(2012/02) Feb 2012

Opps, try not to carry no 1. Not good for you.

Anne, tks. Heard about Mdm rokiah before. She is the one who opened jamumassage. U engaged her to help in breastfeeding? How much she charge per visit? Book through the co?

GG Lee, its the travel pack or big pack?? I wan to buy travel small pack.

I have no choice leh. #1 always cry loudly for me to carry. If I ignored, she will hug my leg and refused to let go. Can't even walk when she do that. So no choice hav to carry a while. When hubby around, he will help to carry even tot she wan me to carry.

For those 1st time mummies like me, our lives will soon be changed totally in few weeks (or days) time.. Wooo hooooo..

Having a cough for almost 1 week. No phlegm but throat very itchy. When coughing, my tummy aches. So difficult to sleep at night cos keep coughing

Dont dare to take any cough syrup, just lozenges.

chilliquek: i also had the same problem as you last week, i had realli bad cough and flu. but the lozenges doesnt help. Until bo bian, i took one time cough syrup and flu med (the small yellow pill), next day 70% recovered. only mild coughing cos of the phelgm.
i didnt want to take the cough medicine at first but dr says the constant coughing may trigger contractions.

Anyway mummies i was at TMC. 1st dragon year bb $1388 ang pow and 1 month supply of pampers!
2nd bb i think was $888 ang pow... 1st 88 babies also got some ang pow but much lesser.

chilli, yup, totally big changes. And one of the most buay tahan change is having to do nite feeds or nite pump of bm and not enough sleeps. So do sleep more now. I knw its not possible cos I also can't sleep well due to the weather, toilet trips and big tummy. But no choice, have to try to sleep more now. I can imaging myself having to start all over again I very scare.

U can see a GP and get pregnancy safe cough syrup. I hav drink a lot liao cos still coughing till now. Hope it won't affect bb. For you jus tis time taking cough syrup shld be ok. Better than having the pain on tummy. Might trigger contractions.

Rocco, wow! Tempted to hav 1st dragon bb leh. Hahaa... but tat will mean prematured bb for my case. I remembered my hubby asked me whether bb will come out on the 1st day. I told him no cos tat means pre-matured bb.

Constant coughing will trigger contractions?!
Oh no, then I better c a GP for preganancy safe cough syrup.
Thanks for informing me.

With all the night feeds n pumping, we will be Panda mummies taking care of our Dragon babies.
Haha..

haha chilliquek, quite farnee leh your description. panda mummies and dragon babies.

i think my mil will take care of bb at night in her room (thats wat she did when my SIL did her confinement), so that i can have proper rest during the 1st month. especially with all the stitching and all, and the frustration of being hot and not able to bathe... d stress from having not enough BM, and plus bouts of post natal blues (quite common to have mild ones) i m realli thankful that both my in laws are quite easy going and they have been extremely understanding during the pregnancy period.

Last night stamoch hv a bit pain, lucky morning nothing... This few day hope bb don't come out 1st. He always playing Kung fu inside... Like not enough space for him to move.

AL-think your bb getting ready for action liao! Gogogo-dragon angbao!

Rocco,we have same gynae, yah I agree wif you he is pretty strict wif baby weight.He also warn me about not eating too much bahkwa and pineapples tarts, cause bb was at 2.3kg at 35weeks, he said 1st timer mummies like us should try to keep baby weight small to ease delivery.

Tks all for sharing..

Wana share, forgot who was asking about advise for confinement: a few days ago went to a place that sell things for confinement, the auntie very old already and initially look very attitude, but after that actually quite ok, shared with my mum abt the things to cook for me... and even have receipes printout.. so for those who wan info like that can go and try.. not sure if cheap or expensive la, but she say she not do 1 day business wan, total damage $300+, she also sell the herbs for bathing, according to her, must boil water with it, cannot add warm water from the shower..

at bugis area. let me know if wan contacts. ;D

question: what kind of brest pumps are you getting?

Seems like Medela is very popular, but not sure to get the PISA (fixed to a bag??, need transformer = heavier for when go back to work, but cheaper, heard suction stronger) or the Freestyle (more portable, more expensive and heard complaints..)

Soul - thanks! Heh shall try tat tis time round. Save on buying citric acid. Heh

Ng - U natural or c-sect? Y u wan big bb? Keke. I tot normally "standard" size is 3kg 50cm @ birth/40wks?

Al - ya diff hospital diff de.

Rocco - waaa 1st 88 also have. Den u got high chance lo! Heh! Gd luck!

Oops - mine also like tat. But #1 dun have. #1 onli hip bone pain. #2 plus below pain. Feels terrible. How old ur #1 and how heavy? Is she really clingy these days? I brought mine to play with my fren's daughters. She got a 2 yrs older and 1 same age. My #1 onli play with the older one. I tink she onli wan b mei mei. Dun wan b jie jie =.="

Icy; using medela PISA. Got the swing initially but didn't like it so putting it on sale. If going to breast feed by latching then single pump or manual pump. But if wanna save time and long term the dual pump better..

xia, my #1 is 1.5yrs old and 11+kg now. She very super clingy since I preggy. Very worried she will be super naughty when bb born. Heard a lot of friends and even ifc teachers telling me usually they will be like that once bb born.

Jus now I feel the hip bone pain when I walk bk from lunch.

Think more and more pains coming up.

Opps, is the full size pkt, 70 pcs each. NTUC sells at $3.30 each pkt so watsons is like half price. BBs use a lot of wet wipes cos they poo so often. Unless u are the diligent type use cotton wool and boiled water instead of wet wipes to clean :p

Icyclaw, heard the Medela PISA is good. Ever tried Freestyle, supposedly better but din seem to work for me for no 1.

icyclae, I'm using Medela PISA. Very good for me. Same as Soul, initially use Swing for 1 mths then buay tahan that it takes abt 45mins to pump both sides so went to buy PISA immediately after confinement. The salesgirl say PISA good for ppl who needs more force to suck out more milk like me.

Its not attached to the bag. Only recently then find out can detached from the bag. OMG, only find out after I stop bf for so long. But the machine is a big heavy when you take it out from bag.

Nvr use freestyle b4 but one of my friend say its gd for her.

GG Lee,

I did! Want to tabulate the info so that i can present to my hubby.. Give me some time... ;D

Soul108 & Opps, so PISA is good for u? The converter not heavy?

Why didnt choose the Freestyle?

Oops, did u try to get ur gal to be involved? Like ask her to sayang baby, talk to baby, sing to baby? I asked my #1 to choose a toy for #2 and she was so happy about it, but have not got around to getting something for her from #2..

Also keep telling her she is a big gal now, can help me to take care of mei mei, and let her play with stuff toys to let her put on diaper and tell her things she can or cannot do (unless with help) for mei mei.. ;p

Hazel, I had some light brown spotting after the cervix check, but dun know if it's due to the check or leftover from my initial spotting which triggered the mad rush to hospital... ok, I will try to eat more fruits and drink prune juice...

Icy claw, I was also struggling between pisa and freestyle. Bot freestyle recently cos wanted something light and more portable. Also, dun know if Pisa suction is too powerful for me...

Chilli, take care and do take something to relieve cough. Cough too much will trigger contractions....

Opps: what my cousins did was, when they gave birth to no. 1, they bought a gift for no. 1, and said that it was from didi.
not sure how useful this tactic is, i will only know when i have a number #2. but its only for the initial 1 year that he or she may be quite 'unwelcoming' of the new born. after awhile, the elder one will realise the new born is actually a playmate!

GGLee: I chose cordlife, cos TMC has discount for the initial package. Also cordlife seems more aggressive with their marketing, branding and everything... cordlife's prices are fixed every year, where by stemcord is 5 year renew, so price may jump in the future... lastly, i took up cordlife through friend's recommendation and advice...

icyclaw: I be using freestyle.

Haha I am hoping for a bigger baby as my mil said it will be easier to handle..

I bought free style too as it is more compact.. However, I have heard frm many pp tt Pisa is a more efficient pump though it's noisy..

Cord life is preferred over stem cord as there were sayings that cord life are very prompt in collecting the blood after delivery

icyclaw, u need a convertor if you are buying from overseas. I bought from sg so no need. But the whole bag was aldy very heavy and small. I can't put everything in. Maybe cos I put all accessories into a lock and lock box so filled up all the space. Cooler bag hav to carry separately. I know there is a discount in KKH now. PISA selling at $500+ (original $700+, I bought at tis price). Freestyle selling at $700+ (original price $900+). U might wan to go down to KKH to buy now. Not sure whether the promotion ended or not.

icyclaw and rocco, yup, I did asked my gal to kiss my tummy, tok to bb and sayang di di. I also bought a toy and say its a Christmas gift from di di. Now can see she a bit accept di di liao since then. Sometimes will keep looking for di di when I'm not around. Ifc teacher say hav to buy another gift and give #1 say from di di during her 1st met up with di di. My mum also asked me to let them hold hands at that time and tell them mus love each other.

Hope all this will work out. Cos I will be handling both on my own. Can't imaging if both naughty or even fight with each other. I will faint in front of them.

Need some urgent advice please - For those who are thinking C-section, any ideas what the doctor's fees are that are usually charged? And how much do they charge per hospital visit/bedside visit post delivery?

Gals, if u are storing your cordblood, remember to check whether they will do cell count test now or when u r using it. Cos my #1's cordblood failed to be stored for donation due to low in cell count. The consultant told me 50% of the cordblood will failed this very 1st test they did. % quite high leh. So better check.

Can imaging if the bank nvr do tis test and touchwood when u need to use then know cannot use cos low in cell count. Wasting of money storing it.

I asked my #1 to sayang and kiss mei mei everyday. BUT I dunno whether she now wat mei mei is exactly or not. I scared she tink all tummies are called mei mei! Mine 2 more mths den 1.5yrs. 10+kgs. Feeling the strain when carrying her. Aggravated the pain. Me also taking care myself. I scared 1 cry both cry!!! Mebbe I cry tog! LOL

xia, I cried with my #1 b4. Really stressed with they keep crying. Next time 2 crying bbs... FAINT! Heard my friend told me sometimes they will gang up and cry together. Actually mine stil hav 1 more mth to 1.5yrs old. so our 2 bbs around the same age wor.

R u working?? I hav to bring both my kids hm from CC then take care on my own at nite and morning. Don knw hav time to bf or not.

Lets Jia you!

Beemummy, no one can ans u. Different drs hv different rates. and the dr always has a range of charges, eg length of time of the visit, services provided during the visit, etc etc. Is better u ask your own dr his charges.

Hi Hazel, thanks for your response. I realize that drs have different ranges, was just hoping to get an estimate or idea on current rates from various doctors.

Rocco, icyclaw, tks. I think stemcord key selling point is they store in multiple units so only need to thaw wat is needed to use in event of illness and treatment. And I think is opened by a team of v established docs including ang Peng tiam. but cordlife seems more popular with mummies. And they do a lot more marketing.

Hi Hazel,

I got a friend to buy freesyle from US also? Have you tried to charge it yet? Do we need to get a seperate convertor as mentioned by Opps?

Think very wierd, freestyle dun need transformer, but Pisa need.. Last time when use ameda, the yield very little.. Duno it's cos that time I used my sister's passed down 1 so got abit spoil or I really need powerful kind le..

If like that shld ignore the weight n buy Pisa since cheaper too?

icyclaw - I used the Ameda Purely Yours last time and found it worked pretty well (versus the Avent IQ which wasn't as effective) - but I have heard that the motor only lasts about 18 months, so have bought a new one this time. I like the Ameda because it is a closed system so no chance of milk contamination in the tubes.

For the Ameda, depending on usage, need to change the valves every couple of months and the diaphragms every 6 months, found this helped with the yield.

Lavlyn, like wat I said, free style dun need transformer to step up the voltage. But the plug is US 2 flat pins. That means, u need a traveller adaptor to plug it into our socket. Just like When u go Travelling, our SG 3 pin plug of electronic devices like HP, laptop, etc cannot fit into US, Oz, NZ, sockets n we need the traveller adapters. Same logic.