(2012/02) Feb 2012

Jen, yes mrs wong taught us. but she said, only put for a little while to reduce engorgement. the books said, used a warm press on the breasts to soothe the engorgement.

Jen, its like taking the roller coaster instead of jus rocking. Head of the boat went up high and down. 50% of the passenger threw out making the whole cabin stink. Lucky I'm having bad flu so can't smell at all. Hahaa... It nvr calm my bb down maybe he knows I'm afraid so he keep kicking non stop. It only calm my #1, he fall asleep shortly after it start roller coastering and sleep thru the whole journey.

Jen, I used hot towel, warm bath and breast massage done by my hubby (too painful to do it myself and I will either massage lightly or jus stop). Have to endure. Like my sis always told me. We have to face another pain after the contraction pain. Tat is engorgement.

Gals, don give up so easily. It will definitely be painful and super low supply for the 1st few days to weeks. Once we have develop the supply and used to the routine, the pain will stop and supply will flow. I heard of many ppl who gave up thinking they do not hav milk (cos 1st few days very little or no milk) or too painful. Mus be hardworking by pumping every 3hrs non stop include at nite. You will soon overcome all the pain.

Hello ladies, hope you girls have a great X/mas and feasting!

Jen, so peifu you to be able to still travel at 3rd tri.

I'm surprise that TMC gonna charge the for the sample bottles of FM. As i know that usually they will give samples of the bottles when you discharge, cos some mummies milkflow doesnt comes in till much later.

Jen, yes use warm compress to relieve the engorgement, I remember my engorgement came in when i was discharge and was at home. Really chaimz then.. no choice, but to get my hubby to go Kiddy palace to buy the hot/cold compress pad like gel to use. The other way that my massage lady taught me was to use a hot towel and compress on the engorge area before you massage and express your breastmilk out.

Jen, great to heard there is nice maxi dress, I can buy a few for cny
can't wait to go there for big shopping sprees for myself n my little princess. Was telling my hubby to stop me from buying thing now.
I hope I got strength to do the shopping

Hello mummies! Hope you all had a good long weekend!
2nd time mummies, did anyone start leaking milk yet? My breasts are starting to leak small amount of milk now and then, which kinda worries me...
Hazel: sometimes your breast can be hard and engorged but doesn't mean you can get a lot of milk because smooth milk flow needs to be established over a few days. For most will be within one week. But of course diet and supplements help also. Fish soup didn't really have any effect on me, i only manage to keep supply up by pumping and drinking fenugreek.
For 2nd time mummies, some ppl actually have supply a few
hours after delivery. Usually will be faster than 1st time cause milk ducts are cleared.
Jas: are you better now? I was super busy with my boy and not much time to read and follow already. He's been sick ever since started CC.

Hi mummies, some of you already delivered? so fast!

i think some of us might give birth anytime now... my tummy its very heavey very big. see who will be the 1st one delivery....

Nick Age EDD
Scentlyn 29-Jan
linda0o 21 02-Feb
feelingblessedprincess 02-Feb
joyojoy 27 02-Feb
Al 30 02-Feb
Ayanna 31 03-Feb
Birdbrain 03-Feb
Yvonne 34 04-Feb
Yan Yan 24 04-Feb
Serene123 04-Feb
Chewie 29 05-Feb
ELum 28 05-Feb
Pepperoni 05-Feb
Nana 30 06-Feb
Cranky 31 06-Feb
suet 38 06-Feb
JoJo 31 07-Feb
Rocco 28 07-Feb
MaxiBlur (Hubby)08-Feb
Serene Loh 08-Feb
bubbliciouslee 308-Feb
En Xuan 09-Feb

NC, Thanks for your concern. I'm still coughing and running nose. Recovered only 50%.

When I press my breast I can feel my breast hard and areola area have lumps forming already. I did not leak milk but my nipples are very dirty now. With lots of white thingy. The more I rub the more it will come out. I also have some pimple like thingyon my nipples with white head since I bf my #1 til now. I can squeeze the white thingy out but it form back the next day. Don knw whether I'm sttarting to product milk now.

do your baby "header" you down "there"? this is because, my baby will push against "there" very hard. Very uncomfortable and painful..Is this normal?

Shan, my bb always turn her head down there.. n when she does that, i feel uncomfortable.. at times, i feel a sudden urge to pee to coz of that.. is common. it will get worse when bb is engaged

shan, wears a support belt. it helps to relief the stress.. the pain u are getting is pelvic pain. dun walk excessively & over tire yourself. if not, may bring in early labour.

I'm currently feeling like a whale. I feel so huge lugging this tummy of mine. My weight gain is the same as #1 but everyone is commenting how big this one looks. Put on 12kg so far. I'm a 34 weeker...

I get a lot of Braxton hicks too... I can distinguish BH and baby movement now. I didn't know the difference last time.

How is everybody else feeling?

Congratulation jascmy! continue to pump yr milk, all the pimple, white thingy is okay one. just consistant latch on or pump...slowly your milk flow will getting more.

my bb head already down on my 7th month, his hand n leg always kick. very uncomfortable,my pelvic also pain...is most suffer period now. My tummy very low can't wear support belt.
I feel so sinful, this few day eat too much chocolate...so many party and consume too much rubbish food...don't know will effect my bb.

cranky, i hv put on 13-14kg and i am a 32 weeker! the thing is i nv over eat at all.. eat normal meals and no supper too... since last wed, till now, i hv put on another few hundred grams! at this rate, i cant believe how much i will put on when i deliver....

AL?? Why u congratulate me ah?? I have not deliver. We r jus sharing on bf. I having those till now. Does that means I aldy have milk even tot I hav not deliver my bb yet?

My bb also turn at 27 weeks but when I go for my 3D scan at 28 wk, he turn back again. Feels like he turn head down again cos can feel the kicks are on top jus below my breast now. Yesterday he even kicked my rip cage. Painful.

jascmy, when will bb has not enough space to turn? any idea? my bb was head down since 25w.. now still head down at 32+w.

AL, hehee... touchwood. I wan a dragon bb and I wan to enjoy my cny.

So fast cny is coming soon. Lets see who will be have the 1st cny bb and go on TV.

Hazel, I also not sure leh. Mus see the size of our tummy and bb. I remembered gynea commented my tummy still have space up till 38wks for my #1. I also heard bb turning jus before delivery day.

Hazel, my first child bb head was dwn most of the times... i think since detailed scan, all the way till delivery. It was good to a certain extend that dont need to worry about bb in breech position. Confirm can go for natural delivery. Keep talking to bb and tell bb still have how many more wks to go before seeing mummy.

hey mummies..was wondering whats ur bb weight at 32 weeks? went for my scan last week, he is abt 1.57kg. accordingly to gynae, its 50th percentile. but when with my friend who is due 2 weeks earlier, her bb is 2.5kg at 32 weeks. its quite a big diff...i'm concern if he is gaining enough weight

Teoong, yes I will.

Jascmy, my hubs cousin bb turned legs down 2 wks before delivery.. The mid wife turned the bb for her & luckily it worked.. But she told me it was super painful until she cried! She was in states.

Meifen, my bb is 1.7kg at 31wks. Gynae said bb is average size n of gd weight.

meifen, dun worry about your bb being size if your gynae never really says much. You can always pump your bb up wth your good solid breastmilk if you can after birth. Its easy to give birth to bb within the range than big bb.
So don't worry much
You bb will be absorbing double the intake now i guess

jia you!

my bb weight at 32week 2kgs. almost gain 0.5kg every month.

Hazel, the mid wife can turned bb for her?? never heard got this... i know some yago can help to turn bb head down.

In sg, its done by some experience doctor leh. My #1 also turn during the final mth. Gynea worried bb nvr turn so give me a pamphlet on turning the bb by manually by professionals. She also told me in KKH only 2 doctors will do this procedures. There are lots of risk incl broken limps, brain damaged, go into labour etc etc. So I choose not to do it. Lucky bb turn by himself.

AL, in USA, pregnant ladies can choose to be reviewed during the pregnancy & delivered by a gynae or midwife. Hubs cousin chose a midwife fr day 1....In SG, only an experienced gynae can do the turning manually & also depends on whether the gynae wants to do it.

Hubs cousin went into labour that night after bb was turned! Anyhow, she was already full term then, so it was ok....

AL, you gained 500g in 1 mth or bb? My bb's weight increased from 1.2 kg at 28w to 1.7 kg at 31w in 3 wks.. I m v careful with diet.. Durians, ice creams, etc all I nv take...

Dwie, I'm sure you will have the strength when it comes to shopping.
my little princess was happily kicking each time I stop at a stall n tells her mummy buying her clothings.

Teoong, me shoppaholic, will do anything for shopping. Hahaha.

oic... i tot if happen this case must go for C-section. my friends last month just delivery, doctor said the cord blood have round the bb neck, must go for C-section. so this one cannot be help if want natural birth.

If dr suspects that cord is round bb's neck, usually detected via ctg as scan cannot see, dr will do emergency c section. But there r cases where dr didn't know as nv do ctg n bb was born with cord round her neck.. Like my gf... She said "Heng" nothing happened... Her bb was delivered naturally n cord was round the neck 2x at birth.

RegardIng heads down- my baby still in breech position, have been talking to bb every night to tell her to turn. Gynae wants to consider c-sec but I don't want. Heard Lilian from TMC does help some ladies wif the heads down, was thinking of asking her for help if bb still don turn at next appt.

Jas, think those white spots u have r milk ducts, seems you r already producing milk- thats great. Think for 1st time mum like me, we probably have to wait a while after delivery. Can check how to collect colostrum if our beast starts leaking n baby not sucking?

Hazel, bb gain weight 0.5kg every month, i gain more weight almost 2kg every month. Now my body consider cool, i drink coconut once a week. I think should stop now.

Hazel, my nose have a bit film but never come out yet always go to my throat..seem like having flu. morning b4 wake up always block nose, but after wake up slowly no more block...
my #1 never happend like this even i drink alot coconut at 3rd stage.

Jen, not sure le. now my tummy very big and if he come out early 2 week like my #1 then is Rabbit bb.

Jen: i heard you can like push your tummy in a certain direction to encourage bb to move

Yes i think previously in middle of the threads, we mentioned something like 4th feb then is li chun. after 4th feb born, then is considered true dragon. I hope my bb dun pop early!

Rocco, yes.. Li Chun...

Jen, try to be down on your 4s. This is one exercise to try making bb turn. Goggle online for more.

meifen : i think not to worry. think you friend's bb is on the big side. anyway from wk 32 to wk 40, bb will gain weight very fast. small babies are easier to deliver naturally

I've the following to let go:

- Avent twin electronic breast pump full set $350
- Tiny Love Musical Mobile $65
- 3 tins of Similac Mum (exp Oct'13), $12 each (*$30 if taking all 3 tins)
- Lamaze Spin & Explore Garden Gym @ $15
- Lamaze Gardenbug Foot Finder & Wrist Rattle Set @ $10

Kindly PM me if keen/ for pics, thanks!

Jen, tks for sharing! Can keep in mind if I fly there next year!

Talking about bf, hope will make it this round. I dun see any milk yet!

Hi mummies! Just to share, baby is 1.8kg @week 32.

Anyone has a list of baby items to prepare? I'm going to test my pump this week, I hope it still works! Feeling a lil jitters now!!

I have a brand new in box evenflo playpen to let go. Grey/lime green colour. Comes with bassinet, changing table and hanging mobile. Salesperson explaned that this model is more secure as the bassinet is zipped to the playpen with a metal bar supporting the bottem.

Looks similar to this:
http://www.evenflo.com/product.aspx?id=55&pfid=4478

Bought at $250, looking to sell at $150. Interested, please sms me at 9749 1442

Hi mummies, i am 33 weeks and baby about 1.9kg.

Mummy zeal, me too. Anybody packed their bags yet? Am i too kiasu, if i do so over the weekend :p?