(2012/01) Jan 2012

Rikagal, u gave birth already? All the best

Jkids, my lochia since giving birth has been more like menses, not great volume. Other mommies, is this normal?

Also, my bm to date is still 20ml even after fenugreek n brown rice tea. Dun know whether that's coz i always supplement w 90ml of fm. My bb is nearly 2 weeks old. Looks like my bm hard to increase further

Jkids: my lochia also suddenly turned into bright red and increased in volume ard the 10th day.

RitzC: i think my BM is decreasing in volume. maybe i didnt latch/ pump regularly but my breasts dont feel full at all so dont feel latching my bb. Like torturing him, hungry but milk flow low and slow.

Tomorrow is my 3rd week... Still hv lochia, but v little.. Jus usin panty liner now. So irritatin, rather it finishes once n for all! :p

Im wondering whether to extend CL hahah.. Then can prolong the rest period till body becomes stronger. Nightfeeds r so tiring!!

I heard bm will increase after a mth, so maybe we jus dong a bit n see how

Actually i'm quite satisfied liao cos finally i get a feel of what is latching. Cos i didnt latch successfully for #1.

Soon the bb will have growth spurt, dont think i can catch up with his demand. In fact i think he is having growth spurt now. Hope not my cl overfeed him, cry then give milk liao. -.-

my lochia also turned yellow then turn bright red again. now still red on & off after 4 weeks.. gynae says its normal as long as not soaking a pad in an hr..

Moscato, my boy howls for milk, so i really cant catch up w his demand. Latch him for half an hour, he will fall asleep while still clamping on me. Worst he only wants to latch on my left. Haiz.

RitzC: just like my boy! Cries fiercely for milk, want to drag timing also cant. Also fell asleep while latching. How much is your boy drinking now?

I try to give him 20ml bm n 90ml fm every 3 hours. These 2 days it works for him. If no bm then 100ml fm. But sometimes he is very fussy n wake up in the middle of the night way before his next feed, i will let him latch on til he sleep. Mine sleep immediately after his feed lol

Hi Rocco, I ordered from xinyipin for my bb's 1st month.. Quite ok. I ordered 30pax of first month package and 50pax of normal package. Everyone says their fried mee Siam very nice! Of cos, some food is so-so lar...

Hi jac and Poseidon, how are ur bb now?

I delivered at 6+pm wo epi!!! Earlier than EDD. Admitted at 530pm oredi 8cm dilate no time for epi!!! My goodness! All happened too fast n seems like a painful dream! Shack out now!

Bianz - single bedder all full in 2 bedder now n neighbor has the same name as u!! Thot was u!!

Jkids - fd still sucks!! Mayb cos they r left w the meat I dun like

hkbaby congrats!!! Well done w/o epi somemore! Now then I got time to log in n first thing is to see your good news
it seems like Dr Lee has a way to induce labour ah..cos I also gave birth the day following the VE done haha

jkids, I have piles also n it's reduced in size for me but despite the stools softener, I still have problem passing motion n I have to resort to laxative

Anyone heard about pig's liver will decrease BM supply?

Congrats hkbaby, u r so great, happy for u for the speedy delivery especially w/o epi, any tips for such speedy dilation? hee...

Hi hkbaby, btw juz curious so e pain is bearable b4 u admit & dilate to 8cm? wow... no induce require some more...

Congrats Hkbaby! Wow without epidural! Looks like the VE helped. Yeah I'm also curious, 8cm dilation and you can stand it, your pain threshold must be quite high.

hkbaby:
your gyane did membrance swap? wow, so fast? congrats! 8 cm is oredi very painful and wana push oredi! ealier still read that u were waiting and now u are oredi holding bb in yr arms. when u have yr 2nd bb, u must get ready much earlier since your 1st one so fast popped, hee. try a few more meals and tell me if food still sucks :p do u noe they get the food from kk? they dun have their own kitchen, i hate it when the food when sent to me were cold. if 2nd day have single roo, they would inform u to transfer, that was war happned to me. felt great in single room, could zzz well and bath anytime i wanted in my own nest. but my hub din stay overnite.

medory:
how huh? are we supposed to juz wait for it to become smaller?
( and when i wiped the pile areas, got blood one and i duno if its lochia or piles' blood...

ritzc:
i think my milk sss will be gone by 1st mth :p guess i din drink alot of water, but that was becoz i have piles and wound pain so i wana reduce d no of times to go toilet to clean up...

hi wen & welen,

Today , I went for my checkup. My cevix is still close. Another three days I am going for my c-section. Abit anxious now. and abit scared. Baobao is 3.4kg now. Doctor said he is also abit big for natural birth. But doctor mentioned with today technology, it is not so painful. wonders does he say that to make me feel better.

My gynea suggest to go induce on 30 jan , edd 4 feb . He say will do another VE before he induce. After some thoughts might want to reject him cos v painful when he did the VE the last time.

Cos not prepare to deliver get and Worried if induce not successful .

On bf , don give up if only few drops from pumping let bb latch on to simulate the flow. So far I know mummies latch on hv higher success rate in bf.

Jkids, one of my acquaintance lectured me for not trying hard to bf coz bm is supposed to be best for bb. Hahas, made me sound like a lazy n bad mommy. But frankly, me n my siblings were on fm from birth n we all grew up fine. I think i will continue trying to express n latch but not to the ectent of driving myself crazy coz i need more energy to take care of my fussy bb.

Moscato, jkids n lush:
I have same feeling with u about CL. Dunno how if she leaves in 2 weeks time and me alone with baby specially when my hubby is on biz trips.. Have u started taking care of bb now? Any suggestion on how to accustom ourselves after they leave?

I had high fever since Wednesday. Started with shivering like cold then folllowed by hot temp as high as 39C. Doc said it is bacterial infection but i dunno from where exactly coz it is not from breast, mastitis, wound or flu from the checks. They suspect maybe urinary tract, but i dun have pain either when urinating. Haiz, feel very sianz and low now. It was actually a good start of the week with cny and lesser pain from the episiotomy. Now i have to be down with this 'unknown' infection. Anyone heard or experienced this before? Maybe can share with me the possible cause/remedies.

On and off, I still have headache now and sometimes fever is back then i need to take paracetamol.

My bb also started to be a bit 'fussy'' since the day I feel sick. maybe coz nobody plays with her and I didnt breastfeed her for the past few days as I was unwell. :-(

My elder scolded me for taking shower on last Sat and went out on Wednesday a while to settle smth. Then I also juz learnt that after massage cannot touch water for 1 hr. Nobody told me that before and I happily do a quick wipe on feet, hand,and breast. They said it muz be because of "bad wind" entering my body. Do u know what will happen to me if i did
that??

Argghh this confinement rule sometimes drive me crazy. Dun wanna follow but later some people said i will feel the consequences in my old days.. Plus i am really sick now so cant argue much too

I am feeling really lousy now... :-(

Delphina, i broke most of the confinement rules - shower w da feng cao every day, wipe body after jamu massage, sleep in air con room. Giving birth already v tough so confinement we should be comfortable right rather than like serving a sentence. Jamu massage helped me relaxed my muscle, i wear long sleeve when sleeping in air con room n going out, n i started taking DOM. Think can twitch the rules a bit la. Some post pregnancy pain may also be side effect of epidural.

Jkids: i also think my bm the most last til bb is 1 mth old.

RitzC: *high5* i'm like u. Maybe really didnt try hard enough to latch to increase supply. But bb will be fussing when there is no milk when latching. My #1 is on full FM and she still grows up strong n fine.

Delphina: i intend to observe how my cl shower bb during the last wk of confinement. With wound down there, dont want to risk tearing while sitting on stool to shower bb.

I also wash my hands after massage cos go toilet mah.

RitzC: u are better than me! I wear t-shirt to sleep but still sweat even though in aircon rm. shld be due to the DOM i took before bed. I wear short sleeve top while gg out. So hot outside. But think i nearly caught a cold cos the aircon in train too strong, kept feeling chilly when back.

jkids, think its better to let the pile heal slowly, how long has it been since u gave birth?..mine wasn't bleeding so I guess the blood is lochia not pile bleeding..

Bread feeding:
I don't latch on bb cos she doesn't seem to like it n tends to struggle n fuss..but my supply is pretty low n pumping for a long time only gets a little haiz..

Confinement:
Apart from not bathing yet, I'm doing a lot of washing, sleeps in aircon room n I just wear a t-shirt to sleep haha..n I still sweat dunno why..but my house very windy so when the wind blows on me, I can feel my legs feeling numb

Hi delphina,
feel your pain, don't b too hard on urself ya, difficult 2 please everyone, sometimes juz do wat mades u happy n comfortable juz dont get caught if u r really bother with elderly's nag, else juz let them know how lousy u feel & others r doing e same thing n they're fine.

I had yet to give birth, so i cant speak from experience, but other times when others especially my MIL tell me practises which i dont concur I will tell her tat doc & nurse think otherwise n i will follow them as medical specialist rather than old tales belief. most importantly i will remind my hubby to take my side should they nag cos told him i will not be patient with them if i need to explain every single things i do, guess i not ppl pleaser to start off with =p

Hi hkbaby,
must b exciting day for u today =)

1 2 update us on ur adventure details yesterday? =p
like did ur water burst / contractions gets intense yesterday b4 u decide to head to hospital? cos still amuse me for u to dilate 8cm by e time u reach hospital, would love to b in ur shoe =)

btw urs is your 1st born too right? wat's e weigh of ur bb boy / girl btw?

Hi Bianz,
Just saw doc today, he wanted to induce me today already but gave us some time to think about it. I'm still hoping my contractions will start soon if not will induce by mid next week, that's the maximum he will drag for me. Baby's weight seemed to have stabilized and I have lost weight too so he thinks it's better to induce.
Hopefully when induced, I'll be able to dilate fast enough as heard a few horror stories about inducing and then having to go through c-sec.

speaking of coping,

i also dunnow if i can cope when hubs return to work next week.. haizz.. right now, he is helping to feed n burp bb and coax him to sleep n help with night feeds n stuff.. while i concentrate on pumping to meet bb demands.. i have no energy to latch also.. my mom will be bz taking care of my niece whem my SIL return to work.. im overwhelmed with all the things that i have to do next week.. OMG! stressssss!!! i will b on my own!! and im still in confinement n i have no rest! moreover, my bb having stomach problems n can be really fussy esp at night..
how to cope?! helpp!

Tks mommies for ur support. I am v amazed by the whole thing too!! It just happened too fast like in a fast forward movie yet u r aware of pp instructing, helping, cheering u! At abt 4pm felt there's a constant menses cramp every 5-6 mins for 30sec-1min. Was still trying to affirm it is the labour contraction so drag till abt 510pm. The cramps was like u can't stand straight when I admitted for my #1 n was 3cm dilated 4 yrs ago! So imagined my shock when I admitted yday they said 8cm dilated!! Demanded for epi the nurses said too late even screamed at them to respect patient's request! They may even need to deliver as it's so fast tt my gynae may not reach in time! but phew he did! After that it is like resigned to fate n thankfully my bb is fast depending only on gas as relief. Mayb cos I dun intend to have another bb so life has wanted me to experience what real labour is all abt! It's amazing!

Sorry to sound gross.. But it is best described as u had a v bad tummy ache each time the pain comes u want to push tt big shit out! For me, it is 3xs - water bag burst, bb, placenta.

It's fast for #2 prob cos my #1 took abt 5 hrs w epi admitted w 3cm dilated. My gynae has earlier warned me tt #2 will b half the time.

Bianz - after going thru 2x I felt tt for #1 still better to go w epi cos u really dun know how long ur labour will take. Then #2 can use #1 as a guide. Dun be affected if delivery mtd is not wat u wanted in the end cos I felt tt all of us have different challenges for our motherhood. Some have tougher preg but fast delivery, some has csect but have plenty of BM, etc.

Jkids - didnt know my gynae VE stretching is called membrane sweep.. He also didnt expect so fast just thot prob this wkend for me to deliver.. really dun know y.. Taste still hasn't really recover (still got sour taste) though not as bad as during preg.. Mayb cos of tt I felt tt fd kinda of slide at MA but soup still as nice..

Medory - great to hear fr u! Our bbies (u, Bianz n mine) didn't get to meet! How r u coping? Ya, told Dr Lee he has a magical hand!!

hkbaby,
your labour so drama haha! but good that it's over so fast
it's been tiring cos i didn't engage a CL so i rely on maid and in-laws..hb already start work so can't really help..but dunno issit hormones or what, my mood swings can get quite bad..bb is a bit fussy especially at night, can fuss for 2 hours then continue to sleep

Haha i think for my case Dr Lee don't dare to stretch but somehow after the VE i also gave birth liao

Wow thanks hkbaby, love your informative, now clearer what 2 expect, anxiously awaiting.

Hi Grace, ya tat's my concern too, induce yet not dilation, waste time & cost & in case hubby can't b there during emerg c... but my gynae say it's still better to try for natural instead of heading to c-sect & he say hubby can be there even during emerg c in any case, so will induce by 31 jan, btw e nurse say can try making love on 30 jan hoping to induce labor 'naturally' when i ask whether there's risk of infections, she say unlikely... so in case u game to try =)

ritzc n moscato:
yes ritzc, i agree wif u. we will do our best but need not be so extreme
i dun believe latching will definitely stimulate more milk. if have means have, dun have means dun have, really depends on individual body. i had the most milk when i had no1, bf till 4 mths. think this round, i have to look after my kids, so the stress could b a factor on my lack of bm.

delphina:
so far i only look at how CL baths bb, and i ask her the amt bb drinks and d interval bet ea feed. havent look at how she changes poopoo though. are u able to get someone to come over your house or u go over sometimes so as to take a breather? coz looking after bb the whole day everyday can make one crazy, i almoz gone crazy last time. take care pls...i can understand about you feeling lousy coz my wound and pile make me nuts few days back. pregnancy is oredi tough and after delivery we mothers still suffer. i have been enduring and hope things will get better. u will see the sunshine soon. some confinement rules really muz follow. but to the extent of not bathing, i will not try coz whole body will feel itchy. only for my hair, i follow rules by washing once a week since weather is good and i have since cut my hair short.

medory:
do u apply cream to your pile? i din coz i scare the cream will go to my wound
it has been like 2 weeks since giving birth...

bianz:
u r still waiting...wen's yr edd?

jingle:
take care!! if your mother or mil 's not working, go over to their house, or ask them to come over to your house sometimes so u can take a break.

silsilly:
your niece is a small bb too? challenging for u if no one help u coz u need to rest oso

hkbbaby:
hehe, its yr no2, no wonder so fast. an unforgetable experience to try real labour

I have my parents helping me for my confinement, but coz they r elderly, im very hands on so that my bb will not be too taxing on them. End up i really feel like i did not have enough rest at all. But the good thing is im now able to handle my fussy bb, juz that i get fatigue easily, so for bb's safety, i need extra helping hand at nite. Also, stress after confinement when i bring him back to my own home how to cope w my housework n him at the same time. Hubby is still a newbie to taking care of him coz he did not stay at my parents' house w me n bb, n his mum has v explicitly demonstrated that she juz want to play w my bb but not take care of him coz to her it is my job. Want grandchild dun want take care, faint.

Morn ladies.

Does anyone knw if our bm will be affected if we drink soft drinks or liang stuff, thus causing bb tummy upset? Mil say one though i dun really eat at this pt?

I think i frus thing is ppl ard keep reminding us not to carry bb too much lest they always want to be carried. Knw what?? The ppl who said that r the ones who will keep carrying bb at the slightest moment. Like my mil stayed over last nite...i kept seeing bb on her arms, except when bb slping. Cannot tahan!!!!

medory: my bb also fussy..dont like to sleep..
last few nites always fuss from 3am onwards, cries every hr, dont want to sleep, sometimes carry him still fuss..:S luckily got CL ard..

my boy's finally 1 mth old! confinement period is really tough, always wonder how i'm suppose to look after myself & look after my baby at the sametime.. juz to share on how i cope (& also whine abit).. i don't have a CL, mum only comes over to help out for awhile during the day, also don't feel safe letting the maid touch the baby so she juz does the houswork (btw she doesn't do nite shift as stated in her contract.. sianz), so me & hb got to be quite hands-on right from the start.. a typical day for me will be.. i sleep from 9pm-1am while hb takes care of the baby, then i'll pump & take over from 2am-730am while hb sleeps, mum will drop by at ard 730am to take care of baby while me & hb take our breakfast then after that hb goes to work, after breakfast i'll pump & then bathe & then me & mum will bathe for baby, by then will be ard lunch time so i'll take my lunch & then pump & then sleep from 1-2+pm & take over if mum has to go run errands/work/rest (get to rest more if mum is free in the afternoon), mum usually comes back ard dinner time so that me & hb can take our dinner & leaves ard 9-10pm then me & hb take over, i'll pump b4 i sleep at 9pm.. for wkends, mum doesn't come over my place, but hb will take care more so that i can catch up on my sleep.. it's really really tiring for the 3 of us coz my boy has colic & needs to be constantly carried & walked to sleep.. there's really no rest for the person on duty, sometimes don't even have time to drink water or go toilet.. these 2 days i'm pumping lesser (usually after breakfast & dinner nia) so that i got more time to rest (& anyway milk supply also drying up liao), also starting to slowly rope in the maid to take care of the baby.. hopefully my boy will outgrow his fussy/colic phase soon.. so looking forward to more sleep & better days ahead..

Moscato, mine is the same as urs, juz when i thought his sleeping pattern stablized, he fussed every half to 1 hour from midnight til 4 am yesterday, then concuss til 8am today. Haha, he fuss until i a bit 精神衰弱,keep thinking he is crying when he is not.

Jac, so tough being a mummy, but look at their cute face when they are 乖乖,is really worth it. Jia you! Haha. Keep wishing my bb will 快点长大。

so what happens when bb keeps crying and u noe he doesnt want milk? whats d remedy to stop bb from crying?

and if u have finished using antiseptic solution, is there any need to buy another bottle to use till confinement ends?

jac:
congrats and finally bb is 1 mth old!

JKids: my cl will chg his diaper, give him pacifier. If all fail, she carry him out of the rm. wait til he settled down, then she will put him back on bed or rocker or her bed. See which one he wants. If not have to keep carrying in arms.

If your wound is ok, think no need to buy the antiseptic solution. Have u gone back for follow-up? Can chk with ur gynae if u need it.

RitzC: wonder if boys are like that. My ger easier to take care leh. This boy no patience. Always cry til so fierce. My hb said he will sleep with #1 when cl leaves. :s

jkids, usually i'll check/change the diapers, check if he's too hot/cold, re-swaddle, feed some water (coz bb always cry till no voice) & offer the pacifier (he doesn't really like the pacifier thou), carry & walk ard till he stops crying, then put him back to bed after he falls into deep sleep.. & when he cries again after u put him down, redo again & again.. it can take hrs sometimes..

ritzc, moscato & all mummies, lets be strong & hang in there & pray for better days ahead! btw colic/fussiness usually peaks in 4-6wks & goes away when bb's 3-4mths.. ren ren ren!!

valteen >> I'm a v non-traditional mum so when I pump milk for my #1 I continued eating cold stuff (ice cream, ice blended, salads) right from day 1. Pp also say can't eat things like oranges s baby will get phlegm. All I can say is nothing at all happ to her n I successfully bf her exclusively thru her first year. As these things are all not medically proven, I don't really listen. My number #2 has just arrived and I will do the same. Cos I love cold stuff and I believe in making myself happy before being able to provide for baby.

To all mummies, dont b stress without a CL, you can do it. My little princess arrived just last Sat and so far it's been ok for me handling baby alone w hubby's help only in mornings n nights. I have been doing the cooking, diaper changing, pumping and some simple housework all myself and I must say its tiring but manageable. I do try to catch some sleep when the little one is asleep so it's still fine after all. So it's def possible, have faith in yourself. First few days might b tough but once u get the hang, it's ok

Thanks for sharing, Babytum. Good to hear that. Been hearing this and that until very 'fan'! Everyone ones to show their knowledge. Haiz...

Yes, do agree xan manage alone at the end of the day, though tough. Can get by one. Jiayou all!!!

jkids, Jac, Moscato, RItzC, my bb also the same! super fussy and just cry till face red red... Sometimes I feed 80ml, sometimes 100ml (usually fm already).. and she will wake up every 1+ or 2 hr and mouth open big big.. so MIL will say need to feed more milk (CL on the other hand, say I should just give her pacifier.. -_-)

Haiz.. she drinks so often my bm also cannot catch up. Really dont know if she just wants to suck on something or is hungry or is unwell...

I'm actually thinking of bringing her to c the PD tomorrow... just to make sure she's just fussy and not unwell.. hahah...

Did you bring the bb to see a PD before ascertaining that it's indeed colic?

wow babytum, you still can cook while looking after baby on your own ah? wow.. u r v good!!

Oh so many posts...I have delivered on 24thJan...Till today not much milk leh...pump every 3hours already...Sianz...
Oso just bought the sacred tea...hope can boost abit...though...

-Hi all heard even midnite you have to pump even no milk...so that ur body will know that BB is sucking....I try and follow set alarm and wake up to pump...but still not much engorgement though...