(2012/01) Jan 2012

Hello Jan Mommies!

I'm from the April 2012 thread, wanted to read on how it's like to be so close to your EDD... Nerve wrecking huh?

Wishing all of you the best in your deliveries!

Happy Holidays!

Congrats all 3 mummies n Tute cottage on their delivery!

Wonder who will be the 1st natural delivery mommy.. Mayb there be one for Xmas n one for new yr

SQin
congrats on being a new mother

Poseidon
oh no...not i am worried if i will be able to meet the demand on bb....how was the lactation nurse in the ward? I heard from my friend, the KK nurse was rather rough on her lo. Kept massaging her till she hurts lei....i hear liao i also scared...

Mummies enjoy the christmas holidays!!
Merry xmas all

Congrats to all mummies who have given birth.

Im still catching up on my sleep. We can share the joy n tips on being a mum and latching on, bottle feed or breast feeding our babies.

Currently, still bottle feeding my girl using the EBM. Hope she will grow stronger soon and can directly breast feed ^_^

Dear Mummies

Merry Xmas n Happy new year ^_^ !!!

Hi MTBs

I hv just delivered thru emerg csec in monday.

Jingles
The lactation consultant came on my last day cos i had blockages. My god, it was so painful that i asked her stop a few times. But it seems thats the only way to clear the blockages.

Wah.. Looks like more and more mothers have delivered! Congrats!!

Yesterday discharged from hospital with baby. Totally disaster. Changing diapers, feeding baby Is a killer. My baby is super cranky when I put him in bed to change diapers & clothes. He is super awake at night.. Make me super busy.

Hmm... One side of my nipple is cracked and bleeding due to incorrect usage of breast pump.. Didn't know what speed to use and end up cracking the nipple. Now stop using pump liao. only left one breast for him to latch on. Luckily he still seem satisfied with it. If not enuff, then give him abit of formula while my nipple heal. Tmr will bring him go PD for regular check up and ask for advice at the same time.

Btw, I saw notice board in TMC. First baby born in TMC will have $1000. Gd luck to Mtbs here!!!

Hi mommies and mommies to be, sorry to jump in.
since I'm not bf anymore, I have a Medela Freestyle pump to let go. 2months old and hardly use. Interested please drop me a pm.

Valteen, u also emergency caesarean like me. Congrats on ur baby!
How's your wound healing? I still can't walk fast or bend down.

I feel that the kkh ward nurses and LC are very supportive of breastfeeding. Cos my baby was in special care, I couldn't get her to latch on. They kept encouraging me to pump even though I was only able to get 1 to 3 ml of breast milk on the first 2 days. The LC visited me twice and got me to massage on my own, not very rough.

congrats to all mummies who've given birth!! jiayou with the bf-ing & do take care of yaself too!!

I juz went see gynae today. baby is 2.77kg at 37W4D. didn't put on much weight since 2wks ago (2.61kg @ 35W4D). was hoping he would hit 3+kg thou. baby is engaged. cervix has thinned but not dilated yet. gynae gave me choice of inducing on 28 dec (38W1D) or let baby wait till early jan. can't decide leh. my side favors dec more whereas hb's side favors jan more. sigh. headache..

Yi Chin, congrats to u too! I think it is normal to still feel pain. When i stand up after sitting for a while, will need some time for me to straighten up cos of the strain and pain from the wound. Try not to bend though. I hv swollen legs aft my discharge. Do u hv that?

Yes they r very pro bf. My nipples and aerola were blk so LC came to hlp. Pain like crazy! Now at home trying to express and hv sore nipples. Managed only abt 40-50ml total. Ok lah from abt 20ml, am consoling myself flow is coming. I latched her twice in hosp. After that not yet. Will try again when i am more comfortable.

Hi all, back from hospital alr. My boy can't latch well, and I still forcing the colostrum out myself. Very little only... So disappointed. So now let him suckle first then take formula. Hope my flow will come in soon. Have been massaging liao.

Yi Chin, are u KY's wife? I am his ex colleague. Small world!

Enjoy the holiday season, mummies!

Merry Christmas to all! After shopping at Vivo and Centerpoint yesterday, I was so tired and swollen I thought I could be going into labour soon. But today I feel so well and energetic again, with no symptom of labour at all. I've always wanted a Christmas baby but seems like it is unlikely to happen already.

I was reading about signs and symptoms for going into labour and it is still not my time yet. By 38 weeks, we'll be either very tired or energetic (nesting instinct kicking in), but all baby's items and hospital bag were already packed / ready since last week, so I can only treasure the quiet time with hubby for now, and patiently wait for baby's arrival.

Same as Jac, I prefer to deliver within 2011, and hope to induce + natural delivery if possible. Yet hubby prefer to have 2012 baby, even if that means that baby joins the dragon babies in school.

Poseidon, jia you

I woke up for toilet break at 5am & am wide awake now. Normally I'm a late riser, but yesterday I woke up at 6am to have breakfast, read newspaper & back to bed again. Then I had a reflux & had to swallow the gastric juice back in in my sleep...super gross hor... Pls pardon me...very the bo-liao now :p

Pumping again.... Boy is now tmc for jaundice... Sigh feel soo helpless when I see taken away to be put under the light.. so the only thing I can do is to give him as much ebm as possible.. now every day raining... No sun..difficult to sunbath him when pd told us his jaundice level is quite high...
Now some info for 1st time mummy who intend to bf.. bring ur pump to hospital.. tell nurse u doing total breast feeding so they will bring baby to u as much as possible for u to latch... Confirm no milk one lah..but it is a very good time for mummy n baby to learn how to latch..I got sore nipple the 2nd day and the nurses taught me how to take care n also correct my positioning..didn't know I got short nipples until then...
The down side...super tired....super shag...no sleep...but I know if I don't learn it during the 1st 3 days in tmc then I am on my own liao when I am home...
I met a very helpful nurse during my 2nd night..feeling very sore n helpless..she massage my breast for me and squeeze the colostrum to show me..painful but very reassure

morning mummies!! merry Christmas to all!!

kamile, I'm also experiencing the same thing as u.. used to sleep alot, wake up ard 11+am.. but recently very wakeful, even wkends also wake up before 8am.. I read that at this stage u r either very sleepy or wakeful (busy nesting).. also having heartburn & reflux problems.. sigh.. btw, u having the same edd as me (10jan)? will u be trying for dec or jan baby? I still undecided.. will love to have a dec baby but also prefer to let nature take its course since there's no real medical need for induction..

poseidon, dun worry too much, baby will be fine under the care of the tmc nurses.. also thanks for sharing ya bf-ing experience, really appreciate it! totally clueless how I'm going survive the early days.. btw, y muz bring pump to the hospital if u r latching ah? then muz bring sterilizer too? I've yet to open up my pump, sterilizer & bottles.

Wow mummies!! All v early on xmas morning! next time I shall take a peek in here when I cant sleep..

Poseidon
Dnt worry...jaundice is common. So long is detected early bb is safe de.. Did u buy medela freestyle?

Oh yes.... Mommies who had delivered - Anyone has CL with them now?wonder wat is their daily activities....

Poseidon, take good care of health in this rainy weather too. Wear thick clothings and cover well at home and outside. Jiayou in ebm-ing, you'll be the first to celebrate bb's full month among us here.

Jac, I have same EDD as you, on 10 Jan. I'll see gynae on Wednesday and ask when he has time to induce + deliver for me. Friends had advised that for induce, contraction pain will be more intense. And Dr had also advised that after induce, sometimes cervic doesn't open big enough on time and have to follow by c-section. It's a risk that I have to take lor.

I wanna deliver by 1st Jan for bb to join school with rabbit babies. According to newspaper report a few weeks back, there could be as many as 12,000 ADDITIONAL bbs in a dragon year... imagine the childcare, kindergarten, Pri school registration, PSLE, O'+ A'Level examinations, Uni placing right up to job seeking, with 12,000 more than normal load of people in the same year. My sister was born in the dragon year and she had always been a high performer in school. She graduated with a Bachelor in Biz Studies, but she could not find any job after graduation. Many of her school mates alike had to study for a 2nd degree in teaching, and bonded with MOE for a few years. Luckily my sister is a very high driven and self motivated girl, and she produced a top scholar student in 1 year. But I'm not such a competitive mum-to-be to be fighting with the dragon mummies, nor want my bb to take such a tough route in life... so I'll try to deliver latest by 1st Jan bah...

kamile, *sweat*.. didn't know it's sooo competitive in dragon yr.. I intend to send my kid to my pri sch so not so worried abt pri sch enrollment.. but never tot beyond that, uni placement, job seeking, etc.. muz reconsider liao.. my gynae din wan do any planned deliveries on 31dec or 1jan.. so latest date she offered is 28dec, which is next wed.. but I'm worried my body is not ready for labour by then (since cervix not dilated yet) & will end up in emergency c-sect.. sigh.. my next visit is on 31dec morn.. if decide to induce then, the next date will be 4jan liao.. sigh..

Poseidon, u do TBF, so first 2 days bb not consuming any liquid other than bm right?

So exciting that so many mommies due soon
my edd is 26 Jan but gynae said want induce me most prob around 12 Jan. I'm first time mum so will be going to go in with no prior experience of labor pain etc, light shivers juz at the thought of that, haha

Valteen, I didn't have swollen feet leh, did u wear the compression stocking after the operation? Maybe keep ur feet elevated on pillows as much as possible.

SQin, only heard from my husband that his ex colleague just given birth to a 2.7kg boy a few days ago, didn't know it's u!
kkh LC advice is to pump every 3 hourly, 5 min on each side, for 30 min. It helps to start my flow when baby was in special care unit.

Poseidon, what was ur boy's bilirubin level? My girl's was 216 on thur, also quite high. The poly clinic dr said the level not raising, no need to go hospital yet, but need to retake on tue. Now both her heels are bruised from the frequent blood taking! Ur boy can go home everyday after the uv lights? He'll be fine!

Jac, sometimes baby sleep a lot, cannot wake them up to latch, better to bring pump to stimulate milk flow. Can also pass ebm to nursery for the nurse to feed baby at night if u intend to send baby to nursery at night. Kkh nursery has sterilizer, I only bring bottle cleanser, then send to nursery to sterilize. Not need to bring the big machine to hospital.

RitzC, I got the nursery nurse to cup feed baby with fm at night. Kept on latching or pumping in the day.

RitzC..yes i opt for total breast feeding option..so i suppose he didnt take anything except for my BM..

Yi Chin..u sure is 216?? should be 21.6 lah.. my boy level was 18.2 which the pd told us if it is higher than 15.2 need to be admitted..today pd called hubby again..the level went down to 12.6 but pd not confident that it will stop rising so she suggest to stay for another night to monitor..so the fastest my boy can come back home is tmrw..

Jingles..i am using Ameda with pumping style gal hand free set..got it from mumsfairy..the hand free set is a god send..which my hubby dont like coz once i got the hang of using the hand free set i start to go online during pumping ( like this morning) which my hubby say i didnt think of my boy during pumping and therefore didnt pump out as much as possible.. =P

Ladies, do you watch Starhub channel 425 - Discovery Home & Health Channel ? I enjoy some of the programs such as Deliver Me, Bring Home Multiples, A Baby Story, I didn't know I was Pregnant etc...

Merry christmas to all mummies

Hi RitzC,
Y need 2 induce on mid jan when edd is end jan?
Concern cos my edd is 31 jan hence...

Btw did any mummies get any receiving blanket?
Not sure whether necessary n it feels rather like pricy bigger-size diaper cloth :p

Hallo All, Merry Christmas to you all !!!

I have been away from these forum for past few days as I have guest in town this week. There seems to be more mummies recently delivery. juz catched up with the thread.

SQIn, Yi Chin, and Valteen : Congrats to all of you and thanks for the generous sharing of your experience. Enjoy coming new year with your new bundle of joy..

My next appt to gynae would be this coming Wed. I would be in mid of my week 37 by then.. Hehe I am hoping that bb would come out on Jan 1. If not, might as well wait for the edd on jan 14.

Any mummies delivered today on Xmas ???

Bianz, my gynae suggest induce coz bb may be quite big due to my GD. My bb is 2.7kg at week 34, think by this week should be 3kg coz he seems to gain 300g every week after I start on GD diet- previously shockingly 500g every week. So by week 38, he may be near to 4kg. I also have preterm labor risk n am on medication til next week, so maybe after I stop my meds, maybe I will give birth even earlier without going thru induce. Ur pregnancy is normal, no need to worry la, I'm sure you will reach full term

bianz: i know TMC will give the receiving blanket upon discharge...its just a blanket with a hood to cover bb head..can dun buy it oso lar..

Poseidon, I think there are 2 types of measurement scales for serum bilirubin: umol/ L and mg/ dL. Read from Wikipedia, neonatal jaundice: that serum bilirubin level over 255 umol/ L, which is 15 mg/ dL, is considered serious level. I guess polyclinic use the 1st scale while tmc uses the 2nd scale. So my girl who is216 umol/ L, should be 12.7 mg/ dL by direct conversion. Don't know correct or not, all my chemistry knowledge return to teacher already. :p

Ur boy's reading is on decreasing trend, that's is fantastic news! That's what the polyclinic dr is looking out for. He should be home to celebrate boxing day!

Bianz, I got a receiving blanket during my first pregnancy. Now used 3 times for my 3 girls already. If cost divided by 3, not that expensive anymore.
if this is ur first pregnancy, indulge in retail therapy! cos I became more stingy at the 2nd and 3rd one.

Thanks delphina! If 1st jan baby, can see u on the news!

seldom see mummies here on weekends. bet most are already on leave? i started my leave liao and could sleep better since fri though the heartburn still wake me up, ha but at least so so stressed with the handover anymore.

glad to know dec bb are popping one by one, how i envy those who deliver dec bb! my bb will surely be a rabbit bb born wif the dragon bb, argh!

kamile:
update when yr gynae will induce for you in dec
i envy!

jac:
so if u now want dec 29, still have time to tell yr gynae? since your bb is of a gd weight and more than 37 weeks, u dun have to worry abt inducing? it may not end up emer- c section? my 1st was induced. intensive pain, but i delivered naturally.

my gynae willingly to induce even when bb is week 36, almoz week 37, but its my hub who's agt it, wants bb to come out when he wants
i also want dec bb, but looking at how things go, it wun happen liao. my next visit is 1st week in jan. too bad loh, i missed it! if only i could conceive a cycle earlier, argh! this pregnancy, took me 3 yrs to conceive..aiya! i duno what to say. then my gynae seems worried about my low lying placenta, and ask if i want to c section. piank, if u wan me to decide, of coz i dun want c section! so evey visit to him now make me stressed. he scared i lose too much blood if i try naturally, yet he said i have a 80-90% chance to deliver naturally. this pregnancy make me very stressed, many things not smooth, haiz!

jingle:
u started your leave oredi rite?

Wah... Universal studio... Me envy... Jkids I won't go if I were u coz I want to play all the rides..
But if u have no prob with crowds then shd be ok bah.. towards the very end of my preg I very scare of crowds

jkids, I have to decide by 27dec (next tue) morn.. if decide to induce then got to check-in on 27dec afternoon & induce on 28dec (next wed) morn.. were u already dilated when u induce yr #1? really worried got to emer c-sect if body not ready& cervix doesn't dilate during induction.. I also wish I had conceived 1 cycle earlier then don't need all these headache, but am grateful that at least able to conceive & carry baby till this pt, now juz hoping baby can be delivered smoothly & he'll be healthy & happy.. 80-90% chance is quite high leh, don't worry too much k.. my gynae didnt even tell me how many % chance I got, juz say "it depends on individual", which made me even more worried.. universal studios very crowded leh, esp now sch hols cum hols season, best to avoid crowds ba..

Jkids
Ya...
I started leave le. Finally hand over to temp last week. Though I find she attitude siah...universal studio dnt recommend as crowd n many germs. Alot of sniffles ard..best to stay away

Morning mummies! Looks like no Xmas baby here?
I was hoping for it myself but no signs.. Everything normal.. Zzz..

I read in baby centre that we could do certain actions to try to induce, eg massaging our breast. But have to do like an hr each day! Waa.. I dont think i can do it lor. :p

I just had buffet last nite even. Thought probably eat more before we are stuck with confinement food :p

Baby baby, when are you coming out? I cant really sleep at nite these few days too. If had too late dinner, cant lie down well without feeling uncomfortable. Then will wake up a few times at nite, and eyes wide open at 6am. Im also on leave next few days already, but brought laptop home to work from home. Otherwise also v boring. Was initially thinking of doing some baking to kill time but probably should stay away from the hot oven la hor? :p

I heard TMC can loan breast pump. Do we really need to bring it? Cos we got no car, a bit heavy to carry the pump leh.

Lush
U r so cute, asking bb when coming out:) u due same edd as me right? If recent checks show u r nt dilated then I think u will b safe for couple of few days.

Mayb talking to bb psycho her a bit:)

Morn mommies! nice windy day today!

First of all, congratz to all mommies who have given birth! so exciting that all of us are popping one by one. I'm very happy to be part of this thread and thank you all for answering all my weird questions..hehe

Went to see gynae on Saturday and my boy's still breeched. Gynae says gotta plan for elective csect in this case. Told me that recent studies shows that Wekk 39 is better for baby's lungs, but of corse will run the risk of baby deciding to pop before that and so going into emergency csect which of corse has its risk... so I guess by my next gynae appointment this Saturday (I'll be Week 37+6days then) if baby still breeched I gotta let gynae know which date I prefer for csect le.. will choose between Week 38 and Week 39.. which means another 2 weeks to go!! Gosh! scary~~~~

my boy def will have to complete with the dragon babies le although he's a rabbit..haizz.. no choice lah..take a step at a time.. want be be sure he is fully matured physically before letting him come into this world..the rest 船到橋頭自然直 for his studies next time...

Hahah jingle, ya.. I ask bb every now n then... telling her she can come out already :p my EDD almost same as u, urs 10th rite, im 7th :p im 38wks 1 day today.

bianz, I was also thinking abt it, but im worried abt introducing germs if I try it now. Im also prone to Uti, so to play safe, i told hubby better avoid. Poor hubby :p

Im seeing gynae this Wed, c wad she says.. But i have a feelin will be Jan baby already..

Vanessa, ya lor.. I guess we jus see how things go ba.. All the best to u! U can do it!

My fren forwarded this video to me. Has anyone watched it before? Its abt the 5 words babies use to communicate with adults. "neh" sounds mean baby is hungry, "eh" means baby wants to be burped..etc. For catherine, poseidon, tutte, sqin and all those who have given birth. U can see if it is really true.. Heheheee..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y1fsofmvz4g&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Vanessa
seems like both of us might pop at the same time..
I am feeling nervous too.... But well hope everything will gosmooth smooth n hopefully painless

Hi Lush, I brought my pump to the hospital but in the end nvr use there at all leh. Regarding inducing, my fren say using the breast pump will induce delivery... See if anyone is game for it

My boy still doesn't know how to latch well, so most of the time I feed him with bottles. Easier for me to express and faster for him to drink... Though I do hope he could also help me release the pain... Super engorged!

pumping the breast will induce delivery cos its supposed to contract ur uterus...dat why when we first start breastfeeding..will feel some pain when uterus contract..

Lush: yups watched the video before.. good to know lor..at least when bb cry we can try to differentiate it..let's all try and share experience if it works

jingles: yalor we may pop at the same time..i also very nervous..keep thinking if i have prepared everyting for bb's arrival or not.. my friends came over on xmas day and helped me setup the sterilizer, bottle warmer and breastpump..haha... heng ah got their help.. i am bad at assembling things..haha.. feeling of seeing baby real soon is exciting yet very nervous cos 1st time mom and sooo many things to learn.. hopefully bb can be patient too..i will panic when i hear bb cry..keke

i'm from May thread. I got brand new unopened Philips Avent bottle warmer letting go at $59. The retail price is $79. Got it as a gift but i already have one. PM me if keen.
6503704.jpg

Vanessa: just replied to your email..then saw your posting. Maybe we will pop ard the same time. I'm also counting down, expecting bb to arrive early. My EDD is 11 Jan. Already packed my hospital bag.

You reminded me..must bring out my steriliser to wash 1st...haha..

Baby's bilirubin level for jaundice check went down from 216 to 160 today. Dr said downward trend is good, re check again next week. No need to go back everyday and kena poke again. Phew!