us that our lil princess 's position is now engaged! oh my...today is my 36-37 weeks....:-s getting nervous..

i probably should stop working soon. Any advice?
my feet really swollen and tight...although i lift up every night..then got panda eyes somemore coz didnt sleep well

I need to b induce as my amniotic fluid is low...For kkh, 6 cm is considered to be borderline.. Mine dropped to 4.9cm last week but increased to 6.3cm after drinking 3litre of water everyday ;p

Yeah I also heard tt the actual weight will be lower than what the dr see based on the scan..tts why I hope tt bb can quickly gain weight b4 coming out..

I have been on leave since wk 37.. It's quite diff to work with the pelvic pains, cramps, contractions and swollen feet

Congrats Hazel!!

Rocco I hv been drinking cold drinks almost everyday. When it reaches your stomach is already normal temperature. Coke and decaf frappucino try to restrict to once a week. But since EDD coming and I imagine my confinement cannot drink, have been indulging a bit more... hahaa.. in fact just shared a coke with hubby :p

rilakgal, oic! My doc didn't measure my fluid level in my previous visit... only did CTG. And also no more weight estimate...

I'm gonna be working from home till next Fri then on leave waiting for baby to come!!

my gf who gave birth recently her bb was 200-300g lighter than estimated based on scan... she say its quite common which i realli hope so... tmr got gynae appt scared to hear
dr scold!

Chris, Yes, I bought my own front open button gowns! Anyway, later the nurse will bring bb over after her body temp is stable at 37 degrees, i will try to latch her own again.. Wan her to drink the coloestrum.. Hospital too cold for the bbs so they r al in the warmer. Tonight, I asked the nurse to do cup FM feeding. I wan to rest. Tomorrow am I will latch her on.

Dr Loh asked me of I hv any embryos. I said yea, 2 more n he immediately asked me to try for no 2 next yr!! Hahah

Hi hi mummies, happy Chinese new year! Congrats to Al and Hazel and of course soul daddy and mummy
wondering how my birth story will be like ;p

Due late feb but I figure bb will be early cos it's my 2nd precious.

Congrats, Hazel! Wow! So lucky- your little princess brings u luck wif cash angbao n hampers.
Rest well tonight, it must be tiring for u.
Big congrats to the soul family! Your little girl is finally home for the new year!

Sweetcorn, I'm working from home starting this week till a week before delivery. Same like u, too heavy to walk now wif the constant swollen feets n big tummy. U can get the front open button pajamas from Chinatown market. Go look for the last shop beside ATM, managed by an old lady. I got really good quality cotton n silk satin ones for only $9.90. Cheapest in the whole market, rest of shops are selling $18++, so don even need to bargain.

Hazel - grats!!! My #1 delivered at 40wks plus and actual weight onli 2.76kg! Gd weight easy to deliver! Anyways bb will onli get heavier by the day(except first few days some lose abit weight). Enjoy while bb is tis light. Not many pple get to enjoy bb tis kind of weight =). V shiok de. After my #1 hit 5kg(cannot rem how long but max 5 mths) i kip complain v heavy Liao! Hahhaha. Btw my #1 come out also dun wan latch. Onli v kpo kip look ard. But after clean up come bac den latch. Dun rush, slowly. =) and gong xi on your ang Bao from tmc! So cool!!! Oh did they tell u ur bb is number wat or they just say 1st 88? Anyways rest well and speedy recovery!!!

Rocco - bb weight depends on bb him/herself. Scan Onli rough estimate. Some zhun some not so zhun. Just like 2 pple same size but bones diff densities so one heavier and one not so heavy. My #1 was lighter by abt 300g. Also I'm a coke lover so I drink lots of coke and was worried when preggy with #1 and chked with gynae b4. She say max 1 can a day. Den I was like wow! Not expecting tis kind of allowance. =x Of cos i dun take 1 can a day but I drink it quite often and me and my #1 still gd. =) not to worry!

Sweetcorn - front button gowns tink u can chk under bulk purchase got some pple selling. Those nursing wear/pajamas links. Although personally I prefer nursing gowns without buttons cos the buttons are abit leh chey I tink. I had bought 3 front button tops/pajamas and onli used it for confinement. Once I was out I went shopping and bought those with easy nursing access from spring maternity. Abit more pricey cos b4 tat I din know abt the bulk purchase going on @ SMH. =.=" But U can prob go there look look see see first. For reference b4 u buy from bulk purchase. Find something which u can easily access to breastfeed with 1 hand onli.

Soul - grats on BB going home for reunion!!! =) finally dunnid kip run 2 places and can constantly see bb as and when! Heh

Guess what? Baby decided not to b induced n I m in labour ward now!!! I felt contractions every 5 min since 1050pm n "show" at 1145pm..wish me luck!

Wah getting so exciting. One by one delivering.. Ooh.. Really look fwd to hug my princess soon ;)

Congras Hazel! So blessed to b 1st 88 bb at tmc ;)

Gals, PD came at 12am plus n informed my bb is a bit breathless, she is premature still n PD concerned her lungs may not be fully developed..  Furthermore since I hv gbs Infection (though my gynae has given me antibiotic during labour), her BT results wun be out until a few days later, so she started her on antibiotic drip first unless BT proves she is ok..  As if she got infection fr me n if goes to brain, can be serious...So, she put her in NICU with oxygen instead of normal nursery for observation for abt 5 days... She will give her a Chest X-ray of her lungs later...  Can't help but worry.. 

Oh dear Hazel, I'm sure your gal will be fine, maybe her lungs not functioning well yet due to mucus. She got no fever right?

Ng: are u in TMC as well? Jia you!

Jen, yes TMC. Mucus in lungs? How come will hv that?

Oh ya, those with sf Loh, the TMC pre admission record is for bed booking at TMC. Need to ask dr Loh for another admission memo which will state key medical details of mummies. I was warded n sober so I was able to answer the qns asked by the nurse at pt of admission. Was told, our gynae shld gave us an admission memo which has all these details... Coz unlike KKH, pte hospitals dun hv our case files.

my dr is located at tmc but he also gave me this pink paper with my medical history such as gbs result n also other details for tmc nurses to fill up during d labour process... think thats d one hazel is referring to...

so for those delivering at tmc
may want to check with their drs abt this.

Just seek a 2nd opinion from head of Pd in nuh, hub's friend. She said bb is premature so lungs may be wet. So breathing at 80 breathe per seconds instead of 60. As for my infection, hub's friend said no issue since bb Is on antibiotics already n I was on antibiotics during labour.