(2012/02) Feb 2012

oh my gynea ask me not to dye hair..
perm or rebond still ok but not dye..

anyway im still drinking chilled drinks.. but trying to cut down..

she also said i can even eat sashimi! as sashimi in singapore is considered clean..

most impt is to eat in moderation.. abit of everything, just not too much =)

Nana: Taking cold drinks or ice cream is not because of pantang, and also not because it goes straight to the baby. TCM physicians will usually advise anyone (even non-pregnant) to drink warm water instead of cold water as it is better for our body's overall wellbeing. I think it's to do with our organs or something like that. Any mummies seeing TCM can help double check? =)

Personally i used to avoid cold drinks during menses or just before cos scared of cramps. Now lagi scared! So I try to avoid where possible. If really need a cold drink then i'll take chilled drink and without ice.

I think my new mantra will be "abit of anything is ok"! =)

sorry very blur...n silly me...what is merlion club??what merlion???
yahyah i check wif gynae n physician, noth say can...both actuali work together de...

sorry very blur...n silly me...what is merlion club??what merlion???
yahyah i check wif gynae n physician, noth say can...both actuali work together de...

Ginger: Seriously? Sashimi's ok in singapore?!! OMG. I'm drooling when I think of the bright orange salmon!

HappyMom: merlion = throwing up. u never go chiong when you're young right? haha.

happymumtobe: its the vomitting club

I have also been avoiding cold stuff.. only took like 5 spoons of yogurt last week!
but every morning, will have a cup of semi-cold fresh milk.

serene123: I told 2 close colleauges & my boss today. thought it's better for them to know. perhaps, you can have small bites like biscuit just to make sure your stomach is not empty.

ging3r:
wow.. your gynae say sashimi can eat?
All my 3 gynae say cannot
All say strictly no raw food.. not even salad.
Only thing that can be taken raw is fruits. And must remove skin.

Planet: I totally don't care before preggy.. Cold water daily
ESP teh pengZ.. Shiok. But now becoz of ks character... Better listen to old folks. So crab, sotong, watermelons I all never eat. Only fruits I eat is apple orange and lychees. Eh what about crab stick aR? I duno whether does it cross the line. Oh .. Don't eat mango also, cause scare baby got skin allegies or rashes easily.

Happymom: merlion = vommit lo. Like our merlion ... The water keeps pouring out.

Serene123,

Don be depressed, just hang on.. Hopefully after 12weeks we will be better.. U can actually get the medicine from gyne but my gyne don reli encourage unless reli vomit till very bad..

Furthermore gyne say it's gd that we vomit, it shows that bb is growing well..

joyjoy >> don't worry la.. mangoes are high in vit c and they are good for us. if u read ang moh preg books, its one of the recommended fruits cos of its nutrition values..

seriously if its so easy to lose the babies, those young gals can just eat mangoes, pineapples, ginseng, kick themselves in the stomach etc , instead of tou tou go abortion la.. right?

lol...i so blur soton! oic merlion is vomitting....
planet, i went to chiong however i duno this term...mayb coz i chiong at KL v donhav this term...haha....fyi, i am kl n married to SG 3 yrs ago...time flies, i am wif hb for 3 yrs liao!haha........

Nana: Crab stick is fake crab, made of fish and flour. No crab. =D

Joy: Lately I've been thinking about removing apple skin too cos the skin always feels so waxy.. dunno got what chemicals stuck on it with the wax. New job for the husband. Haha.

Avoiding fresh salad is abit extreme, but then again, with the recent E.coli.. doesnt harm to eat less raw salad and more cooked veggie.

joyjoy: Haha... Yes, Mangoes are good but again, moderation lor... I didn't realli take a lot of mangoes coz 热毒... and afraid to hve too heaty body = fall sick = medication...

fresh salad is alright, jus gotta to ensure that it is washed thoroughly... Understand from gynae that it is better that we do our own fresh salads if we want to eat...

Princess,Claremimi,happymomtobe> thts not kiasu lor!! It's over over pantang!! U all must join Pinkz at cave Liao lol Jk it's the safest there

Suet> a bit way way too kanchiong Liao bah

lol...cave!good idea.....can jus stay there till BB is out...I will much b happy!coz nonit work!

I am sleepy!oh pls help me...me n my stupid mouth!told hb n mom how come i got no symptom n sickness, now starting to feel headache, heart pain like wan vomit n burping n bloated!at 1st jus hunger n jus keepe eating n i am happy! haiz.......

planet,joyojoy:

yea im surprised too when my gynea said i can eat sashimi!
i even asked her again, sashimi? raw salmon ok?
she said yes ok! but tuna she said cannot.. coz of high mecury content..

but then im still worried, dare not try =/
its raw afterall....

ging3r:
I guess your gynae is those daring type.. mine from TMC is scary type..
say everything must be 100% cooked.
Even when having porridge, cannot have raw egg is the bowl then pour boiling porridge over it. Must beat the egg in the porridge and make sure everything boil then can eat

I hear the mango story from old wife tales too .. But u know I quite ks - so I'll try to avoid if can.

Just finish being a merlion from toilet ... I bet I'll be hungry again the next 10min. 30 mins more to 6pm!!

ging3r,

the gynae i visited also said no prob with sashimi so long as the restaurant is graded A. He said, if sashimi cannot eat then those japanese pregnant women how? makes sense to me lah but i think better play safe than sorry. i only ate half piece of sashimi when i had jap food for dinner...

Ya. Mine too ... Must be cook food. Even yakun - eggs also cannot. So now I also seldom eat bean sprout le.. Cause scare it's not fully cook

Wah... U girls chat really fast... Can't catch up...

So far my gynae say no tea, coffee, ginseng, pineapple and raw food. The rest I heard from relatives/friends are like seafood, anything cold, pear.. 1st tirmester cannot eat bird nest....

Anyway, I still ocassionally have ice cream or cold ribena... Don't think can survive if I stop these..

Thought fruits should take with skin for the fibre since we will be prone to constipation? I'm confused.. Think just eat everything in moderation??

HellO! Was intro to this forum by my gf...
Managed to conceive after 5 cycles of clomid, 1st child... seen dr yesterday, and bb is already 7w6d, stable and strong heartbeat.
EDD 07 Feb 2012.

Hi All, I created a secret group in FB. Its call Mummies To Be. Only members are allow to view and I must approve any members. But I think first u need to be my friend on FB. U can add me either under my name cheryl alessandra Chew or my email [email protected]. Kindly specify that u want to join mummies to be so I will add u in the secret group. I think also need u to re-intro urself as we use nicks here. Cheers. See u guys soon.

Hi mummies!! How's everyone?? Was busy for the past few days...miss all of you!!

now my nausea is getting on and off but getting stronger! Oh my! Anyone knows which week we usually merlion??

younoes80 (jemalene): Me too I cooked my steak well done and I had a hard time chewing it so I am not gonna cook steak anymore. LOL. My mouth was soooo tired from the chewing. :S

Chergie> well done steak not very nice...taste like pork chop liao. Bo bian first trimester for us have to be extremely careful.

Morning girls!

i think for me my morning sickness is meant to be "evening sickness"
evening is far worst than morning..
usually in the morning i have no issue eating breakfast..

its only dinner that i cant stomach in..
feels like vomiting after that.. =(

gd morning ladies,
thank u chergie for creating the FB for mummies to be!
"ni hao pang arrr!!!"
i think my MS starting liao...i starting to get headache, n tis morning vomit but nth out!could not brush teeth too....
i dragged myself to wrk today n everyday doing counting down for weekend!

Hi babes, previously i had nausea, and dr prescribed me d folic acid Florxine. Thinks it helps, i dun feel nausea, maybe on n off.
Only thing is i get hungry very quicklY!

My gynae says can eat sushi, but in moderation

abbaytum, i think u have to get advice from physician first if u can take onot...it depends on yr body condition....i tink jus once a while those korean ginseng soup is ok...but listen to gynae n physician....overall v r not the expert... ;)