(2012/01) Jan 2012

Btw mummies who are on confinement, do you observe the following rules?? I found them online, but not sure for the reason behind that and whether to follow.

1. New mum should not read books or watch television during 30 days confinement.

2. She should rest in bed instead of frequent sitting.

3. She should not have fan, aircon, or open the windows. Wouldnt it be very stuffy ? How to survive 1 mth with minimum bathing then?

Any thoughts or advices???

Lush, congrats!!!

Delphina
I hvnt heard of (1). Sounds funny. The only reason i can think of is probably to prevent mummies from being too tired or not resting enuff. I believe it is impt to be well rested and yes i was told not to sit or stand for too long. But sometimes i cant help it too.

Generally the practise is to avoid wind, whether natural or fan. I jz heard before my delivery that aircon is ok cos it brings ur temp dwn without wind blowing directly at u. But if u do feel wind from aircon, try to 'siam'.

I wld say i am not 100% obedient but thatz what i learnt from my CL.

Congrats Lush~~
I'm still waiting!! 2 more days to my EDD...hopefully my boy decides to come out by then and don't let mummy and daddy wait..haha.

Delphina, rest in bed so that u can rest your back. Minimise future backache.

i know fan cannot..aircon can..but i also didnt follow strictly for #1..i was still sitting below the ceiling fan..cant make other family members suffer with me, right?..:p

lush, congrats!! take care & rest well..

delphina, think the general idea is for mummy to rest as much as possible to recuperate her body & to avoid wind in case next time got rhumetism.. but really hard to comply 100% lah.. I still watch tv & surf net.. also got sit upright alot when pumping & got guest ard.. i try to avoid fan & air-con.. open window for natural wind (heng dec & jan still quite cooling) but got wear jacket & long pants lo.. juz do what u r comfortable with ba.. most impt is to enjoy yr confinement & baby..

I am in confinment now... But I didn't follow those 3 rules... I shower everyday with herb but still sweat like mad... I on the fan... It is madness to close all Windows n no fan...didn't on air con as don't want baby to sleep in air con room.

Haa... By the way my dad is a tcm physician.. so as long as he thinks it is okie.. I can go ahead n do... Haa one gd example is turning on a fan.... As long as not directly blow at me can liao...

Thanks babes
Yes it feels so contented looking at ur own baby.. It's like having completed a huge 9mth project successfully, now can finally relax a bit bcos the inlaws, parents, hubby can help look after bb already, and relieve the pressure from mummy.

My mum say confinement cannot drink water at all, can only drink red dates. But in hospital only have water, oops cant follow those rules at all. ;p So far I have only not washed my hair. I sponged my body this morning. Here can really r&r cos baby can leave with the nurses. And whole day in air con so can avoid heat totally and wont perspire. Duno how it would be like when im home tomorrow!! i have been watchin tv n surfing internet too.. Hahah :p

To the rest of the mummies still waitin, jia you!

congrats Lush!

Delphina: during 30 days dun watch TV or read..then wat can we do beside being a milk cow? never did dat #1

and i guess reduce on sitting is so that ur wound can heal nicely

if no on fan or aircon or window..in this kind of weather, we will suffocate..i think if dun open the window, at least have aircon on..but maybe not a very low temp lar..just nice will do

Hallo mummies, thanks for your comment. I pray that weather will stay cooling like Dec and today after my delivery. Cannot imagine how to survie confinement period with all the pantangs if weather was hot like last week.

Lush: U brought up a good point to remind me that hospital room is aircon. Heee I guess I will on aircon too when it is hot at home but maybe keep the temp higher.

For rule#1 of reading or watching tv, luckily nobody realy observes that huh. if not, we cannot even login to forum and connect during our confinement.

As for frequent sitting/ walking, I guess I will observe that since there is reason behind it.

Oh nowadays I am just waiting for my baby to arrive. every now and then, my hubby asked me if got any signs. Haha make me feel stress a bit.

Moscato: Are u planning for natural delivery? My Edd is 14 Jan. Though doc said I could deliver anytime between now and 14 Jan, but my body shows no sign of labour so far. Hehe.

don't know if it's juz me.. but i feel that being pregnant is better than being a milk cow now.. it's a every 3-4hrs affair & can't sleep more than 2hrs straight, plus all the sore nipples, etc.. don't know how long i can tahan pumping milk......

hi mummies-to-be  
just want to share... anyone expecting a small size baby girl (2.5kg upto 3.4k)?

i'm a sept'11 mum and my baby girl is now 4mths old. as i was under high-risk management care i was expecting a small baby of appox.2.5kg so i had stocked up preemie sizes rompers, onies, one-piece suits, dress sets, tops and they are all brands of: carter's, children place, mothercare, marks&spencers, gerber, guess etc... they are really beautiful pieces !!

i'm letting them go very cheaply... as i need to make drawer space to my now 6kg girl  
there are 20 over pieces, all very well care, kept with no stains at all. they were all well fitting for her for 2.5mths+.

if you wish to consider buying them over, please PM if keen, have to self collect at Dawson Place shopping mall in Queenstown.
thank you & God Bless you & your lil' one

My bb didnt gain weight for 1 week, gynae says he is fine, but i can't help being paranoid. I'm 37 week n 4 days today. Supposed to induce this thurs but cervix tightly closed not dilated at all so gynae pushed my induce to next tues. Anyone has similar experience about bb's weight growth in last few weeks ? Can advise?

ritzc, my bb gained very little during my 35 to 37 wks & got me quite worried too.. but my gynae also say it's fine, measurement can be off +/- 10% (due to position of bb during scan) & as long as within the healthy range of 2.5-3.5kg then baby is fine.. my bb was last measured to be 2.79kg at 37w4d, but was 3.2kg when delivered at 38w.. since yr gynae says yr bb is fine then don't worry too much ba.. cheer up & continue to eat healthily..

my boy gets really cranky at night.. everyday ard 11pm-5am.. not sure if it's colic, seems like he's passing lots of gas & easily startled.. keep on crying & screaming no matter what we do (swaddling him, feeding him, making sure he's clean & dry, rub ruyi oil, etc etc).. the only thing that help is to carry him & walk him ard the house.. but hb & myself are shacked out from all the carrying & soothing, & hb's leave is gonna end soon.. really headache.. don't know shld bring him see PD anot.. any mummies got experience & advice? thks!

Delphina: i'm going for natural delivery. Tmrw is my edd but still no signs. Bb still gaining weight. My gynae didnt say he wants to induce me. Wondering shld i request when i see him tmrw. Wait til sian liao..hb got to be standby all the time, difficult to plan his work.

How abt u?

Jkids: when is ur edd? 1st born or ??

moscato:
my 3rd boi oredi...me seemed to lose weight, taste bud worsen,duno y... me dilema, if bb comes out means i will be more busy, if bb dun come out, means i have prob enjoying food! argh.

you delivered your 1st 2 boys before EDD or ard EDD?

I thought subsequent births will be early leh..but not for me leh..i delivered my #1 at Wk 38+...this one already EDD liao..

just had yummy lontong for bfast. whopppeeee.
my 1st lontong since i gotten preggy. Wasn't able to find nice ones near where i live.
6561820.gif

which hospital will you choose between Mount A and Thomson?
Heard Mount A will be renovating and Thomson just renovated.
Any advise?

Moscato,Jkids: Yeah, I heard usually subsequent borns will be out eary than EDD. Mine is firstborn. Many people tell me to walk more nowadays to speed up. I didnt walk so much last week as I had cough/running nose. Now better., so should persuade baby to be ready ^*^

Same like you Moscato, my hubby has been on standby too since Xmas time. Agree with u that it is challenging to plan work and biz travel..

Hopefully we all will deliver soon yaaaaa.. Keep me updated.

Evon: maybe u can do hospital tour to both places to see which one u feel more comfy and whether noise level are acceptable. Check also with ur gynae which hospital he does delivery.

Like my gynae, he can do at both.

Jac, my baby also passing alot of gas. My mum said it's because i didn't burp her enough. According to her, the baby feels discomfort in the tummy, so can't sleep well, hence the frequent waking up to cry and pass gas. So she'll keep burping her. Baby does sleep a little longer after she is burped.

I also swaddle her and put a small bean sprout pillow on her tummy when she sleeps so that she doesn't startle easily in her sleep.

Someone posted earlier that colic usually peaks at 6 weeks? now maybe a bit too early for colic to start.

Baby's skin quite sensitive now. Maybe don't put too much ruyi oil. Put after 1 month should be fine.

At least ur husband helps to carry and sooth the baby. Mine will wear ear plugs and use the pillow to cover his ears when the baby cries.

Wikipedia definition of colic:

"periods of intense, unexplained fussing/crying lasting more than 3 hours a day, more than 3 days a week for more than 3 weeks"

that is really a lot of crying to be diagnosed as colic!

Yi Chin, my boy has been fussing/crying for more than 3hrs a day for more than 1 wk in a row liao.. usually start ard 2am till morn 7am.. carry him then he ok, put down then start to fuss/cry immediately.. sigh..
we do burp him after his feeds, but not very long, will stop after he burps lo.. shld i continue to burp him even after he burps? for how long ah?.. i also got swaddle & put a beanie pillow over his tummy, but somehow he always manage to free his hands & struggle & cry.. there's only me & hb ard during the nite, got no CL & mum doesn't stay over.. so will go crazy if hb doesn't help leh.. but hb's leave gonna over soon.. also dunno how..

Moscato : I plan to go to Mt A. My next checkup would be tomorrow. When I saw my doctor last week, he's pretty sure that my baby will pop this week. He even said maybe he would see me in the hospitall, no longer at his clinic.

I guess I have been sleeping too much the past few days due to the flu, so didnt do much walking and maybe bb doesnt really move down. My bb is about 60% engaged at birth canal as of last week.. i shall know tomorrow what would he say abt induce if bb still does not come out by this week.

I am scared of induce if we do not dilate enuf, may end up emer csect .. :-( we shall update each other.

Jac, thanks for sharing about bb's weight gain. Between, yesterday's channel U show Daddy 101 shared about how to handle colic baby- change position of carry, massage etc. U can check out xin msn video- channel u to see the telecast of that episode 8 online too.

Delphina, my gynae suggested sex, squatting, climbing stairs as some activities to prepare ourselves to dilate faster. My hubby is no no to sex, he scared hurt our bb, haha. Anyway, i start climbing 5 floors of stairs n drink coconut juice from today- im 37 week 5 days. U can try these.

Jac,
Can try baby massage or try Rid Wind from watsons/guardian. Else PD can also prescribe other colic drops. That's if baby have colic. Else maybe growth spurt. I read in a book babies have development leaps, during which they learn things really fast. But due to increase brain activity, it may be hard for them to settle down when it's rest time and they get cranky, clingy and cry more. Think the name of the book is 'the wonder weeks', borrowed it fr national library last year

Jac, sometimes when baby is fussy, I let her rest on her tummy, on my chest, then I continue to pat her back. She can even burp in her sleep. Must be careful la, cos in the middle of the night, I tend to fall asleep as well. So must make sure she doesn't fall over or get smoldered.

Baby massage helps too. In the day, when he is alert, can get him to lie on his tummy for a short while, under supervision. These can help to get rid of some wind in the tummy.

Hi mummies, am I e only one who wish bb will stay in as long as possible for one I enjoy his kicks n e closest though having rather bad backache, most importantly I know e hard work is when he's out, still enjoying couple time wif hubby... Also look forward 2 e reveal n so enjoying e anticipation, tat's real contradicting... :p

moscato:
i delivered both b4 edd. i suspect my gynae did a membrance swap to trigger my labor :p your #2 must have found comfort inside yout tummy huh.

mummies who have delivered:
do u let bb sleep sideway or face up? does yr bb have a tendancy to move his head to sleep at one side causing his ear not to be as "flat" as b4?

Hi mummies, congrats to all who had delivered. At least some of the mummies can enjoy reunion dinner.
Btw, will the hosp give us a pill to pass motion before we deliver? Ive heard from my friends, when their waterbag broke, the pass motion and deliver all together.
Im 2 days to 39 wks and still no signs that i will deluver soon. Hopefully i dont have to be induced.

All mummies,

Please take note of this confinement lady whom i booked about half an year ago and now just inform me 1 week before my EDD cannot make it and give me bull shit story having flu etc.

1)ooi siew lan
+60 12 728 6961

- not able to come and yet not going to refund my inital deposit.

hkbaby,
our gynae the same n our EDD really close also..n i remembered u also giving birth at Mt A? n although i like to feel bb's movements inside my tummy, sleeping position is a torture haha

Bianz,
I also like the feel of baby inside me but recently my joints feel like they are breaking..possibly cos i always sleep on my left side..so now i sort of can't wait to welcome baby to the world haha

Hi Wen

Die die must get the money back.. if not you can threathen her by telling that you will inform ICA that she illegally work in SIN as Confinement Nanny.

Good luck!!

Jkids, I alternate baby's sleeping position, sometimes head face up, sometimes face sideways. But baby always auto turn head to left side. Don't know if she got shortening of the neck muscles or not.

thanks Yi Chin & birdbrain! will try massage & tummy time..

jkids, my boy has a preference of sleeping on the right side even if i put him head up or on the left side leh..

Hi VT,

She in Malaysia and ignore all my calls and sms.really risk to take those confinement lady, lesson learned. I might be paying more now through agency but at least i am ASSURED nanny will not fly me kite at this min.

Medory - yes, delivering at Mt A. Hope to see u ard if we happen to pop on similar date! just visited gynae this morning. Based on original EDD, bb is at wk 37+ 2.8kg but seems like her position shifted up abit
aiyoh I change at least 3 types of position every night: sleeping straight up backache, sleeping left side shoulder, ear n thigh numb, right side not comfortable! Plus at least 4 toilet visits thru the night! Lots of pressure n aching below sometimes cramp feeling
Feeling v tired n breathless too!

Hi hkbaby, medory,
we r really 'close', close EDD & all delivering in Mt A =)

I'm 37 weeks 1 day today, last check bb is 3.25kg nearly freak me out =p

Hi Hi, M 38weeks and bb 3.5kg...fainted...I lose abit of weight from the last visit but bb still gaining...N bb just engaged.At 37weeks she is still not engaged?Will she b dis-engaged again??
I din let gynae check for dilation...coz she says checking might fasten the process of dilating...???I am hoping to drag till after CNY....hehehe...My EDD on 23rd...

I get frequent tigh cramps though,...anyone experience this?

hkbaby,bianz
hi 5! got to update each other when we pop then maybe will meet at Mt A haha..

Aiyoh I also have much difficulty sleeping at night..but my loo visit usually once, it's the aching joints that's kind of 'killing me softly' hahaha...

Bianz your bb is quite big at 37w! But not necessary 100% accurate right? I've been eating a lot recently, last month to indulge actually hehe..anyone taking last chance to indulge also?

Jac, my baby also crying and fussing a lot these few days. I also gg crazy!! He wants to be carried then sometimes it works and fell asleep but sometimes it doesn't! Then when we put him down, he starts to cry again... Can't take it. Thinking of bringing him to pd if he continues to be like that leh...