(2012/02) Feb 2012

Babymaking,
Oh, I delivered my twins at 34th wk too! Your boy stayed in nicu?

Suet,
Your last one is 2007? Mine too. Then your the other 2 kids must be quite big already?

Babymaking, why not check with your gynea. I dont feel anything at all at the csect area.

BB, my other two are 7 & 6 yrs old. When they were younger, quite busy. Now a lot better because they can help themselves with lots of things.

Babymaking, my gynae is Dr Benjamin Tham. His charges quite reasonable. Got package at $600 for 10-11 visit.

Today quite expensive, ard $248. He gave supplements to last me for the next one month.

And for my Oscar and 20th month detail scan also have package. Both add up ard $500++.

For Dr Ben Tham, his normal vaginal delivery is $1200, assisit delivery is $1500 and C section is $2000.

Gd morning mummies!

KWXY,
Great to hear BB is strong and healthy. Stay happy and you will have a sticky and cheerful beanie
Wow, your gyane does give u lots of supplements. For #1, my gynae started giving me calcium and multi vit only after 1st trimester. So now I am just taking folic acid. Talking abt it, need to go Guardian to buy later. Took the last tablet yesterday.

Happymom and other mummies who are feeling nauseas,
I have MS in the morning, feel like puking when brushing teeth and super nauseas during breakfast. Seems to go away during noon time and visits me again once dawn comes. So for the last 1 week, I skipped dinner and went to bed by 9pm to avoid the MS monster. Luckily my boy cooperates with me and we sleep together.

Nana,
We mothers are always sacrificing for our darlings. But all is worth it when you have your little buddle of joy in your arms, smiling at you sweetly

Going for my gynae visit tomorrow. Excited and also worried. Hope beanie is strong and healthy

Dopey: haha ... As of now, my thinking is 3 mths after birth .. I'm going diving at all cost. BUT who knows when mother instinct kicks in after birth? Maybe I bring baby along ... That will be the coolest thingy on earth. Hahaha

Anyway, do u girls have trouble falling asleep after waking up to pee in the morning hours? I find myself tossing ard for 2 hours (3am - 5am) before falling asleep again. Recently I have this symptom.

Nana,
Yes, get your DH to play sand with your baby at the beach while you go diving! His turn to sacrifice .. hahaa

I am lucky to sleep through the night without waking up to pee for now. For my #1, the 'midnite call' to toilet started only late 2nd trimester, when the bb got bigger and pressed against my bladder.

Been feeling really nauseous since i woke up. can't really work well with this kind of sucky feeling! Now my bedtime same as me #1 -8pm++... i feel very pig... haha~

Re: supplements
I'm taking folic acid which i bought from pharmacy and multi-vit from gynae. from #1 experience, 2nd and 3rd tri, i'm just taking multi-vit and fish oil capsules.

oh, just in case mummies are interested to know if your bb's growth rate is average, can check out this site.
http://www.babycenter.com/average-fetal-length-weight-chart

morning mummies.....
TGIF! after today i will rest well on my bed for 2 days...jus coz I am too tired! n sleeping earlier like all of u....but midnite 2/3am will wake up and then cant sleep til 5am...

nausea getting worst n cant eat well, nowadays i only eat 1/2 n hubby ate 1 1/2 portion...haha...

mummies, FYI, gynae say that for 1st trimester, nonit take any multi-vit only folic acid n hormone pill will do...bb will only absorb starting 2nd tri onwards........

Qin: Congrats! Sounds like you're pregnant!! Faint positive is definitely a positive. If you're still not sure, buy the digital pregnancy kit. That one tells you in words big big. Pregnant or Not pregnant. =)

Nana: I have the same problem.. if I wake up between 4-5am I will toss and turn until daylight shines into the room.. then end up oversleeping and wake up feeling damn tired. i'm trying to break this pattern by drinking my last cup of water and milk earlier in the night. Last night it worked, i woke up at 7am this morning..

Starz: Thanks for the link! Very useful.

Anyone taking milk for pregnancy?
Like annum or similac?
Bought a pack last week but after drinking a cup like Abit kwa zhang..seems like to early to 'gain' weight like that so was wondering anyone started drinking them too?

Nana: Folic acid is to prevent birth defects in baby's brain and spinal cords. It's like the single most important supplement to take! Of course, you can get it from food like spinach and cereals, but better dont take the risk.

KT:
im not taking any milk for pregnancy.. jus drink those normal farmhouse milk.. gynea says 2 glasses/day is enough.. but usually i drink 1 glass only
dont really like milk taste =(

does having ms equates to healtier babies? i remb reading it somewhere..something to do with babies growing and increasing of hormones..

coz now everymorning i dont have ms at all
breakfast appetite v gd..
only evening, abit of bloatedness thats all..
my appt with gynea still have a week to go
T_T
worried abt my beanie

KT,
I diligently had 1 glass of 'preg milk' daily since day 1 of preg and to my horror, my BB was overweight and my sugar level shot up in 2nd trim. Gynae stopped me from drinking the milk and said these are full of sugar. She said normal low fat fresh milk will have sufficient nutrients for both mummies and bbs. So for this preg, I am running far far away from Anmum or Similac.

Ging3r,
For my #1, I had MS for only 2 weeks (wk7-8) and the remaining journey was a breeze. I ate a lot and sleep well too. But this preg, I am drowned by the MS monster. So don't worry, each mummy will have different reaction to the hormonal change and we will all have healthy beanie

Thanks ging3r. Heng ah, just now went Guardian and the pharmacy not around. So cannot buy. Think will get from gynae tomorrow since I have appt with her.

ging3r: don't worry! ms and other symptoms are supposed to subside as the weeks go. how many weeks are you at now?

Planet: take for 9mths? Lucky I didn't skip any of these. But I starts to skip my hormones pills in the evening. Meaning I only take in the morning, 1 x Folic acid + 1 x hormones pill

i cant take any milk at all.....haven even drink, thinking of it making me vomitting.....arrghhh...will my beanie not even nutrition.......

Mummies!! Hang on to those nasty nausea and pregnancy fatigue!!

If you are 8 weeks like me...we still have 4 more weeks!! Pls tell your bb to be good and don't give us anymore surprises

Jiayou all mummies!!

Nana: I believe have to take throughout.. but do check with your gynae. Every book I've read talks about it being the most important supplement in the first trimester to prevent birth defects. Some encourage taking it for the rest of pregnancy as it helps promote healthy cell growth of the fetus and also improves red blood cell generation.

Read up here if you're interested.

http://www.babycenter.com/0_folic-acid-in-your-pregnancy-diet_476.bc?page=1

http://www.marchofdimes.com/pregnancy/folicacid_indepth.html

HappyMom: You have to start drinking milk somehow. Although milk and especially calcium is most needed only in the third trimester, it's good to stock up your body now. Because, if baby not enough calcium from your food, they will take from your bones. And then when you are older you will run the risk of osteoporosis and other calcium-deficiency illness. No joke!

I also cant take milk. Hate the smell. But when flavored with strawberry and chocolate still ok.

But sometimes I wonder, next time breastfeed how? What if I smell my own milk and cannot take it? Hahaha.

planet, hmmm i try laaa but i knw i cant....too painful the smell n making me puking....hopefully doc gav me calcium pill!

btw, i jus had tomyam fried rice n ice lychee!!!!wah, so satisfying!!!!!yummy.........

hi mummies.. i'm back!!
finally heard bb hb on tue evening!!
have been precribed a lot of supplements -> calcium, multi-vit & dha on top of folic acid.. so much to take everyday.. zzz..

dopey12: OMG! i just finished 1 tin of SimilacMum! this is e 1st time tat i'm drinking this brand.. i'm ok on my previous pregnancy when i took frisomum.. think i better stick to frisomum, right?

and... so sad.. i ate too much small meals here & there.... i've gained almost 800g in 2 weeks!!
cuz i dun have those vomitting version of MS like most mummies here... only very bloated, itchy mouth & siap siap saliva feeling..
i'm turning into a real 母猪 liao!!

HappyMomToBe, i had tom yam fried beehoon & bubble tea. very good too!! now sleepy.

I am just drinking anlene packet milk. very convenient. just a pack a day.

Afternoon Mummies...

I am feeling so sleepy...didn't sleep well last night and I guess my baby is having his/her nap now... keke...

My gynae gave me multi-vit, folic acid and Vit B6... Heard from the pharmacy nurse that I shouldn't take multi-vit now as these pills should be taken after 1st trim...but I suppose it is okay since gynae was the one who prescrible it...

Claramimi: I think SimilacMum is realli creamy, as compared to Anmum... both smell almost the same though... But compared to frisomum, I prefer the previous 2, I can't stand the taste of frisomum... gained about 1kg in like 3 weeks, but checks revealed I am normal... Keeping fingers crossed that my baby absorbs whatever I ate, so that I won't be too overweight after giving birth...

ging3r: don't worry you are probably one of those lucky mums with no MS.

happyMom: ice lychee sounds so yummy! later i go tabao.. but must ask for less ice. haha. thanks for the inspiration!

gg: Never heard that we cant drink lemongrass.. unless it's a tea?

claramimi: Congrats on hearing bb's heartbeat! =) Gaining 800gms is ok ah.. why so shocked. haha. more weight gain to come!

har can drink those anlene packet milk meh???i tink tat one not suitable for pregnant mom...u better check suet! wah n u on bubble tea??wow........making me drooling again!

claramimi, don worry u was suppose to have small meal here n there.....its good.....lol...nevermind all bcome fat n after c our bb, then only cut down laa........

princess: i dun really like similac cuz dun dissolve well in water leh.. tat's why i buy back friso.. wahh.. u gained 1kg in 3 wks?! in 1st tri?

planet/happymom: but now only 1st tri.. jia lat.. now tummy like 3 mths preggy so big.. hahahha..

yeah bubble tea better don take....jus take the drink not the bubble.....
my vomitting sign seem like coming again anytime soon.....damn....

Talking abt weight gain mummies....I'm gained 3 kg in total!! I feel so heavy and lazy now...only eat and slp...like pig! Haha

Hope I can gain the kg slowly...hehe

claramimi: yes, I realise similac doesn't dissolve easily... I think I will stick to Anmum.. coz all these are free samples given by my mum's gynae.. so I just took watever is in the package. But friso is realli not my type, i had such difficult in forcing myself to drink at my first time drinking it... Told my HB, first time I think milk tastes awful... haha

claramini: hehe.. I think I am okay leh.. I always tell my baby, it is okay, u grow... Mummy doesn't mind getting the extra weight, so long u grow healthy... I used to be someone who minds alot of my weight, but not nw... the nurses told me it is impt to gain weight so long our sugar are at acceptable level...

yucks, i donlike all this...jialat i only thinking of ice longan or ice lychee....the sweet n cold taste.....greedy me! haha.......

mimi, i seem like no tummy!!bloated at nite morning wake up like no feeling of preggy....is tat normal???

kwxy: wahh.. 3kg! umm.. i think i should be happier than u! hehe..

princess: maybe our tastebuds are diff! hahah.. yah, tat's wat my hb told me too.. as long bb ok, after give birth w 2 little ones, sure will slim down very fast! and my fren also told me more fats, better for bb.. think its more cushion for bb, more comfy!

claramimi: haha... I like what u say... more cushion for baby... but frankly, now is the time to eat and gain weight lor... good to be "out of control" once in a while... My HB says he isn't afraid that I will not lose weight after baby is born... he says with my character, I make sure I lose the fats... haha

happymom: yah.. though i got e fats ard my waist now, i still dun really feel preggy.. maybe until we r in 2nd tri, can feel bb move inside us, then we'll feel preggy! so for now, every visit to gynae will refresh our preggy feel cuz of e ultrasound scan! can see bb! haha..

yay hubby bought me ice lychee! but the thing is.. there's NO ice! *faint* he must have asked for ice lychee without ice for me.. boohoo!!

girls, i also gained about 2kg since before pregnant until now. doctor said is mostly water retention... *self consolation*

princess: true, just eat & enjoy food but in moderation.. yup! me too will resolve to lose e fats after birth.. i know - breastfeed is e way to go!