(2012/02) Feb 2012

AL,
Thanks for putting up the EDD for us to look thru at a glance.. As my first 2 borns were delivered via c-sect, this 3rd bb will have to be delivered via c-sect as well. Thou my EDD is 8 Feb, gynae wanted me to go for c-sect at 37th wks or latest by early 38th wk.. So most prob i will go for c-sect in end-Jan. ;P

Hazel,
According to the Tong Shu, a true dragon baby must be borne on/after Li Chun, ie. 4 Feb. Anyway, it doesn't really matter whether our bb is born in year of dragon/rabbit. Most imptly is bb is fine and safe.. ;)

Btw, have u all started packing your hosp bag?

hey mummies, thanks for the assurance. really makes me feel less worried =)

all my bb stuff are still hanging ard in bags. decided to pack it next week. this week just gonna enjoy the last few days of 2011!

bubbliciouslee, last 3 week at midnight my stomach very pain like want to give birth, my husband quickly packed the bag prepare go hospital. After 30mins no more pain ready, we go back to sleep…hahaa the bag still there

mummy zeal, here the list:

Baby's Room
[ ] Baby's cot x 1
[ ] Cot mattress x 1
[ ] Cot bedsheet Covers and Cot Bumpers
[ ] Cot pillow / bolsters x 1 set
[ ] Cot mattress Protector x 1
[ ] Cot bed lining x 1
[ ] Wind-up mobiles/ Merry go-round x 1
[ ] Baby's cries detector x 1 set
[ ] Waterproof mat x 1
[ ] Blanket x 2
[ ] Chest of drawers x 1
[ ] Bean sprout pillows x 2

Baby's Clothes
[ ] Pacifiers? (optional)
[ ] Mittens x 5 pairs
[ ] Socks/ Bootees x 5 pairs
[ ] Bibs x 5
[ ] Jump suits/ Rompers (short sleeve) x 5
[ ] Jump suits/ Rompers (long sleeve) x 5
[ ] Short sleeves / Long sleeves Tops x 5
[ ] Long pants x 5
[ ] Face towels x 10
[ ] Nappy/ Nappy liners (optional)
[ ] Bath towels x 4
[ ] Tummy covers (optional) x 5

Hygiene/ Bath Items
[ ] Short stool x 1
[ ] Nail clipper/ scissors (optional) x 1
[ ] Bath sponge (optional) x 1
[ ] Baby shampoo (optional) x 1
[ ] Safety pins (optional) x 1 pack
[ ] Cotton balls x 1 pack
[ ] Baby Wipes x few packs
[ ] Bath tub x 1
[ ] Non slip mat x 1
[ ] Baby bath x 1
[ ] Baby oil/ lotion x 1
[ ] Baby powder with puff x 1 tin
[ ] Diapers - Newborn x 2 + S-Size x 2
[ ] Sanitizer (optional) x 1
[ ] Baby's Laundry Powder x 1

Care for the Umbilical Cord Stump (optional)
[ ] Sterile swab applicators
[ ] Sterile cotton swabs
[ ] Sterile container for cord spirit x 1
[ ] Cord spirit x 1 bottle

Medical Items
[ ] Cream for nappy rash (Destin) x 1
[ ] Oil for wind x 1 (Ru Yi Oil)
[ ] Gripe water x 1 bottle
[ ] Thermometer x 1

For Feeding Baby
[ ] Steam sterilizer x 1 set
[ ] Warmer x 1
[ ] Milk bottles - big x 2 + small x 2
[ ] Teats
[ ] Tongs x 1
[ ] Bottle/teat scrub brush x 1
[ ] Milk containers x 1 set

For Nursing
[ ] Breast pump x 1 set
[ ] Storage bottles (optional)
[ ] Storage bags x 6 (min)
[ ] Nursing bras x 2
[ ] Nursing Tops (optional)
[ ] Nursing/ breast pads x 1 box
[ ] Cream for sore nipples x 1 - Destin

Accessories
[ ] Play pen x 1 (optional)
[ ] Walker x 1 (for later stage)
[ ] Stairgates x 1 (for later stage)
[ ] Rubber/ corner protectors (for later)
[ ] High chair x 1 (for later stage)
[ ] Bouncer (for later stage)
[ ] Stroller x 1 (for later stage)
[ ] Baby carrier x 1 (optional)
[ ] Pram x 1

Mummy Care
[ ] Confinement Lady
[ ] Jamu Massage
[ ] Bedroom slippers
[ ] Sarong x 2 (optional)

For Confinement Lady
[ ] Mattress/ bed
[ ] Closet/ drawer?

For Jamu Massage
[ ] Mattress
[ ] 1 large towel
[ ] 2 small towel

Packing for Labour (Hospital)
For mum:
[ ] Slipper x 1 pair
[ ] Nightdress/ pajamas x 2
[ ] Face towel x 2
[ ] Nursing bra x 2
[ ] Breast pads x 4 pairs
[ ] Sanitary pads x 1 pack
[ ] Cardigan/ Sweater x 1
[ ] Toiletries - 1 set
[ ] Socks x 1 pair
[ ] Ipad, mag, camera, HP charger, etc
[ ] Aloe Vera cream x 1 tube
[ ] Nipple cream x 1 tube - Destin

For baby:
[ ] Long sleeve tops + long pants x 2 sets
[ ] Mittens + botties/ sock x 1 pair
[ ] Baby's Blanket x 1
[ ] Baby's diapers x 1 pack
[ ] Baby's knitted cap x 1
[ ] Cotton balls x 1 pack

good morning mummies!
this thread is moving fast again.

i'm at my 33rd week. Still havent wash bb's clothes and pack bag yet. very lazy and with the holiday mood, even worse. haha~

a quick question, my bb is so much active last nite compared to the previous days. Is it a cause for concern?

bubbliciouslee, my csec scheduled on 27 January. So you haven't booked yours? My EDD is 12 Feb. My gynae leaves it to me to decide but the earliest i can csec will be 21 January...

Khim, I dun think is any concern. My bb too.. Some days v active.. Than usual,, at times I wonder is it coz of something u eat or do....

Khim, the norm is at least 10 or more per day guess more movement is better than less. I get worried only if baby don move for a while.

Butterwaffle, u may be one of the first in the gp to deliver!

Anyone know where to get affordable cot bed sheet set? The aussino ones is a bit pricey at $200+.

AL, thanx for the list! have not pack my bag too, so lazy after back from holiday. Seems like a lot to pack, think an overnight bag not enough, must go for trolley luggage case. Can I ask why need 2 beanspout pillows? My mum only made one, not enough?

Hazel, I think you are right. Noticed that my baby gets a bit hyper in movement after I steal a mouthful of coke or ice-cream. Heeheehee.

Jen, I hv 3 beanspout pillows! One for my plc, one for my mom's plc since she will be taking care after I return to work and one for the diaper bag for going out. I dun want to keep transferring the pillow fr 1 plc to another...hehe

Hi Hazel, isit? 3? Gee, think I need to get an extra one Liao. Was thinking bb will only be attached to one due smell, but think its a good idea to get spare for diaper bag in case I get forgetful n forgot to bring one out.

Jen, I bought my at this bb shop opp the famous guanyin temple at middle road. Abt $20 bucks. Save the hassle of drying & making,

Jen, I hv not bought bb cot n beddings yet, planning to do so only b4 cny... :p

The smell comes fr bb. So all the pillows will hv the smell!

Jen, for the beddings, are they standard measurements? Ie if I buy cot from shop A, will I be abt to get the beddings ofvsame mesasurements at shop B?

Hazel,

So long you know the measurements of the cot which they usually will indicate the size of the mattress on the wooden base. U can buy from Kiddy palace, there quite a few sizes to choose from.

Teoong, I saw many nice n cheap ones from carters website.. It is indicated as for crib beddings.. But not sure of the sizes....

ok ok, rest my mind then. cuz bb girl keep kicking me from 7pm till this morning. very painful especially when she kick my internal organs.

hazel, some of the cots have waiting time. maybe you can shortlist the ones you like and enquire on the delivery, else might not be in time for the bb.

Hazel, they are different in sizes.. Better to check the measurements before purchasing.

Al, thanks for the list! Got to start somewhere soon... Feeling more nervous by the day.

Khim, my baby moves more whenever I eat sweet/sugar stuffs. I think she likes it haha.

Hospital bag, I think someone mentioned if we pack too early.. Baby will take it as a sign that she/he can come out already! I don't want that to happen yet.. At least not until 39weeks!! Maybe I pack half first :p

Hazel,
Misunderstanding... My braxton hicks freq is every 5 mins and each last 1 min and continue for next 30 mins. Oh... now they charge for the pre-mix milk? When i deliver my 2nd BB in 2010 at Mt A, it's free as i took 4 bottles.

jascmy,
When i deliver #2, my BM come in very fast, day 1 already got milk. But for #1, limited milk till day 3. Get frustrated and start crying and crying, as pp ard me not very supportive. So #1, i pump, no latch to "show" pp ard me that "there is milk" lo!

RE: Dragon BB
I managed to read past posts. So cfm is 4th feb then is li chun, then considered true dragon BB? I wanted a rabbit BB actually, but my EDD is 8 Feb. I'll let BB choose...

Seems like still a lot of things to prepare! I havent pack room, wash bb and my confinement clothes, bras etc. Just bought additional comfy bras yesterday and disposable maternity panties and nb diapers. Initially feels like nothing much to prepare but suddenly now feel like still a lot to do!! Just spent a bomb on more tonic yesterday for confinement too!! Still got other stuff to buy like black sesame oil, confinement wine etc etc!

GG Lee, have fun preparing! Hehe.. I also bought comfy nursing bra $10+ only).. N some cny clothes over the wk end.. N the package was delivered to me just now! Now, need to wash those stuff.. But no energy.. Lying in bed instead :p

Sesame oil, those condiments, ask mummy to help buy.. These stuff r heavy. Wat confinement wine u referring to? For cooking or bathing? I m using rice wine or bathing.. Delegate to mummy to buy also... For cooking, I hv stock up enough hard liquor from dfs.. Will use those instead.. :p

AL, thanks for the list. its a god-send =)

Jen, i bought my baby cot bedding set at Baby Hyperstore, the one at kaki bukit. Its $139 for 7pcs. includes pillows, bloster, bedding around the sides of cot, blanket, bedsheet.

i also 'shun bian' bought a cot hanging mobile + those playmat (the tripod shape with mat below kind) at $100plus also.

Re: play mat & play yard
I plan to get them after bb is born.. So, that i can confine bb to the play yard.. Instead of a small playpan. It comes with either 4, 6 & 8 panels. I prefer 6 panels as it will hv bigger space for bb to roll around, crawl n later walk.. 8 panels maybe too big for my plc. N I like those From Japan ones... The yard is colorful, come with music, etc.. The Play mat is to put inside the yard.

For those mommies who hv not bought yet, you can take a look for reference. Can be found at some shopping centers here too, but more ex.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5360294.html?1316346937

i bought playmat for my #1. Just added a 2nd mat to increase her play area. Didnt get the play yard which is "heng" for me cuz my #1 don't like to be enclosed in an area, if not waste money...

re: dragon bb
i'm hoping for a dragon bb. so hope my girl dun pop until after 5 Feb. my edd is 14 feb. hehe~

Thanks Al for the list.

We r getting more n more excited to c our darlings

My EDD is 12th Feb.

Btw, anyone planning to take shower at hospital after delivery? Which brand of powder shampoo n where to buy?

Hi everyone. Good to see that everyone is in high spirits and preparing for bb's arrival. I mia for a while during the festive period, haha.

Just when I decided to start washing bb's clothes and stuff in batches, my washing machine decides to break down. It's only 5 mths old, sigh. Now have to wait for it be to fixed and they dun have ready spare parts in Singapore. Making me very stressful.

For confinement, if I standby yomeishu for confinement nanny to use, should be ok right? Where to get rice wine? I super not ready for confinement, kept thinking about bb, forgot about myself...

Shan, for play pen cum bed, I bought graco brand, from baby fair. Recently saw it at Robinson too, now that there's sale there, quite good deal...

GHK,
Yomeishu more for drinking direct. THink the packaging recommend 20ml. Not so much for cooking use. Some people drink DOM for the same purpose too.

Fermented glutinous rice wine can try get from Yue Hua Gou hou at China TOwn or Jurong Point, home sellers (think on and off got people advertise on SMH) or can ferment your own. THink takes about 3-4 weeks for the fermentation process. I'm not bothering to ferment my own cos scared later fermentation fail =p turn into vinegar instead.

Can also try to use Martell to slow cook with meat in slow cooker. Supposed to be good for new mothers. But expensive and takes a long time to slowly boil off the alcohol.

dear mummies,

I'm back... my edd on 5 Feb but my doc feel that I'll deliver early due to pre-mature for my first baby. I was hoping for dragon baby. Hope he can wait till after 25 Jan...

Birdbrain, I'm thinking of using yomeishu for regular cooking, martell to stew for black chicken and dom before sleeping.

The rice wine I used to showering my mum get at Chinese medical shops. I prefer rice wine to herbs for showering.

As for Using hard liquor, such as martell or XO for cooking, Dun need to use slow cooker to cook. Simple cooking like, steaming a PC of chicken thigh/drum stick, with a table spoon of hard liquor over it will do. Alcohol evaporates at 100 degrees anyway. the PC of meat with the "sauce" taste v nice! Buy at DFS airport not v ex as duty free.

I wun be showering in the hospital at all until i get home. So, For hair, will use dry shampoo when in hospital. Can buy at those shops that sell bb stuff. Any brand for me will do. I got mine at china town.

My reflux / heart burnt is getting from bad to worse!! I can get wOken up by this burning sensation in my throat (i ate something b4 sleeping furthermore)!! Like now!! I need to go eat bread Again!! Terrible feeling! It is making me v frustrated!

Yes, yomeishu n dom r more for dthinking direct n not really for cooking....

A spoonful of Hard liquor can also be poured in the soup we drink during confinement. Just make sure the soup boils at 100 degrees for a while before turning off the fire. As double precaution, eat ONLY after we hv pumped the breast milk or latch on. Till the next feed 1-2 hrs later, the liquor if still there will be gone from our body thru urination.

Yup, for me I use those glutinous rice wine from yue Hua and also Dom. Heee I also delegate some shopping to mums and aunts but for some I try to do myself. During confinement mum will help buy all the food also. Giving birth really costs a bomb, gynae consultations, delivery and hospitAlisation, tonics, food, confinement lady, massage lady...siong man!!

Thanks birdbrain, u mean the yue hua dept store at chinatown? U reminded me to get a slow cooker too. My kitchen very ill equipped...

I tot if bf, cannot drink alcohol direct, unless we pump and throw.

Thanks hazel, think I will get a bottle of XO, instead of yomeishu. Btw, to avoid heartburn, try not to lay down immediately after food, cos the gastric juice will back flow into the oesophagus and cause heartburn.

GG Lee, how ah? I really feel terrible from it. I already nv eat chilli n spicy food already. B4 I sleep, I will take a slice of bread n a glass of milk. But 3 hrs later, I get wOken by the acidic burNing taste in the throat!! I take gaviscon liquid sachet for immediate relief but it wun last for long.. I feel like taking antacid but it contains an ingredient not v good for pregnant ladies.. Really wan to make me cry meh.. Already keep waking up to go toilets n now this heart burnt!!!

GHK, nv lie down immediately after food, eat small meals also like this! Yes, each time one table spoon or so, can use quite a while. Ask friends who r Travelling to help u buy when they come bk. buy basic martell will do. Less <S$100.

Anyone knows how to clean/wipe baby toys and accessories, ie those things that can't be washed directly with water?

Thanks hazel, just SMS a friend who's in HK holidaying now, she will help to buy when she comes back.

My heartburn not so bad if I stick to small meals. Just ate bread too...

hazel:
y u say antacid contains ingredient not v gd for preg ladies?
my gynea said its ok for my gastric..
i got the medi from GP and confirmed with gynea that its ok to eat..
hope baby is fine.. coz i took afew alrdy!

Qing, I understand there are many brands of antarcid. My antarcid was precribed previously before pregnancy to take with ponstan n it contains aluminum hydroxide which is okay in low dosages during pregnancy. but how much is low dosages? So, is not the best choices for pregnancy.

http://www.babycenter.com/404_which-heartburn-medicines-are-safe-during-pregnancy_1440876.bc

My gynae told me to take my gaviscon that I bought From guardian n that is completely safe. But it only works a while (a few hrs) n cannot last the whole night of afternoon when I nap... Of course I can take again when the effect wears out.. But ex leh! 1 liquid sachet is >$1 n for single use.

Ghk,
yup, that's the yue hua i was talking abt. I went for mumsfairy breastfeeding workshop. Sister kang said ok to breastfeed after taking dom/yomeishu. Drink small amt only, wait two hours before breastfeeding to allow body to metabolise the alcohol.

Hazel,
My mum and CL poured a generous amt of martel, add a chunk of pork to cook. That's why need to use slow cooker to slowly boil off the alcohol.

Just a note. Dom not very suitable for similar cooking method. I went to try using dom rather than martel cos was trying to finish up my dom. Dom without alcohol taste like syrup, super duper sickeningly sweet, felt like drinking syrup soup. Darn yucky.

I dun use slow cooker though I hv one at home.. Coz I dun find it as nice as food cook over slow fire on a small pot made of clay material. Just my Individual preference. Dom I like to drnk direct too.. I hv quite a no of Dom &amp; martell /XO at home.. All thanks to my sister who help me buy at DFS airport when she came bk from biz trips/ holidays, duty free &amp; after staff discount too.

Mrs Wong also said ok to take alcohol during confinement. Same approach as what birdbrain shared.

Hazel, I also dunno wat can b done. I never sleep after eating. Am working and after lunch also will kena. But so far I dun take gaviscon, just ren..