(2012/02) Feb 2012

Nana: my sis, when pregnant with my 1st niece, she always drink soy bean milk, and my 1st niece is so fair. when it came to my 2nd niece, she ate Magnum Ice Cream and Nutella almost every other day, and my neice came out a little cute black beauty. But she is very cute... whenever we say she is very "hei", she will get angry. She just 2yrs old. haha. So, maybe some truth in "you get what you eat" eh?

Pinkz: I understand from my mum and a few of my aunties that they have slight disabetic during pregnancy after drinking soya bean milk daily... So for me, I m slightly kiasu, I dun realli drink soya bean milk... I focus more on milk and horlick with less sugar... Once a while, I will half a cup with min sugar...

I cannot do without coffee in the morning leh. whole day will be sleepy if no coffee boost in the morning. Guess one cup per day is fine yeah?

nana,

me not taking the instant noodle as hubby forbid me to take..last friday, go ntuc to stock up some food that is healthier...

me just had a cup of teh...cuz the stingy colleague buying...wahaha...so die die also must drink...

I want baby to be white ... So no black stuff for me

Jingle: for baby sake, cut away coffee... Not for the "color" though.. Haha. Drink other stuff like Milo as supplement lo. Maybe try coffee pok xiu xiu dai first ...

Princess, i see... I drink jollybean too, less sugar.. Maybe I shud start drink without sugar...

My mil say eat bird nest, bb complexion will be very fair/smooth... Hmmm.. But I read somewhere saying bird nest too rich in protein, actually not so good... So ex some more.. Think I will just stick to milk...

Jinglebell, read somewhere 1cup coffee per day is fine...

Jinglebell,
My gynae say 2 cup a day max. But with my last miscarriage, she cut my allowable coffee to 1 cup a day. So it's a cup of java for me every morning.

drinking too much kopi dun mean bb will have darker complexion.. my mil says when carrying my hb, she everyday drink kopi but my hb come out so fair.. but when carrying my younger sis-in-law, she dun drink that much but sis-in-law come out quite dark..

pinkz,

birdnest to take after 3months like tat...

me only drink milk..not soya bean...my indonesian colleague said dun drink soya bean...

Hi pinkz, if i remember correctly once my tcm told me not to take bird nest too much during pregnancy...something like not gd for baby respiratory system..

Linda: Yishun area, you?

For both my kids I usually allow myself to eat/drink whatever I'm craving, just everything in moderation. I did cut out caffeine and reduce my salt intake though.

Anyone planning for a natural unmedicated birth? I had an epidural with #1, a natural birth with no pain medication with #2 and hoping for the same this time round as well

Jingle, U manage to find gd coffee in china? I cannot find, even same brand like nescafe or super but still seem to lack of certain taste so usually I get my coffee supply fr sgp either by my hubby's colleagues or my friends who here to visit me.

So conclusion is drink milk the best....

Actually I plan not to take bird nest, hubby will be happy.... Haha

K3, wat is natural unmedicated birth? Natural without epi?

Think negative effects of epi is backache... My frens did without epi for #2 say no backache le...

But they say for #1 better go with epi...

Jingle, ppl said that u will feel backache aft jab epidural but i dont feel leh... my friends all dont have too. I remember when the doc before inject for me, he asked me not to move or shake so to prevent the needle not injected properly and will caused me backache aft that. So I guai guai not to move at all despite of the unbearable contraction pain!!

RE: Bird nest..
Cannot take during now.. too much protein and too cooling..
BB will have asthma..
can only take after 6/7th month..

Jingle: i dun think backache pain is directly asociated w epidural.. most of e time is ur own posture & how u carry bb/change bb diapers/do house chores, etc.. plus all those old ppl u know, most of them have backaches.. but why? its cuz old age, last time when they give birth where got epidural one?

Geyser: I got my supply from sgp too. Agree with you, Nescafe and super here taste different. Saw in the BHG supermkt the other day, got malaysia white coffee. Will try that next time when my supply has finished. Dunno whether the same as in sgp or not.

I also think better go for epi for #1... most friends who initially said dun want, all ended up with the jab, they said pain was too immerse to endure. Also, think must enjoy the process. If got huge pain, how to enjoy?

i have a friend go thru natural wihtout epi...
i really salute her...

Pinkz, hubby can save more if u dun take bird nest. For me, it will be sponsor by my mummy.

jocelyn: i also have a friend who goes w/o epidural.. she says she feels shiok when she needs to push so no epidural.. another friend supports e laughing gas while e 3rd friend insist on epidural.. so it depends lor.. for me, i took epidural for #1 cuz induced birth & dilation very slow...

Yah natural unmedicated is natural without epi. I found the recovery a lot quicker the second time round without the epidural. Didn't have any bad side effects but the overall experience was so much better without it.
I had my first baby at KKH and second at MT A. Would not go back to KKH again not because of bad service or anything, it's just that they are not as pro natural birth. Doctors are quick to offer epidural and other kinds of pain relief which is not what I want.

Jingle: I had backache after having #2 only because of the position he was in before birth. But it went away quite quickly, took some panadol for the first two days then felt much better.

Hi Jingle, when I delivering boy I also keep telling myself that I will not go for epi... then aft 2hrs enduring... i give up and call loudly for epi to inject... but who know... i only "enjoy" less than 30mins, my boy pop liao... The midwives said that I wasted almost $500... hahaha... but anyway my labor very fast... fr admitted hospital to pop less than 4hrs...

I dunno whether epi causes backache, got 3 frens did with epi for #1 and complaint backache.. Then #2 no epi, say no backache.... But for me, shud be going for epi... Follow geyser, dun move when doc inject...

Princess, ya milk the best.. U drinking those for mummies? Wat brand? I'm trying to finish my anlene b4 switching... Heard anmum not bad...

Jocelyn, good for u lor... Mummy sponsor...

My mother says bird nest to be consume after 5mth.

- also sponsored - Shiok ... Being the first to get preggy in the family always get the best stuff.

princess, i find that the laughing gas no use to me leh.... made me feel so high but I still can feel the contraction pain!!!

Princess, I checked online, it's fine... Now left one quarter only... Will go for anmum after finish....

K3>redhill

Dear mummies ar,
Drink normal milk will do, maternity milk is for those malnutrition or not gaining weight well, unless u intend to let baby and you put excessive weight then go ahead drink the maternity milk..

I used laughing gas forthe 2nd baby and had a traumatized birth. U can read my blog for my labour story. #1 natural wo drugs and epidural

Www.3kids1mum.blogspot.com

Geyser: so nice, delivery so fast. I hope mine is like that too.

Hey, anyone going to deliver in Gleneagles? Guess I will be, gynae is there and nearest to my house in sgp... Going to do first scan next Monday when back to sgp, hopefully can see jelly beanie by then...

pinkz, ya .. i admitted hospital aft a fulfilling lunch at abt 345pm... then delivered before 730pm.. My gynae said that i dilated very fast.. from 3cm less than a hr I already 9cm.

nana, yes, 1st to preg got all the good stuff...

the best part is me only child. and i'm the eldest DIL...i was damn stress every CNY...

Linda: Not quite true... My mum's experienced gynae recommend me to drink such milk, he even ask his nurse to gave few samples for me to try to see which I prefer before buying outside.. this was also advised by my own gynae. My mum took such milk when she was expecting my bro, my bro is a super healthy baby... good immune system etc...

Hello mummies! Just came back from gynae! Saw a rice grain baby in a little sac.. with very faint heartbeat cos I'm only 5.5 wks according to the computer and not 6.5 wks if calculate by LMP. Doc said it's becos my menses is irregular so maybe ovulated late. EDD pushed to 17 Feb. Safely after CNY.

Anyways. EXCITED! Finally a confirmation that i am indeed pregnant. =) Gonna tell my close friends tonight! Can't wait!

Oh, and to joycelyn, la mer, birdbrain and all mummies not experiencing MS. I'm totally not too, yet there's a real baby happily beating in there! So u gals don't worry too much k!

I'm the eldest in my family .. Hubby only child
hohoho ... But his mother no rush us for kids la.. So we take it naturally.

Can't wait for Monday to see my gyne. The little ruscal better show me some good news... Knowing that mummy is having a difficult time.

Princess> u research on the ingredients by yourself bah. Cause really make the mummies fat and baby fat if theydeveloping normally.. If feel that the chemicals for the "formula" is ok then go ahead bah..

I always emphasis natural as possible is good.. Baby draw nutrients from our body so even if our diet not good they draw from us as usual still..

And if u want best for baby is breastfeed! That's the best, both my kids rarely sick and I don't drink such milk and breastfeed #1 till 14mthplus and 2nd still bfing totally..

Linda0o, me too. Very slight nausea 1-2 wks ago.. then completely stopped. Got me worried but doc said it's fine. Either it will kick in after 6th wk, or we'll be those lucky few that wont kenna at all!

Planet, thanks for the update!! me keeping finger cross that i wont have bad ms...

me going gynae tomolo...

nana, my in law nv really push us for it...in fact MIL also help to push away when their relative ask...

Linda: I did and frankly those ingredients did bring in more nutrients for babies, not only on immune system but also good for brains' development too. I am not saying that natural isn't good but it wun harm by giving them more nutrients ya... It realli depends on individual...So far, my weight still on the healthy side.. Breastfeeding is another good option too, but not all mummies can do that, so have to rely on external sources at times...

Planet> yea I hope So cause my #1 It came at third trimester

Princess> you do understand those "artificial" things they added can be gotten from food source right.and if u are worried just eat dha, more than good enough and I think u research not enough cause all these are fattening which was not needed..

Every woman can breastfeed just that they want to or not. It's Alot of hardworking and not easy in the beginning..

Linda, hmmm... U make me have second thought on drinking maternity milk... I dun wanna gain too much nor having big baby.... I like powder milk coz prefer drink warm/hot milk... So what milk u drink?