(2012/02) Feb 2012

GG Lee, sit up position not as bad.. Is when I m sleeping n got woken up 2-3 hrs later with the gastric reflux that Is terrible.. Made me choke & gasp..hv to sit up.. How to sleep like this? My mum said, ren! A few wks more...

Hi everyone! Working from home today... office so quiet anyway

Passed my MIL bags of clothes to wash and she already started washing. At least I know if baby comes early she will have clothes to wear. Haven't started packing my hospital bag cos I dunno which bag to bring. Hahaha... Hubby also got his friend to re-arrange the baby room together. Is so much neater now. Just need to remove the plastic from mattress and put on covers when baby is here.

I bought my mattress and covers from Kiddy Palace. They will deliver over $250. Lots of different mattress sizes, so easier to get from there since they have covers which fit their mattresses

Will call up my CL later to see if anything she needs me to prepare, whether dom or yomeishu. By the way, does CL help to wash baby clothes?

shan, I got my playpen from Kiddy Palace for $79. I saw Winnie the Pooh playpen for $99 at Toys R Us. Looks cute but I don't know if they have the bassinet. I went for a basic one cos didn't want to have changing table etc

Shan,
sister kang is lactation consultant from mt alvernia. The term sister is reference to her status as nurse, not a nun =p haha, cos i was confused and asked her. Very nice, encouraging and motherly lady. I felt that wbb from TMC was abit harsh and abrasive compared to sister kang.

Hazel, for me even sitting down will kena. Have to Ren then it goes away after like half hr.

Chewie, yes CL wash bb clothes and your clothes, most will wash daddy's clothes too.

My bb room super duper messy now. Just set up additional cabinets as current ones all filled by gor gor stuff. Also washed my confinement clothes and bras etc. Still packing all the bb clothes, probably wash in coming weeks.

GG Lee, yours will go away? My dun.. 3am yesterday I was still awake from heartburn.. Ended up hv to use pillow to support at 45 degrees... Ended up didn't sleep well.. Super shack.. 1pm I just had lunch, now, can feel It coming again! How to rest & nap? Sianz...

Shan,

A bassinet is the one top layer to put on top of the playpen which 0-3months can sleep on. Not advisable for bigger baby as its not as stable as a cot. U r not kiasu, I bought both cot for sleep n playpen for play too. Got the tweety bird one for my princess.
just dumped all baby clothes in washing machine for laundry. Realised I bought too much, just the newborn to 3months clothings already took up whole 9kg load. Have to wash the rest another day. :p

Hazel & GG, my heartburn will go off when I sleep propped up wif 2 pillows. My mum also ask me to unhook my bra as sometimes it's caused due to tight fitting bra. Did feel better when I go braless.

Jen, yes, pop up with 2 pillows better.. But end up upper back aches... Also, with 2 pillows, dun u find it hard to turn? End up sore too on the side.. I dun wear bra to sleep..

Hi Hazel, nowadays I'm ok sleeping wif 2 pillows. I rarely turn cause each time I turned, baby will kick vigorously maybe lack of space.

Rocco, I tried TMC confinement food but only like the soup. The rest of the dishes like veg n meat, all quite tasteless. So will try mount A this time. Wonder if sister Kang do house call like TMC consultants?

Hazel,

Thanx for the baby bonus infor! I'm wondering for 1st child means we will get 4k cash from gov n 6k from CDA acct?

Shan,
The breastfeeding workshop is organised by a company called mum's fairy, not by mt a, so anyone can sign up. But they hired sister kang to give the talk. It's a 3hr class. You can try to google it. Covers breastfeeding info much more in depth compared to parentcraft lessons conducted by hospitals

Rocco, sister kang did mention she'snot always available cos go out give talks, mothers hire her to make house calls. But she did say there definitely will be other LCs around. I know over at TMC, no LC on public holidays. But there's a main nurse in charge of hotline whom u can seek help from if desperate. Cos i had mastitis on public hol, went tmc and was refered to tat nurse

Chewie, as stated in the webpage, child development credit Is at discretion of govt when they r surplus. Baby bonus is at bottom of the page.

Hazel, dunno
i only went to tmc rather than try to book house call. Was free as the nurse only spoke to me for 5 mins, checkdd milk could still drip out then sent me ofg

<font color="0000ff">Sorry to interrupt. I'm a Sept 2011 mummy and brought in some Korean milk bag for my own use and am selling them now to pass on the savings!

Very good quality, zipper type.

For more details:
http://smh-thelittleonesinmylife.blogspot.com/p/smh-special.html

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Thelittleonesinmylife/288198271213600

If you mummies are keen, you can gather orders amongst yourselves and I will give you a special rate

I will also include mail/delivery to individual mummies so you don't have to worry about logistics.

Soul Daddy here. Been hectic couple of days since waterbag ruptured. Yes darling daughter decide to surprise everyone and almost gave everyone a heart attack. We're still 8 weeks +- early and crossing fingers that baby don't deliver too early..
Mummy and dd are stable condition but taking each day as it comes as doctor mentioned that if infection sets in then will need to deliver ASAP.
No choice had to go to restructured hospital and admit under class C due to potential NICU costs.. Prolonged NICU can run into tens of thousands.
Our original gynae also cant help anymore since its out of their hospital.

Soul108, ur wife is 32wks now? Has bb crossed over 2kg? If so wun be prolong stay in NICU... 32-34 wks if bb arrives early, estimated stay in NICU is 1-2 wks. You can ask the drs there.

Yup, we have 2 safe marker to reach, one is once bb reach 2 kg and when we are 37 weeks. When bb is 2 kg, their organs are consider matured enough. If born prematured, no need to stay in the NICU for very long. 37 week consider full term bb.

Jascmy, but bb lungs r matured only at 34wks, regardless of bb's weight. So, if bb is earlier than 34 wks, dr will give mummy steroid injections to quickly mature bb's lungs within 48 hrs. So, after 34 wks, though premature n bb will most likely >2kg, no need to stay in NICU anymore. N if in KKH, bb just need to stay in special care unit (SCU) for a few days for observation if need be.. But I think, pte hospitals such as tmc does not hv SCU.. All is NICU, but by different types.

Hazel, yup yup, the steroid jab is a must no matter wat is the weight of the bb. So long bb is prematured (before 37 weeks) mus take the jab liao. But if bb is more than 2kg, jus need the jab and stay in the box (I call that thing a box) for observations for most 1 to 2 wks. Not sure whether in SCU or NICU. Think depend on condition of bb.

I myself a 8mths prematured bb and I only stay in the box for 1 day and discharged with my mum on the 3rd day.

Hazel: Yes, baby 32 weeks. No slightly under 2kg.. Hopefully baby stay abit longer in mummy's womb, 3 days already did grow abit. Today 4th day. We had the steroid jabs already. Restructured Hospital has the NICU and SCU. private I think only NICU. Hard to get estimate also as case by case.

Soul, that's true that medical cost can reach sky high. Have you got any insurance coverage? Do take care of soul mummy and yourself!

Soul daddy, yes all the best to your bb, guai guai stay inside longer!! Did gynae say y waterbag suddenly burst?

Soul, Maybe can check with the doc hows the condition of bb and how long will bb hav to stay in NICU if bb born early. Cos if like me only need to stay 1 day then u can opt to have a good gynea from the restructured hospital to review your wife and bb. I can tell you those young and small doctors (MO and below)in the restructured hospital are useless. I had many unhappy encounters with them. Even went thru some dramas (they detect contractions and say bb going to born prematured) with them and in the end my gynea say actually only a small matter. My hubby also complained many times abt them. Thats y I decide to choose and fix a gynea.

Oh, just realised that I'm "promoted" to member status now!

Rocco, TMC nurses care level depends on luck. On days which I stayed there-the only person I see the most is the pantry aunty who brings me soup on a 2hrly basis. Not a single nurse in sight come into room so I don even know who is my in-charge nurse for that shift.There was 1 elderly Chinese nurse who was more caring than the rest, and will come in and let everyone know she is in charge for that shift, then come in once in a while to say hi and check on me and BB. Other than that, most of the time-its either me wif HB or me alone wif the CTG machine facing the walls. Rocco-do check wif TMC if the renovation is completed at the wards, cause when I was admitted, renovation was ongoing and the drilling was right outside my window. Very noisy and disturbing in the day!

Jascmy, u r v right on the service of Subsidised wards! N the poor mummy has to bear with the noisiness &amp; heat.. Luckily now dec, not as warm.

Soul, that is what my KKH gynae told patients. 32-34 wks, bb estimated stay at NICU is 1-2 wks. Scu cost abt 100 a day.

Hey soul daddy, hope everything is alright. Nowadays technology very advanced. So don't worry too much. U must be the pillar of strength for soul mummy!

Looks like ur bb girl would b the first to arrive amongst us here! Jia you ok!

Soul, does ur wife hv enhanced hospitalisation shield plan? If so, it covers pregnancy complications so ur wife can stay in non Subsidised wards! Insurance will pay.

Hi hazel, went to read up on hospitalization shield plans. For ntuc income, it covers pregnancy complications after 10mths. Wat does that mean?

Jen: I was under the impression per term labour is not covered under insurance generally.
Hazel: checking she has a basic plan. Not covered. Our ward not bad. 5 bed and is like have air con. Nurses are decent and attentive.
GG Lee: nobody knows
Planet: yup. Dunno what dd is doing.. Maybe want to rush take CNY Ang pao.
Jascmy: well, our attending gynae is supposed to be a senior consultant. So we are ok I guess just that feel more comfortable with our own gynae.. Nobody can tell how long baby needs NICU but it can cost 1000 a day and if 1
Month... Think can faint.

Hi Soul, its true that we all feel more comfortable wif own gynae after establishing that bond over the months. But since soul mummy is on basic insurance coverage only, then better to think of cost. I was referring to wat GG mentioned on the hospital shield plans, cause I was covered when I was admitted for pregnancy complications.
Threatened pre-mature labour is classified as complications so can claim outside of the normal labour cost.

Soul Daddy, I delivered my #1 at 32wk 6days.
Can empathize with your anxiety about baby's health and the large bill coming up. DS was born 2.2kg, but had chest compression issues.
NICU for 15 days came up to abt $15k.
But most important is to care for Mommy and Baby now.
The bill can be structured into instalments (ask your hospital for assistance).

Soul, only enhanced plan covers

GG Lee, this coverage came into effect in Sept 2008. So, it means 10 mths after this effective date. And coverage kicks in 10 mths after u first bought the policy. I presume u hv the policy for many yrs like me! So, we r covered. I hv a rider that covers 10% co payment and excess too which was no longer offered. That means, my coverage is 100%. Bills incurred 90 days before and after the incident can claim too. I had a mid term miscarriage and another early miscarriage last yr. i filled up the form at pt of admission &amp; didn't even cme out with a cent for the hospitalization bill. Income settled the bill for me. 90 days after the hospitalisation, I sent in all my invoices, including gynae visits, scans, oscar scans, etc 90 days (when I was preg) before and after my hospitalisation to income. Within a mth, I receive a cheque of the entire Amt I spent during that period. I was with KKH then n my plan is for restructured hospitals. So if I go pte, My coverage will be 65% instead of 100%.

If you look at the benefit tables carefully, it also covers bb at birth on certain items.

In addition to that, this pregnancy I bought additional coverage for bb if bb stays in SCU or NICU at birth (touch wood!!)